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Introduction

This booklet summarizes many Illinois or federal laws and programs 
for older adults.  The information is organized into three broad subjects:  
Financial and Property Laws; Legal Rights and Protections; and Health-
related Programs.  If a law applies to people who are at least a particular 
age, that age is shown in parentheses after the heading on that topic.

Endnotes starting on page 38 give citations to all laws described.  Read-
ers can find those laws at many public libraries, or on the Illinois General 
Assembly’s website at www.ilga.gov.  If no such sources are available, a 
state legislator’s office can get a copy of a law if given the information in 
the endnote.  The text also lists toll-free numbers and Internet addresses 
for many programs; the back cover has phone numbers and Internet ad-
dresses of major offices that can help older adults.

Illinois seeks to assure all its residents the opportunity to pursue their 
lifetime goals to the fullest extent possible.  We hope this booklet will 
help you or someone you know do that.

Clayton Klenke
Executive Director
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Financial and Property Laws

Tax and fee reductions or 
deferrals

Homestead exemption (65)

A homeowner who will be at least 
65 by the end of an assessment 
year can get a reduction in the as-
sessed value of one residence of $5,000 downstate, or $8,000 in 
Cook County.  Starting in tax year 2023, it will be $8,000 in the 
“collar” counties also.1  Illinois counties except Cook assess real 
estate at one-third of market value;2 so a $5,000 reduction makes 
$15,000 in market value of a residence tax-free in those counties.  
Cook County assesses residences with up to six units at 10% 
of market value,3 so an $8,000 reduction effectively exempts 
$80,000 of market value there.  Special provisions in the law 
apply to cooperative apartment buildings, residents of life-care 
facilities, and spouses of persons who formerly qualified but have 
moved into nursing homes.4  This exemption is in addition to the 
general homestead exemption,5 which allows a reduction in the 
assessed value of the residence of a taxpayer of any age of up to 
$10,000 in Cook County; $8,000 starting with tax year 2023 in 
each “collar” county; or $6,000 in any other county.6  Application 
forms can be requested from county assessment offices.

Homestead assessment freeze (65)

A homeowner who will be at least 65 by the end of the assess-
ment year, and whose annual household income does not exceed 
the limit for this purpose, can apply for a freeze on the assessed 
value of the homeowner’s primary residence.  The income limit 
is currently $65,000.7
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Special provisions in the law apply to cooperative apartment 
buildings and life-care facility residents.8  The house of a per-
son who qualified for the freeze before entering a nursing home 
remains eligible for the freeze as long as it is either owned by 
that person or occupied by that person’s spouse.9  The spouse of a 
deceased person who qualified, if the surviving spouse is ineligi-
ble only due to being under 65, can get the freeze for the last year 
before death and the year of death of the deceased spouse.10

Property tax deferral (65)

A homeowner who is at least 65 by June 1 of a year, and has an-
nual household income under $55,000, may have property taxes 
payable on the home for that year deferred.  The homeowner 
must have owned the home, or another qualifying home in Il-
linois, for at least 3 years, and must sign an agreement with the 
county for tax deferral and recovery.  (The homeowner may con-
tinue to qualify for deferral while absent up to 1 year in a nursing 
or sheltered care home.)  The Department of Revenue will pay 
the taxes on the home, up to a cumulative total of 80% of the 
owner’s equity in it.  But the total amount deferred per year for 
one taxpayer cannot exceed $7,500.11  After the taxpayer dies, the 
Department of Revenue will recover from the estate the amount 
it paid out, including interest at 6% per year (3% per year starting 
in tax year 2023).12

Tax exclusion on home sale (any age)

Federal law allows any taxpayer who owned a home as the 
taxpayer’s principal residence for a total of at least 2 of the last 
5 years to exclude from federally taxable income all gain on its 
sale, up to the limits stated below.  The exclusion is available to 
a couple if at least one of them owned the home and it was the 
principal residence of them both.13  The exclusion can be used as 
often as once every 2 years.14  The maximum gain excludable per 
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sale is $250,000 for one owner, or $500,000 for a couple filing a 
joint return.15  For details, see IRS Publication 523 (available at 
www.irs.gov/publications or in print at some IRS offices); or call 
the IRS at (800) 829-1040. 

Automobile registration fee reduction and free transit rides (65)

Any Illinois resident over 65, whose income is below the limit 
stated below, can register one passenger car (or other motor ve-
hicle of under 8,000 pounds) for only $10,16 and ride local transit 
vehicles at no charge.  To be eligible for these benefits, house-
hold income in the preceding year must have been below limits 
set by the state.  The most recent limits at the time of publication 
were:  $33,562 for a household of one person; $44,533 for two 
qualifying persons; or $55,500 for three or more qualifying per-
sons.  Spouses cannot apply separately unless at least one lived 
in a nursing home, or they were permanently separated and living 
separately.17  Applications must be made online at:

https://www2.illinois.gov/aging/BenefitsAccess/pages/ 
default.aspx

For help in applying, call the Senior HelpLine at (800) 252-8966.

Driver’s license fee reductions (69)

Illinois driver’s license fees are reduced with age, as follows:18

	 Age	 Fee

	 21 to 68	 $30
	 69 to 80	 5
	 81 to 86	 2
	 87+	 0
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Automobile insurance (55)

The rates of automobile liability insurance policies are to reflect 
“appropriate” reductions for persons over 55, with no recent 
crashes, who complete the National Safety Council’s Defensive 
Driving Course or another prevention course approved by the 
Secretary of State.19  This does not apply to group automobile 
insurance under which premiums are averaged for a group rather 
than determined individually.20  For information on approved 
courses, call (312) 814-3121.

Camping (62)

Each week from Monday through Thursday, state residents 62 
or older are charged no camping fees at state-operated camping 
facilities that have no showers or electricity, and only half of 
regular fees at facilities having showers or electricity.21

College courses (65)

State residents 65 or older whose incomes are below the limit for 
the automobile registration fee reduction and free transit rides, 
and who have been accepted at an Illinois public university or 
community college, are exempt from tuition in regularly sched-
uled courses, if space is available and enough paying students 
register to meet the minimum course size.  This tuition waiver 
does not apply to courses specifically designed for the elderly.22

Social Security payments (62 or 66-67)

Social Security payments include retiree, survivors’, and disabil-
ity benefits.  The Social Security Administration also administers 
a separate program, called Supplemental Security Income, for 
persons with very low incomes who are over 65, blind, or dis-
abled.
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Retiree benefits

Retiree benefits are available for everyone who has worked at 
least the minimum amount of time under Social Security and has 
reached either (a) 62 (for early retirement) or (b) 66 to 67 (based 
on year of birth) for regular retirement benefits.23  The monthly 
benefit depends on the number of years for which Social Security 
tax was deducted from earnings, and the person’s earnings during 
those years.  Persons taking early retirement at 62 will get lower 
monthly benefits; those retiring between 62 and their regular re-
tirement age will have a partial (prorated) reduction due to early 
retirement.  In either case, the reduction will be permanent.

For persons born before 1955, the regular retirement age is 66.  It 
rises by 2 months for each year of birth after 1954, ending at age 
67 for everyone born after 1959.24

People who choose not to take Social Security retirement ben-
efits at regular retirement age (because they are still working, or 
otherwise do not need the money) get an increase in their later 
monthly Social Security retirement benefits for each month after 
regular retirement age in which they did not take those benefits, 
up to age 70.  That increase is 2/3% for each month (8% for each 
year) beyond regular retirement age in which they do not take 
Social Security benefits.25  (Applying for Social Security retiree 
benefits is separate from applying for Medicare, and need not 
occur at the same age.)  Working past the regular retirement age 
may also increase later Social Security retiree benefits by adding 
years of Social Security work credit.

A person intending to retire should apply at the nearest Social 
Security office, or call the toll-free number below, 90 days before 
intended retirement (but not more than 90 days before age 62).   
These offices are listed in most phone directories under “Social 
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Security Administration” and also under U.S. Government list-
ings.  For information on Social Security programs and benefits, 
call (800) 772-1213 (voice) or (800) 325-0778 (TDD).  Or go to:

www.ssa.gov

Spousal and survivors’ benefits

The spouse (in some cases including a divorced spouse) of a per-
son getting retirement benefits is eligible for a separate benefit at 
age 62 (reduced benefits) or regular retirement age (full benefits).  
A spouse, or qualifying ex-spouse, who starts getting benefits at 
the regular retirement age is eligible for an amount equal to half 
the other spouse’s regular retirement benefit.

The widow(er) of a deceased beneficiary can start getting early 
benefits at age 60 (50 if the widow(er) is disabled and meets 
other conditions).  Such a person could get full benefits at age 
66 if born before 1955 (that age also gradually rises for persons 
born later, reaching 67 for persons born after 1959).  A living 
or deceased beneficiary’s unmarried child may also qualify for 
separate benefits until age 18 (until 19 if still in high school, or 
until any age if disabled before age 22).26

Supplemental Security Income (SSI)

This program, which is distinct from the Social Security retiree 
and survivors’ program, pays monthly incomes to needy persons 
who are over 65, blind, or disabled, and have little or no regular 
income or assets that could be converted into money.  A person 
getting regular Social Security retirement benefits may also be 
eligible for SSI.27  A description of the program is on the Social 
Security Administration’s website at:

http://socialsecurity.gov/pubs/EN-05-11015.pdf
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Applications for SSI should be made to local Social Security of-
fices.  A related Illinois program is described next.

Aid to the aged (65), blind, or disabled (AABD)

This Illinois program provides financial and medical aid to per-
sons who are aged, blind, or disabled, and have modest incomes 
and assets.  Depending on income and assets, persons may be 
eligible if they are (1) 65 or older, (2) visually impaired so as 
to be unable to do ordinary tasks, or (3) physically or mentally 
impaired in working.  Assets not counted in determining eligibil-
ity include a home and attached land; an automobile required for 
work; assets needed for self-support; and burial funds.28

Anyone in a nursing home or similar institution who has paid 
for care in advance is ineligible until the money paid has been 
used up.29  There are other restrictions and conditions on eligibil-
ity—many of them similar to those for the federal SSI program.  
Details are available from the Illinois Department of Human 
Services’ Help Line at (800) 843-6154 (voice) or (866) 324-5553 
(TTY).30

Reverse mortgages

State law authorizes private lending institutions to make “reverse 
mortgages” that allow homeowners to borrow against the equity 
in their homes.  Typically, an institution lends the homeowner 
a set amount per month or quarter.  The lender will recover the 
principal and interest from the equity in the residence when the 
homeowner dies or sells it.

The state law authorizing reverse mortgages applies to the princi-
pal residence of the borrower (which can consist of no more than 
4 residential units).31  Illinois law does not require a borrower 
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to reach a certain age to get a reverse mortgage.  But due to the 
characteristics of reverse mortgages, lenders would likely offer 
them only to older people.  Any such loan must allow the home-
owner to be absent for up to 60 days at a time (up to 1 year if 
the home is adequately secured against damage or theft) without 
affecting the loan.32  These loans must be without recourse to 
any other assets of the homeowner (meaning that the lender can 
get repayment only from a sale of the residence, not from the 
borrower).33

After signing reverse mortgage documents, borrowers have 3 
days to change their minds before the agreement becomes bind-
ing.34  The lender may not require a borrower to buy policies 
such as annuities, or life or long-term care insurance, to get a 
reverse mortgage.35  Before making a reverse mortgage loan, a 
lender must give the prospective borrower a list of organizations 
that offer reverse mortgage counseling.36  Would-be borrowers 
should carefully consider whether such a loan is the best way to 
fund their retirement years.  The best candidate for such a loan 
might be a retiree who owns a residence but has few other assets; 
needs additional income; does not expect to live longer than the 
loan payments will last; and does not need or want to leave the 
residence to any heirs.

Estates and wills

Every adult with property or minor children should make plans 
for them—usually in a will.  Otherwise, the property will be 
distributed under fixed rules in state law, and a court will award 
custody of the children without guidance from the parent(s).

The rules in Illinois for distributing property of a person who 
dies without a will are basically as follows:
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If the person leaves a spouse:

Half to spouse, and half to descendants if any.  If there are no 
descendants, all to spouse.

If the person leaves no spouse:

All to descendants if any; if none, to parent(s) and sibling(s) 
(or if any siblings are deceased, to their children); if none, 
half to each set of grandparents (or descendants of deceased 
grandparents).37

A court cannot change these rules for distribution without a will.  
But a person who makes a will can give away property in any 
desired manner (subject only to some restrictions to protect a 
spouse and child(ren), if any).  A will is also the place for parents 
of minor children to recommend a guardian for them.  Such a 
recommendation is not binding on courts, but the court is likely 
to follow it unless there is a strong reason not to.

Many lawyers will draw up an uncomplicated will for around 
$300.  An alternative that may be better for some people is set-
ting up one or more inter vivos trusts (commonly called “living 
trusts”).  Although they cost more to create than a will, they may 
simplify administration of estates of considerable size, especially 
those that include real estate.  Creating such a trust puts parts 
or all of the owner’s property into a form of ownership (a trust) 
that is controlled by one or more trustees (who can be the owner 
alone, and/or the intended heirs or others) and held for the even-
tual benefit of the intended heirs.  Upon the death of the owner, 
the property can go immediately to the heirs, without probate—
although provisions can be made for it to go into the temporary 
control of another trustee (for example, if the heirs are still mi-
nors at the time of death).  Lawyers familiar with this area of the 
law can create trusts for these or many other purposes.
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Illinois law offers another way to transfer ownership of real prop-
erty upon death without a will.  The owner(s) of residential real 
property containing 1 to 4 dwelling units (a single-family house, 
duplex, etc.) can put it into “transfer on death” (TOD) form.  To 
do that, a proper document must be drafted, signed, witnessed, 
notarized, and recorded in the county recorder’s office (the office 
where real estate deeds are recorded).  Upon the death of the 
owner(s), ownership of the residential property will pass directly 
to the person(s) named in the document as beneficiary(ies), 
without going through probate.38  Financial assets can also be put 
into TOD39 (or for bank or similar accounts, POD—payable on 
death40) form.  The securities firm, bank, or other holder of such 
assets can provide forms and instructions for doing this.

There are important limits on the effects of living trusts and TOD 
or POD designations:

(1)	 None of these methods for transferring ownership can avoid 
federal or state estate taxes, or protect an estate from credi-
tors of the deceased person.

(2)	 A TOD designation of residential property applies only to the 
real estate.  It does not transfer ownership of movable items 
(tangible personal property) in a residence, such as furniture, 
electronic devices, clothing, jewelry, and pictures.  A will is 
still needed to transfer ownership of them.  But using TOD 
and/or POD designations to transfer title to a residence and/
or financial assets may make the remainder of the estate 
(which passes by will) small enough to be administered as a 
“small estate,” simplifying the process.41
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Due to the complexity of state laws on estates, and of the federal 
Estate and Gift Tax law, it is important to get good legal counsel 
on this topic.

Legal Rights and  
Protections

Age discrimination (40)

Illinois and federal laws prohibit 
most discrimination due to age, beginning at age 40.

Employment

The Illinois Human Rights Act affects all private firms that em-
ploy at least 15 persons in the state for at least 20 weeks per year; 
all firms with public contracts; and all state and local employers.  
It also applies to employment agencies and unions.  Religious 
bodies are generally exempt.42

The Act generally prohibits unfavorable treatment of applicants 
or employees due to being over age 40.43  However, an employee 
who is 65 or older, and for the last 2 years has been in an ex-
ecutive position and whose annual retirement benefits based on 
employer contributions alone would be at least $44,000, can be 
compulsorily retired.44  Also, employers can limit eligibility for 
apprenticeship programs to persons between ages 18 and 40.45

The federal Age Discrimination in Employment Act applies to 
any firm “in an industry affecting commerce” (which includes 
nearly all nonpublic employers) that employs at least 20 em-
ployees for at least 20 weeks per year.46  It also applies to em-
ployment agencies, unions, and state and local governments.47  
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Similarly to the Illinois act, it prohibits unfavorable treatment of 
applicants or employees due to being over age 40, but does not 
prohibit compulsory retirement at age 65 of executives who have 
pension plans like those described above for the Illinois Human 
Rights Act.48  The Act also allows actions under a valid senior-
ity system, employee benefit plan, or voluntary early-retirement 
incentive plan, if they meet standards set in the Act.49

You should note that these provisions do not prohibit all unfavor-
able treatment of persons over 40; they prohibit only unfavor-
able treatment due to age.  Further, they allow such treatment if 
it is based on valid, provable grounds such as inability of most 
persons past a certain age to fill the requirements of a rigorous 
occupation safely.  But the courts require strong evidence before 
accepting such grounds.

Real estate transactions

The Illinois Human Rights Act prohibits discrimination in real 
estate transactions by owners, sellers, and brokers due to the age 
of anyone, starting at 40.50  The Act also prohibits discrimina-
tion because a person is blind or hearing-impaired, or uses a 
guide dog.51  Rentals of apartments in owner-occupied buildings 
with up to 4 units, and private sales of single-family homes, are 
exempt.52

Financial transactions

The Illinois Human Rights Act generally prohibits discrimination 
due to age in financial transactions.53  However, issuers of credit 
cards can ask about age and other facts for the purpose of pre-
dicting continuation of income.54
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Public accommodations

The Illinois Human Rights Act prohibits discrimination due to 
age by businesses that provide goods, travel, recreation, and 
similar services to the general public.55  Private clubs not con-
nected to places of public accommodation are exempt.56

For help with discrimination questions, call the Illinois Depart-
ment of Human Rights at one of the following numbers:

Chicago area	 (312) 814-6200
	 (866) 740-3953 (TTY)

Central Illinois	 (217) 785-5100
	 (866) 740-3953 (TTY)

Southern Illinois	 (618) 993-7463
	 (866) 740-3953 (TTY)

Consumer fraud

Ways to avoid fraud

Consumer fraud can affect persons of almost any age; but some 
perpetrators target retired persons—especially those with homes 
or other valuable property.  They may claim that a house needs 
costly repairs, or that an investment they are selling is a “sure 
thing.”  With today’s widespread use of the Internet, many such 
schemes have moved online.  The best defenses against fraud are 
asking questions, and checking up on the company that a seller 
claims to represent.  Here are some warning signs of fraud:

•	 Requests for sensitive information.  A common trick for ob-
taining confidential information is to pretend (in a phone call 
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or email message) to be from a government agency, bank, 
or company or organization that people might trust with 
personal information.  Legitimate businesses and govern-
ment agencies should never ask for passwords, bank account 
numbers, or other sensitive information in unsolicited phone 
calls, or in email messages.  If you ever get such a request, 
ask for the caller’s or sender’s name, department, and exten-
sion; then call the main number for the business or agency 
shown in a phone directory, on your credit card, or in another 
trusted source—not the number given by the caller or email 
sender, which could be the number of a confederate pretend-
ing to work at that institution.  

•	 Pressure to sign immediately.  There is rarely a good reason 
why a deal can’t wait until you think it over and get advice.  
Pressure to sign suggests that it might not look as attractive if 
investigated.

•	 Insistence on payment in cash.  There is no good reason for 
a seller to require payment in cash, instead of by check or 
credit card, for items that are not delivered immediately.  
Such a demand suggests that the seller is at least trying to 
evade taxes; and a person who cheats all taxpayers probably 
would not mind cheating you.  Also, paying cash in advance 
prevents you from stopping payment of a check, or asserting 
defenses against the seller in the case of a credit card sale, if 
the goods do not arrive or are defective, or the services that 
were promised are not provided.

•	 Telephone “investment” pitches.  Even if not actually fraudu-
lent, these often provide large commissions to sellers, and 
usually get buyers into investments whose risks they do not 
understand.  No one should buy any securities; insurance 
products sold as investment or retirement plans; real estate 
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(such as a vacation home) that is too far away to examine; or 
any other purported investment without getting and reading 
a detailed description of it (usually called a “prospectus” or 
“property report”).  Also, a person who is not an experienced 
investor should not make an investment before discussing it 
with a trusted investment advisor.

You should be especially suspicious if a person selling some-
thing promises returns much higher than are available from 
conventional accounts that pay interest (such as bank accounts 
and money-market or bond mutual funds).  This is a red flag, 
warning that the “investment”—even if not fraudulent—is much 
riskier than it seems.  Such extravagant promises are common 
in “Ponzi” schemes, in which a promoter claims to be invest-
ing money for high returns, but actually is using investments by 
new customers to pay current customers who want to take their 
money out.  Such a financial pyramid is certain to fail, because 
no promoter can keep finding more and more customers forever.

•	 “Prize” notifications.  Someone may call or email, claiming 
that you won a big prize but must pay taxes or “shipping” 
charges to get it.  The caller may then ask you to provide a 
credit card number or bank account number, or to mail the 
company a check for “taxes.”  A request for payment to get a 
“prize” virtually guarantees that the scheme is a fraud.  The 
same is true of a claim that you won a contest you haven’t 
entered.  Giving out information such as credit card or 
bank account numbers, or sending a check, to someone you 
haven’t heard of is a quick way to be a victim.

•	 Home repair solicitations.  Few reputable repair companies 
call on homeowners offering to fix their houses.  But con 
artists may go around offering “discounts” on home repair, 
or claiming to be official “inspectors.”  Once inside, they 
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often “find” (or create) major problems that must be re-
paired at once—by them, of course.  No one should let in a 
stranger without getting adequate identification.  Nor should 
anyone agree to repairs, either orally or in writing, without 
first getting estimates from other repair businesses.  Illinois 
law requires home repair providers to give each prospec-
tive customer a pamphlet entitled “Home Repair:  Know 
Your Consumer Rights” before the customer signs a contract 
authorizing repairs.  The pamphlet lists ways to avoid poten-
tial scams, and gives information on what terms should be 
included in a contract.57

Anyone who suspects fraud in a business dealing should call the 
Attorney General’s office at one of these numbers:

Chicago area	 (800) 386-5438
	 (800) 964-3013 (TTY)
 
Central Illinois	 (800) 243-0618
	 (877) 844-5461 (TTY)
 
Southern Illinois	 (800) 243-0607
	 (877) 675-9339 (TTY)

More detailed information on avoiding fraud and identity theft 
(along with other useful topics) can be found on these Internet 
sites:

www.ag.state.il.us/consumers  (Illinois Attorney General)

https://consumer.ftc.gov/features/identity-theft  (Federal Trade 
Commission) 
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Violent crime (60)

Illinois allows courts to impose heavier penalties for violent 
crimes if they are committed against persons who are 60 or over.  
Causing bodily harm is aggravated battery if the victim is 60 or 
over, with a possible penalty of up to 5 years in prison.58  During 
sentencing for any felony, if the victim was at least 60 the court 
can consider that fact as a ground for imposing up to twice the 
normal maximum term.59

Victims who suffer economic loss from violent crime (or the 
family members of victims) can seek compensation under the 
Crime Victims Compensation Act.60  For a victim to be eligible, 
police must have been notified within 72 hours after the crime 
(unless good cause for delay is shown);61 the victim must have 
cooperated fully with them;62 and the victim must file an applica-
tion either within 5 years after the crime or within 1 year after 
someone is criminally charged with committing it.63  An excep-
tion applies to victims of sexual assault or abuse, who have up to 
7 days to notify authorities.  For those victims, obtaining an order 
of protection or a civil no-contact order, or seeking sexual as-
sault evidence collection and medical care at a hospital, counts as 
notification of and cooperation with law enforcement.64

 
Information and forms are available at https://illinoisattorneygen-
eral.gov/consumers/onlineforms.html or from the Attorney Gen-
eral’s offices in several cities around the state.  The main phone 
number for the program is (800) 228-3368; the TTY number is 
(877) 398-1130.

Elder abuse (60)

Elder abuse can include physical, sexual, or emotional abuse; 
confinement; passive neglect; willful deprivation; or misusing or 
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withholding a vulnerable adult’s financial resources.65  Illinois 
requires numerous kinds of professionals and other workers in 
social services, education, and medical fields to report suspected 
elder abuse if an apparent victim is unable to seek assistance.66  
Anyone who is a victim of elder abuse, or suspects that someone 
else is a victim, should call the Illinois Department on Aging’s 
Adult Protective Services Hotline at (866) 800-1409 (24-hour 
voice) or (888) 206-1327 (TTY).

Grandchild visitation

Older adults sometimes wonder whether there are legal grounds 
for getting court orders allowing them to visit grandchildren—
typically if the grandchildren’s parents are divorced or were 
never married to each other, or one of them has died.  Illinois 
court decisions say that a child’s parents have the primary right 
to decide whether other persons can visit the child.  On the other 
hand, Illinois has statutory provisions seeking to allow grandpar-
ents to get court-ordered visitation of grandchildren in limited 
situations.67  Those provisions say that a grandparent or great-
grandparent can seek a court order for visitation with a child 
who is at least 1 year old (but not that a visitation order must be 
granted) in any of several kinds of situations involving “an un-
reasonable denial of visitation by a parent.”  They include these:

(1)	 The other parent is deceased or has been missing for at 
least 90 days.

(2)	 A parent is legally incompetent.

(3)	 A parent has been in jail or prison for at least the last 90 
days.

(4)	 The parents are divorced or legally separated (or a divorce 
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proceeding or other court proceeding involving parental 
responsibilities or child visitation is underway), and at 
least one parent does not object to the visitation.

(5)	 The parents are neither married nor living together, but the 
child’s parentage has been legally established.68

The statute clearly says that a person filing such a petition for 
visitation has the burden of showing that denial of visitation by 
the parent(s) harms the child.69  The law lists 12 factors for courts 
to consider when deciding whether to grant such visitation.70

No law gives grandparents or great-grandparents a right to visita-
tion.  They must come within the statutory requirements, and 
must overcome the presumption that a child’s parent(s) can best 
decide whether to allow others to visit the child.

Health-related Programs

Medicare

This federal program helps people 
who are at least 65 (and some younger 
persons) pay for medical care and 
related services.  Those who are eligible 
can get Medicare coverage in a variety of ways.  The following 
describes mostly so-called “Original Medicare”—in which 
the federal agency that administers Medicare makes payments 
directly for medical services.  Other options are available in 
many localities through private companies whose programs are 
approved and subsidized by that federal agency.  One major 
category of such private programs—Medicare Advantage 
plans—is discussed below.
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The following is only a general summary of Medicare programs.  
People who need to enroll in or change their Medicare coverage 
should consult (or ask a trusted family member or advisor to 
consult) the Medicare website (www.medicare.gov) for more 
details.

Part A

Part A offers hospital insurance to persons who are 65 or older, or 
disabled.  The following categories of people usually qualify for 
Part A without paying premiums:

•	A person who has worked a total of at least 10 years (whether 
or not consecutive) under Social Security, and the spouse of 
such a person—in each case if at least 65.  (Unlike Social Se-
curity retirement benefits, described earlier, regular Medicare 
eligibility starts at 65 regardless of year of birth.  Persons who 
start getting Social Security or Railroad Retirement Board 
benefits at age 65 are also automatically enrolled in Part A.)

•	A person under 65 who, for the last 24 months, has qualified 
for Social Security disability, disabled widow(er)’s, or dis-
abled child’s benefits.

•	A person with end-stage renal (kidney) disease who has 
enough work credit under Social Security; and (subject to 
additional requirements) the spouse, or child under age 25, of 
such a person.

A person who is over 65 but in none of those categories (or a 
person with a disability who has returned to work) must pay a 
monthly premium (as much as $499 in 2022).  The initial en-
rollment period for those persons is from 3 months before the 
month in which they turn 65 until 3 months after the month they 
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turn 65; enrolling after the first 3 months will delay the start of 
coverage.  They can also enroll in a later year between January 
and March, with coverage to begin in July, but will have to pay 
higher premiums for late enrollment.71

Part A covers several kinds of medical services.  (The description 
here is of “Original Medicare.”  Many people covered by Medi-
care can choose optional managed-care plans that offer more 
benefits but may require paying extra premiums.)

Eligibility for coverage under Part A is determined by the “ben-
efit period” (sometimes called a “spell of illness”).  The benefit 
period begins when a recipient is admitted to a hospital or skilled 
nursing facility, and ends when the recipient has been out of 
inpatient care for 60 consecutive days.  There is no limit on how 
many benefit periods a recipient may have; but each benefit peri-
od brings a new deductible.72  In 2022 that deductible is $1,556.73

Part A covers the following services:

•	Inpatient hospital services for up to 90 days per “benefit 
period.”  Days 1 through 60 are completely covered after the 
$1,566 deductible.  For days 61 through 90, the patient must 
pay $389 per day.  For stays exceeding 90 days, the services 
can be covered by “lifetime reserve days” (a patient can 
receive up to 60 days of coverage over a lifetime).  For each 
lifetime reserve day used, the patient must pay $778.74

•	Extended care (such as in a nursing home) after an inpatient 
hospital stay of at least 3 days, lasting up to 100 days per 
“benefit period” (also with payment as described below).  
Days 1 through 20 are completely covered.  The recipient 
must pay $194.50 per day for days 21 through 100, and all 
costs after day 100 in the same benefit period.75
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•	Home health services.  The recipient pays nothing for Medi-
care-approved services, and 20% of the Medicare-approved 
amount for durable medical equipment (such as walkers, 
wheelchairs, and hospital beds).

•	Transfusions.  The recipient pays nothing if the hospital got 
the blood from a blood bank at no charge.  If the hospital had 
to pay for the blood, the recipient pays the hospital’s costs for 
the first 3 pints received as an inpatient (unless the recipient or 
another person donates to replace what is used).

•	Limited hospice care.76

Part B

This program, which is optional for persons eligible for Medicare, 
offers additional insurance for doctors’ fees for inpatient care; out-
patient services; home health services not covered by Part A; dura-
ble medical equipment; emergency ambulance service; and many 
preventive services.  Persons receiving Social Security retirement 
benefits get Part B automatically at age 65, unless they decline it 
to avoid paying the premiums.  (Persons who, after age 65, con-
tinue to be covered by a group health plan provided by their (or a 
spouse’s) employer or union should sign up within 8 months after 
the end of (a) employment or (b) that coverage—whichever ends 
first.  Persons not enrolling by then will have annual opportuni-
ties to enroll, but will miss some benefits until they do.77)  The 
monthly premium for Part B in 2022 is $170.10 for most people, 
but is higher for recipients whose modified adjusted gross incomes 
in 2022 exceeded $91,000 for an individual filer or $182,000 for 
joint filers.78

Part B will pay 80% of an amount set by the federal Medicare 
agency for each service after an annual deductible ($233 in 2022).  
If a provider charges more than that amount for a service, the 
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patient’s responsibility to the provider is not limited to 20% of 
the federally set amount.  Providers advertising that they accept 
Medicare “assignment” have agreed to take the federally set 
amount as full payment from their Medicare patients, so those 
patients normally pay only 20% of that amount as a copayment.79  
People who do not sign up for Part B when they first become 
eligible must generally pay a 10% higher premium for each 
12-month period that passes before they sign up for it.  But a 
person who delays taking Part B because the person or a spouse 
(or, for people with disabilities, a family member) is working, 
and therefore has group health insurance, may not have to pay 
the higher premium.80

Part C (Medicare Advantage plans)

Medicare Advantage plans, offered in many areas, are privately 
administered health plans that are approved and partly funded by 
Medicare as alternatives to “Original Medicare.”  (The federal 
Medicare agency pays a private administrator a monthly amount 
per Medicare Advantage enrollee; the enrollee pays any monthly 
premium beyond that amount.)  A number of Medicare Advan-
tage plan types are offered, including Preferred Provider Orga-
nizations (PPOs), Health Maintenance Organizations (HMOs), 
Private Fee-for-Service (PFFS) Plans, Medical Savings Accounts 
(MSAs), and Special Needs Plans (SNPs).  Coverage and fees 
vary by plan.  These plans must cover all services covered by 
Medicare Parts A and B—except clinical trials, hospice services, 
and benefits added to Parts A and B too recently to be included in 
them; but “Original Medicare” will still help cover some of those 
costs.  Medicare Advantage plans may also offer other services 
that “Original Medicare” does not, such as fitness programs and 
some vision, dental, and hearing services.  During an annual en-
rollment period, recipients can move between Medicare Advan-
tage Plans, or between a Medicare Advantage plan and “Original 
Medicare” (Parts A and B).81
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An interactive Medicare Plan Finder can be used to search for 
information on plans in any ZIP Code:

www.medicare.gov/plan-compare

Part D

Part D plans are optional plans, offered by private companies, 
that pay part or all of the cost of approved prescription drugs, up 
to annual limits.  Such a plan may either (1) provide prescription 
coverage for recipients who have Parts A and B, or (2) be part of 
a Medicare Advantage plan under Part C.  In either case, recipi-
ents may have to pay a monthly premium, an annual deductible, 
and copayments or co-insurance.82 

As in Part B, it is important to enroll as soon as you become 
eligible.  Most persons who enroll later must pay a monthly 
late-enrollment penalty of roughly 1% of the current monthly 
premium for every month after they became eligible to join a 
Part D plan until they joined.  These higher premiums change as 
current monthly premiums change, and must be paid for as long 
as the recipient has a Part D plan.83  Recipients can enroll when 
they become eligible for Medicare, and can join, switch, or drop 
a Part D plan between October 15 and December 7 each year.84

Low-income subsidies for Part D

Medicare recipients with low incomes and limited “resources” 
(basically meaning assets, excluding some things such as a home 
and car) are eligible for assistance (called “Extra Help”) in pay-
ing monthly premiums, annual deductibles, and any co-insurance 
or copayments.  In addition, they have no “coverage gap” (com-
monly called the “doughnut hole”) in Part D.  Income and re-
source limits for eligibility in 2021 were:
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		  Married and living with 
	 Individual	 spouse but no dependents

Income	 $19,320	 $26,130

Resources	 14,790	 29,520

In addition, Medicare recipients automatically qualify for this 
assistance if they have full Medicaid coverage; belong to a 
“Medicare Savings Program” sponsored by their state’s Medic-
aid program; or get Supplemental Security Income (SSI) but not 
Medicaid.85

The Senior Health Insurance Program of the Illinois Department 
on Aging can provide, through the Senior HelpLine, informa-
tion and individual counseling on coverage under Medicare Parts 
A through D; long-term-care insurance; Medicare claims and 
appeals; and rights of Medicare recipients.  The number for the 
HelpLine is (800) 252-8966 (voice) or 711 (Telecommunication 
Relay Service).  The Senior Health Insurance Program website 
is:

https://www2.illinois.gov/aging/ship/Pages/default.
aspx 

Older Americans Act and related programs

Federal grants to states support a wide range of programs un-
der the Older Americans Act and other laws.  Some funding for 
these programs also comes from the state and local governments.  
Services available include adult day care; household chore as-
sistance; group or home-delivered meals; education and training; 
employment assistance; senior centers; transportation and escort; 
home visitation; health care; legal assistance; and long-term-care 
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ombudsman services.86  For information on eligibility and ser-
vices, call the Illinois Department on Aging’s Senior HelpLine at 
(800) 252-8966 (voice) or (888) 206-1327 (TTY).

Programs for special health needs

The Department on Aging has a Community Care Program to 
help older persons avoid unnecessarily or prematurely going into 
nursing homes.  To be eligible, an applicant must be at least 60; 
show need for long-term care; and have nonexempt assets un-
der $17,500.  (A home, personal furnishings, and car, plus a few 
other kinds of property, are exempt.)87  The Program offers three 
basic kinds of services:

•	Case management, including assessment of clients and plan-
ning of services for them.

•	“Homemaker” services to help clients with non-medical 
personal tasks, such as bathing, dressing, and grooming; meal 
preparation; shopping; cleaning; and laundry.

•	Adult day services, including social activities and nutritious 
meals.  It may also include health care and nursing services.

The program is available to persons with Alzheimer’s disease 
and other kinds of mental and physical impairments.  For more 
information, call the Senior HelpLine.

The Illinois Department of Public Health supervises a service 
network and regional centers for Alzheimer’s patients under  
the Alzheimer’s Disease Assistance Act.88  The state has three 
regional centers.  The Rush Center in Chicago at (312) 947-7232 
and the Northwestern Center at (312) 908-9339 serve nine  
northeastern Illinois counties:  Cook, DuPage, Grundy, Kane, 
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Kankakee, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, and Will.  The rest of the 
state is served by the Southern Illinois University Center in 
Springfield at (217) 545-8000.89  General information, and refer-
rals to the state’s various Alzheimer’s programs, are available 
from the Department on Aging’s Senior HelpLine.

Area Agencies on Aging

Thirteen Area Agencies on Aging throughout Illinois conduct 
outreach activities designed to inform senior citizens of public 
benefits and services for which they may be eligible, connect 
them to this assistance, and encourage them to participate in local 
senior programs.  For more information call the Department on 
Aging’s Senior HelpLine, or find your local Area Agency on Ag-
ing by going to:

 https://webapps.illinois.gov/AGE/ProviderProfileSearch/
Search

and using the dropdown lists in the “Service Type” and “County” 
spaces. 

Nursing home regulation and costs

Illinois’ Nursing Home Care Act90 is designed to protect the 
health, safety, and civil rights of people in nursing homes who 
may be unable to protect themselves.  The Illinois Department 
of Public Health enforces the Act.  Many nursing homes are 
also regulated under the federal Medicare and/or state Medicaid 
programs.

Classification of facilities

Nursing homes (legally called “long-term care facilities”91) are 
classified in laws by the level of medical and other services they 
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offer.  A “skilled nursing facility” provides continuous nursing 
care 24 hours a day for a serious or long-term illness.92  Other 
nursing facilities provide rehabilitation services for people who 
are injured, disabled, or sick.93  There are also facilities providing 
lesser levels of care, such as “sheltered care,” for people who can 
function on their own but need some help with activities such as 
bathing and eating.94

Nearly all privately owned facilities for long-term care, along 
with homes operated by the Illinois Department of Veterans’ 
Affairs, must be licensed.95  The Illinois Department of Public 
Health can suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew a license for a 
substantial violation of the Act or regulations under it.96  Some 
municipalities also have ordinances licensing nursing homes; in 
those localities, nursing homes must comply with both state and 
local requirements.97

The Department can visit a nursing home and determine whether 
it complies with the Act (and a municipality regulating nursing 
homes may inspect for compliance with its ordinance).  Nursing 
homes are required to keep complete copies of the last 5 years’ 
state inspection reports.  These reports must be available for pub-
lic inspection at nursing facilities.98

The Attorney General, the local state’s attorney, and other law 
enforcement agencies must also inform the Department of any 
violations they learn of.99 

Screening of applicants

Persons 18 or older who seek admission to a nursing facility 
must be screened to determine their need for such services.100
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Consequences of violations

The Department has several options if it finds that a home vio-
lates regulations or ordinances.101  These include fines that can 
range from $250 to $25,000 depending on the severity of a viola-
tion.102  Any licensee that intentionally fails to correct a violation; 
prevents or interferes with the examination of relevant records 
or evidence; retaliates or discriminates against a resident for 
providing information to an official about an alleged violation; 
files false, incomplete, or misleading information; or operates an 
unlicensed facility can also be fined up to $10,000 and may face 
criminal misdemeanor charges.103

Nursing home agreements and rights of residents

The Act has numerous provisions to protect residents of nursing 
homes.104  Before signing an agreement with a nursing home, a 
person should consult a lawyer, the Social Security office, and/or 
the local Department of Healthcare and Family Services office.  
Major rights stated in Illinois law are summarized below.

Visits

A resident can be visited between 10 a.m. and 8 p.m. by members 
of the general public, including relatives and representatives of 
community legal services organizations, unless a visit is for com-
mercial purposes or would threaten residents or facility property.  
A resident has a right to terminate a visit at any time.105

Personal property

Residents may keep personal belongings in their immediate 
living quarters.  The nursing home is to provide space for such 
property, and a way to protect small valuables either in residents’ 
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rooms or in another place to which residents have daily access.  
The home is to make efforts to prevent loss of residents’ property, 
and have procedures for prompt investigation of complaints of 
theft.106  A nursing home is to keep any funds of a resident up to 
$100 available for the resident’s use; any amount beyond $100 
is to be put into an interest-bearing account.  The resident or 
resident’s guardian is to get at least a quarterly accounting of the 
home’s safekeeping of these funds.107

Religion, medical treatment, privacy

Residents are to be allowed free exercise of religion;108 their 
choice of personal physicians (at their own expense unless paid 
for by insurance);109 privacy with respect to their medical and 
personal care;110 and private, uncensored communication by mail 
or phone.111  They are not to be restrained unless medically nec-
essary, and are not to be abused or neglected.112

Married residents

Married couples who live in the same facility are to be allowed 
to live in the same room unless there is no room in the facility 
or the residents’ attending physician deems such a living 
arrangement medically inadvisable.113

Involuntary transfer or discharge

A nursing home can transfer or discharge a resident against the 
resident’s wishes for only four reasons:  (1) medical reasons; (2) 
the resident’s safety; (3) the safety of other residents, the staff, or 
visitors; or (4) late payment or nonpayment of charges—except 
as prohibited by the Medicare and Medicaid titles of the Social 
Security Act.114  A home must generally give a resident 21 days’ 
written notice of a transfer or discharge, and discuss it with the 
resident (except in cases of medical emergency or danger to 
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others).115  It must offer the resident counseling before a transfer 
or discharge.116

Complaints 

A resident may complain to the Illinois Department of Public 
Health and request an investigation.  The request can be made 
in writing, by telephone, by electronic means, or in person.  The 
Department must record any oral complaint in writing, and ask 
for the complainant’s name, address, and telephone number.  But 
the Department is required to investigate a complaint even with-
out such identifying information.117

Upon receiving a complaint charging abuse or neglect, the 
Department is to investigate it within 7 days (or if it alleges 
imminent danger, within 24 hours).118  Other provisions allow a 
dissatisfied complainant to request a hearing before a Department 
hearing officer.119  Complaints can be made to the Department of 
Public Health at (800) 252-4343; the TTY number is (800) 547-
0466.  

The Department posts information on enforcement actions 
against specific nursing homes on the Internet.  To check whether 
a home has had recent enforcement actions, visit:

http://dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/health-care-regulation/
nursing-homes

Paying for care

In a limited number of situations, Medicare will pay for skilled 
nursing care in a nursing home that is certified to care for Medi-
care patients.  Veterans may also be eligible for federal benefits 
to help pay the costs of care in nursing homes.
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The Medicaid program funded through the Illinois Department of 
Healthcare and Family Services will pay for skilled or intermedi-
ate nursing care in nursing homes that participate in Medicaid, 
but only for persons with limited incomes and assets.120  If a per-
son getting Medicaid for care in a nursing home is married, the 
law usually allows the couple to divide their assets, and allows 
the spouse not in the nursing home to keep some assets without 
disqualifying the spouse in the nursing home for Medicaid.121  
This is referred to as “prevention of spousal impoverishment” (or 
simply the “spousal impoverishment” provisions).

The amount that the spouse not in a nursing home can keep is 
adjusted annually for inflation; it was $109,560 when this book-
let was printed.122  That amount is in addition to the value of the 
couple’s house, household goods, a car, and a few other kinds 
of property that the spouse not in a nursing home can also keep 
without disqualifying the other spouse for Medicaid.123   In addi-
tion, the spouse not in the nursing home may keep any income 
of up to $2,739 per month when this booklet was printed.  If that 
spouse’s income is not that high, the nursing home resident may 
transfer up to enough income for the other spouse to reach that 
total.124

The Department of Healthcare and Family Services administers 
Medicaid funding; the Department on Aging assesses persons 60 
or older for eligibility for care in nursing homes under Medicaid.  
It can be contacted at (800) 252-8966 (voice or TTY) for a 
referral to one of its local offices for that purpose.

Several insurers offer coverage for some or all of the costs of 
care in a nursing home (or in some cases, of in-home care).  If 
you or someone you know would like to buy such insurance, 
keep in mind that it becomes more expensive—and may even 
become unavailable—as the person to be insured gets older and 
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in poorer health.  Thus, it is wise to start looking into such insur-
ance by middle age.  (Insurance may still be available around 
retirement age for a person who is in generally good health, but 
it will be costly.)  The Department on Aging can give the names 
and phone numbers of companies offering such insurance.  If you 
want such insurance, be sure to check with several companies 
and compare their benefits.  Such policies offer coverage at vari-
ous levels and for various lengths of time.  

Persons concerned about running out of money while in a nurs-
ing home may want to consider a “partnership” insurance policy 
for long-term care, which would cover a particular dollar amount 
of long-term care costs.  If the policy is kept in force and the 
insured person eventually needs long-term care, the insurer will 
pay for it until that dollar limit is exhausted.  After that, Medicaid 
will pay for all additional long-term care that is needed.  What 
makes a “partnership” policy different from other long-term-care 
insurance policies is that Medicaid’s asset disregard (the part of 
a person’s net financial worth that Medicaid is not allowed to 
collect to recoup its costs) increases by $1 for each $1 paid out 
by the insurance policy.  For example, if a person’s partnership 
policy pays $250,000 in long-term-care benefits, the person is 
permitted to keep—and pass on to heirs—up to $250,000, ex-
empt from collection by Medicaid.125  For information, contact 
the Senior Health Insurance Program (SHIP) through the Senior 
HelpLine at (800) 252-8966 (voice).

Guardians for disabled adults

Any person over age 18 who is unable to handle personal medi-
cal and/or financial affairs can have a guardian (or guardians) ap-
pointed to do so.  An adult who is not yet disabled can designate 
someone to become a guardian in case of later disability.    
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There are two basic types of guardians for adults:

(1)	 A “guardian of the person” oversees the person’s physical 
well-being, including place of residence and way of life.  If 
a person with a guardian has minor or other dependent chil-
dren, this guardian will normally get custody of them.

(2)	 A “guardian of the estate” oversees the person’s assets and 
income, managing them to provide support for the person 
and for any minor or other dependent children.

A court may appoint either or both kinds of guardians for a 
person.  The two kinds of guardianship may be exercised by the 
same person or by different persons.  Any guardianship powers 
are exercised under the general control of the court that appoint-
ed the guardian.126

A public agency or nonprofit corporation can be appointed as 
a guardian of the person, estate, or both.  A trust company can 
be appointed as guardian of an estate.127  There is also a Public 
Guardian in each county, and a State Guardian, who can be ap-
pointed if no one else is able and willing to serve.128

The law also allows appointment of “standby” and “short-term” 
guardians for a disabled adult, to act in place of regular guardians 
who have died or are temporarily unavailable.129

An adult “of sound mind and memory” who wants to designate a 
future guardian or guardians should do so in a formal writing.  It 
is best to have the designation executed and attested in the same 
way as a will.  In any event, relatives and friends should be in-
formed of the designation so they can tell the court if the person 
becomes unable to take care of personal affairs.  The court is not 
required to choose the designated person(s) as guardian(s), but 
usually will do so.130
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The statutory provisions on guardianship are complex, so they 
should be carefully read and discussed with a legal advisor be-
fore being used.

Living wills and powers of attorney

Many people fear someday lying in a hospital unconscious or 
otherwise unable to make and communicate decisions about their 
care.  Illinois has four laws designed to help in such situations.  
Each is described below.

Power of attorney for health care

One law allows creation of a “power of attorney for health care.”  
Any adult, by creating such a document, can give authority to 
another person (called the “agent”) to make personal medical 
decisions, starting at some future date or when a stated condition 
occurs.  Powers over health care that may be given include:  (l) 
the right to be informed, (2) the right to consent to treatment; 
and (3) the right to control the health care of a minor child of the 
person who granted the power of attorney.  No person who is 
providing health care to a patient can act as that patient’s agent 
under this law.131

The text of a power of attorney for health care (with spaces for 
stating choices) is set forth in the law, and is available from many 
health-care providers.  Starting January 1, 2023, it can be signed, 
witnessed, and stored electronically as an alternative to a paper 
form.132  A person should carefully read the form, or have it ex-
plained by a knowledgeable person, before deciding whether to 
sign it and what options to select in it.
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Living will

Another law, the Illinois Living Will Act, generally allows any 
competent adult to order that in case of terminal illness, measures 
that would only prolong the dying process not be used.  It al-
lows the making of a “declaration,” whose suggested text says in 
crucial part:

If at any time I should have an incurable and irreversible 
injury, disease, or illness judged to be a terminal condi-
tion by my attending physician who has personally exam-
ined me and has determined that my death is imminent 
except for death delaying procedures, I direct that such 
procedures which would only prolong the dying process 
be withheld or withdrawn, and that I be permitted to die 
naturally with only the administration of medication, 
sustenance, or the performance of any medical procedure 
deemed necessary by my attending physician to provide 
me with comfort care.133

The suggested text of the declaration has other provisions that 
are not quoted above to save space.  A declaration must be signed 
by the person making it, or by someone else at that person’s 
direction, and witnessed by at least two adults.134  The law allows 
the declaration to include “other specific directions” in addition 
to those listed in the law.135  (As examples, a person could require 
that the declaration take effect only if two physicians declare the 
illness to be terminal, or only if the next-of-kin agrees.)  A lawyer 
should be asked to check any proposed declaration that includes 
such added provisions, in case there is a problem with their clar-
ity or effect.  Forms containing the suggested text are available 
from the Illinois Department on Aging, and at some hospitals and 
other medical facilities.
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It is important to keep in mind that the patient can override or 
revoke such a declaration at any time, either orally or in writ-
ing.  The declaration merely speaks for a patient who is unable to 
make decisions and/or unable to communicate.

If you are (or know someone who is) interested in this law, be 
sure to read all of it136 before deciding to make a declaration un-
der it (or recommending that someone else do so).  Not everyone 
will want to have such a declaration.  It is entirely the patient’s 
choice.

The following describes a more specific medical document that 
may be appropriate for patients with life-threatening or termi-
nal conditions if they want to limit medical efforts to keep them 
alive.

Practitioner Orders for Life-Sustaining Treatment (POLST)

Persons being admitted to a health-care facility may be invited 
to fill out a form called “Practitioner Orders for Life-Sustaining 
Treatment” (POLST).  It is a medical document stating what 
kinds of actions the patient wants to be taken in a medical emer-
gency, such as if breathing stops.  It has various boxes that the 
patient can check to indicate the level of medical intervention 
wanted in such a situation.  The patient should discuss those 
choices with a medical provider before checking any boxes and 
signing the form.  To be effective, the form must be witnessed, 
and a medical provider must sign it to indicate the provider’s 
belief that the orders in the form are consistent with the patient’s 
medical condition and preferences.  Each person should care-
fully think about the options in the form, and discuss them with a 
medical and/or other advisor, before filling in the form.  A blank 
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POLST form is linked from this page on the Illinois Department 
of Public Health website:

https:/ /dph.i l l inois.gov/content/dam/soi/en/web/idph/fi les/
forms/polstform.pdf

(or go to www.dph.illinois.gov and search for “POLST”).137

Health-care surrogate

If a patient has no agent with a power of attorney for health care, 
another law allows a doctor, nurse, or hospital to ask a “surro-
gate” for the patient to decide whether to forgo life-sustaining 
treatment.  The law lists the following order of priority for who 
can be such a surrogate:  the patient’s guardian of the person (if 
any); spouse; adult son or daughter; parent; adult sibling; adult 
grandchild; close friend; or guardian of the estate (if any).138  Al-
though this law can help a person who has no power of attorney 
for health care, living will, or POLST, signing one or more of 
those documents can reduce uncertainty (and possible lawsuits) 
over control of medical treatments.

Notes

The citations below to “ILCS” mean the Illinois Compiled Stat-
utes—the state’s official code of laws, which is available on the 
Internet at www.ilga.gov and in many libraries in books.  As an 
example of an ILCS citation, “125 ILCS 20/1” means the Illinois 
Compiled Statutes, chapter 125, act 20, section 1.  Citations to 
“Ill. Adm. Code” refer to the Illinois Administrative Code— 
the compilation of all regulations that agencies have adopted to 
implement Illinois laws.  A few citations below are to U.S.  
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Code (the federal code of laws), which is available online at 
http://uscode.house.gov/ and in print in many libraries.  A cita-
tion to it has the form “12 U.S. Code sec. 345.”  This means the 
United States Code, Title 12, section 345.

Other abbreviations used in these notes are:

“sec.” or “secs.”:  section or sections

“ff.”:  and the following sections

1.	 35 ILCS 200/15-170.
2.	 35 ILCS 200/16-65.
3.	 Cook County Code of Ordinances, subsecs. 74-63(2) and 

74-64(2).
4.	 35 ILCS 200/15-170 (b) and (c).
5.	 35 ILCS 200/15-175.
6.	 35 ILCS 200/15-175.
7.	 35 ILCS 200/15-172(b) (definition of “base amount”) and 

15-172(c).
8.	 35 ILCS 200/15-172(c), fifth unnumbered paragraph.
9.	 35 ILCS 200/15-172(c), sixth unnumbered paragraph.	

10.	 35 ILCS 200/15-172(c), seventh unnumbered paragraph.
11.	 320 ILCS 30/3, paragraph (1).
12.	 320 ILCS 30/1 ff.
13.	 26 U.S. Code subsecs. 121(a) and (b).
14.	 26 U.S. Code subsec. 121(b)(3).
15.	 26 U.S. Code subsecs. 121(b)(1) and (2).
16.	 625 ILCS 5/3-806.3, first and fourth paragraphs.
17.	 “Eligibility and Frequently Asked Questions” (for the 

Benefit Access program), downloaded July 18, 2022 from 
Illinois Department on Aging Internet site. 

18.	 625 ILCS 5/6-118.
19.	 215 ILCS 5/143.29(a).
20.	 215 ILCS 5/143.29(e)(4).
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21.	 20 ILCS 805/805-305.
22.	 110 ILCS 990/0.01 ff.
23.	 Social Security Administration, “Retirement Benefits” 

(Pub. 05-10035, January 2022), pp. 3-4 (available on SSA 
Internet site). 

24.	 42 U.S. Code subsec. 416(l).
25.	 42 U.S. Code subsec. 402(w)(1) and (6)(D).
26.	 42 U.S. Code subsec. 402(d)(1) (especially subparagraph 

(B)).
27.	 42 U.S. Code secs. 1381 ff.; Social Security Administra-

tion, “A Guide to Supplemental Security Income (SSI) for 
Groups and Organizations” (Pub. 05-11015,  March 2022, 
available on SSA Internet site).

28.	 305 ILCS 5/3-1 ff.; 89 Ill. Adm. Code secs. 113.1 ff.
29.	 305 ILCS 5/3-1.5.
30.	 “Aid to the Aged, Blind, and Disabled (AABD)” (available 

on Illinois Department of Human Services Internet site).
31.	 765 ILCS 945/5 (definition of “reverse mortgage”).
32.	 765 ILCS 945/10(b).
33.	 765 ILCS 945/5 (definition of “reverse mortgage”) and 

945/10(c).
34.	 765 ILCS 945/20.
35.	 765 ILCS 945/25.
36.	 765 ILCS 945/15(b).
37.	 755 ILCS 5/2-1.
38.	 755 ILCS 27/1 ff.
39.	 815 ILCS 10/0.01 ff. 
40.	 205 ILCS 625/2(a) and 625/4.
41.	 See 755 ILCS 5/25-1 ff.
42.	 775 ILCS 5/2-101(B).
43.	 775 ILCS 5/1-103(A), 5/1-103(Q) and 5/2-102.
44.	 775 ILCS 5/2-104(A)(5)(b).
45.	 775 ILCS 5/1-103(A).
46.	 29 U.S. Code subsec. 630(b).
47.	 29 U.S. Code subsecs. 623(a) to (c), and 630(a) and (b).
48.	 29 U.S. Code subsec. 631(c).
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49.	 29 U.S. Code subsec. 623(f)(2).
50.	 775 ILCS 5/1-103(Q) and 5/3-102.
51.	 775 ILCS 5/3-104.1.
52.	 775 ILCS 5/3-106(A) to (C).
53.	 775 ILCS 5/1-103(Q) and 5/4-102.
54.	 775 ILCS 5/4-104(B).
55.	 775 ILCS 5/1-103(Q) and 5/5-102.
56.	 775 ILCS 5/5-103(A). 
57.	 815 ILCS 513/20(a) and (b).
58.	 720 ILCS 5/12-3.05(d)(1) and (h); 730 ILCS 5/5-4.5-40(a).
59.	 730 ILCS 5/5-5-3.2(b)(3)(ii) and 5/5-8-2.
60.	 740 ILCS 45/1 ff.
61.	 740 ILCS 45/6.1(b).
62.	 740 ILCS 45/6.1(c).
63.	 740 ILCS 45/6.1(a).
64.	 740 ILCS 45/6.1(b-1).
65.	  “Reporting Abuse:  What Professionals Need to Know” 

(available on Illinois Department on Aging Internet site).  
66.	 320 ILCS 20/2(f-5) and 20/4(a-5).
67.	 See primarily 750 ILCS 5/602.9.
68.	 750 ILCS 5/602.9(c)(1).
69.	 750 ILCS 5/602.9(b)(4).
70.	 750 ILCS 5/602.9(b)(5) and (c)(2).
71.	 U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers 

for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Medicare & You 2022 
(product 10050, Dec. 2021), pp. 17-18 and 22 (available at 
https://www.medicare.gov/media/10991).

72.	 Medicare & You 2022, p. 121, definition of “Benefit pe-
riod.”

73.	 U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers 
for Medicare and Medicaid Services, “2022 Medicare 
Costs” (information sheet, product 11579, Nov. 2021), first 
page.

74.	 “2022 Medicare Costs,” first page.
75.	 “2022 Medicare Costs,” first page.
76.	 Medicare & You 2022, pp. 26 and 43. 
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77.	 Medicare & You 2022, pp. 17-18 and 29; U.S. Social Se-
curity Administration, “How to Apply for Medicare Part B 
During Your Special Enrollment Period” (Pub. 05-10012, 
Jan. 2021), (available at  
https://www.ssa.gov/pubs/EN-05-10012.pdf).

78.	 Medicare & You 2022, p. 23; “2022 Medicare Costs,”  
second page.

79.	 Medicare & You 2022, p. 29.
80.	 Medicare & You 2022, p. 17-18 and 23.
81.	 Medicare & You 2022, pp. 61-62.
82.	 Medicare & You 2022, pp. 79 and 81-82.
83.	 Medicare & You 2022, pp. 83-84.
84.	 Medicare & You 2022, p. 80.
85.	 Medicare & You 2022, pp. 91-93.
86.	 These programs are authorized by 42 U.S. Code secs.  

3001 ff., and 20 ILCS 105/1 ff.
87.	 89 Ill. Adm. Code secs. 240.710, 240.810, and 240.815.
88.	 410 ILCS 405/1 ff.
89.	 Illinois Department of Public Health, Alzheimer’s Disease 

State Plan, 2020-2023 Report and Recommendations, p. 24 
(Sept. 2020), downloaded from IDPH Internet site. 

90.	 210 ILCS 45/1-101 ff.
91.	 See 210 ILCS 45/1-113, first paragraph.
92.	 See 42 U.S. Code sec. 1395i-3 (definition for purposes of 

Medicare program).
93.	 See 42 U.S. Code subsec. 1396r(a)(1)(B).
94.	 See 42 U.S. Code subsec. 1396r(a)(1)(C) and 210 ILCS 

45/1-124.
95.	 210 ILCS 45/3-102 and 45/1-113.
96.	 210 ILCS 45/3-119.
97.	 See 210 ILCS 45/3-106.
98.	 210 ILCS 45/3-107 and 45/3-210.
99.	 210 ILCS 45/3-107.1.

100.	 210 ILCS 45/2-201.5.
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101.	 210 ILCS 45/3-303.  The types of violations involved are 
defined in 210 ILCS 45/1-128.5 (Type “AA”), 45/1-129 
(Type “A”), and 45/1-130 (Type “B”), and 45/1-132 (Type 
“C”).

102.	 210 ILCS 45/3-305(1) to (3).
103.	 210 ILCS 45/3-318 and 45/3-103(2).
104.	 See 210 ILCS 45/2-101 ff.
105.	 210 ILCS 45/2-110 and 45/1-121.
106.	 210 ILCS 45/2-103.
107.	 210 ILCS 45/2-201.
108.	 210 ILCS 45/2-109.
109.	 210 ILCS 45/2-104.
110.	 210 ILCS 45/2-105.
111.	 210 ILCS 45/2-108.
112.	 210 ILCS 45/2-106 and 45/2-107.
113.	 210 ILCS 45/2-108(e).
114.	 210 ILCS 45/3-401.  Nursing homes that take Medicaid 

patients are also prohibited from discharging them because 
they are on Medicaid (210 ILCS 45/3-401.1).

115.	 210 ILCS 45/3-402 and 45/3-408.
116.	 210 ILCS 45/3-409.
117.	 210 ILCS 45/3-702(a).
118.	 210 ILCS 45/3-702(d).
119.	 210 ILCS 45/3-702(g).
120.	 See 305 ILCS 5/5-1 ff.
121.	 See 305 ILCS 5/5-4(a), second paragraph; 42 U.S. Code 

subsec. 1396r-5(f); and 89 Ill. Adm. Code sec. 120.379.
122.	 Illinois Department of Human Services, “Long Term Care 

Services and Information for Couples,” p. 4 (HFS 3191, 
rev. Feb. 2015, available on Department of Human Ser-
vices Internet site); Illinois Department of Healthcare and 
Family Services, “Prevention of Spousal Impoverishment 
Standards for 2022” (Provider Notice, Jan. 1, 2022), down-
loaded from DHFS Internet site.

123.	 42 U.S. Code subsecs. 1382(b) and 1396r-5(d).



44 / Laws for Older Adults

124.	 “Long Term Care Services and Information for Couples” at 
p. 4; “Prevention of Spousal Impoverishment Standards for 
2022”.

125.	 See 215 ILCS 132/15(b)(1). 
126.	 755 ILCS 5/11a-3, 5/11a-17, and 5/11a-18.
127.	 755 ILCS 5/11a-5.
128.	 755 ILCS 5/13-1 ff. and 20 ILCS 3955/30 and 3955/31.
129.	 See primarily 755 ILCS 5/11a-3.1, 5/11a-3.2, 5/11a-8.1, 

5/11a-18.2, and 5/11a-18.3.
130.	 755 ILCS 5/11a-6.
131.	 755 ILCS 45/4-1 ff.
132.	 755 ILCS 45/4-4.1, 45/4-7, and 45/4-10, each as amended 

by P.A. 102-794 (eff. Jan. 1, 2023).
133.	 755 ILCS 35/3(e), second paragraph of declaration.
134.	 755 ILCS 35/3(b).
135.	 755 ILCS 35/3(e), introductory paragraph.
136.	 755 ILCS 35/1 to 35/9.  
137.	 More information on the Illinois Department of Public 

Health POLST form is at 755 ILCS 40/65.
138.	 755 ILCS 40/1 ff.  See particularly 755 ILCS 40/25.



COMMISSION OVERVIEW

The Commission on Government Forecasting & Accountability is a bipartisan legislative 
support service agency responsible for advising the Illinois General Assembly on eco-
nomic and fiscal policy issues and for providing objective policy research for legislators 
and legislative staff. The Commission’s board is comprised of  twelve legislators—split 
evenly between the House and Senate and between Democrats and Republicans. Ef-
fective December 10, 2018, pursuant to P.A. 100-1148 the former Legislative Research 
Unit was merged into the Commission.

The Commission has three internal units––Revenue, Pensions, and Research, each of  
which has a staff  of  analysts and researchers who analyze policy proposals, legislation, 
state revenues & expenditures, and benefit programs, and who provide research ser-
vices to members and staff  of  the General Assembly. The Commission’s staff  fulfills 
the statutory obligations set forth in the Commission on Government Forecasting and 
Accountability Act (25 ILCS 155/), the State Debt Impact Note Act (25 ILCS 65/), the 
Illinois Pension Code (40 ILCS 5/), the Pension Impact Note Act (25 ILCS 55/), the 
State Facilities Closure Act (30 ILCS 608/), the State Employees Group Insurance Act 
of  1971 (5 ILCS 375/),  the Public Safety Employee Benefits Act (820 ILCS 320/), the 
Legislative Commission Reorganization Act of  1984 (25 ILCS 130/), and the Reports 
to the Commission on Government Forecasting and Accountability Act (25 ILCS 110/).

•	 The Revenue Unit issues an annual revenue estimate, reports monthly on 
the state’s financial and economic condition, and prepares bill analyses and 
debt impact notes on proposed legislation having a financial impact on the 
State. The Unit publishes a number of  statutorily mandated reports, as well as 
on-demand reports, including the Monthly Briefing newsletter and annually, the 
Budget Summary, Capital Plan Analysis, Illinois Economic Forecast Report, Wagering 
in Illinois Update, and Liabilities of  the State Employees’ Group Insurance Program, 
among others. The Unit’s staff  also fulfills the agency’s obligations set forth in 
the State Facilities Closure Act.

•	 The Pension Unit prepares pension impact notes on proposed pension legisla-
tion and publishes several statutorily mandated reports including the Financial 
Condition of  the Illinois State Retirement Systems, the Financial Condition of  Illinois 
Public Pension Systems and the Fiscal Analysis of  the Downstate Police & Fire Pension 
Funds in Illinois. The Unit’s staff  also fulfills the statutory responsibilities set 
forth in the Public Safety Employee Benefits Act.

•	 The Research Unit primarily performs research and provides information as 
may be requested by members of  the General Assembly or legislative staffs. 
Additionally, the Unit maintains a research library and, per statute, collects 
information concerning state government and the general welfare of  the 
state, examines the effects of  constitutional provisions and previously en-
acted statutes, and considers public policy issues and questions of  state-wide 
interest. Additionally, the Unit publishes First Reading, a quarterly newsletter 
which includes abstracts of  annual reports or special studies from other state 
agencies, the Illinois Tax Handbook for Legislators, Federal Funds to State Agencies, 
various reports detailing appointments to State Boards and Commissions, the 
1970 Illinois Constitution Annotated for Legislators, the Roster of  Illinois Legislators, 
and numerous special topic publications.



How to Get Information From Public Agencies

Illinois Department on Aging
www.state.il.us/aging.................................. (800) 252-8966 (voice)
	 (888) 206-1327 (TTY)

The Department administers many programs for senior residents.  
It is the first place to contact for most types of information or as-
sistance.

Social Security Administration
www.ssa.gov............................................... (800) 772-1213 (voice*)
	 (800) 325-0778 (TTY)
*  This number provides automated information and some automated services.  It also 

offers the option of speaking with a representative between 6 a.m. and 6 p.m. (Illinois 
time) on Monday through Friday.  The best days to call are Wednesday through Friday.

Medicare

www. medicare.gov

Nursing home regulation and information

Information and suggestions on how to choose a nursing home:

www.idph.state.il.us/public/books/nhtoc.htm

Information on individual nursing homes by locality:

https://ltc.dph.illinois.gov/webapp/LTCApp/ltc.jsp

Assessment of need for care (required for Medicaid funding):
(800) 252-8966 voice

State government home page

www.illinois.gov

www.ilga.gov


