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Illinois Tax Handbook for Legislators, 2006

This publication gives information on every significant Illinois state tax.  
Each is described in a separate section listing its history, rates, statu-
tory authority, revenue collected, and disposition of proceeds.  The Tax 
Handbook also notes federal taxes (if any) that apply to the same transac-
tions; taxes on similar transaction in selected states (usually those with 
the highest and lowest rates); and taxes on the same items or transactions 
that local governments in Illinois are authorized to impose.

The two largest sources of state revenue are the individual income tax 
and the sales tax.  The state lottery, although not a tax, is also listed be-
cause it is a significant source of general state revenue.  Figure 1 and 
Table 1 on pages 4 and 5 summarize state tax collections in fiscal years 
2004 and 2005.  The state also collected about $1.3 billion in personal 
property tax replacement taxes from businesses.  But that money is all 
distributed to local governments, so it is not reflected in Figure 1 or Table 
1.  Nor do Figure 1 and Table 1 reflect assessments on hospitals and nurs-
ing homes to help cover the state’s costs under the Medical Assistance 
(Medicaid) program.  Those assessments brought in $1.6 billion in fiscal 
year 2005.  The state also received $274.1 million from the tobacco law-
suit settlement involving Illinois and other states.

Most revenue figures in this publication show receipts as recorded by the 
Comptroller upon deposit into the State Treasury.  In a few cases, due 
to lack of detail in the Comptroller’s figures, actual tax collections as 
reported by the Department of Revenue are shown instead.  The Comp-
troller’s deposits into the State Treasury for a given fiscal year may differ 
from tax collections that year because some tax collections for a fiscal 
year may not be reported to the Comptroller until the next fiscal year.  
But the Comptroller’s deposits into the Treasury give the more accurate 
view of revenue from each tax over a period of time.

FY 2005 Receipts From Four Largest Taxes
Receipts from the four largest taxes to the state’s general funds (General 
Revenue Fund, Common School Fund, and Educational Assistance Fund) 
were $959.6 million (5.3%) higher in fiscal year 2005 than in fiscal 2004.  
The table at the top of the next page shows that individual income tax 
revenue rose 7.7%; corporate income tax revenue rose 8.6%; sales tax 
revenue rose 3.9%; and public utility tax revenue fell 5.0%.  The FY 
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2004 figures included $424 million received under a tax amnesty pro-
gram.  It brought in $272 million in corporate income, $101 million in 
sales, $40 million in individual income, and $11 million in public utility 
taxes.  

Tax	 FY 04 (millions)	 FY 05 (millions)	 % Change

Individual income tax	 $8,236.1	 $8,872.5	 7.7%
Sales tax	 6,922.6	 7,190.3	 3.9
Corporate income tax	 1,426.0	 1,548.1	 8.6
Public utility taxes	 1,330.3	 1,263.7	 -5.0

Total, all four taxes	 $17,915.0	 $18,874.6	 5.3%

Trends in FY 2006
In the first 6 months of FY 2006 (July through December 2005), general 
fund receipts from the four major taxes were nearly $8.2 billion—up 
7.8% from $7.6 billion in the same part of FY 2005.  Individual income 
tax receipts were $3.553 billion (up 6.5%) and corporate income tax 
receipts were $554 million (up 32.2%).  Sales tax receipts were $3.541 
billion (up 6.2%), and public utility tax receipts were $541 million (up 
5.9%).  

July-December 2005:

	 FY 04	 FY 05
Tax	 (billions)	 (billions)	 % change

Individual income tax	 $3.337	 $3.553	 6.5%
Sales tax	 3.333	 3.541	 6.2
Corporate income tax	 0.419	 0.554	 32.2
Public utility taxes	 0.511	 0.541	 5.9

Total, all four taxes	 $7.600	 $8.189	 7.8%

Legal Authority for Taxes
The Illinois Constitution of 1970 says that, except as otherwise provided, 
the General Assembly has exclusive power to raise revenue through 
taxation.  The Constitution authorizes the General Assembly to levy 
property, sales, use, franchise, privilege, income, excise, inheritance, gift, 
severance, and all other kinds of taxes, subject to some restrictions.  The 
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General Assembly may classify the subjects and objects of non-property 
taxes, but the classes must be reasonable and the subjects and objects in 
each class must be taxed uniformly.  Exemptions, deductions, credits, re-
funds, and other allowances must be reasonable.

The constitutional authorization for income taxes limits the state to one 
income tax on individuals and one on corporations (not counting the 
tax to replace the corporate personal property tax).  Tax rates cannot be 
graduated.  The rate imposed on corporations cannot exceed that on indi-
viduals by a ratio of more than 8 to 5.

Local taxes in Illinois fall into two categories:  those specifically au-
thorized by statute, and those that home-rule units can impose without 
statutory authority.  Home-rule units may impose any kind of tax not pro-
hibited by the Constitution or specifically prohibited by law.  Rate limits 
and procedural requirements in a law authorizing a local tax do not limit 
home-rule units unless that law explicitly says so.  The Constitution spe-
cifically prohibits home-rule units from licensing for revenue, or impos-
ing taxes on income or occupations, unless authorized by statute.

Note:  In People v. Olender, decided Dec. 15, 2005, the Illinois Supreme 
Court struck down Public Act 88-669 (1994) for violating the single-sub-
ject requirement in the Illinois Constitution, article 4, subsection 8(d).  
That act had amended some revenue laws among other laws.  But most 
of its amendments to revenue laws were minor, and the  collection of 
state taxes does not appear to have been interrupted by the invalidations.  
Bills have been introduced in the 94th General Assembly to re-enact 
some or all of the provisions that were held invalid due to being com-
bined into a single law.
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Figure 1:  Percentages of Revenue Collected by Major State 
Taxes, FY 2005

Riverboats

Lottery
Cigarettes

Public utility taxes

Driver & vehicle fees

Motor fuel taxes

Sales and use taxes

Corporate income tax

Individual income tax

Other sources 5.6%
2.4%
2.6%
3.2%

5.1%

5.5%

5.7%

28.6%

6.1%

35.2

41.4%
Income

taxes



�

Table 1:  State Tax & Lottery Receipts, FYs 2004 & 2005

	 FY 2004 	 FY 2005 	 % change
	 Amount	 % of	 Amount	 % of	 FY 04-
	 (millions)	 total	 (millions)	 total	 FY 05

Individual income tax	 $8,236.1	 34.2%	 $8,872.5	 35.2%	 7.7%
Sales tax	 6,922.6	 28.7	 7,190.3	 28.6	 3.9
Corporate income tax	 1,426.0	 5.9	 1,548.1	 6.1	 8.6
Motor fuel tax	 1,423.8	 5.9	 1,434.6	 5.7	 0.8
Driver’s license &
  motor vehicle fees	 1,365.1	 5.7	 1,376.0	 5.5	 0.8

Public utility tax	 1,330.3	 5.5	 1,295.7	 5.1	 -2.6
Riverboat wagering
  taxes & fees	 774.9	 3.2	 816.4	 3.2	 5.4
Cigarette tax	 760.2	 3.2	 638.0	 2.5	 -16.1
State lottery	 570.1	 2.4	 614.0	 2.4	 7.7
Insurance tax & fees	 431.7	 1.8	 399.8	 1.6	 -7.4

Estate tax	 221.7	 0.9	 310.4	 1.2	 40.0
Corporation franchise
  tax & fees	 165.7	 0.7	 184.4	 0.7	 11.3
Hotel operators’ tax	 156.1	 0.6	 160.1	 0.6	 2.6
Liquor tax & fees	 132.6	 0.6	 153.2	 0.6	 15.5
Real estate transfer tax	 86.2	 0.4	 107.0	 0.4	 24.1

Vehicle use tax	 40.3	 0.2	 37.1	 0.1	 -7.9
Automobile rental tax	 28.5	 0.1	 28.1	 0.1	 -1.4
Racing tax & fees	 12.0	 <0.1	 11.7	 <0.1	 -2.5
Pull tab & jar games
  tax & fees	 7.4	 <0.1	 7.1	 <0.1	 -4.1
Bingo tax & fees	 4.4	 <0.1	 3.9	 <0.1	 -11.4

Coin-operated
  amusement tax	 2.5	 <0.1	 2.7	 <0.1	 8.0
Charitable games
  tax & license fees	 0.2	 <0.1	 0.3	 <0.1	 50.0

Note:    <  means “less than.”

  LRU Tax Handbook
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Automobile Renting Occupation & Use Tax

The Automobile Renting Use Tax applies to the lessee of any automo-
bile; van with capacity of 7-16 passengers; or recreational vehicle, for 
the privilege of using it on Illinois highways.  This tax is collected by the 
lessor, who can be relieved of the duty of paying it by paying the Auto-
mobile Renting Occupation Tax on gross receipts from the transaction.  
These taxes apply only to rental agreements for periods up to 1 year, such 
as short-term rentals at airports, motels, etc.  Administered by Depart-
ment of Revenue.  (35 ILCS 155/1 ff.)

Rate and base:  5% of automobile rental charge.

Exemptions

1.	 Rentals to governmental bodies, or charitable, religious, or education-
al organizations.

2.	 Rentals to nonprofit organizations created to provide recreation for 
persons over age 55.

3.	 Rentals in which the lessor retains possession of the automobile (such 
as limousine service).

4.	 Rentals of demonstrator cars by automobile dealers.

History:  The state began collecting this tax at a 4% rate on January 1, 
1982, simultaneously exempting vehicles that were bought for rental 
from sales taxation.  The rate rose to 5% on July 1, 1985.  A tax amnesty 
program in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay outstanding tax li-
abilities without penalty or interest; only $6,249  was collected.

State revenue collected

Fiscal	 Receipts		  Fiscal	 Receipts 
year	 (millions)	 Change	 year	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $23.5	 10.3%	 2001	 $31.3	 -0.3%
1997	 25.3	 7.7	 2002	 28.8	 -8.0
1998	 26.2	 3.6	 2003	 26.5	 -8.0
1999	 29.7	 13.4	 2004	 28.5	 7.5
2000	 31.4	 5.7	 2005	 28.1	 -1.4
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Disposition of proceeds:  To the General Revenue Fund.

Other taxes on same transactions
Federal:  None.

Local:  Since 1982, municipalities, counties, and the Regional Trans-
portation Authority (RTA) have been authorized to impose occupation 
and use taxes on automobile rentals (65 ILCS 5/8-11-7 and 5/8-11-8; 55 
ILCS 5/5-1032 and 5/5-1033; and 70 ILCS 3615/4.03.1).  The Metro-
politan Pier and Exposition Authority imposes a 6% tax on automobile 
rentals in Cook County to finance McCormick Place expansion (70 ILCS 
210/13(d)).

Such taxes imposed by non-home-rule municipalities and counties can-
not exceed 1% of the rental charge.  The RTA tax rate is limited to 1% 
in Cook County, and 0.25% in DuPage, Kane, Lake, McHenry, and Will 
Counties.  (The RTA levies taxes at those maximum rates.)  These taxes 
are collected by the state and paid to municipalities and counties.  Home-
rule units can impose taxes beyond these limits.  Over 200 Illinois mu-
nicipalities and 4 counties tax automobile rentals.

Automobile Renting Occupation & Use Tax
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Other states’ taxes on automobile rentals

	 State	 Percentage	 Per day

Alaska	 10.0%
Texas (up to 30 days)	 10.0
Virginia (daily rental vehicles)	 10.0
New Hampshire (up to 180 days)	 8.0
North Carolina	 8.0*

Minnesota (up to 28 days)	 6.2
Washington (up to 30 days)	 6.2†
Oklahoma (up to 90 days)	 6.1
Florida	 6.0
Mississippi (up to 30 days)	 6.0

Nevada	 6.0◊
New Jersey (up to 28 days)	 6.0	 +	 $2
Rhode Island (up to 30 days)	 6.0
Arizona (up to 180 days)	 5.0
Arkansas (up to 30 days)	 5.0

Iowa (up to 60 days)	 5.0
New Mexico 	 5.0	 +	 $2
New York (up to 1 year)	 5.0
South Carolina (up to 31 days)	 5.0
Vermont (up to 1 year)	 5.0

Nebraska (up to 31 days)	 4.5
South Dakota (up to 28 days)	 4.5
Georgia	 4.0
Indiana (up to 30 days)	 4.0
Montana (up to 30 days)	 4.0

Wyoming (up to 29 days)	 4.0
Kansas (up to 28 days)	 3.5
Connecticut (up to 30 days)	 3.0	 +	 $1
Kentucky (up to 30 days)	 3.0
Louisiana (up to 29 days)	 3.0

North Dakota (up to 30 days)	 3.0
Tennessee (up to 31 days)	 3.0‡
Wisconsin (up to 30 days)	 3.0
Utah (up to 30 days)	 2.5
Pennsylvania (up to 29 days)	 2.0	 +	 $2

LRU Tax Handbook
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	 State	 Percentage	 Per day

Alabama	 1.5%
Hawaii (up to 6 months)	 -		  $3
West Virginia (up to 30 days)	 -		  $1 - $1.50

*	 Cities may levy an additional tax up to 1.5% as a substitute for property tax—which 
does not apply to vehicles being offered for short-term lease.

†	 Consists of 5.9% plus a 0.3% vehicle sales tax to fund transportation improvements.
◊	 Some counties may add a 2% tax.
‡	 Plus a 2% county surcharge.

In addition to those states, regular sales taxes apply to short-term automobile rentals 
in California (6.25%), Colorado (2.9% plus a 1% county short-term rental tax), Idaho 
(5.0%), Maine (10.0% on leases up to 1 year), Massachusetts (5.0%, plus a $10 surcharge 
in the cities of Boston and Revere), Michigan (6.0%), Missouri (4.225%),  and Ohio 
(5.5%).  Maryland imposes a tax of 23¢ per multiple of $2 (equaling as much as 11.5%) 
on automobile rentals up to 180 days.

Automobile Renting Occupation & Use Tax
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Bingo Tax and License Fees

Illinois gets two forms of revenue from licensed bingo games:  license 
fees, and the bingo game receipts tax.  Administered by Illinois Gaming 
Board in the Department of Revenue.  (230 ILCS 25/1 ff.)

Rate and base:
1.	 Bingo license fees:  (a) $200 fee for an annual or $600 for a three-

year license for a nonprofit religious, charitable, labor, fraternal, edu-
cational, senior citizens’, youth athletic, or veterans’ organization to 
conduct bingo on one day per week, with up to 25 games on that day, 
throughout the year.  (Bingo games at the Illinois State Fair or county 
fairs are not subject to the limits on games per day or days per week.)  
(b) $50 fee for a limited license ($150 for three years), issued to such 
an organization, for bingo games at up to two events per year, for a 
maximum of 5 days each time.  (c) $200 fee for an annual license for 
anyone leasing out facilities or selling bingo equipment or supplies to 
licensed bingo organizations.  (Municipalities that lease their facili-
ties for bingo do not need the $200 license.)

2.	 Bingo game receipts tax:  5% of gross receipts from bingo games.

History:  These taxes were enacted in 1971.  The bingo game receipts 
tax was halved to 5% on January 1, 1979.  A 2004 act allowed sales of 
three-year licenses.  A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed 
taxpayers to pay outstanding tax liabilities without penalty or interest, but 
collected only $248.

State revenue collected

	 	License fees	 	 Bingo receipts tax	
Fiscal	 Receipts	 Receipts	 Receipts
year	 (thousands)	 change	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $332	 -1.2%	 $7.1	 -2.7%
1997	 318	 -4.2	 6.7	 -5.6
1998	 300	 -5.7	 6.5	 -3.0
1999	 290	 -3.3	 5.8	 -10.8
2000	 252	 -13.1	 5.5	 -5.2

2001	 244	 -3.2	 5.0	 -9.1
2002	 246	 0.8	 4.9	 -2.0
2003	 218	 -11.4	 4.7	 -4.1
2004	 235	 7.8	 4.2	 -10.6
2005	 201	 -14.5	 3.7	 -11.9
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Distribution:
1.  Bingo license fees:  To the General Revenue Fund.
2.  Bingo game receipts tax:

(a) 50% to the Mental Health Fund.
(b) 50% to the Common School Fund.

Other taxes on bingo
Federal:  None.

Local:  No tax is authorized by statute.  Home-rule units apparently 
cannot collect license fees because of the restriction on licensing for 
revenue in the Illinois Constitution, art. 7, subsec. 6(e).  A tax on 
gross receipts of bingo operators probably would also be invalid un-
der that provision as an occupation tax.

Other states’ taxes
Arizona, Kansas, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New 
Hampshire, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas, and Wisconsin ap-
pear to be the only states separately taxing operation of bingo games.  
Arizona imposes a tax of 2.5% on licensees with annual receipts up 
to $15,600; 1.5% on those with receipts of $15,601 to $300,000; 
and 1% on those with receipts over $300,000.  Kansas imposes a 
3% tax on bingo game licenses and a 1% tax on printed bingo cards 
sold to Kansas licensees.  Minnesota taxes 8.5% of gross receipts 
minus prizes paid.  The Mississippi tax on charitable bingo games 
ranges from 0.5% to 1% based on the classification of the charitable 
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organization; a separate tax of up to 2.5% of net proceeds applies to 
electronic bingo machines.  Missouri imposes a tax of 0.2¢ per bingo 
card.  Montana charges 1% of gross proceeds.  Nebraska charges 3% of 
gross receipts.  New Hampshire’s tax is 7% of gross receipts.  Oklahoma 
charges 1¢ per bingo card or “U-PIK-EM” game set, payable by licensed 
distributors and sellers of charitable games equipment.  South Carolina 
charges either 5¢ or 16.5¢ per dollar of the face value of each bingo 
card, depending on the class of licensee.  Texas levies a 2% tax on gross 
receipts from games, and 3% of gross receipts from renting facilities for 
bingo games.  It also collects 3% of the amount or value of each prize.  
Wisconsin’s tax is 2% of gross receipts, used to finance the state’s regula-
tory costs.
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Charitable Games Tax and License Fees

The state gets two kinds of revenue from licensed charitable games:  
license fees, and the charitable games receipts tax.  Charitable games 
covered include roulette, blackjack, poker, pull tabs, craps, bang, beat 
the dealer, big six, gin rummy, five-card stud poker, chuck-a-luck, keno, 
hold-em poker, and a merchandise wheel.  No single bet at any game 
may exceed $10.  Administered by Illinois Gaming Board in the Depart-
ment of Revenue.  (230 ILCS 30/1 ff.)

Rate and base:
1.  Charitable games license fees:  (a) $200 annual fee for a license to a 

nonprofit charitable, religious, fraternal, veterans’, labor, or educa-
tional organization to hold up to 4 charitable-games nights per year 
(up to 8 per year in a county under 60,000 if there is no other suit-
able location for holding games within 5 miles of the premises).  (b) 
$50 annual fee for a license issued to anyone leasing out facilities or 
selling supplies to licensed organizations holding charitable-games 
nights.  (c) $500 annual fee for a license to make or supply equipment 
used for such games.

2.  Charitable games receipts tax:  3% of gross proceeds from charitable-
games nights.

History:  The tax took effect September 1, 1986.

State revenue collected

Fiscal	 	License fees		  Charitable games tax
year	 Receipts	 Change	 Receipts	 Change

1996	 $95,600	 79.7%	 $216,754	 -57.7%
1997	 55,150	 -43.3	 182,608	 -15.8
1998	 45,450	 -17.6	 139,652	 -23.5
1999	 43,000	 -5.4	 126,436	 -9.5
2000	 39,200	 -8.8	 111,214	 -12.0

2001	 32,350	 -17.5	 114,927	 3.3
2002	 32,750	 1.2	 110,577	 -3.8
2003	 36,200	 10.5	 102,521	 -7.3
2004	 39,600	 9.4	 136,583	 33.2
2005	 47,200	 19.2	 224,002	 64.0
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Disposition:  To the Illinois Gaming Law Enforcement Fund.

Other taxes on charitable games
Federal:  None.

Local:  No tax is authorized by statute.  Home-rule units probably can-
not collect license fees due to the restriction on licensing for revenue in 
the Illinois Constitution, art. 7, subsec. 6(e).  A tax on the gross receipts 
of charitable-games operators probably would also be invalid under the 
same subsection as an occupation tax.

Counties and municipalities are authorized to license and regulate raffles 
held by nonprofit charitable, educational, religious, fraternal, veterans’, 
labor, and some kinds of business organizations (230 ILCS 15/1 ff.).

Other states’ taxes
At least eight states tax proceeds of charitable games.  Colorado imposes 
a tax at a rate set by regulation, but limited to 40% of adjusted gross 
proceeds (receipts minus payments to players).  Gross receipts of chari-
table games are also taxed by New Mexico (10%), Minnesota (8.5%), 
and Kentucky (0.4%).  Oklahoma charges a tax of 10% on the price paid 
for all charity game equipment except bingo faces, U-PIK-EM bingo 
game sets, and break-open ticket games.  Nebraska has three rates:  3% 
of gross receipts from bingo; 1% of definite profit from pickle cards; 
and 2% of gross receipts from keno, small lotteries, and raffles.  North 
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Dakota taxes charitable games at four rates:  5% of gross receipts up to 
$200,000; 10% of receipts from $200,001 to $400,000; 15% of receipts 
from $400,001 to $600,000; and 20% of receipts over $600,000.  New 
Hampshire imposes a tax of 40% of the wholesale cost of “lucky seven” 
tickets sold by charitable organizations.

 Charitable Games Tax and License Fees
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Cigarette and Other Tobacco Taxes

A matching pair of taxes applies to cigarettes:  the cigarette tax, and the 
cigarette use tax.  Wholesale distributors collect the cigarette tax from 
retailers, who collect the use tax from customers.  Retail sellers are re-
lieved of paying the use tax if they pay the cigarette tax to distributors.  
Ultimately, distributors are responsible for sending the money to the 
state.  Administered by Department of Revenue.  (Cigarette tax, 35 ILCS 
130/1 ff.; cigarette use tax, 35 ILCS 135/1 ff.)

Rate and base:   4.9¢ per cigarette (98¢ per package of 20).

History:  The cigarette tax was enacted in 1941 at a rate of 0.1¢ per 
cigarette (2¢ per package of 20).  The use tax was added in 1951.  Rate 
changes since then are shown below.  (The rate increase from 2.9¢ to 
4.9¢ per cigarette took effect July 1, 2002—the start of fiscal year 2003.)  
In fiscal year 2004, a tax amnesty program allowed taxpayers to pay out-
standing tax liabilities with no penalties or interest, but it collected only 
$26.

	 Per	 Per pack		  Per	 Per pack 
Year	 cigarette	 of 20	 Year	 cigarette	 of 20

1941	 0.10¢	 2¢	 1969	 0.6¢	 12¢
1947	 0.15	 3	 1985	 1.0	 20
1959	 0.20	 4	 1989	 1.5	 30
1960	 0.15	 3	 1993	 2.2	 44
1961	 0.20	 4	 1997	 2.9	 58
1965	 0.35	 7	 2002	 4.9	 98
1967	 0.45	 9

State revenue collected

Fiscal	 Receipts		  Fiscal	 Receipt 
year	 (millions)	 Change	 year	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $411.7	 -1.8%	 2001	 $472.6	 1.1%
1997	 412.7	 0.2	 2002	 468.8	 -0.8
1998	 443.7	 7.5	 2003	 624.9	 33.3
1999	 499.1	 12.5	 2004	 741.8	 18.7
2000	 467.3	 -6.4	 2005	 638.0	 -14.0
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Distribution:
1.  Beginning in 2006, 1¢ per pack of 20 cigarettes (.05¢ per cigarette) to 

the General Revenue Fund.
2.  $9 million per month of the amount resulting from the increase en-

acted in 1985, to the Common School Fund.
3.  All additional revenue from the 1997 increase of 14¢ per pack, to the 

Common School Fund.
4.  An amount that when added to the amount paid into the Common 

School Fund equals $33.3 million, to the General Revenue Fund.
5.  Remainder:

(a) any unpaid amounts required to be paid into the General Revenue 
Fund for past months;

(b) $5 million per month to the School Infrastructure Fund beginning 
April 1, 2003;

(c) any unpaid amounts required to be paid into the School Infrastruc-
ture Fund for past months;

(d) any unpaid amounts required to be paid into the Long-Term Care 
Provider Fund.

Other taxes on cigarettes
Federal:  The federal tax is 39¢ per pack of 20 cigarettes.

Local:  State law authorizes a municipal cigarette tax of 1¢ per pack-
age of 20, but it cannot be imposed by municipalities in which the state 
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already collects a municipal home-rule retailers’ occupation (sales) tax 
(65 ILCS 5/8-11-3).  Home-rule units can collect their own taxes on ciga-
rettes.  Chicago collects 68¢ per pack of 20 (raised from 48¢ on January 
10, 2006), and Cook County $2.00 (up from $1.00 on March 1, 2006).  
The Cook County tax is collected in both Chicago and its suburbs.  Com-
bined rates are:

	 Chicago	 Cook County suburbs	 Rest of state

City	 $  .68	 -	 -
County	 2.00	 $2.00	 -
State	 .98	 .98	 $  .98
Federal	 .39	 .39	 .39

Totals	 $4.05	 $3.37	 $1.37

Other states’ taxes
States’ taxes per pack of 20 cigarettes on January 1, 2006 were:

Rhode Island	 $2.46	 Kansas	 $.79
New Jersey	 2.40	 Wisconsin	 .77
Washington	 2.025	 Utah	 .695
Maine	 2.00	 Nebraska	 .64
Michigan	 2.00	 Arkansas	 .6025†

Montana	 1.70	 Wyoming	 .60
Alaska	 1.60	 Idaho	 .57
Connecticut	 1.51	 Indiana	 .555
Massachusetts	 1.51	 Delaware	 .55
New York	 1.50	 West Virginia	 .55

Minnesota	 1.485*	 South Dakota	 .53
Hawaii	 1.40	 North Dakota	 .44
Pennsylvania	 1.35	 Alabama	 .425
Ohio	 1.25	 Texas	 .41
Vermont	 1.19	 Georgia	 .37

Arizona	 1.18	 Iowa	 .36
Oregon	 1.18	 Louisiana	 .36
Oklahoma	 1.03	 Florida	 .339
Maryland	 1.00	 Kentucky	 .301†
Illinois	 .98	 North Carolina	 .30◊

New Mexico	 .91	 Virginia	 .30
California	 .87	 Tennessee	 .2005†
Colorado	 .84	 Mississippi	 .18
Nevada	 .80	 Missouri	 .17
New Hampshire	 .80	 South Carolina	 .07

LRU Tax Handbook
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*	 Rate is $1.23 per pack plus 25.5¢ sales tax added to the wholesale price for tax stamp.
†	 Includes an additional $12.50 per 1,000 cigarettes (1.25¢ per cigarette) in Arkansas, 

and additional enforcement and administrative fees of 0.1¢ per pack in Kentucky and 
0.005¢ per pack in Tennessee.

◊	 North Carolina’s rate rises to 35¢ on July 1, 2006.

Other Tobacco Products
Illinois taxes other tobacco products including cigars; cheroots; stogies; 
perique, granulated, plug cut, crimp cut, ready rubbed, and other smoking 
tobacco; snuff or snuff flour; cavendish; plug and twist tobacco; fine-cut 
and other chewing tobaccos; and other forms of tobacco usable for chew-
ing or smoking in a pipe or otherwise.  (35 ILCS 143/1 ff.)

Rate and base:  18% of wholesale price (distributor’s cost price for the 
products).

History:  The tax was enacted in 1993.  In January 1995 a trial judge 
held that it violated the U.S. Constitution’s Commerce Clause because 
the law defined the distributor’s cost price for these products in such a 
way that an Illinois manufacturer might have a lower cost price (and 
thus a lower tax base) than a distributor of the products from out of state.  
That tax was repealed in 1995 and replaced with a new tax avoiding the 
defects in the 1993 law.  The rate was reduced from 20% to 18% of the 
wholesale price of these tobacco products.

A trial judge then held that the 1995 law violated the single-subject 
requirement of the Illinois Constitution (article 4, subsec. 8(d)).  The 
Department of Revenue ceased collecting the tax, and no revenue was 
collected in fiscal year 1999.  But the Illinois Supreme Court on July 
1, 1999 reversed that decision and upheld the 1995 law (Arangold v. 
Zehnder, 187 Ill. 2d 341, 718 N.E.2d 191 (1999)).  All revenues for fiscal 
years 1999 and later were held in a special account.  A total of $74.9 mil-
lion (the amount collected since FY 1999) was deposited into the Long-
Term Care Provider Fund in fiscal year 2003.
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State revenue collected

Fiscal	 Receipts		  Fiscal	 Receipts 
year	 (millions)	 Change	 year	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $  9.9	 120.0%	 2001	 $17.3	 -1.1%
1997	 15.8	 59.6	 2002	 17.8	 2.9
1998	 12.5	 -20.9	 2003	 18.3	 2.8
1999	 0.0	 -100.0	 2004	 18.4	 0.5
2000	 17.5	 ∞	 2005	 18.4	 0.0
Note:  The infinity symbol (∞) for FY 2000 reflects the fact that collections rose from 

zero the preceding year.

Disposition:  Long-Term Care Provider Fund.

Other taxes on other tobacco products
Federal:

Class	 Rate
Cigars
  small (under 3 lbs. per 1,000)	 $1.828 per 1,000 cigars
  large (over 3 lbs. per 1,000)	 18.063% of wholesale price
		  (limited to $48.75 per 1,000)
Smokeless tobacco
  snuff		  58.5¢ per pound
  chewing tobacco	 19.5¢ per pound
Pipe tobacco		  1.0969¢ per pound

LRU Tax Handbook
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Local:  None.

Other states’ taxes
All states except one (Pennsylvania) tax forms of tobacco other than 
cigarettes.  Among the 40 states that tax all tobacco products at a fixed 
percentage of price (as Illinois does for non-cigarette products), the range 
is from 3% in North Carolina to 75% in Alaska and Washington.  States’ 
taxes on other tobacco products on January 1, 2006 are shown below.

Uniform rate on all non-cigarette tobacco products

Key:	
WP = wholesale price
MP = manufacturer’s price
PV = product value

Alaska	 75%	 WP	 Iowa	 22  %	 WP
Washington	 75	 WP	 Connecticut†	 20	 WP
Minnesota	 70	 WP	 Nebraska	 20	 WP
Oregon	 65	 WP	 Wyoming◊	 20	 WP
Montana	 50	 WP	 New Hampshire	 19	 WP

California*	 46.76	 WP	 Illinois	 18	 WP
Vermont	 41	 MP	 Indiana	 18	 WP
Hawaii	 40	 WP	 Ohio	 17	 WP
Idaho	 40	 WP	 Delaware	 15	 WP
Rhode Island	 40	 WP	 Maryland	 15	 WP

Colorado	 40	 MP	 Mississippi	 15	 MP
New York	 37	 WP	 Kansas	 10	 WP
Utah	 35	 MP	 South Dakota	 10	 WP
Michigan	 32	 WP	 Virginia	 10	 WP
Arkansas	 32	 MP	 Missouri	 10	 MP

Nevada	 32	 WP	 Kentucky	 7.5	 WP
New Jersey	 30	 WP	 West Virginia	 7	 WP
Florida	 25	 WP	 Tennessee	 6.6	 WP
New Mexico	 25	 PV	 South Carolina	 5	 MP
Wisconsin	 25	 MP	 North Carolina	 3	 WP

*	 California’s rate is adjusted each July 1.
†	 Snuff tobacco is taxed at 40¢ per ounce.
◊	 Or 10% of retail price.

Cigarette & Other Tobacco Taxes
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Rates vary by type of product

Alabama	 Cigars*	 4.0-40.5¢ per 10 cigars
	 Tobacco and snuff	 0.6-5.25¢ per ounce

Arizona	 Cigars*	 26.3¢-$2.60 per 20 cigars
	 Tobacco and snuff	 13.3¢ per ounce

Georgia	 Little cigars	 2.5¢ per 10 cigars
	 Other cigars	 23% of WP
	 Tobacco	 10% of WP

Louisiana	 Cigars	 8-20% of MP
	 Tobacco and snuff	 33% of MP

Maine	 Chewing tobacco and snuff	 78% of WP
	 Smoking tobacco and cigars	 20% of WP

Massachusetts	 Smokeless tobacco	 90% of WP
	 Smoking tobacco and cigars	 30% of WP

North Dakota	 Tobacco/Cigars	 28% of WP
	 Chewing tobacco and snuff	 16-60¢ per ounce

Oklahoma	 Cigars*	 27-90¢ per 10 cigars
	 Tobacco and snuff	 30-40% of factory list price

Texas	 Cigars*	 1-15¢ per 10 cigars
	 Tobacco and snuff	 35.213% of MP

* The rate on cigars varies with  their selling prices.

LRU Tax Handbook
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Coin-Operated Amusement Device and 
Redemption Machine Tax

The tax is imposed on the privilege of operating coin-operated amuse-
ment devices (video games, jukeboxes, pinball and redemption machines, 
and the like) that use coins, tokens, chips, or similar objects.  Adminis-
tered by Department of Revenue.  (35 ILCS 510/1 ff.)

Rate and base:  $30 per machine per year.  All licenses expire each 
July 31.

History:  The tax was enacted in 1953 at rates of $10 to $50 for each 
machine depending on its type.  In 1963 that was simplified into a privi-
lege tax of $10 per coin-receiving slot.  In  1989 it was briefly changed to 
$25 (then reduced to $15) per machine.  In 1992, “redemption machines” 
(devices involving throwing, rolling, shooting, etc., a ball into a hole or 
at a target to win a prize valued at no more than $5, or 7 times the cost 
of a single play) were legalized and added to the tax base.  In 2003 the 
rate was doubled to $30 per machine.  (That increase took effect June 20, 
2003—10 days before the end of fiscal year 2003—so very little of it is 
reflected in the revenue collections shown below for that fiscal year.)

State revenue collected

Fiscal	 Receipts		  Fiscal	 Receipts 
year	 (thousands)	 Change	 year	 (thousands)	 Change

1996	 $1,384.4	 4.4%	 2001	 $1,316.4	 0.0%
1997	 1,384.9	 0.0	 2002	 1,339.9	 1.8
1998	 1,374.7	 -0.7	 2003	 1,164.1	 -13.1
1999	 1,249.8	 -9.1	 2004	 2,519.6	 116.4
2000	 1,316.4	 5.3	 2005	 2,650.3	 5.2
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Disposition:  To the General Revenue Fund.

Other taxes on coin-operated amusement machines
Federal:  None.

Local:  Illinois law permits municipalities to impose taxes or license fees 
on amusement devices (65 ILCS 5/11-55-1).  Counties can impose such 
taxes and fees in unincorporated areas (55 ILCS 5/5-1076).

Other states’ taxes
Five states impose annual taxes on each coin-operated amusement de-
vice; six states tax gross receipts from these devices.  Arkansas and South 
Dakota do both.

		  Rate per		  Percent of 
	 State	 machine	 State	 gross receipts

Oklahoma	 $40	 West Virginia	 6.0%
Nebraska	 25	 Connecticut	 6.0
Massachusetts	 20 	 Iowa	 5.0
South Dakota	 12	 Arkansas	 3.0
Arkansas	 5	 Florida	 4.0
		  South Dakota	 4.0

In addition to taxes on gross receipts and per machine, Arkansas charges 
a license fee of $500 for operators of up to three devices and $1,000 

LRU Tax Handbook
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for operators of more than three devices.  Virginia allows local taxes to 
be imposed on coin-operated amusement devices.  The tax is limited to 
$200 for 10 or more machines (it is less than $200 for fewer than 10 ma-
chines).  Localities may also impose gross receipts taxes on amusement 
device operators within their territory.  New Hampshire allows towns to 
set licensing fees for coin-operated amusement devices.

Coin-Operated Amusement Device and Redemption Machine Tax
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Corporation Franchise Taxes and Fees

Each corporation doing business in Illinois, whether it is domestic (in-
corporated in Illinois) or foreign (incorporated elsewhere), must pay an 
annual franchise tax.  The tax is also imposed when a corporation starts 
doing business in Illinois.  An additional franchise tax is due when a cor-
poration changes its capital structure or engages in merger or consolida-
tion activity.  Administered by Secretary of State.  (805 ILCS 5/15.05 ff.)

Rate and base:  Rates are based on a corporation’s paid-in capital (the 
total amount paid to the corporation by initial buyers of shares):

1.	 Initial franchise tax:  0.15% of paid-in capital.
2.	 Additional franchise tax:  0.15% of any increases in paid-in capital 

during the year.
3.	 Annual franchise tax:  0.1% of paid-in capital each year.

History
1.	 Initial franchise tax:  From 1934 through 1966 the rate was 0.05% of 

stated capital and paid-in surplus.  In 1967 it was doubled to 0.1%, 
and in 1991 it rose again to 0.15%.

2.	 Additional franchise tax:  From 1934 to 1966 the rate was 0.05% of 
the increase in the sum of stated capital and paid-in surplus.  In 1967 
it was doubled to 0.1%.  In 1991 the rate rose again to 0.15%.

3.	 Annual franchise tax:  From 1934 to June 30, 1983 the rate was 
0.05% of stated capital and paid-in surplus.  On that date it was dou-
bled to 0.1%.

State revenue collected

Fiscal	 Receipts		  Fiscal	 Receipts 
year	 (millions)	 Change	 year	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $102.3	 -2.2%	 2001	 $148.3	 5.1%
1997	 122.9	 20.1	 2002	 162.4	 9.5
1998	 120.1	 -2.3	 2003	 144.9	 -10.8
1999	 120.2	 0.1	 2004	 165.7	 14.4
2000	 141.1	 17.4	 2005	 184.4	 11.3
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Distribution:
1.	 98% to the General Revenue Fund.
2.	 2% to the Corporate Tax Refund Fund.

Other corporate franchise taxes
Federal:  None.

Local:  Local taxation of invested capital of large corporations would be 
impractical.

Other states’ taxes
All states impose a variety of initial and annual franchise taxes on cor-
porations based on their capital stock and paid-in surplus.  Tax schedules 
vary considerably among states.

Corporation Franchise Taxes and Fees
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Driver’s License and Vehicle Fees

The state imposes a wide variety of fees on operators of motor vehicles.  
Administered by Secretary of State. (625 ILCS 5/2-119, 5/3-801 to 5/3-
834, and 5/6-118)

Rates and bases:  Some fees are flat amounts per driver or vehicle; oth-
ers vary by vehicles’ maximum load capacity.  Fees are annual except as 
otherwise noted.

Driver’s License Fees
Original driver’s license (4 years)	 $  10
Renewal (4 years)	 10
License or renewal—age 69 to 80:	 5
  age 81 to 86 (2 years)	 2
  age 87 or over	 0
Original driver’s license or renewal—
  age 18, 19, or 20 (lasts 3 months past age 21)	 5
Instruction permit—original:	 20
  age 68 or below, previously licensed in 
    Illinois but not now licensed	 10
  age 69 or over	 5
Changing driving classification	 5
Restricted driving permit	 8
Duplicate or corrected license or permit	 5
Reinstatement fees after:
  DUI suspension	 250
  other suspension	 70
  revocation	 500

Vehicle Registration Fees
Passenger car	 $78
Delinquent vehicle registration renewal	 20
Person receiving a “circuit breaker” grant	 24
Electric vehicle (2 years)	 35
Antique Vehicle (2 years)	 13
Duplicate plate (without sticker)	 6
Duplicate plate lost with sticker	 26
Pair of duplicate plates with sticker	 29
Duplicate sticker	 20
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Charges for special plates (in addition to regular fee)
Personalized plates	 $47 

Annual renewal	 7
Vanity plate	 94 

Annual renewal	 13
Custom Vehicle or Street Rod plate	 15
Gold Star plate,* WWII, Korean War, Vietnam War, 

and Universal veteran plate	 15 
Annual renewal	 0

September 11, collegiate, environmental,  
Illinois-Michigan Canal, Pet Friendly, Route 66, 
sporting series, Wildlife Prairie Park, violence 
prevention, youth park district, Lewis and  
Clark Bicentennial, Public Broadcasting 
 Stations, and Pan Hellenic plates	 40 
Annual renewal	 27

Mammogram, Master Mason, Organ Donor, Police 
Memorial, Knights of Columbus, Hospice,  
Chicago and Northeast District Council of  
Carpenters, and Stop Neuroblastoma plates	 25 
Annual renewal	 25

Illinois Firefighters memorial plate	 27 
Annual renewal	 17

Marine Corps plate	 20 
Annual renewal	 20

Mayor/Village President, POW/MIA, West Point 
Bicentennial and Deceased Police Officer or Fire- 
fighter plate	 15 
Annual renewal	 2

Education plate	 40 
Annual renewal	 40

D.A.R.E. plate	 45 
Annual renewal	 29

Amateur radio (first issuance) plate	 4
Illinois Congressional Delegation Retired Member plate	 15 

Annual renewal	 2

*	 Beginning in registration year 2007 (calendar year 2006 for vehicles registered an-
nually), there is no additional fee for a Gold Star Plate; only regular registration fees 
apply.
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Vehicle Registration Fees (cont’d)

Motorcycles (in addition to regular fee)
Vanity plate	 $    50
Personalized plate	 25

Trailers only
Up to 3,000 lbs.	 18 to 

to 40,000 lbs.	 1,502

Vehicles with permanently mounted equipment
(trucks with mounted facilities, cranes, etc.)
Up to 10,000 lbs.	 45 to 

to 80,000 lbs.	 385

Recreational Vehicles
Up to 8,000 lbs.	 78 to 

to 10,000 lbs. or more	 102*

Camping or travel trailers
Up to 3,000 lbs.	 18 to 

to 10,000 lbs. or more	 50*

Farm trucks
Up to 16,000 lbs.	 150 to 

to 80,000 lbs.	 1,490

Farm trailers
Up to 10,000 lbs.	 60 to 

to 36,000 lbs.	 650

Commercial vehicles—bus, truck, or truck trailers
Up to 8,000 lbs.	 78 to 

to 80,000 lbs. with 5 or more axles	 2,790

*  A person getting a “circuit breaker” grant can register one vehicle up to 8,000 pounds 
for half the fee shown.
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The owner of a commercial vehicle has the option of buying a license 
based on how far the vehicle travels per year.  A $10 registration fee is 
added to the following rates by vehicle weight:

	 Minimum		  Mileage weight
	 guaranteed	 Maximum	 tax for mileage
Gross weight of	 mileage	 mileage under	 over guaranteed
vehicle and load	 weight tax	 guaranteed tax	 mileage

Bus, truck, or  
truck tractor
Up to 12,000 lbs. to	 $     83 to	 5,000 to	 2.6¢ to 

80,000 lbs.	 1,425	 7,000	 27.5¢

Trailer
Up to 14,000 lbs. to	 $  85 to	 5,000 to	 3.1¢ to 

40,000 lbs.	 760	 7,000	 15.0¢

A commercial distribution fee equal to 36% of total taxes is charged for 
use of the public highways, state infrastructure, and state services.  That 
fee declined to 21.5% for registrations from July 1, 2005 until July 1, 
2006, and is to decline to 14.35% on July 1, 2006.  The fee applies to 
commercial vehicles over 8,000 lbs., and to any under 8,000 lbs. that 
have claimed the sales and use tax exemption for rolling stock.

History:  When Illinois motor vehicle laws were codified in 1919, li-
cense fees for cars ranged from $8 to $25 depending on horsepower (as 
calculated by a formula).  Fees for commercial vehicles ranged from $12 
to $60 depending on weight.  The fees rose over the years, but did not 
change from 1967 until 1984.

A revised fee schedule took effect January 1, 1984.  License fees for 
small cars rose from $18 to $36 initially, and to $48 the next year.  The 
fee for large cars rose from $30 to $48 immediately.  Graduated fees for 
large commercial vehicles rose by as much as 66% (for semitrailers up to 
40,000 pounds), and fees for recreational vehicles weighing over 10,000 
pounds rose 44%.

In 1999, motor vehicle fees were again significantly raised.  The annual 
passenger car registration fee rose from $48 to $78.  Another 1999 law 
substantially raised annual registration fees for commercial vehicles.
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In 2003, P.A. 93-32 significantly raised motor vehicle license reinstate-
ment fees.  It also added several special plates.  Also in 2003, P.A. 93-23 
added a commercial distribution fee equal to 36% of total taxes owed for 
commercial vehicles.  (As noted above, that percentage is set to decline 
to 21.5% in July 2005 and 14.35% in July 2006.)  A delinquent registra-
tion fee of $20 was added by P.A. 93-840 (2004).

The original driver’s license fee was $1.  The current fee of $10 for a 4-
year license was enacted in 1983.

State revenue collected

Fiscal	 Receipts		  Fiscal	 Receipts 
 year	 (millions)	 Change	 year	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $  699.1	 -4.8%	 2001	 $1,330.7	 26.8%
1997	 796.4	 13.9	 2002	 1,380.1	 3.7
1998	 782.9	 -1.7	 2003	 1,307.8	 -5.2
1999	 811.0	 3.6	 2004	 1,365.1	 4.4
2000	 1,049.2	 29.4	 2005	 1,376.0	 0.8

LRU Tax Handbook
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Distribution:
1.	 37%  of all registration fees and taxes received by the Secretary of 

State to the State Construction Account Fund.
2.	 Beginning January 1, 2005, $20 from each delinquent registration 

fee to the General Revenue Fund.
3.	 Of new revenues from additional personalized plate fees:

(a)  50% to Special License Plate Fund.
(b)  50% to General Revenue Fund.

4.	 $16 from each original driver’s instruction permit, $5 from each 
original driver’s license, $5 from each driver’s license renewal, and 
$4 from each restricted driving permit to the Driver’s Education 
Fund.

5.	 All money from salvage certificates to the Common School Fund.
6.	 27% of each annual motorcycle registration fee (or 27% of each 

semiannual fee) to the Cycle Rider Safety Training Fund.
7.	 $6 of each original commercial driver’s license, renewal license, or 

instruction permit fee to the Commercial Driver’s License Informa-
tion System/American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators 
Network Trust Fund.

8.	 $20 of the total fee for a commercial driver’s license or commercial 
driver’s instruction permit to the Motor Carrier Safety Inspection 
Fund.

9.	 To the Drunk and Drugged Driving Prevention Fund:
(a)  $30 of each $250 reinstatement fee after suspension due to 

DUI.
(b)  $190 of each $500 reinstatement fee for a second or subsequent 

revocation.
10.	 To the General Revenue Fund:

(a)  $190 of each $250 reinstatement fee after suspension due to 
DUI.

(b)  $440 of each $500 reinstatement fee for a first revocation.
(c)  $310 of each $500 reinstatement fee for a later revocation.
(d)  $40 of each $70 reinstatement fee for other suspensions.

11.	 $30 of each $70 reinstatement fee for other suspensions under the 
Family Financial Responsibility Law, to the Family Financial Re-
sponsibility Fund.

12.	 From each certificate of title, and each duplicate and corrected cer-
tificate:
(a)  $48 to the Road Fund.
(b)  $4 to the Motor Vehicle License Plate Fund.
(c)  $2 to the Park and Conservation Fund.

Driver’s License & Vehicle Fees
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13.	 Custom Vehicle, Street Rod, Bronze Star, Universal Charitable Or-
ganization, Mayor/Village President, Deceased Police Officer or 
Fire Fighter, Vietnam Veteran, and West Point Bicentennial license 
plate fees to the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund.

14.	 Korean War Veteran license plate:  $13 to the State Special License 
Plate Fund and $2 to the Korean War Memorial Construction Fund.

15.	 Initial Illinois Congressional Delegation Retired Member license 
plate fee ($15) to the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund.  
Annual renewal ($2) to the Retired Members of the Illinois Con-
gressional Delegation Fund.

16.	 Pet Friendly license plate:  $25 from initial plate and $25 from an-
nual renewal to Pet Population Control Fund.

17.	 Master Mason plates:  $10 from initial registration and $23 from an-
nual renewal to the Master Mason Fund.

18.	 Knights of Columbus plates:   $10 from initial registration and $23 
from annual renewal to the Knights of Columbus Fund.

19.	 Mammogram license plate:  $10 from initial registration and $23 
from annual renewal to the Mammogram Fund.

20.	 Illinois Police Memorial license plate:  $10 from initial registration 
and $23 from annual renewal to the Police Memorial Committee 
Fund. 

21.	 Organ Donor Awareness license plate:  $10 from initial registration 
and $23 from annual renewal to the Organ Donor Awareness Fund.

22.	 Hospice license plate:  $10 from initial registration and $23 from 
annual renewal to the Hospice Fund.

23.	 Chicago and Northeast Illinois District Council of Carpenters li-
cense plate:  $10 from initial registration and $23 from annual 
renewal to the Chicago and Northeast Illinois District Council of 
Carpenters Fund.

23.	 Education license plate:  $25 from initial registration and $38 from 
annual renewal to the Illinois Future Teacher Corps Scholarship 
Fund.

24.	 U.S. Marine Corps license plate:  $5 from initial registration and 
$18 from annual renewal to the Marine Corps Scholarship Fund.

25.	 D.A.R.E. license plate:  $10 from initial registration and $9 from 
annual renewal to each of the following funds:   the State D.A.R.E. 
Fund, County D.A.R.E. Fund (if the county in which the applicant 
lives has a D.A.R.E. program—otherwise to the State D.A.R.E. 
fund), and Municipal D.A.R.E. fund (if the municipality in which 
the applicant lives has a D.A.R.E. program—otherwise to the Coun-
ty D.A.R.E. program).
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26.	 Illinois and Michigan Canal Plates:  $25 from initial plate and $25 
from annual renewal to the Illinois and Michigan Canal Fund.

27	 Lewis and Clark Bicentennial license plate:  $25 from initial plate 
and $25 from annual renewal to the Lewis and Clark Bicentennial 
Fund.

28.	 September 11 license plate:  $25 from initial plate and $25 from an-
nual renewal to the September 11th Fund.

29.	 Illinois Route 66 license plate:  $25 from initial plate and $25 from 
annual renewal to the Illinois Route 66 Heritage Project Fund.

30.	 Illinois Public Broadcasting System Stations license plate:  $25 
from initial plate and $25 from annual renewal to the Public Broad-
casting Fund.

31.	 Park District Youth Program license plate:  $25 from initial plate 
and $25 from annual renewal to the Park District Youth Program 
Fund.

32.	 Pan Hellenic license plate:  $25 from initial plate and $25 from an-
nual renewal to the Pan Hellenic Trust Fund.

33.	 Stop Neuroblastoma license plate:  $10 from initial plate and $23 
from annual renewal to the Stop Neuroblastoma Fund.

34.	 Collegiate license plate:  $25 from initial plate and $25 from annual 
renewal to State College and University Trust Fund or University 
Grant Fund.

35.	 Environmental license plate:  $25 from initial plate and $25 from 
annual renewal to State Parks Fund.

36.	 Illinois Fire Fighters Memorial plate:  $12 from initial plate and $15 
from annual renewal to Illinois Fire Fighters Memorial Fund.

37.	 Violence Prevention plate:  $25 from initial plate and $25 from an-
nual renewal to Violence Prevention Fund.

38.	 Sportsmen Series plate:  $25 from initial plate and $25 from annual 
renewal plate to Illinois Habitat Fund.

39.	 Wildlife Prairie Park plate:  $25 from initial plate and $25 from an-
nual renewal to Wildlife Prairie Park Fund.

40.	 Professional Sports Teams:  $25 from initial plate and $25 from an-
nual renewal to the Professional Sports Teams Education Fund.

	 (For all special plates listed in items 16 through 40 above, $15 from 
the initial plate and $2 from each annual renewal go to the Secretary 
of State Special License Plate Fund.)

41.	 $17 from the $30 fee for a certificate of title for an off-highway, 
all-terrain vehicle, or off-highway motorcycle to the Off-Highway 
Vehicle Trails Fund.

Driver’s License & Vehicle Fees



36

42.	 All money from the commercial distribution fee to the General Rev-
enue Fund.

43.	 All other money from certificates of title and filing of security inter-
ests to the General Revenue Fund.

44.	 All other money received by the Secretary of State from driver’s li-
cense and motor vehicle registration fees to the Road Fund.

Other vehicle taxes
Federal:  A federal tax applies only to trucks (including trailers) weigh-
ing over 55,000 lbs., at the following rates:

	 Taxable gross weight	 Tax rate
	 55,000 to 75,000 lbs.	 $100 + $22 per 1,000
		  lbs. over 55,000

	 Over 75,000 lbs.	 $550

Local:  State law allows any municipality to tax motor vehicles owned 
by its residents at rates set by its governing body (65 ILCS 5/8-11-4).  
Home-rule units can tax motor vehicles that are registered in their juris-
dictions, and some do.

Other states’ taxes
Drivers’ license fees range from $4 in Montana to $50 in New Hampshire 
(for 4 years in each case).   A flat fee for vehicle registration is charged in 
23 states:

State	 Fee	 State	 Fee

Illinois	 $78	 Georgia	 $20
Wisconsin	 55	 Nebraska	 20
Vermont	 52	 North Carolina	 20
Alaska	 50*	 Oregon	 19*
Connecticut	 35*	 Wyoming	 15

California	 31	 Mississippi	 13
Rhode Island	 30	 Kentucky	 11.50
Washington	 30	 Arizona	 8◊
West Virginia	 30
Maine	 25

Tennessee	 25
South Carolina	 24†
Alabama	 23
Indiana	 20.75
Delaware	 20

LRU Tax Handbook
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*	 The charge is actually twice the amount listed in the table, but is imposed biennially.

†	 $20 if 65 or older, or disabled.
◊	 $8.25 in Phoenix and Tuscon.

Six states base registration fees on vehicle weight:  Arkansas ($17-$30), 
Florida ($100 initial registration, then $27.60-$45.60), Maryland ($76-
$103), Montana ($13.75-$18.75), Utah ($21-$49.50+), and New York 
($20.50-$112).  Two states charge flat registration fees plus additional 
weight taxes:  Colorado ($10-$17.50 plus 20¢-60¢ per 100 lbs.) and 
Hawaii ($20 plus 0.75¢-1.25¢ per pound).  Two states base registration 
fees on both the age and weight of the vehicle:  South Dakota ($30-$65) 
and Texas ($40.50-$61+).  Oklahoma’s fee, based solely on the age of 
the vehicle, ranges from $22 to $92.  Idaho charges $35 to $60 based on 
vehicle age and county of residence.  Iowa’s registration fee is based on a 
percentage of value as determined by the Department of Motor Vehicles 
plus 40¢ per 100 pounds of vehicle weight.  In Massachusetts, car own-
ers pay a $30 one-time registration fee plus an excise tax.  Missouri’s fee 
is $18 to $51 based on horsepower.  Michigan bases its registration fees 
on the list price of the vehicle, ranging from $33 to $148.  In Minnesota 
the fee is $10 plus 1.25% of the vehicle’s base value (no more than $189 
the first year and $99 in later years).  Nevada’s registration fees, based 
on the number of vehicles registered, range from $33 each for the first 
four cars to $8 each for 9 or more cars.  Graduated fees for commercial 
vehicles vary considerably by state.

Driver’s License & Vehicle Fees
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Estate and Generation-Skipping Transfer Tax 
(Death Taxes)

The Illinois estate tax is imposed on a decedent’s estate before distribu-
tion to the heirs.  Until 2003, the amount of this tax was equal to the 
“state tax credit” allowed by the Internal Revenue Code against each 
estate’s federal estate tax liability (if any); if there was no federal estate 
tax liability, there was no Illinois estate tax liability.  But Congress had 
amended the Code in 2001 to phase out that credit over the following 
4 years, which would effectively have eliminated Illinois’ estate tax by 
2005.  In 2003 the General Assembly responded by ‘decoupling’ the Il-
linois estate tax from the federal tax, restoring it to its levels before the 
2001 change.  But the General Assembly did follow Congress’ 2001 
changes in one respect:  It allowed the maximum estate that can pass free 
of Illinois estate tax (formerly $1 million) to rise to $1.5 million in 2004 
and $2 million in 2006.

The Illinois generation-skipping transfer tax applies to bequests in which 
the transferor is at least two generations removed from the transferee 
(typically, the transferor’s grandchildren).  It is not often levied, because 
the federal and state generation-skipping taxes do not apply to the first $2 
million of such transfers.  Administered by Attorney General and county 
treasurers.  (35 ILCS 405/1 ff.; see  also 26 U.S. Code secs. 2001, 2010, 
2602, 2604, and 2631)

The federal estate tax exempts all property given directly to a decedent’s 
surviving spouse—including the decedent’s interest in any property that 
the spouses owned jointly.  Only the part of an estate that passes to per-
sons other than the surviving spouse is taxed.  For all estate assets going 
to such other persons due to a death in 2006, the first $2 million is free of 
federal (and Illinois) estate tax.  The federal estate tax rate is 46% (drop-
ping to 45% for persons dying in 2007 through 2009) on the excess over 
$2 million—subject to a deduction mentioned later.
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Effective Illinois estate tax rates (now based on the federal credit as it 
was in 2001) are:

	 If amount given at death is	 Illinois	 of excess
	 Over	 But not over	 tax is*	 plus	 over

	$ 2,000,000	 $  2,256,701	 $             0	 46.0%	 $  2,000,000
	 2,256,701	 2,600,000	 118,082	 8.0	 2,256,701

	 2,600,000	 3,100,000	 145,546	 8.8	 2,600,000
	 3,100,000	 3,600,000	 189,546	 9.6	 3,100,000
	 3,600,000	 4,100,000	 237,546	 10.4	 3,600,000
	 4,100,000	 5,100,000	 289,546	 11.2	 4,100,000
	 5,100,000	 6,100,000	 401,546	 12.0	 5,100,000

	 6,100,000	 7,100,000	 521,546	 12.8	 6,100,000
	 7,100,000	 8,100,000	 649,546	 13.6	 7,100,000
	 8,100,000	 9,100,000	 785,546	 14.4	 8,100,000
	 9,100,000	 10,100,000	 929,546	 15.2	 9,100,000
	 10,100,000	 -	 1,081,546	 16.0	 10,100,000

*	 This table reflects a federal $60,000 reduction in the value of the taxable estate for 
purposes of the (former) credit for state death taxes.  Also, the amount of the Illinois 
tax on a taxable estate between $2,000,000 and $2,256,701 is equal to the federal tax, 
because there was no state tax credit in 2001 (so no state tax is owed) on amounts up 
to the latter number.

Example:  If a person dying in 2006 leaves a taxable estate (beyond gifts 
to a surviving spouse) of $2.5 million, only $500,000 of it will be taxed, 
because the Internal Revenue Code allows a credit that in 2006 protects 
the first $2 million from federal estate tax.  Under section 2001 of the 
Code, that $500,000 will be taxed at 46%; thus if no other credit or tax 
applies, the estate’s federal estate tax liability will be $230,000.

Illinois will impose a tax of $137,546 on that estate (calculated from the 
table above).  That is because the General Assembly has decoupled the 
Illinois estate tax from the federal credit for state death taxes.  Thus the 
total federal and state taxes on this estate will be $230,000 + $137,546 = 
$367,546.

The federal credit for state death taxes was replaced in 2005 by a deduc-
tion.  This did not affect the rates of Illinois estate tax, which remain at 
2001 levels.

Estate and Generation-Skipping Transfer Tax (Death Taxes)
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History:  From 1949 until 1983, Illinois imposed two “death taxes”—an 
inheritance tax and an estate tax.  The inheritance tax was abolished as to 
persons dying after 1983.

Illinois imposed an estate tax based on the federal estate tax starting in 
1949.  It was initially set at 80% of the federal estate tax, minus state in-
heritance tax due.  A 1955 amendatory act set the amount of the estate tax 
at the maximum credit against estate taxes allowed by the federal govern-
ment for state death taxes (minus any inheritance tax due to the state—
which since 1983 has been zero).  Congress enacted a 4-year phaseout of 
the federal credit for state death taxes starting in 2002, reducing Illinois 
collections in calendar years 2002 and 2003.  The General Assembly in 
2003 made the rates of Illinois estate tax revert to their levels before the 
phaseout.

State revenue collected

Fiscal	 Receipts		  Fiscal	 Receipts 
 year	 (millions)	 Change	 year	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $187.3	 2.8%	 2001	 $361.0	 3.7%
1997	 199.4	 6.5	 2002	 329.2	 -8.8
1998	 250.4	 25.6	 2003	 236.9	 -28.0
1999	 347.0	 38.6	 2004	 221.7	 -6.4
2000	 348.0	 0.3	 2005	 310.4	 40.0
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Distribution:
1.	 94% to the General Revenue Fund.
2.	 6% to the Estate Tax Collection Distributive Fund for distribution to 

the county of residence of the decedent.

Other taxes on estates
Local:  None are authorized by statute.  Home-rule units probably could 
impose inheritance taxes, but they might be avoided by moving outside 
the unit imposing them before death.

Other states’ taxes
Sixteen other states retained their estate taxes after repeal of the federal 
estate tax credit:  

	 Connecticut	 Minnesota	 Oregon	 Wisconsin
	 Kansas	 Nebraska	 Rhode Island
	 Maine	 New Jersey	 Vermont
	 Maryland	 New York	 Virginia
	 Massachusetts	 North Carolina	 Washington

Ten states impose their own inheritance taxes in addition to estate taxes:

	 Indiana	 Nebraska
	 Iowa	 New Jersey
	 Kansas	 Oregon
	 Kentucky	 Pennsylvania
	 Maryland	 Tennessee

Alaska, Florida, and Nevada would have to amend their constitutions, 
and California law requires voter approval, to decouple from the federal 
tax.  

Estate and Generation-Skipping Transfer Tax (Death Taxes)
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Health-Care Assessments

Assessments are collected from medical providers to help fund the state’s 
participation in Medical Assistance (Medicaid), thus qualifying it for 
the maximum amount of federal matching funds.  The pool of federal 
plus state money obtained by this process goes to the providers to treat 
patients.  The providers that receive those payments (and are subject to 
these assessments) are hospitals, nursing homes, and facilities for the 
developmentally disabled.  (305 ILCS 5/5A-1 ff., 5/5B-1 ff., 5/5C-1 ff., 
5/15E-1 ff., and 5/15-1 ff.)

Rates and Bases
1.	 Hospital provider assessment:  2.5835% of adjusted gross hospital 

revenue for inpatient and outpatient services.
2.	 Developmentally disabled care provider assessment:  6% of the pro-

vider’s adjusted gross developmentally disabled care revenue for the 
preceding fiscal year.

3.	 County hospital provider assessment (applies to Cook County Hos-
pital):  an amount equal to 71.7% of the difference between total 
payments made to the Cook County Hospital from federal Medicaid 
funds and $108.8 million, not to exceed the amount paid to the hospi-
tal in state Medicaid funds.

4.	 Nursing home license fee:  $1.50 per licensed nursing bed-day.

History:  The original assessments became law in July 1991 and have 
changed considerably over the years.

1.	 Hospital services assessment:  Initially this was equal to the positive 
difference between a hospital’s anticipated annualized spending and 
its total Medicaid base-year spending.  This was replaced by hospital 
provider assessment fees that declined over time from 2.5% in July 
1992 to 1.25% (adjusted for Cigarette Tax contributions and changes 
in statewide hospital revenues) from July 1995 until July 1996, when 
the formula was changed again.  Collection of these fees ceased in 
April 1997.

	 A 2004 act imposed a hospital services assessment of $84.19 per oc-
cupied bed-day for fiscal years 2004 and 2005, beginning February 3, 
2004.  This assessment is reflected in the revenue collections shown 
on the next page for fiscal year 2005 (the first deposit reportedly was 
in March 2005).
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	 A 2005 act imposed a hospital services assessment of 2.5835% of 
each provider’s adjusted gross hospital revenue for inpatient and 
outpatient services in fiscal years 2006, 2007, and 2008, beginning 
August 1, 2005.  This assessment is not reflected in the revenue col-
lections below.

2.	 Long-term-care assessment (nursing homes):  15% of each facility’s 
gross receipts for services provided in the last state fiscal year.  This 
was replaced by a long-term-care provider assessment fee from July 
8, 1992 through June 30, 1993.  This fee was abolished July 1, 1993 
and replaced by the Nursing Home License Fee.

3.	 Developmentally disabled assessment:  15% of a facility’s gross re-
ceipts for services provided in the last state fiscal year.  This was re-
placed by a developmentally disabled care provider assessment fee of 
13% from July 8, 1992 through July 13, 1993.

4.	 County hospital services assessment (on Cook County Hospital):  An 
amount equal to 60% of the difference between total payments to the 
Cook County Hospital for federal Medicaid assistance funds and $78 
million.  The percentage was 63% from July 8, 1992 through July 13, 
1993.

State revenue collected

	 Hospital services*	 County Hospital services
Fiscal	 Receipts		  Receipts 
 year	 (millions)	 Change	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $203.7	 -36.0%	 $373.9	 40.4%
1997	 161.9	 -20.5	 403.2	 7.8
1998	 4.5	 -97.2	 464.1	 15.1
1999	 0.0	 -	 473.6	 2.0
2000	 -	 -	 571.7	 20.7

2001	 -	 -	 606.2	 6.0
2002	 -	 -	 592.9	 -2.2
2003	 -	 -	 736.7	 24.3
2004	 -	 -	 827.0	 12.3
2005	 637.0	 ∞	 895.8	 8.3

Notes  

The infinity symbol (∞) for FY 2000 reflects the fact that collections rose from zero the 
preceding year.

*  No assessments were collected from April 1, 1997 until February 3, 2004.  The 1998 
collections were on assessments made before that date.  The 2005 collections reflect 
the tax of $89.14 per occupied bed-day.

Health-Care Assessments
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	 Nursing home license fee	 Developmentally disabled
Fiscal	 Receipts		  Fiscal	 Receipts
year	 (millions)	 Change	 year	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $54.8	 -3.2%	 1996	 $15.8	 1.3%
1997	 55.5	 1.3	 1997	 16.4	 3.8
1998	 57.6	 3.8	 1998	 17.0	 3.7
1999	 58.0	 0.7	 1999	 17.0	 0.0
2000	 57.7	 -0.5	 2000	 17.0	 0.0

2001	 54.4	 -5.7	 2001	 17.4	 2.4
2002	 45.2	 -16.9	 2002	 17.8	 2.3
2003	 62.3	 37.8	 2003	 19.0	 6.7
2004	 54.1	 -13.2	 2004	 20.0	 5.3
2005	 57.9	 7.0	 2005	 20.6	 3.0

	 Total, all health-
	 care provider fees	
Fiscal	 Receipts	
year	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $ 648.2	 -1.3%
1997	 637.0	 -1.7
1998	 543.2	 -14.7
1999	 548.6	 1.0
2000	 646.4	 17.8

2001	 678.0	 4.9
2002	 655.9	 -3.3
2003	 818.0	 24.7
2004	 901.1	 10.2
2005	 1,611.3	 78.8

Distribution
1.	 Hospital services assessment fee:  Hospital Provider Fund

(a) For FY’s 2004 and 2005:  20% of total assessments transferred 
to the Health and Human Services Medicaid Trust Fund.

(b) For FY’s 2006, 2007, and 2008:  Up to $130 million of total 
assessments to the Health and Human Services Medicaid Trust 
Fund.

2.	 Nursing home license fee:  Long-Term Care Provider Fund.
3.	 Developmentally disabled assessment fee:  Developmentally Disabled 

Care Provider Fund.

LRU Tax Handbook
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4.	 County hospital services assessment (Cook County Hospital):    
County Hospital Services Trust Fund.

Other taxes on medical providers
Federal:  None.

Local:  None.

Other states’ taxes
Medicaid costs have ballooned in recent decades.  Other states, like Il-
linois, have tried to reduce effects on their budgets by adopting a variety 
of assessments and fees.  Some tax each provider’s gross receipts; others 
compute each provider’s assessment based on its portion of Medicaid 
disbursements in the state; still others tax the number of licensed beds in 
the facility by patient day, month, or year.  It is impossible to summarize 
the broad and constantly changing pattern accurately, but the following 
description is the best available as of April 2006.

Hospital-care assessments are imposed by 15 states, at rates ranging from 
1% of gross patient services revenue in New York to 6.25% of such rev-
enue (to short-term, acute care, and children’s hospitals) in Connecticut.  
New York also imposes an assessment based on each hospital’s propor-
tion of costs reported by all general hospitals statewide, limited to 0.1% 
of those statewide total costs.  South Carolina’s rate is based on each 
hospital’s total expenditures as a percentage of statewide total hospital 
expenditures; Ohio’s assessment is limited to 2% of total facility costs; 
and Rhode Island’s hospital licensing fee is 3.56% of net patient revenue.  
Minnesota imposes an assessment of 2.0% of gross revenues and a sur-
charge of 1.56% of net patient revenue minus Medicare revenue.  New 
Hampshire’s rate, legislatively adjusted every 2 years, is now 6.0% of 
gross patient services.  Texas imposes a rate of 1.25% of non-Medicaid 
gross revenue.  Both Kentucky and West Virginia have rates of 2.5% of 
gross receipts.  Maine’s rate is 2.23% of net operating revenue; Kansas’ 
is 1.83% of such revenue.  New Mexico’s rate is determined annually by 
the Human Services Department and cannot exceed 6% of annual gross 
revenue or $8.82 per occupied bed-day.  Oregon’s tax is set annually by 
the Director of Human Services and cannot exceed 3% net revenue; the 
current rate is 0.95%.  Vermont imposes an assessment of 4.02% gross 
inpatient revenue.

Health-Care Assessments
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Nursing-home care assessments, levied by 15 states, range from $1 per 
bed-day in Ohio to $6.92 per bed-day in Tennessee.  Rhode Island and 
Utah impose a tax of 6.0% of gross patient revenue; Maine’s is 6.0% of 
net operating revenue, and Kentucky’s is 2.5% of gross revenue from 
non-Medicare patients.  West Virginia imposes a fee of 0.7% of gross 
receipts for nursing services and 5.95% of gross receipts to nursing fa-
cilities.  Alabama imposes an assessment of $999.96 per bed-year and a 
supplemental privilege tax of $200.04 per bed-year (total $1,200), limit-
ed to 6% of gross revenues.  Louisiana’s fee is $10 per occupied bed-day; 
Vermont’s is $1,000 per licensed bed-year ($2.74 per bed-day); and Wis-
consin’s is up to $75 per licensed bed per month (about $2.50 per bed-
day).  Arkansas charges a “nursing facility quality assurance fee” of 6% 
of statewide gross receipts for services; Washington imposes a quality 
maintenance fee of $5.25 per patient-day (except for Medicare patients) 
in fiscal years 2006 and 2007, scheduled to fall to $3 in fiscal years 2008 
and 2009 and $1.50 in fiscal years 2010 and 2011.  Minnesota imposes a 
nursing home license surcharge of $625 per licensed bed per year ($1.71 
per bed-day).  Oregon’s assessment, set annually by its Director of Hu-
man Services, cannot exceed 6% of gross revenue; the current rate is 
$8.85 per occupied bed-day.  In addition, programs of all-inclusive care 
for the elderly are subject to a tax equal to 5% of the total capitalization 
rate paid by its Department of Human Services.

Health-care assessments for services to the developmentally disabled are 
imposed in 14 states.  Minnesota charges 2.0% of gross receipts; Ken-
tucky 4%; West Virginia 5.5%; and Maine, Nebraska, New York, Ten-
nessee, Vermont, and Washington 6% each.  Rhode Island charges 25% 
of gross patient revenue.  Wisconsin may charge up to $445 per licensed 
bed-month ($1.22 per bed-day); Louisiana charges $30 per occupied bed-
day; and South Carolina charges $8.50 per patient day.  New Mexico’s 
rate is set annually by the Human Services Department and cannot ex-
ceed 6% of annual gross revenue or $8.82 per occupied bed-day.

Four states tax pharmacy services.  Three of them collect fixed amounts 
per prescription (10¢ in Alabama and Louisiana and 15¢ in Kentucky).  
Minnesota collects 1.5% of the price.

Three states tax physicians’ services.  West Virginia charges 0.8%, Min-
nesota charges 2%, and Kentucky charges 2.5% of gross physician rev-
enue.
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Other health-care assessments include a medical service transporta-
tion providers’ fee of $7.50 per trip in Louisiana; a tax on ambulatory 
care facilities at the lesser of 3.5% of gross receipts or $200,000 in New 
Jersey; and amounts ranging from 0.7% to  5% of gross receipts (vary-
ing by kind of provider) in West Virginia.  Kansas charges 5.9% of all 
non-Medicare premiums collected by an HMO if it has a state Medicaid 
managed care contract.  Minnesota imposes a health-care tax of 2% of 
gross revenue on surgical centers, wholesale drug distributors, hearing 
aid sales and repairs, and prescription eyewear; and a surcharge of 0.6% 
of total premium revenues on HMOs and Community Integrated Service 
Networks.  Kentucky charges 2.5% of gross revenue for HMO services, 
4% of gross revenue for community mental health services, and 5.5% of 
gross revenue for psychiatric residential treatment and Medicaid man-
aged care organization services.  Maryland imposes an annual assess-
ment on all medical practitioners except pharmacists, and on self-insured 
health-care groups based on the ratio  of their premiums to total earned 
premiums of all payors in the state.  The total of all fees may not exceed 
$10 million per fiscal year.  Oregon imposes a tax on prepaid managed 
health services organizations, set annually by the Director of Human 
Services.   It cannot exceed 6% of the managed care premiums, and its 
current rate is 5.8%.

Federal law and regulations restrict what kinds of assessments states can 
use to match federal Medicaid payments.  In general, the federal govern-
ment does not allow a state to guarantee that each health-care provider 
will get back, in higher Medicaid payments, the entire amount it pays in 
assessments.

Health-Care Assessments
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Hotel Operators’ Tax

This tax is a percentage of each operator’s gross receipts from operating 
a hotel or motel.  Administered by Department of Revenue.  (35 ILCS 
145/1 ff.)

Rate and base:  The tax is the sum of two rates:  (a) 5% of 94% of gross 
rental receipts from transient guests, plus (b) 1% of 94% of gross rental 
receipts from such guests.  (The additional 1% is earmarked for the Build 
Illinois Fund.)  Receipts from permanent residents of a lodging place are 
exempt.

History:  The hotel operators’ occupation tax was enacted in 1961 at the 
rate of 3% of 97% of gross receipts from transient guests.  From 1969 to 
1984 the rate was 5% of 95% of gross receipts.  The current rates were 
enacted in 1984 to help pay for a planned 1992 World’s Fair.  When that 
fair was canceled, the revenue was earmarked for the Build Illinois pro-
gram.  A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to 
pay outstanding tax liabilities without penalties or interest.  Amnesty col-
lections totaled $223,211.

State revenue collected

Fiscal	 Receipts		  Fiscal	 Receipts 
year	 (millions)	 Change	 year	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $112.4	 10.2%	 2001	 $169.2	 6.9%
1997	 125.5	 11.7	 2002	 154.5	 -8.7
1998	 139.5	 11.2	 2003	 145.6	 -5.8
1999	 155.5	 11.5	 2004	 156.1	 7.2
2000	 158.3	 1.8	 2005	 160.1	 2.6
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Distribution:
1.	 5% tax:  (a) 40% to Build Illinois Fund, (b) 60% to General Rev-

enue Fund.  Of that, (i) $13 million per fiscal year is transferred to 
the Illinois Sports Facilities Fund, (ii) 8% is deposited into the Local 
Tourism Fund, (iii) 4.5% is deposited into the International Tourism 
Fund, and (iv) 21% of net revenue from the tax is transferred from 
the General Revenue Fund to the Tourism Promotion Fund for use by 
the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity.  (20 ILCS 
665/4a)

2.	 Additional 1% tax:  To the Build Illinois Fund.

Other taxes on hotels
Federal:  None.

Local:  State law permits Chicago to levy a tax up to 1% of gross rental 
receipts of hotel operators.  The Illinois Department of Revenue collects 
the tax for Chicago (65 ILCS 5/8-3-13).

Other municipalities can impose taxes up to 5% of gross rental receipts 
of hotel operators.  The money must be spent to promote tourism (65 
ILCS 5/8-3-14).  At least 48 cities collect such taxes, at rates ranging 
from 1% to 5%.  A county may impose a tax up to 5% of the gross rental 
receipts of hotels outside any municipality that imposes such a tax.  The 
money must be spent to promote tourism (55 ILCS 5/5-1030).  These 
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taxes are administered and collected by those municipalities and coun-
ties.  Home-rule units are not bound by these limits (North Chicago 
collects 6%).  A Chicago hotel accommodations tax of 3% of the gross 
rental or base charge is collected by the city.

The Illinois Sports Facilities Authority imposes a tax of 2% of 98% of 
gross rental receipts of hotel operators in Chicago to construct the new 
White Sox baseball park (70 ILCS 3205/19).  The tax is collected by the 
Illinois Department of Revenue and paid to the Authority.

The Metropolitan Pier and Exposition Authority imposes a tax of 2.5% 
of gross receipts of hotel operators in Chicago to finance construction of 
the McCormick Place expansion project (70 ILCS 210/13(c)).  The tax is 
collected by the Illinois Department of Revenue for the Authority.

The total effective tax rate on hotels and motels in Chicago is just over 
14%:

State tax (6% of 94%)	 5.64%
Chicago Municipal Tax (1% of 99%)	 0.99
City tax	 3.00
Illinois Sports Facilities Authority (2% of 98%)	 1.96
Metropolitan Pier and Exposition Authority	 2.50

Total	 14.09%

Other states’ taxes
Twelve other states impose taxes on hotel operators:

	 State	 Percentage

Vermont	 9.0  %
Delaware	 8.0
New Hampshire	 8.0
Hawaii	 7.25
Texas	 6.0

Massachusetts	 5.0	 +	 14% surtax 
Alabama	 4.0*
Arizona	 3.0
Arkansas	 2.0
Idaho	 2.0

Nebraska	 1.0
Oklahoma	 0.1

* 5% in 15 counties.
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Ten states allow localities to impose taxes at various rates.  

	 State	 Low	 High

Alaska	 3  %	 10  %
Florida	 7	 12
Georgia	 3	 8
Maryland	 3	 8
Minnesota	 1	 6

Mississippi	 1	 3
New York	 4	 8.5
North Carolina	 1	 6
Pennsylvania	 2	 7
Tennessee	 1.5	 10

Ten states allow localities to impose rates up to stated limits:

	 State	 Limit

Iowa	 7%
Kentucky	 3
Michigan	 5
New Jersey	 6
North Dakota	 2

Ohio	 3
Utah	 3*
Virginia	 2†

Washington	 2◊
Wisconsin	 8

*	 3.5% in 1st Class counties.
†	 4% in one county.
◊	 7% in Seattle and 2.8% in surrounding county.

In Colorado, the rate may not exceed 2% in 24 counties and is 9.75% in 
Denver.  Louisiana parishes may impose hotel taxes up to 2%, with two 
exceptions:  The rate is 3% in Orleans Parish, and in New Orleans it is 
75¢ per occupied room per day if the hotel has less than 300 rooms, and 
$1 per occupied room per day if it has 300 or more rooms.  Michigan has 
an additional Convention Facility Development Tax, ranging from 1.5% 
to 6% for convention hotels based on total number of rooms.  Two cities 
in Mississippi impose a daily charge—Jackson, 75¢ per occupied room 
per day and Newton, $1 per occupied room per day.  Missouri localities 
may impose two taxes with voter approval:  a tourism sales tax up to 4% 
and a lodging tax up to 5%.  Montana localities can impose a limited 

Hotel Operators’ Tax



52

sales and use tax on lodgings.  In Nevada, counties of up to 400,000 must 
impose a 1% lodgings tax, and counties of 400,000 or more a 2% lodg-
ings tax.  West Virginia counties may impose a 3% tax, and cities may 
impose a 6% tax.

LRU Tax Handbook
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Income Tax (Corporate)

This tax is imposed on the taxable income of corporations, associations, 
joint-stock companies, and cooperatives.  (See also “Personal Property 
Tax Replacement Taxes” on page 77.)  Most states use apportionment 
formulas to tax the income of firms doing business in more than one state 
(as Illinois once did).  Now, sales in Illinois are the only determinant of 
how much of a multistate firm’s income Illinois taxes.  Administered by 
Department of Revenue.  (35 ILCS 5/101 ff.)

Rate and base:  4.8% on the tax base, which is the corporation’s federal 
taxable income with several modifications listed below.

The amount of tax otherwise due is reduced by credits of:

1.	 $500 per eligible employee hired during the tax year to work full-
time in an Illinois enterprise zone or federal Foreign Trade Zone.

2.	 0.5% of amounts invested in qualified property in an enterprise 
zone (can be carried forward for 5 years).

3.	 0.5% of amounts invested in a qualified property by a high-impact 
business.

4.	 20% of direct payroll costs for cooperative Tech-Prep vocational 
programs for students in high school—including services rendered 
by a Tech-Prep student or instructor that would otherwise be sub-
ject to withholding and are not claimed by another taxpayer.

5.	 5% of expenses to operate a day-care facility for employees’ depen-
dents at a factory (may be carried forward for 2 years).

6.	 5% of the annual costs of a child-care facility for employees.  This 
credit is unavailable if the company claims a credit under the pre-
ceding item for on-site dependent care.

7.	 A credit negotiated between the taxpayer and the Department of 
Commerce and Economic Opportunity, based on the economic 
growth potential of a business project that provides capital im-
provements and new jobs, under the Economic Development for 
a Growing Economy (EDGE) Tax Credit Act.  Credit for a project 
authorized under the Corporate Headquarters Relocation Act cannot 
be used more than 15 years.  A firm with up to 100 employees can 
qualify if it plans a project involving investment of at least $1 mil-
lion in capital improvements and hiring of at least five new Illinois 
employees.
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8.	 50% of amounts donated to an affordable housing project au-
thorized under the Illinois Housing Development Act (20 ILCS 
3805/7.28).  This credit is to continue through 2011.

9.	 25% of an employer’s Illinois labor expenditures for a motion 
picture or television production approved by the Department of 
Commerce and Economic Opportunity under the Film Production 
Services Tax Credit Act (35 ILCS 15/1 ff.) (may be carried forward 
5 years).  A 10% added credit is offered for productions employing 
residents of geographic areas of high poverty or high unemploy-
ment.  These credits are to expire January 1, 2007. 

10.	 6.5% of qualifying costs for increased research and development 
activities in Illinois (credits earned after tax year 2002 can be car-
ried forward 5 years).

History:  The corporate income tax was enacted in 1969 at a rate of 4%.  
The rate was temporarily increased to 4.8% from January 1, 1983 to June 
30, 1984; it reverted to 4% on July 1, 1984; and it rose again to 4.8% 
on July 1, 1989.  It was scheduled to revert to 4.4% later; but on July 1, 
1993 the 4.8% rate became permanent.  Under the Illinois Constitution, 
the corporate income tax rate cannot exceed the individual rate by a ratio 
of more than 8 to 5.  A phase-in of using sales within Illinois as the only 
determinant for allocating income among states began in 1998 and was 
complete at the end of 2000.  In 2003 Illinois decoupled from the federal 
“bonus depreciation” (30% of the cost of some capital assets bought 
between September 10, 2001 and September 11, 2004).  Illinois taxpay-
ers must add back the 30% federal bonus depreciation to their Illinois 
returns, but can deduct the bonus depreciation amount over the following 
years.  A 2004 act expanded the definition of “business income” (for all 
taxpayers that receive such income) to include all income that may be 
treated as apportionable business income under the U.S. Constitution, 
net of allowable deductions.  A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 
allowed taxpayers to pay outstanding tax liabilities without penalty or 
interest.  Amnesty collections totaled $271,613,123.

State revenue collected

Fiscal	 Receipts		  Fiscal	 Receipts 
 year	 (millions)	 Change	 year	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $1,208.4	 9.5%	 2001	 $1,279.1	 -16.3%
1997	 1,361.4	 12.7	 2002	 1,042.7	 -18.5
1998	 1,402.0	 3.0	 2003	 1,011.6	 -3.0
1999	 1,384.7	 -1.2	 2004	 1,426.0	 41.0
2000	 1,527.4	 10.3	 2005	 1,548.1	 8.6



55

Distribution:
1.	 24% of gross receipts were to be deposited in the Income Tax Refund 

Fund in FY 2005.  The Department of Revenue adjusts this percent-
age annually under a statutory formula.  The percentage has been set 
at 20% for FY 2006.  Any surplus in the Refund Fund at the end of a 
fiscal year goes to the General Revenue Fund.

2.	 Of the remainder:
(a)	 10% to the Local Government Distributive Fund.
(b)	 7.3% to the Education Assistance Fund.
(c)	 The remainder (82.7%) to the General Revenue Fund.

Other taxes on corporate income
Federal:  The federal corporate income tax has a graduated sched-
ule.  There are eight brackets, with rates of 15% on taxable income 
up to $50,000; 25% on taxable income from there to $75,000; 34% 
from there to $100,000; 39% from there to $335,000; 34% from there 
to $10,000,000; 35% from there to $15,000,000; 38% from there to 
$18,333,333; and 35% on taxable income over $18,333,333.

Local:  No local tax is authorized by statute.  The Illinois Constitution 
prohibits even home-rule units from imposing income taxes without 
statutory authorization.

Income Tax (Corporate)
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Other states’ taxes
Illinois is among 30 states that tax corporate income at flat rates.  Their 
rates for 2006 are:

State	 Rate	 State	 Rate

Pennsylvania	 9.99  %	 Oregon	 6.6  %
Minnesota	 9.8	 Alabama	 6.5
Rhode Island	 9.0	 Tennessee	 6.5
West Virginia	 9.0	 Missouri	 6.25
California	 8.84	 Georgia	 6.0

Delaware	 8.7	 Oklahoma	 6.0
Indiana	 8.5	 Virginia	 6.0
New Hampshire	 8.5	 Florida	 5.5
Wisconsin	 7.9	 South Carolina	 5.0
Idaho	 7.6	 Utah	 5.0

Connecticut	 7.5	 Illinois	 4.8
Maryland	 7.0	 Colorado	 4.63
Arizona	 6.968	 Texas	 4.5
North Carolina	 6.9	 Kansas	 4.0
Montana	 6.75	 Michigan	 1.9

Thirteen states tax corporate income at graduated rates.  Nevada, South 
Dakota, Washington, and Wyoming do not tax corporate income.  Mas-
sachusetts imposes a tax at the greater of (a) $2.60 per $1,000 in value of 
taxable tangible property plus 9.5% of income, or (b) $456.  New York’s 
rate is 7.5% of federal net income, 2.5% of entire net income, or $.00178 
per $1 of allocated capital—whichever is highest.  Ohio imposes a fran-
chise tax and a Commercial Activity Tax.

Illinois’ corporate income tax rate is sometimes listed as 7.3%.  That rate 
includes the 2.5% Personal Property Tax Replacement Income Tax col-
lected for local governments, described on page 77.

LRU Tax Handbook
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Income Tax (Individual)

This tax is imposed on the taxable income of individuals, trusts, and es-
tates.  A $2,000 personal exemption applies to each taxpayer, spouse, or 
dependent.  An additional exemption of $1,000 applies to any taxpayer 
or spouse who is at least 65 or blind ($2,000 if both).  Administered by 
Department of Revenue.  (35 ILCS 5/101 ff.)

Rate and base:  3% on the taxpayer’s base income, defined as federal 
adjusted gross income with the modifications below.

The following items are added to adjusted gross income:

1.	 Any interest, dividends, and capital gains that were excluded from 
federal adjusted gross income.

2.	 Distributive shares of additions from partnerships, estates, and 
trusts.

3.	 Any previously deducted property taxes if later refunded.
4.	 Any money withdrawn from a medical care savings account, plus 

interest on the account earned in the year of withdrawal.  (Medical 
care savings accounts were first authorized in Illinois in 1994.)

5.	 Unreimbursed costs of site remediation that were deducted in calcu-
lating federal adjusted gross income and are claimed for an Environ-
mental Remediation Tax Credit.

6.	 Distributions from tuition programs other than the College Savings 
Pool or the Illinois Prepaid Tuition Trust Fund.

The following items are subtracted from adjusted gross income:

1.	 Interest received on Treasury bonds and notes.
2.	 In the case of property acquired before August 1, 1969 (when the Il-

linois income tax took effect) but sold after that date, appreciation in 
the property before that date.

3.	 Benefits from employee benefit and retirement plans, to the extent 
such plans are taxed under federal law.

4.	 Military and National Guard pay, and compensation to a govern-
ment employee who was a prisoner of war.

5.	 State income tax refunds.
6.	 Distributive shares of subtractions from partnerships, estates, and 

trusts.
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7.	 Dividends paid by corporations doing substantially all their business 
in an enterprise zone or foreign trade zone.

8.	 Recoveries from bad debts, prior taxes, and delinquency accounts.
9.	 Any amortizable bond premium disallowed as a federal deduction, 

and any expenses and interest costs incurred in earning federally 
tax-exempt income and disallowed as a federal deduction.

10.	 Any contribution made to a job training project established under 
the Real Property Tax Increment Allocation Redevelopment Act.

11.	 Other income exempted by the Illinois Constitution or federal law.
12.	 Social Security and railroad retirement benefits.
13.	 Interest from Puerto Rican bonds, some kinds of Illinois bonds, and 

Illinois college savings bonds.
14.	 Payment of life, endowment, or annuity benefits to the taxpayer as 

an advance indemnity for a terminal illness.
15.	 Any federal or state bonus paid to veterans of the 1991 war in the 

Persian Gulf area.
16.	 Any amount included in a taxpayer’s federal gross income as a re-

sult of the taxpayer’s conversion of a traditional IRA to a Roth IRA.
17.	 Up to $10,000 per tax year contributed to a College Savings Pool 

account or the Illinois Prepaid Tuition Trust Fund, if included in 
federal adjusted gross income.

18.	 Any amount received by a driver in a ridesharing arrangement using 
a motor vehicle.

The amount of tax otherwise due is reduced by credits of:

1.	 $500 per eligible employee hired during the tax year to work full-
time in an Illinois enterprise zone or federal Foreign Trade Zone.

2.	 0.5% of amounts invested in qualified property in an enterprise zone 
(can be carried forward for 5 years).

3.	 0.5% of amounts invested in qualified property by a high-impact 
business.

4.	 5% of property taxes paid on the taxpayer’s principal residence.
5.	 25% of qualified educational expenses (limited to tuition, book fees, 

and lab fees) exceeding $250 at any public or private elementary or 
secondary school.  The maximum credit is $500.

6.	 5% of the amount of the federal earned income tax credit.
7.	 50% of donations to an affordable housing project authorized under 

the Illinois Housing Development Act (20 ILCS 3805/7.28).  This 
credit lasts through  2011.
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History:  The individual income tax was enacted in 1969 at a rate of 
2.5%.  The rate was temporarily increased to 3% from January 1, 1983 
to June 30, 1984; it reverted to 2.5% on July 1, 1984; and it rose again to 
3% on July 1, 1989.  It was scheduled to revert to 2.5% later; but on July 
1, 1993 the 3% rate became permanent.  A tax amnesty program in fiscal 
year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay outstanding tax liabilities without 
penalty or interest.  Amnesty collections totaled $40,156,054.

State revenue collected

Fiscal	 Receipts		  Fiscal	 Receipts 
year	 (millions)	 Change	 year	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $6,069.8	 6.3%	 2001	 $8,606.9	 4.1%
1997	 6,551.5	 7.9	 2002	 8,085.9	 -6.1
1998	 7,268.4	 10.9	 2003	 7,979.3	 -1.3
1999	 7,778.0	 7.0	 2004	 8,236.1	 3.2
2000	 8,264.2	 6.3	 2005	 8,872.5	 7.7

Distribution:
1.	 10.0% of gross receipts were deposited into the Income Tax Refund 

Fund for FY 2005.  The Department of Revenue adjusts this percent-
age annually under a statutory formula.  This percentage has been set 
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at 9.75% for FY 2006.  Any surplus in the Refund Fund at the end of 
the fiscal year goes to the General Revenue Fund.

2.	 Of the remainder:
(a)	 10% to the Local Government Distributive Fund.
(b)	 7.3% to the Education Assistance Fund.
(c)	 The remainder (82.7%) to the General Revenue Fund.

Other taxes on personal income
Federal:  The federal tax law has 6 brackets, with rates of 10%, 15%, 
25%, 28%, 33%, and 35%.

Local:  No local tax is authorized by statute.  The Illinois Constitution 
prohibits even home-rule units from imposing income taxes without 
statutory authorization.

Other states’ taxes
Individual income taxes are levied at graduated rates in 34 states, and 
as a percentage of federal income tax liability (thus effectively gradu-
ated) in two others.  Illinois is among seven states that impose individual 
income taxes at flat rates.  Seven states have no income tax:  Alaska, 
Florida, Nevada, South Dakota, Texas, Washington, and Wyoming.

The six other states with flat rates are:

State	 Rate(s)	 Base

Massachusetts	 12.0 %	 Net capital gains; interest and dividends 
on accounts over $100,000

	 5.3	 Other income

Tennessee	 6.0	 Stock dividends; interest on nonfederal 
bonds and other obligations

New Hampshire	 5.0	 Interest and dividend income

Michigan	 4.0	 Taxable income (as described in statute)

Indiana	 3.4	 Adjusted gross income

Pennsylvania	 3.07	 Specified classes of income
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Insurance Taxes and Fees

The state imposes a number of taxes and fees on insurance companies.  
Foreign companies (those not incorporated in Illinois) pay a privilege 
tax.  All companies writing fire or fire-related policies, including do-
mestic companies, pay a fire marshal’s tax.  Insurance brokers writing 
nonstandard policies (such as coverage for amusement parks) with com-
panies not licensed to do business in Illinois pay a surplus line producer’s 
tax.  Administered by Department of Insurance.  (215 ILCS 5/408 to 
5/416 and 5/445; 425 ILCS 25/12)

Various fees are also imposed on the activities of insurance companies.  
The fee collecting the most revenue is based on the amount of life insur-
ance that domestic companies have in force in the state.

Rate and base:
1.	 Privilege tax on insurers and HMOs:

(a)	 0.4% of net taxable written premiums for accident and health 
insurance.

(b)	 0.5% of net taxable written premiums for all other types of in-
surance.

2.	 Fire marshal’s tax:  1% of premiums on fire or fire-related insurance 
policies.

3.	 Surplus line producers’ tax:  3.5% of gross insurance premiums from 
policies issued in Illinois.

4.	 Industrial Commission Operations Fund Surcharge:  1.5% of direct 
written premium for workers’ compensation liability insurance.

5.	 Numerous other fees on particular types of insurance activities.

History:  A 2% privilege tax on foreign companies was enacted in 
1853, and retained in 1937 when the state’s insurance laws were con-
solidated into the Illinois Insurance Code.  That tax was held unconstitu-
tional by the Illinois Supreme Court in 1997.  A new privilege tax, on all 
insurance companies, was enacted in 1998.

The fire marshal’s tax was enacted in 1909 at a rate of 0.5% of all fire 
and fire-related insurance premiums paid in Illinois.  The rate dropped 
to 0.25% in 1931, reverted to 0.5% in 1941, and doubled again to 1% in 
1979.
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The surplus line producers’ tax was enacted in 1937 at the rate of 2% of 
gross insurance premiums on policies in Illinois.  It rose to 3% in 1963.  
A 2003 law increased this rate to 3.5%.

A life insurance policy fee on domestic companies of 3¢ per $1,000 of 
direct life insurance policies in force was enacted in 1979, but abolished 
in 1998.

The Industrial Commission Operations Fund Surcharge was enacted in 
2003 at a rate of 1.5% of direct written premiums for employers’ liabili-
ties under the Workers’ Compensation Act (820 ILCS 305/1 ff.) or Work-
ers’ Occupational Diseases Act (820 ILCS 310/1 ff.).  The surcharge was 
reduced to 1.01% in 2004.  It is imposed on every company licensed or 
authorized by the Department of Insurance.

State revenue collected

Fiscal	 Receipts		  Fiscal	 Receipts 
 year	 (millions)	 Change	 year	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $189.4	 1.2%	 2001	 $287.9	 11.8%
1997	 176.1	 -7.0	 2002	 312.4	 8.5
1998	 122.8	 -30.3	 2003	 361.5	 15.7
1999	 238.5	 94.2	 2004	 431.7	 19.4
2000	 257.6	 8.0	 2005	 399.8	 -7.4
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Distribution:
1.	 Insurance taxes and fees to the General Revenue Fund.
2.	 Insurance fees imposed under 215 ILCS 5/408 to the Insurance Finan-

cial Regulation Fund.  If the Fund exceeds $100,000 at fiscal yearend, 
the excess goes to the General Revenue Fund.

3.	 Fire marshal’s tax to the Fire Prevention Fund.
4.	 Fees collected from companies writing workers’ compensation and 

employers’ liability insurance policies to the Insurance Producers’ 
Administration Fund.

5.	 A percentage (set annually by the Department of Insurance) of privi-
lege tax and retaliatory tax revenue to the Insurance Premium Tax 
Refund Fund.

Other taxes on insurance companies
Federal:  Insurance companies incorporated in other states but operating 
in Illinois pay taxes at these rates:

1.	 4% of premiums on casualty insurance and indemnity bonds.
2.	 1% of premiums on life insurance, sickness and accident policies, and 

annuity contracts.
3.	 1% of premiums on reinsurance under policies listed above.

Local:  Fire insurance companies headquartered outside Illinois pay a tax 
of 2% of their gross receipts from premiums on fire insurance policies in 
force in municipalities or fire protection districts.  The tax is paid directly 
to the fire protection district or municipal treasurer (who, in cities of un-
der 250,000, must pay it directly to the treasurer of the fire department to 
be used “upon the order of the fire department for the maintenance, use 
and benefit of the department”).  (65 ILCS 5/11-10-1 and 11-10-2)

Other taxes by non-home-rule units are prohibited by statute.  Home-rule 
taxation probably is prohibited by the Illinois Constitution, art. 7, subsec. 
6(e) as a tax on occupations.

Other states’ taxes
All states impose a variety of privilege taxes and fees on insurers.  Elev-
en states have rates under 2%; 32 have rates between 2% and 3%; and 
three have rates over 3%.  Louisiana imposes a $140 minimum tax if a 
company’s total annual premiums are $7,000 or less, and adds $225 per 
$10,000 of premiums over $7,000.  Oregon has phased out its insurance 
taxes but included insurance companies in its corporate excise tax.

Insurance tax rates are complicated by “retaliatory” taxes that nearly 
every state has enacted.  These impose higher rates on insurers from any 
state that taxes out-of-state insurers at a higher rate than its own insurers.

Insurance Taxes and Fees
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Liquor Taxes and Fees

A tax is imposed on the privilege of making or distributing alcoholic 
beverages in Illinois, based on the number of gallons.  Also, the Illinois 
Liquor Control Commission imposes a variety of annual fees on each 
manufacturer, distributor, and retail seller.  Administered by Department 
of Revenue.  (235 ILCS 5/8-1 ff.)

Rate and base (per gallon):  18.5¢ on beer and cider with 0.5% to 7% 
alcohol; 73¢ on wine (excluding cider with up to 7% alcohol); $4.50 on 
distilled liquor.  Annual Liquor Control Commission fees are $500 for 
retail sellers, and $25 to $3,600 on some manufacturers. 

History:  The present liquor tax was enacted in 1934.  Rates since then 
are shown below.

	 Rate per gallon
	 Beer and	 Wine up	 Wine over	 Distilled 
Year	 cider	 to 14% alc.	 14% alc.	 liquor

1934	 2 ¢	 10¢	 25¢	 $0.50
1941	 4	 15	 40	 1.00
1959	 6	 23	 60	 1.52
1969	 7	 23	 60	 2.00
1999	 18.5	 73	 73	 4.50

A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay out-
standing tax liabilities without penalty or interest.  Amnesty collections 
totaled $16,669.

State revenue collected

	 Taxes	 License fees
Fiscal	 Receipts		  Receipts 
 year	 (millions)	 Change	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $  58.3	 2.6%	 $4.0	 -2.4%
1997	 56.6	 -2.9	 4.4	 10.0
1998	 57.0	 0.7	 4.2	 -4.5
1999	 57.2	 0.4	 4.1	 -2.4
2000	 127.9	 123.6	 4.2	 2.4

2001	 124.3	 -2.8	 4.0	 -4.8
2002	 122.0	 -1.9	 4.1	 2.5
2003	 122.8	 0.7	 4.1	 0.0
2004	 126.8	 3.3	 5.9	 43.9
2005	 147.2	 16.1	 5.9	 0.0
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Collections by Type of Beverage
When reporting liquor tax revenue to the Comptroller, the Department of 
Revenue lists only total revenue, not classified by type of beverage.  The 
data below, obtained directly from the Department, show collections by 
beverage class.

	 Liquor
Fiscal	 Beer		  20% or more	
 year	 (millions)	 Change	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $19.4	 1.0%	 $31.9	 2.6%
1997	 18.9	 -2.6	 31.3	 -1.9
1998	 19.2	 1.6	 30.7	 -1.9
1999	 19.4	 1.0	 30.8	 0.3
2000	 48.1	 147.9	 63.2	 105.2

2001	 52.1	 8.3	 69.9	 10.6
2002	 52.6	 1.0	 70.4	 0.7
2003	 53.0	 0.8	 69.8	 -0.9
2004	 51.9	 -2.1	 80.6	 15.5
2005	 51.5	 -0.8	 78.4	 -2.7
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	 Wine or	 Wine or liquor over 
Fiscal	 Liquor up to 14%	 14% but less than 20%
 year	 (millions)	 Change	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $  5.1	 2.0%	 $1.7	 0.0%
1997	 5.3	 3.9	 1.6	 -5.9
1998	 5.4	 1.9	 1.6	 0.0
1999	 5.1	 -5.6	 1.5	 -6.3
2000	 14.7	 188.2	 2.1	 40.0

2001	 16.3	 10.9	 1.7	 -19.0
2002	 16.7	 2.5	 1.7	 0.0
2003	 16.9	 1.2	 1.7	 0.0
2004	 18.1	 7.1	 1.7	 0.0
2005	 18.5	 2.2	 1.6	 -5.9

Distribution:
1.	 Liquor tax revenue to the General Revenue Fund.
2.	 Retailer’s license fee:

(a) $250 to the Dram Shop Fund;
(b) $250 to the General Revenue Fund;

3.	 All other license fees to the Dram Shop Fund.

Other taxes on alcoholic beverages
Federal:  The federal tax on distilled liquor is based on the number of 
“proof gallons” sold.  A proof gallon is a gallon of liquor containing 50% 
alcohol (equivalent to one-half gallon of pure alcohol).  The rate has been 
$13.50 per proof gallon since January 1, 1991.  An 80-proof beverage 
(40% alcohol) is taxed at $10.80 per gallon of beverage; 100-proof at 
$13.50; and 120-proof at $16.20.

	 Class of beverage	 Tax per gallon

Beer		  $    .58
Wine	 Up to 14% alcohol	 1.07
	 14% to 21% alcohol	 1.57
	 21% to 24% alcohol	 3.15
	 Artificially carbonated	 3.30
	 Sparkling	 3.40
Distilled liquor (per 100-proof gallon)	 13.50
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Local:  Municipalities and counties collect liquor fees.  Home-rule units 
can impose taxes.  Cook County collects 6¢ per gallon on beer, 16¢ per 
gallon on wine of up to 14% alcohol, 30¢ per gallon on wine over 14% 
alcohol, and $2 per gallon on distilled liquor.  Chicago collects 16¢ per 
gallon on beer, 20¢ per gallon on alcoholic liquor up to 14% alcohol, 50¢ 
per gallon on alcoholic liquor over 14% but less than 20% alcohol, and 
$1.50 per gallon on distilled liquor or wines with over 20% alcohol.

Other states’ taxes
Taxes on alcoholic beverages vary greatly among the 32 states, includ-
ing Illinois, that license sellers of alcoholic beverages (rather than selling 
them from state-run stores).  The approximate ranges of rates are:

Beverage class	 Rates per gallon

Beer	 $0.02  (Wyoming)	 to	 $  1.07  (Alaska)
Wine up to 14%	 0.11  (Louisiana)	 to	 2.50  (Alaska)
Wine over 14%	 0.20  (California)	 to	 5.68  (New Mexico)
Spirits	 1.50  (Maryland)	 to	 12.80  (Alaska)

The 18 liquor monopoly states are:

Alabama	 Oregon
Idaho	 Pennsylvania
Iowa	 Utah
Maine	 Vermont
Michigan	 Virginia

Mississippi	 Washington
Montana	 West Virginia
New Hampshire	 Wyoming
North Carolina
Ohio

Liquor Taxes and Fees
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Lottery

The Illinois State Lottery was authorized in 1974.  It gets revenues from 
ticket sales for games; agent fees; and interest on funds held.  After pay-
ing prizes, agent commissions, and administrative costs, net receipts go 
to the Common School Fund.  Administered by Department of Revenue.  
(20 ILCS 1605/l ff.)

Rate and base:  The lottery law initially provided that “net lottery rev-
enue” could never be less than 40% of total revenue from lottery ticket 
sales.  That made it difficult to finance the startup costs of a daily game.  
An exception authorizing net revenue to fall below 40% was enacted for 
fiscal years 1979, 1980, and 1981 to allow operation of a daily game.  
The 40% requirement was repealed in 1981.

History:  Total lottery revenue and net receipts to the state were substan-
tial in fiscal years 1975 and 1976, but by fiscal year 1979 had dropped 
almost 62%.  Variations of the 50¢ and $1.00 games were tried, but none 
brought in revenue at levels matching those of fiscal year 1976.

A “Daily” on-line game (Pick 3) was started in 1980, bringing a sig-
nificant sales increase (for fiscal year 1981 they were about 24% higher 
than for 1976).  A second “Daily” game (Pick 4) was added in 1984.  Al-
though several years had flat or slightly declining sales, the overall sales 
trend has been upward, with gross sales exceeding $1.8 billion in fiscal 
year 2005.  

A weekly “Lotto” game was added in 1983.  A second weekly “Lotto” 
game was added in 1986 but replaced with a “Lotto 7” game in 1987.  
“Lotto 7” was replaced in 1988 with a game now called “Little Lotto,” 
and the Lotto game returned to its twice-weekly drawing format in 1990.  
Current lottery games include the two daily games (Pick 3 and Pick 4), 
with drawings twice each day on Monday through Saturday, and once 
on Sunday;  “Little Lotto” with seven drawings per week;  “Lotto” with 
2 drawings per week;  and some 65 instant games.  What is now called 
“Mega Millions”—a multistate lotto game conducted jointly with 10 
other states—began in September 1996 with drawings on Tuesdays and 
Fridays.

Net revenues for state use, after paying prizes, advertising, and adminis-
trative expenses, did not exceed $100 million until fiscal year 1982, when 
they were $137.6 million.  Net revenue reached about $500 million in fis-
cal year 1985, and has remained between $500 and $610 million per year 
since then.  It declined in recent years to a low of $501 million in fiscal 
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year 2001, but recovered to $555 million in fiscal year 2002, and set a 
new record of $614 million in fiscal year 2005.

A 1985 law requires that net lottery revenue (after the expenses listed 
above) be deposited into the Common School Fund, with three excep-
tions:  net proceeds from a game designated by the Department for the 
Illinois Land Grant Collegiate Athletics Fund are distributed to the Uni-
versity of Illinois Athletic Association (20 ILCS 1605/21.2); net revenue 
from a special instant scratch-off game called “Ticket for the Cure” goes 
to the “Ticket for the Cure” Fund to fund breast cancer research and 
provide services for breast cancer victims (20 ILCS 1605/21.5); and net 
revenue from the a special instant scratch-off game to benefit Illinois 
Veterans goes to the Illinois Veterans Assistance Fund for research or 
services related to veterans’ post-traumatic stress disorder, homeless-
ness, health insurance costs, disability benefits, and long-term care (20 
ILCS 1605/21.6).  The first transfer of net proceeds to the “Ticket for 
the Cure” Fund, in February 2006, was $441,000.  The Veterans’ lottery 
game was begun in February 2006.  Its total sales through mid-May were 
$3,932,572, and total transfers to the Veterans Assistance Fund were 
$1,060,086.

State revenue collected

		  Transfers to		  Transfers as 
Fiscal	 Gross revenues	 Common School		  % of gross 
 year	 (millions)	 Fund (millions)	 Change	 revenues

1996	 $1,637.4	 $594.1	 6.5%	 36.3%
1997	 1,622.7	 587.1	 -1.2	 36.2
1998	 1,570.0	 560.0	 -4.6	 35.7
1999	 1,526.0	 540.0	 -3.6	 35.4
2000	 1,503.9	 515.2	 -4.6	 34.3

2001	 1,449.8	 501.0	 -2.8	 34.6
2002	 1,590.0	 555.1	 10.8	 34.9
2003	 1,585.8	 540.3	 -2.7	 34.1
2004	 1,709.2	 570.1	 5.5	 33.4
2005	 1,843.0	 614.0	 7.7	 33.3

Lottery
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Disposition:  Net revenue (about 36% of gross) to the Common School 
Fund.  (About 54% of gross revenue goes for prizes, 6% for agents’ com-
missions, and 4% for other operating expenses.)

Other revenue from lotteries
Federal:  Lotteries authorized by state laws are exempt from federal 
gambling taxes.

Local:  Lotteries are illegal except as authorized by Illinois law.  All 
municipalities and counties are authorized to license raffles and charge 
license fees to be set by their governing bodies (230 ILCS 15/l ff.).

Other states’ lotteries
Thirty-nine other states operate lotteries.  Those with net receipts over 
$200 million are listed on the next page.
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	 Net receipts (millions)
State	 FY 2004	 FY 2005	 Change

New York	 $1,907.4	 $2,062.7	 8.1%
California	 1,044.1	 1,148.8	 10.0
Florida	 1,051.7	 1,103.6	 4.9
Texas	 1,051.0	 1,070.3	 1.8
Massachusetts	 912.0	 936.1	 2.6

Pennsylvania	 817.3	 851.8	 4.2
New Jersey	 795.0	 812.1	 2.1
Georgia	 782.7	 802.2	 2.5
Michigan	 644.9	 667.6	 3.5
Ohio	 655.6	 645.1	 -1.6

Illinois	 570.1	 614.0	 7.7
West Virginia	 512.1	 563.3	 10.0
Maryland	 458.4	 477.1	 4.1
Virginia	 407.7	 423.5	 3.9
Oregon	 380.6	 401.6	 5.5

Rhode Island	 281.1	 307.6	 9.4
Delaware	 283.9	 297.9	 4.9
South Carolina	 286.8	 279.7	 -2.4
Connecticut	 280.8	 268.5	 -4.4
Tennessee	 123.3	 234.3	 90.1

Missouri	 229.4	 218.6	 -4.7

Lottery
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Motor Fuel Taxes

The motor fuel tax is imposed on the privilege of operating motor ve-
hicles on public highways or waterways in Illinois.  It is paid by distribu-
tors and suppliers, who include it in the retail price.  Aircraft fuels are 
exempt.  Administered by Department of Revenue.  (35 ILCS 505/l ff.)  
The Department also collects a tax of 0.3¢ per gallon, and an environ-
mental impact fee of 0.8¢ per gallon, to fund cleanup of underground 
storage tanks (35 ILCS 505/2a and 415 ILCS 125/301 ff.).  Finally, Il-
linois’ sales tax applies to motor fuel; see “Sales and Use Taxes” begin-
ning on page 106.

Rates and base:
1.	 Gasoline:  19¢ per gallon.
2.	 Special fuel (mostly diesel fuel):  21.5¢ per gallon.
3.	 Additional levies for the Underground Storage Tank Fund on gaso-

line, special fuel, aviation fuel (unless sold at O’Hare or Midway Air-
ports), kerosene, and home heating oil:
(a)	 0.3¢ per gallon tax (until 2013);
(b)	 0.8¢ per gallon environmental impact fee (until 2013).

History:  A motor fuel tax was enacted in 1927 at 2¢ per gallon.  Rates 
since then are shown below.

	 Tax per gallon	 Tax per gallon
Year	 Gasoline	 Diesel fuel	 Year	 Gasoline	 Diesel fuel

1927	 2.0¢	 2.0¢	 1983	 11.0¢	 13.5¢
1929	 3.0	 3.0	 1984	 12.0	 14.5
1951	 4.0	 4.0	 1985	 13.0	 15.5
1953	 5.0	 5.0	 1989	 16.0	 18.5
1967	 6.0	 6.0	 1990	 19.3	 21.8
1969	 7.5	 7.5	 1996	 20.1	 22.6

A leaking underground storage tanks tax of 0.3¢ per gallon was added 
in 1990, and the 0.8¢ environmental impact fee in 1996.  A tax am-
nesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay outstanding 
tax liabilities without penalty or interest.  Amnesty collections totaled 
$1,964,758.
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State revenue collected

Fiscal	 Receipts		  Fiscal	 Receipts 
 year	 (millions)	 Change	 year	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $1,201.9	 4.6%	 2001	 $1,366.6	 0.8%
1997	 1,232.3	 2.5	 2002	 1,373.5	 0.5
1998	 1,300.7	 5.6	 2003	 1,388.3	 1.1
1999	 1,328.7	 2.2	 2004	 1,423.8	 2.6
2000	 1,356.3	 2.1	 2005	 1,434.6	 0.8

Distribution:  All motor fuel tax revenue goes on the Motor Fuel Tax 
Fund.  Distributions from the Fund are as follows:

1.	 2.5¢ per gallon from collections on special fuel to the State Construc-
tion Account Fund.

2.	 $5,040,000 per year to the State Boating Act Fund.
3.	 $27 million per year to the Grade Crossing Protection Fund.
4.	 $30 million per year (through June 30, 2006) to the Vehicle Inspec-

tion Fund to administer the Vehicle Emissions Inspection Law of 
1995.

5.	 Sufficient amounts to:
(a)	 the Department of Revenue for administrative expenses and re-

funds; and
(b)	 the Department of Transportation to:

•	 administer motor fuel tax distribution to local governments;
•	 pay motor fuel tax refunds to other states under reciprocal 

agreements; and
•	 pay Illinois Court of Claims judgments.

Motor Fuel Taxes
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6.	 Of the remainder:
(a)	 45.6% is apportioned as follows:

•	 37% to the State Construction Account Fund;
•	 63% to the State Road Fund ($15 million is reserved for bridge 

construction in townships and road districts); and
(b)	 54.4% is apportioned as follows:

•	 49.10% to municipalities, distributed by population;
•	 16.74% to Cook County;
•	 18.27% to the other 101 counties based on motor vehicle li-

cense fees collected in each county; and
•	 15.89% to townships and road districts, distributed among 

counties in proportion to township and road district mileage, 
and redistributed within each county in proportion to road 
mileage in each township or road district.

All revenue from the tax of 0.3¢ per gallon and the fee of 0.8% per gal-
lon for underground storage tank cleanup goes to the Underground Stor-
age Tank Fund.

Other taxes on motor fuels
Federal:  18.4¢ per gallon (gasoline) and 24.4¢ per gallon (diesel fuel).

Local:  Home-rule units can tax motor fuels.  Cook County collects 6¢ 
per gallon, and Chicago 5¢.  DuPage, Kane, and McHenry Counties 
can impose taxes up to 4¢ per gallon without referendum (55 ILCS 5/5-
1035.1).  DuPage and McHenry Counties collect 4¢, and Kane collects 
2¢.  Any city of over 100,000 can also impose a tax of 1¢ per gallon by 
referendum (65 ILCS 5/8-11-15).  Rockford imposes a tax under that 
provision.  In addition, 18 home-rule cities impose taxes.  Local taxes 
are summarized in the following table.  (Amounts in the “Total” column 
include the 19¢ state tax.)
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	 County	 City	 Total

Cook County	 6.0¢	 -	 25.0¢ 
Chicago	 6.0	 5.0¢	 30.0 
Evergreen Park	 6.0	 3.0	 28.0 
Berwyn, Burbank, Cicero, Rosemont	 6.0	 2.0	 27.0 
Des Plaines, Dolton, Park Ridge	 6.0	 1.0	 26.0

DuPage County	 4.0	 -	 23.0 
Bolingbrook	 4.0	 5.0	 28.0 
Naperville	 4.0	 2.0	 25.0

Kane County	 2.0	 -	 21.0

McHenry County	 4.0	 -	 23.0

Other localities 
Pekin	 -	 4.0	 23.0 
Carbondale, Peoria	 -	 2.0	 21.0 
Channahon	 -	 1.0	 20.0 
Galesburg, Joliet, Rock Island	 -	 1.0	 20.0 
Moline	 -	 0.5	 19.5

Other states’ taxes
Forty-two states tax motor fuel at fixed rates per gallon, ranging from 8¢ 
in Alaska to 32.9¢ in Wisconsin for gasoline and gasohol, and from 8¢ in 
Alaska to 38.1¢ in Pennsylvania for diesel fuel.  Seven other states reset 
rates per gallon periodically based on the retail or wholesale price of mo-
tor fuel, or other factors.  Their latest available rates were:

		  Adjusted	 Amount per 
State	 Variable rate	 each	 gallon (Jan. 2006)

Wisconsin	 29.9¢ (2005)*	 year	 32.9  ¢
North	 17.5¢ per gal. plus the
     Carolina	 greater of 7% or 3.5¢	 year	 30.15
Ohio	 17¢ + fixed rate†	 year	 28.0
Nebraska	 12.1¢ + fixed rate	 6 months	 27.0
Delaware	 Based on avg. wholesale price	 year	 23.0
Kentucky	 9% of avg. wholesale price	 quarter	 18.5
Florida	 Based on CPI	 year	 14.9

*	 Wisconsin’s rate is indexed to changes in the nationwide Consumer Price Index for 
All Urban Consumers.

†	 Varies with highway maintenance costs and fuel consumption.

Motor Fuel Taxes
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Sales Taxes on Motor Fuel
Illinois is among 10 states that collect general sales taxes on motor fuels:

	 California	 Indiana
	 Florida	 Michigan
	 Georgia	 New York
	 Hawaii	 Virginia*
	 Illinois	 West Virginia

*  A 2% sales tax applies only in areas served by mass transit.
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Personal Property Tax Replacement Taxes

The Illinois Constitution of 1970 required that all ad valorem (value-
based) personal property taxes be abolished by 1979.  The personal prop-
erty tax was already limited to businesses, because a 1970 amendment 
to the former (1870) Constitution had abolished it as to individuals.  In 
1979 the General Assembly replaced the personal property tax on busi-
nesses with an income tax on corporations and an invested capital tax 
on public utilities.  A 1997 law repealed the invested capital tax as to 
electricity distributors (except electric cooperatives) and telecommunica-
tions distributors.  Electricity distributors now pay a personal property 
tax replacement tax based on amounts of electricity delivered in Illinois; 
telecommunications distributors pay a telecommunications infrastructure 
maintenance fee.  Electric cooperatives still pay the invested capital tax.  
These taxes are administered by the Department of Revenue.  (35 ILCS 
635/1 ff. (telecommunications companies); 615/2a.1 (gas distribution 
companies); 620/2a.1 (electric companies); and 625/3 (water compa-
nies))

1.  Personal Property Tax Replacement Income Tax

This tax is imposed on the net income of corporations, business partner-
ships, trusts, and “S” corporations.  Administered by Department of Rev-
enue.  (35 ILCS 5/201(c))

Rate and base:
1.	 Corporations:  2.5% of federal taxable income.
2.	 Partnerships, trusts, and “S” corporations:  1.5% of federal taxable 

income.

Since July 1, 1984 an investment tax credit of 0.5% has been allowed 
against this tax liability for buying equipment used in manufacturing, 
mining, or retailing.  A further 0.5% credit is allowed if the company’s 
Illinois employment base expanded 1% over the preceding year’s.  The 
latter credit can be carried forward up to 5 years, but will not apply to 
property acquired after 2008.

History:  The tax took effect July 1, 1979 at 2.85%.  On January 1, 1981 
its rate dropped to 2.5%. 
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State revenue collected

Fiscal	 Receipts		  Fiscal	 Receipts 
 year	 (millions)	 Change	 year	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $  753.5	 7.2%	 2001	 $  930.4	 -9.3%
1997	 845.7	 12.2	 2002	 754.5	 -18.9
1998	 894.7	 5.8	 2003	 759.9	 0.7
1999	 905.3	 1.2	 2004	 921.7	 21.3
2000	 1,025.6	 13.3	 2005	 1,055.2	 14.5

Distribution:  From Personal Property Tax Replacement Fund:  51.65% 
to local governments in Cook County based on their shares of personal 
property tax collections in 1976; 48.35% to local governments in the 
other 101 counties based on their shares of personal property tax collec-
tions in 1977.

Other taxes in lieu of personal property taxes
Federal:  None.

Local:  None.

Other states
No other state imposes a tax based on the invested capital of public util-
ity companies, or an income tax specifically designated to replace a per-
sonal property tax.
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2.  Invested Capital Tax

This tax is imposed on the invested capital of rural electric cooperatives 
and businesses that sell gas, electric, or water services.  It does not apply 
to municipally owned electric and water companies, or to telephone co-
operatives.  (35 ILCS 615/2a.1, 620/2a.1(b), and 625/3)

Rate and base:  The rate is 0.8% of capital invested in gas, electric, and 
water facilities in service during the taxable period.  Invested capital is 
defined as the average of the totals at the beginning and end of the tax-
able period of shareholders’ equity and long-term debt attributable to Il-
linois, minus investments in and advances to all corporations, as set forth 
on the balance sheets in the company’s annual report to the Illinois Com-
merce Commission for the taxable period.

History:  The tax took effect July 1, 1979.  

Distribution:  Same as Personal Property Tax Replacement Income Tax.

3.  Electricity Distribution Tax

This tax is imposed on electricity distributors except electric coopera-
tives.  Annual revenue from this tax is limited to an amount that was set 
in 1998 at $145.3 million, increased each year as follows:  revenue for 
the preceding year is multiplied by the lesser of (a) the percentage in-
crease in the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers, All Items 
(CPI-U) for that year, or (b) 5%.  If that limit is exceeded, the Depart-
ment of Revenue will issue credit memoranda to reduce all taxpayers’ 
future liability.  (35 ILCS 620/2a.1)

Rate and base:

	 Kwh distributed	 Tax 
	 per month	 per kwh

	 First	 500	 million	 0.031¢
	 Next	 1	 billion	 0.050
	 Next	 2.5	 billion	 0.070
	 Next	 4	 billion	 0.140
	 Next	 7	 billion	 0.180
	 Next	 3	 billion	 0.142
	 Over	 18	 billion	 0.131

Personal Property Tax Replacement Taxes
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History:  The tax took effect January 1, 1998.

Distribution:  Same as Personal Property Tax Replacement Income Tax.

4.  Telecommunications Infrastructure Maintenance Fee

This state tax is imposed on telecommunications services, including 
provision of messages or information through local, toll, and wide-area 
telephone services; channel, telegraph, teletypewriter, computer ex-
change, private line, and specialized mobile radio services; and any other 
transmission of messages or information by electronic or similar means, 
between or among points by wire, cable, fiber optics, laser, microwave, 
radio, satellite, or similar methods.  (35 ILCS 635/10, 635/15, and 
635/25b)

Rate and base:  0.5% of the retailer’s gross charges for telecommunica-
tions services.

History:  The tax took effect January 1, 1998.   A tax amnesty program 
in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay outstanding tax liabilities 
without penalty or interest.  Amnesty collections totaled $442,627.

Distribution:  Same as Personal Property Tax Replacement Income Tax.

Public utility companies report liability for the Invested Capital Tax, 
Electricity Distribution Tax, and Telecommunications Infrastructure 
Maintenance Fee to the Department of Revenue on the same tax form.  
The Department of Revenue does not separately tabulate amounts col-
lected for these three taxes.
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State revenue collected (from the Invested Capital Tax, Electricity Dis-
tribution Tax, and Telecommunications Infrastructure Maintenance Fee)

Fiscal	 Receipts		  Fiscal	 Receipts 
 year	 (millions)	 Change	 year	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $212.1	 3.5%	 2001	 $221.6	 6.5%
1997	 204.3	 -3.7	 2002	 213.2	 -3.8
1998	 195.8	 -4.2	 2003	 207.6	 -2.6
1999	 210.2	 7.4	 2004	 207.6	 0.0
2000	 208.0	 -1.0	 2005	 201.3	 -3.0

Personal Property Tax Replacement Taxes
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Public Utility Taxes

There is one tax each on companies selling electricity, communications, 
and natural gas.  In addition, communications and gas companies must 
pay an intrastate gross revenue tax to help finance the Illinois Commerce 
Commission.  (Part of the Electric Excise Tax discussed below also funds 
the Commission.)

1.  Electricity Excise Tax

Until August 1, 1998 the Public Utilities Revenue Tax was based on 
gross revenue of companies distributing and selling electricity in Illi-
nois.  Such companies were authorized to pass the tax on to consumers 
through a charge equal to the tax.  On that date the tax was replaced by a 
new Electricity Excise Tax on electric users in Illinois.  Electric suppli-
ers add this tax to residential customers’ bills.  Nonresidential customers 
can register as “self-assessing purchasers” and pay the tax directly to the 
Department of Revenue.  Both the old and new laws exempt electricity 
used by municipalities to operate public transportation systems they own.  
Administered by Department of Revenue.  (35 ILCS 640/2-1 ff.)

Rate and base:

Residential customers:

	 Kwh used	 Tax	 Kwh used	 Tax
	 per month	 per kwh	 per month	 per kwh

First	 2,000	 0.330¢	 Next	 2,000,000	 0.270¢
Next	 48,000	 0.319	 Next	 2,000,000	 0.254
Next	 50,000	 0.303	 Next	 5,000,000	 0.233
Next	 400,000	 0.297	 Next	 10,000,000	 0.207
Next	 500,000	 0.286	 Over	 20,000,000	 0.202

Self-assessing (nonresidential) purchasers:  5.1% of purchase price.

Customers of municipal electric systems and rural electric cooperatives 
pay the lesser of (a) 0.32¢ per kilowatt-hour or (b) 5% of purchase price.

See “Note on Abatement of Public Utility Taxes” on page 91.
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Exemption:  A business enterprise classified by the Department of Com-
merce and Economic Opportunity as a “high impact business,” if it in-
tends either (a) to make a minimum investment of $12 million and create 
500 full-time jobs, or (b) to make a minimum investment of $30 million 
and retain at least 1,500 full-time jobs at an Illinois location, is partly or 
fully exempt from this tax for up to 20 years as determined by the De-
partment.

History:  A 3% tax on public utilities’ (electric) gross revenue was en-
acted in 1937.  The rate was changed three times in the 1960s, eventually 
settling in 1967 at 5% of gross revenue.  In 1985 it was set at the lesser 
of 5% or 0.32¢ per kilowatt-hour sold to each customer.  That tax was 
repealed by a 1997 law deregulating the electric industry, and replaced 
by the new excise tax on August 1, 1998.  On that date the excise tax also 
replaced the intrastate gross (electric) revenue tax of 0.08% used to fund 
the Illinois Commerce Commission.  The General Assembly intended the 
excise tax to raise substantially the same amount of revenue as the gross 
revenue taxes it replaced.

To encourage alternative energy production, electric utilities are required 
to buy electricity from new qualified solid-waste-to-energy facilities 
(QSWEFs) in their service areas for 10 years (20 years if fueled by meth-
ane from a forest preserve district’s landfill).  QSWEFs use methane gen-
erated by landfills as their primary fuel.  Such a facility can take a credit 
against the Electricity Excise Public Utility Tax until the full capital costs 
incurred to develop the facility are paid.  At that time, the QSWEF must 
reimburse the Public Utility Fund for the amount of credit taken. (220 
ILCS 5/8-403.1)  The table below lists such repayments, which are also 
included in the table on page 89.  

QSWEFs’ Repayments of Credits

	 Fiscal	 Receipts
	 year	 (thousands)

	 2002*	 $2,217.7
	 2003	 850.0
	 2004	 700.0
	 2005	 601.6

* FY 2002 deposits represent several years of repayments.

Public Utility Taxes
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A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay out-
standing tax liabilities without penalty or interest.  Amnesty collections 
totaled $246,969.

Distribution:
1.	 Of the 3% of funds received, $416,667 monthly ($5,000,004 annu-

ally) to the General Revenue Fund.
2.	 Remainder to Public Utility Fund.

Other taxes on electric utilities
Federal:  None.

Local:  Each municipality can impose a tax on the privilege of using 
electricity in its territory.  Rates decline with increasing electricity use 
by each customer, from 0.61¢ per kwh on the first 2,000 kwh per month 
to 0.30¢ per kwh on monthly usage over 20 million kwh.  On request 
by a municipality, the Commerce Commission can approve alternative 
maximum rates.  This tax was authorized by the 1997 electric deregula-
tion law, replacing the tax of 5% of electric companies’ gross revenue.  
The new tax was allowed to be imposed on nonresidential customers that 
choose alternative electric suppliers (65 ILCS 5/8-11-2).  By June 2005, 
97 municipalities had elected to use alternative rates issued by the Il-
linois Commerce Commission.  Additionally, Chicago now charges rates 
equivalent to 8% of gross receipts (65 ILCS 5/8-11-2(2a)).

Municipalities can also charge deliverers of electricity a fee for using 
public rights of way.  Such a fee would be based on monthly usage by 
each customer, declining from 0.53¢ per kwh on the first 2,000 kwh 
to 0.26¢ per kwh on monthly amounts over 20 million kwh.  (35 ILCS 
645/5-5)

Other states’ taxes
Taxes on gross receipts of electric companies vary widely.  Their rates 
range from under 1% to as high as 8.2%.

2.  Telecommunications (Messages) Excise Tax

This tax is imposed on persons who send or receive interstate and/or 
intrastate telecommunications—including telephone, telegraph, private 
line, channel, teletypewriter, computer exchange, mobile radio and 
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telephone, and paging services.  The tax applies to the transmission of 
messages or information between or among points by wire, cable, fiber 
optics, laser, microwave, radio, satellite, and other methods.  Telecom-
munications providers collect the tax from customers.  Administered by 
Department of Revenue.  (35 ILCS 630/1 ff.)

Rate and base:  7% of gross charges by businesses for transmitting mes-
sages in interstate or intrastate commerce.

See “Note on Abatement of Public Utility Taxes” on page 91.

History:  The original messages tax was enacted in 1945 at 3% of gross 
receipts.  Rate changes are shown below.

	 Year	 Rate	 Year	 Rate

	 1945	 3   %	 1967	 5%
	 1965	 4	 1985*	 5
	 1966	 3.92	 1998	 7

*	 In 1985 the tax was expanded to cover new telecommunications services and inter-
state messages; its rate stayed at 5%.

A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay out-
standing tax liabilities without penalty or interest.  Amnesty collections 
totaled $11,154,187.

Distribution:  Of the original 5% tax:
(a)	 $12 million per year to the Common School Fund;
(b)	 remainder to the General Revenue Fund.

Of the additional 2 percentage points added in 1998:
(a)	 50% to the School Infrastructure Fund;
(b)	 50% to the Common School Fund.

Other taxes on telecommunications providers
Federal:  3% on amount billed (26 U.S. Code sec. 4251).

Local:  Through 2002, each municipality could impose an occupation 
tax of up to 5% of gross receipts of businesses transmitting messages 
(65 ILCS 5/8-11-2, subd. 1).  A municipality not imposing that tax could 

Public Utility Taxes
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levy a 5% municipal telecommunications tax (65 ILCS 5/8-11-17).  Any 
municipality could also impose a local telecommunications infrastructure 
maintenance fee of up to 1% of gross charges by providers of telecom-
munications to addresses in its area (2% in Chicago).

On January 1, 2003, authority for the above taxes was replaced with au-
thority for a Simplified Municipal Telecommunications Tax on gross re-
tail charges for telecommunications.  Each municipality that imposed any 
of the taxes described in the preceding paragraph automatically imposed 
the new tax, at a rate equal to the sum of (1) 70% of its rate for the first 
tax described in that paragraph, plus (2) its actual rates for the other two 
taxes—each rounded to the nearest 0.25%.  Any municipality can change 
the rate of this tax in 0.25% increments, subject to a limit of 6% (7% in 
Chicago).  (35 ILCS 636/5-1 ff.)

Other states’ taxes
Taxes on gross receipts of telephone and telegraph companies vary wide-
ly among states, with rates ranging from under 1% to 8.2%.

3.  Natural Gas Revenue Tax and Gas Use Tax

The Natural Gas Revenue Tax is imposed on companies distributing 
natural gas in Illinois, which can pass it on to customers.  Administered 
by Department of Revenue.  (35 ILCS 615/1 ff.)

A Gas Use Tax was added in 2003.  It is imposed, at the same rates as the 
Natural Gas Revenue Tax, on gas bought out of state for use in Illinois.  
(35 ILCS 173/5-1 ff.)  Exemptions from the Gas Use Tax include gas 
used:
(a)	 by businesses in enterprise zones;
(b)	 by governmental bodies or any corporation, society, association, 

foundation, or institution organized and operated exclusively for 
charitable, religious, or educational purposes;

(c)	 in producing electricity;
(d)	 in a petroleum refinery;
(e)	 for use in liquefaction and fractionation processes to make value-

added natural gas byproducts for resale; and
(f)	 in producing anhydrous ammonia and downstream nitrogen fertil-

izer products for resale.

Rate and base:  The lesser of:
(a)	 2.4¢ per therm of gas sold to each customer or
(b)	 5% of gross revenue from each customer.

See “Note on Abatement of Public Utility Taxes” on page 91.
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History:  The gas revenue tax was enacted in 1945 at 3%.  Rate changes 
since then are shown below.

	 Year	 Rate	 Year	 Rate

	 1945	 3.00%	 1967	 5.00%
	 1965	 4.00	 1985	 5.00% or 2.4¢ per therm
	 1966	 3.92

A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay out-
standing tax liabilities without penalty or interest.  Amnesty collections 
totaled $44,680.

Disposition:  To General Revenue Fund.

Other taxes on natural gas utilities
Federal:  None.

Local:  A municipality can impose an occupation tax based on the gross 
receipts of businesses that provide natural gas for consumption within its 
territory, at a rate up to 5% (8% in Chicago) (65 ILCS 5/8-11-2).

Other states’ taxes
Taxes on gross receipts of natural gas distribution companies vary widely 
among states.  Rates range from under 1% to as high as 8.2%.

4.  Intrastate Gross Revenue Tax

This tax is imposed on public utility companies (except electric compa-
nies) that are regulated by the Illinois Commerce Commission, for the 
privilege of doing business in the state.  (The law excludes municipally 
operated utilities and mutual telephone companies.)  Proceeds of the tax 
pay the expenses of the Commission.  Administered by Department of 
Revenue.  (220 ILCS 5/2-202)

Rate and base:  Up to 0.1% of a company’s gross revenue from intra-
state business for the calendar year.

History:  The tax was first imposed in 1963 at a rate of 0.08%.  Up to $3 
million per biennium could be used to pay the Commission’s expenses.  
That maximum transfer was increased to $3.5 million in 1967 and $5.5 
million in 1970.  A 1977 law abolished the limit on transfers to the Com-
mission.  In 1987 the Commission was authorized to raise the rate to 

Public Utility Taxes
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as much as 0.1%.  The 1997 law deregulating Illinois electric suppliers 
exempted them from this tax but provided for 3% of Electric Excise Tax 
revenue to go to the Public Utility Fund for this purpose.

If the balance in the Public Utility Fund exceeds $5 million in October of 
an odd-numbered year, the Commission issues a memorandum of credit 
to each company for its proportionate share of the fund balance, and its 
tax liability is reduced by that amount.

Disposition:  To the Public Utility Fund.

Other taxes on public utility companies
Federal:  None.

Local: See previous entries on other public utility taxes.

Other states’ taxes
Forty-one states impose separate taxes on public utility companies to 
fund state regulatory bodies’ administrative expenses.  Rates vary, but all 
are below 1% of gross intrastate revenue.

State revenue collected from utility taxes:

Total, all utility taxes

Fiscal	 Receipts		  Fiscal	 Receipts 
 year	 (millions)	 Change	 year	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $  848.6	 12.1%	 2001	 $1,384.3	 5.2%
1997	 888.7	 4.7	 2002	 1,355.0	 -2.1
1998	 987.1	 11.1	 2003	 1,231.8	 -9.1
1999	 1,213.1	 22.9	 2004	 1,330.3	 8.0
2000	 1,316.4	 8.5	 2005	 1,295.7	 -2.6
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Public Utilities (Electricity) Revenue Tax

Fiscal	 Receipts		  Fiscal	 Receipts 
 year	 (millions)	 Change	 year	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $320.5	 9.2%	 2001	 $397.3	 -4.5%
1997	 312.1	 -2.6	 2002	 402.4	 1.3
1998	 332.8	 6.6	 2003	 399.5	 -0.7
1999	 370.6	 11.4	 2004	 418.7	 4.8
2000	 416.1	 12.3	 2005	 418.8	 <0.1

Telecommunications (Messages) Tax

Fiscal	 Receipts		  Fiscal	 Receipts 
 year	 (millions)	 Change	 year	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $382.0	 18.3%	 2001	 $810.4	 8.4%
1997	 407.3	 6.6	 2002	 802.9	 -0.9
1998	 495.5	 21.7	 2003	 661.7	 -17.6
1999	 704.0	 42.1	 2004	 708.8	 7.1
2000	 747.9	 6.2	 2005	 680.4	 -4.0

Natural Gas Revenue Tax

Fiscal	 Receipts		  Fiscal	 Receipts 
 year	 (millions)	 Change	 year	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $130.6	 3.2%	 2001	 $166.5	 15.5%
1997	 153.1	 17.2	 2002	 139.8	 -16.0
1998	 142.6	 -6.9	 2003	 162.7	 16.4
1999	 130.9	 -8.2	 2004	 194.5	 19.5
2000	 144.2	 10.2	 2005	 187.0	 -3.9

Intrastate Gross Revenue Tax

Fiscal	 Receipts		  Fiscal	 Receipts 
 year	 (millions)	 Change	 year	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $15.5	 9.9%	 2001	 $10.1	 23.2%
1997	 16.2	 4.5	 2002	 9.9	 -2.0
1998	 16.2	 0.0	 2003	 7.9	 -20.2
1999	 7.6	 -53.1	 2004	 8.3	 5.1
2000	 8.2	 7.9	 2005	 9.5	 14.5

Public Utility Taxes
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Note on Abatement of Public Utility Taxes

State and/or municipal public utility taxes on a business can be abated if 
the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity certifies that:

(1)	 the business has (a) made investments that created at least 200 full-
time-equivalent jobs in Illinois; (b) invested at least $175 million to 
create at least 150 jobs in Illinois; or (c) kept at least 1,000 full-time 
jobs in Illinois; and

(2)	 the business is either (a) in an Illinois Enterprise Zone or (b) in a 
federally designated Foreign Trade Zone or Subzone and designated 
by the Department as a High Impact Business.

The extent and length of abatement are decided by the state and local 
government.  Abatement may last up to 30 years or the certified term of 
the enterprise zone, whichever is less.  If the state and/or local govern-
ment decide to abate the public utility tax for a particular firm, each pub-
lic utility serving that firm is excused from collecting public utility tax on 
service provided to it, and from paying the tax to the government impos-
ing the tax.  Also, a municipality that taxes a public utility may exempt 
a unit of local government or school district within the utility’s territory 
from paying the tax.  (20 ILCS 655/5.3; 65 ILCS 5/8-11-2, paragraphs 
(e) and (f); 220 ILCS 5/9-222.1; and 35 ILCS 640/2-3(d), last paragraph)

Public Utility Taxes
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Pull Tab and Jar Games Tax and Fees

The state gets two kinds of revenue from pull tabs and jar games:  li-
cense fees, and the pull tab and jar games receipts tax.  Pull tabs and jar 
games use single-folded or banded tickets, or a card whose face is ini-
tially covered from view to conceal a number, symbol, or set of symbols.  
Each player chooses one of the tickets or positions on a card, then learns 
whether it is a winner.  Pull tabs are played by pulling a tab from a board 
to reveal a number corresponding to the number for a given prize.  The 
cost of a single ticket may not exceed $2, and no prize for a single game 
may exceed $500.  No more than 6,000 tickets may be sold for a single 
game.  Organizations with charitable-games licenses may conduct pull 
tab and jar games; such games may also be conducted at bingo locations.  
Administered by the Gaming Board in the Department of Revenue.  (230 
ILCS 20/1 ff.)

Rate and base:
1.	 Licenses offered and fees:

(a)	 A $500 annual license for a nonprofit charitable,  educational, 
religious, fraternal, veterans’, labor, youth athletic, or senior 
citizens’ organization to hold games at a single location.

(b)	 A $50 special permit for such an organization to hold games on 
up to 2 occasions per year for up to 5 days each.

(c)	 A $5,000 annual license for suppliers and manufacturers of pull 
tab and jar games materials and equipment.

2.	 Pull tab and jar games receipts tax:  5% of gross receipts.

History:  The tax took effect July 1, 1988.  A tax amnesty program in fis-
cal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay outstanding tax liabilities without 
penalty or interest.  Amnesty collections totaled $1,955.
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State revenue collected

	 License fees	 Tax
Fiscal	 Receipts		  Receipts
 year	 (thousands)	 Change	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $722.4	 -1.3%	 $7.6	 5.5%
1997	 709.8	 -1.7	 7.1	 -6.6
1998	 692.4	 -2.5	 7.8	 9.9
1999	 694.6	 0.3	 7.7	 -1.3
2000	 646.0	 -6.9	 7.6	 -1.3

2001	 632.3	 -2.1	 7.3	 -3.9
2002	 638.0	 0.9	 7.0	 -4.1
2003	 599.5	 -6.0	 7.0	 0.0
2004	 628.4	 4.8	 6.8	 -2.9
2005	 564.9	 -10.1	 6.6	 -2.9

Distribution:
1.	 50% to the Common School Fund.
2.	 50% to the Illinois Gaming Law Enforcement Fund.

Other taxes on similar wagering
Federal:  A federal tax of 0.25% is imposed on the amount of any wager 
permitted by state law.  But drawings, punchboards, and similar devices 
are exempt if operated by an organization that is exempt from taxation 
under section 501 of the Internal Revenue Code (26 U.S. Code secs. 
4401, 4421, and 501).  A federal license fee of $50 is also imposed on 
persons accepting wagers authorized by state law.

Pull Tab and Jar Games Tax and Fees
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Local:  No tax is authorized by statute.  Even home-rule units probably 
cannot collect license fees due to the restriction on licensing for revenue 
in the Illinois Constitution, art. 7, subsec. 6(e).  A tax on the gross re-
ceipts of game operators probably would also be invalid under that provi-
sion as an occupation tax.

Counties and municipalities are authorized to license and regulate raffles 
held by nonprofit charitable, educational, religious, fraternal, veterans’, 
labor, and some kinds of business organizations (230 ILCS 15/1 ff.).

Other states’ taxes
At least five states separately tax proceeds of pull tabs and jar games.  
Taxes on gross receipts from such games are 10% in Oklahoma, 4.5% 
in North Dakota, and 1.7% in Minnesota.  Mississippi imposes a tax of 
2.5% on net proceeds.  Missouri imposes a tax of 2% of the pull tabs’ re-
tail sales value.  Some states authorize local governments to tax pull tabs 
and jar games.
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Racing Taxes

The pari-mutuel tax is imposed on daily racing receipts of racetrack 
operators.  Smaller amounts of revenue come from the state’s racetrack 
admission tax (15¢ per person) and license fees for racing organizations 
and racetrack personnel.  Administered by Department of Revenue.  (230 
ILCS 5/25 ff. and 5/32.1)

Rate and base:

1.5% of daily pari-mutuel handle (total amount bet).

The tax on the licensees of any track holding live racing dates during a 
tax year is reduced by credits equaling the greater of:

(a)	 half the property tax paid on the racetrack in the preceding year, or
(b)	 the amount by which the property tax paid on the racetrack in the 

preceding year exceeds 60% of the average property taxes paid in 
the preceding year by all racetracks awarded live horse racing meets 
in the tax year.

The tax is not levied on winning wagers made in Illinois on races held 
outside of Illinois.

History:  The Horse Racing Act of 1927 had different privilege tax 
schedules for thoroughbred and harness racing wagers.  The Horse Rac-
ing Act of 1975 established a single privilege tax schedule for wagers 
on both types of racing.  The 1975 Act based the tax on the daily wager-
ing handle, rather than on the cumulative handle at a race meeting as 
under the 1927 Act.  In 1979 the graduated tax rate on daily wagers was 
reduced by percentages ranging from 53.3% for amounts wagered up to 
$200,000 per day, to 20.5% for amounts over $3 million per day.  The 
Downstate tax rates were enacted in 1985.

A 1986 law phased out the graduated racing privilege tax rates.  Since 
1988 the privilege tax rate has been a flat 2% at Cook County tracks (Ar-
lington, Hawthorne, Sportsman’s, and Maywood).  At Downstate tracks 
(Balmoral, Fairmont, and Quad City Downs) the tax rate is 1% of the 
first $400,000 wagered each day and 2% on the excess over $400,000.  
The Quad City Downs in Rock Island closed in 1994.  Arlington was 
closed for the 1998 racing season.

Off-track betting was organized beginning July 1, 1987.  Each of the 
state’s 6 racetrack organizations is authorized to operate 4 OTB loca-
tions (except Fairmont Park near East St. Louis, which has 5).  The 16 
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locations for the four Cook County tracks cannot be more than 90 miles 
from their respective sponsoring tracks.  The nine locations of the two 
Downstate tracks cannot be more than 135 miles from their sponsoring 
tracks.  Neither kind of location can be within 5 miles of an existing track 
without written permission from the track owner.

The graduated privilege tax was abolished in 1999 and replaced by a flat-
rate pari-mutuel tax.

State revenue collected

	 Pari-mutuel tax	 Admission tax and fees
Fiscal	 Receipts		  Receipts 
year	 (millions)	 Change	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $49.9	 8.0%	 $0.7	 0.0%
1997	 52.1	 4.4	 0.7	 0.0
1998	 50.0	 -4.0	 0.7	 0.0
1999	 44.9	 -10.2	 0.6	 -14.3
2000	 24.2	 -46.1	 0.1	 -83.3

2001	 12.8	 -47.1	 0.1	 0.0
2002	 13.1	 -2.3	 0.1	 0.0
2003	 12.4	 -5.3	 0.1	 0.0
2004	 12.0	 -3.2	 0.0	 0.0
2005	 11.7	 -2.5	 0.0	 0.0
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Distribution:
1.	 8.5% of pari-mutuel tax collected for quarter-horse racing to the Il-

linois Quarter Horse Breeders Fund.  (230 ILCS 5/30.5(b))
2.	 All other pari-mutuel tax to the Horse Racing Fund.  Part of the mon-

ey going to the Fund is transferred to the General Revenue Fund—but 
most is then used to support activities related to racing.  Any remain-
der is available for general state spending.

Other taxes on race wagering
Federal:  The federal tax of 0.25% of the amount of any wager allowed 
by state law does not apply to wagers made with a pari-mutuel wagering 
enterprise licensed under state law (26 U.S. Code subsec. 4402(1)).

Local:  A municipality or township hosting a race licensed by the Il-
linois Racing Board may charge an admission tax up to 10¢ per person.  
A township may do so only if the racetrack is in an unincorporated area.  
Imposition by a home-rule unit of such a tax before it was authorized by 
statute has been held invalid.  A municipality and a county with an OTB 
facility may each impose an admission fee up to $1 per admission; thus 
admission fees may total $2 (230 ILCS 5/27 (f)).

An OTB licensee must pay 1% of the pari-mutuel handle at each OTB 
location to the municipality and 1% to the county.  If the OTB location is 
in an unincorporated area, the county gets 2% (230 ILCS 5/26(h)(10.1)).

Other states’ taxes
In states allowing wagers on horse racing, each track is allowed to retain 
a percentage of the money wagered each day to pay state taxes, com-
pensate track management, and pay the purses of winning horses.  This 
percentage, commonly called the “take,” is regulated to state law.  Most 
other money wagered is distributed among winning bettors.

The “take” may vary by type of race (thoroughbred or harness) or type 
of wager.  A regular wager involves a bet on a single horse for a single 
race.  Multiple wagers involve bets on more than one horse in a single 
race:  quinella (first and second horses regardless or order); perfecta (first 
and second horses in that order); trifecta (first, second, and third horses in 
that order); or a combination of races (daily double).

Racing Taxes
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At least 20 other states tax bets on horse races:

	 Florida	 New York
	 Idaho	 North Dakota
	 Kentucky	 Ohio
	 Maryland	 Oklahoma
	 Massachusetts	 Pennsylvania

	 Minnesota	 Rhode Island
	 Montana	 Virginia
	 Nebraska	 Washington
	 New Hampshire	 West Virginia
	 New Mexico	 Wisconsin

Many states also impose taxes on intertrack, simulcast, televised, and re-
broadcast wagering at off-track facilities.  Some states’ rates vary during 
the year.

In addition, Kentucky collects a license tax on race operators based on 
the average daily mutuel handle—up to $2,500 for a daily average of at 
least $900,000.  Ohio imposes a racing permit tax of 3% of total daily 
wagers, plus 0.1% if total wagers are below $5 million and 0.15% if they 
are at least $5 million.  At least 9 states tax admissions to racetracks, in 
amounts ranging from 10¢ in Minnesota to 50¢ in Wisconsin.  Nebraska 
imposes an admissions tax of 0.4% of gross wagers the preceding year.  
States collecting admissions taxes as percentages of admission charges 
include New York (4%), Oklahoma (10%), and Pennsylvania (15%).  
Florida’s rate is the greater of 10¢ or 15% of the admissions charge.  
Rhode Island’s rate is 20%.

Several states also collect similar taxes on dog racing and jai alai games.  
Florida and Rhode Island impose a tax on the handle for jai alai.  At least 
seven states impose racing taxes on dog racing:  Arkansas, Florida, 
Idaho, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and West Virginia.
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Real Estate Transfer Tax

This tax is imposed on sellers of real estate when they transfer title.  Ad-
ministered by Department of Revenue.  (35 ILCS 200/31-1 ff.)

Rate and base:  50¢ per $500, or fraction thereof, in market value of 
property transferred.  If the property transferred is subject to a mortgage, 
only the excess of value of the property over the amount owed (owner’s 
equity) is taxed.

History:  The tax was enacted in 1967 at the current rate.  The rate was 
reduced to 25¢ per $500 in 1979, then restored to 50¢ per $500 in 1989.  
Effective June 1, 2004, a transfer of a controlling interest in a “real estate 
entity” that owns property in Illinois also became subject to this tax.

State revenue collected

Fiscal	 Receipts		  Fiscal	 Receipts 
 year	 (millions)	 Change	 year	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $37.5	 13.6%	 2001	 $57.8	 0.2%
1997	 38.9	 3.7	 2002	 65.2	 12.8
1998	 46.9	 20.6	 2003	 71.4	 9.5
1999	 54.5	 16.2	 2004	 86.2	 20.7
2000	 57.7	 5.9	 2005	 107.0	 24.1
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Distribution:
1.	 50% to the Illinois Affordable Housing Trust Fund.
2.	 35% to the Open Space Lands Acquisition Development Fund.
3.	 15% to the Natural Areas Acquisition Fund.

Other taxes on transfers of real estate
Federal:  None.  A federal tax of 50¢ per $500 of the value of property 
transferred was repealed in 1967.

Local:  Counties can impose a tax of 25¢ per $500 of value (55 ILCS 
5/5-1031).  Some home-rule municipalities also impose real estate trans-
fer taxes.  The governing body of a home-rule municipality or county 
must hold a public hearing and referendum to impose or increase a local 
real estate transfer tax.

Other states’ taxes
Twenty-eight states impose real estate transfer taxes, at rates ranging 
from 1¢ per $100 of sale price in Colorado to $4.56 per $1,000 (nearly 
0.5%) in Massachusetts.  Tax rates stated as percentages of price include 
Maryland (0.5%), Connecticut (0.75%), Pennsylvania (1.0%), Vermont 
(1.25%), Washington (1.28%) and Delaware (2.0%).  Rhode Island 
charges $2 per $500 of sale price (0.4%); Arizona charges $2 per deed.  
Georgia’s rate is 0.1%.  New Jersey charges $1.55 per $500 plus addi-
tional fees based on the total value of the property.
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Riverboat Gambling Taxes and Fees

Illinois gets three kinds of revenue from licensed riverboat gambling:  
wagering taxes, license fees, and an admission tax (part of the proceeds 
of that tax are distributed to the locality where a gambling boat docks).  
State law authorizes a total of 10 riverboat licenses.  Administered by Il-
linois Gaming Board in the Department of Revenue.  (230 ILCS 10/1 ff.)

Rates and base:

1.	 Wagering tax:

	 Adjusted gross
	 receipts	 Rate

	 Up to $25  million	 15.0%
	 50  million	 22.5
	 75  million	 27.5
	 100  million	 32.5
	 150  million	 37.5
	 200  million	 45
	 Over 200  million	 50

2.	 License fees:
(a) $25,000 nonrefundable application fee.
(b) $5,000 annual operator’s fee.
(c) $50,000 fee for background investigation costs.
(d) $5,000 annual gambling device supplier’s fee.

3.	 Admission fee:
(a)	 $2 per person if admissions in preceding calendar year were up 

to 1 million.
(b)	 $3 per person if admissions in preceding calendar year were 

over 1 million.

History:  The tax was enacted in 1990 at a flat rate of 20% of adjusted 
gross receipts.  In 1997 that was changed to a graduated system with 5 
rates.  On July 1, 2003 the number of rates was expanded to 7.

A 2005 act required any riverboat with over 1 million admissions in cal-
endar year 2004 to pay an additional amount determined by how much 
its statutory “base amount” exceeds the tax liability.  The obligation to 
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pay this additional amount will continue until (a) July 1, 2007, (b) one of 
the riverboats becomes dormant, or (c) additional licenses are authorized.  
Base amounts are:

		  Base amount
	 Location	 (millions)

	 Alton	 $  31.0
	 East Peoria	 43.0
	 Empress in Joliet	 86.0
	 Metropolis	 45.0

	 Harrah’s in Joliet	 114.0
	 Aurora	 86.0
	 East St. Louis	 48.5
	 Elgin	 198.0

Riverboats were first allowed to conduct gambling while docked in 1999.

Illinois has 9 riverboats still operating.  They are listed below by their 
opening months:

	 Location	 Year and month opened

Alton	 1991	 September
Peoria	 1991	 November
Rock Island	 1992	 March
Empress in Joliet	 1992	 June
Metropolis	 1993	 February

Harrah’s in Joliet	 1993	 May
Aurora	 1993	 June
East St. Louis	 1993	 June
Elgin	 1994	 October

A boat opened at Galena in June 1992 but closed in July 1997.
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State revenue collected

Fiscal	 Receipts		  Fiscal	 Receipts 
 year	 (millions)	 Change	 year	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $295.0	 10.9%	 2001	 $529.1	 11.3%
1997	 261.1	 -11.5	 2002	 580.2	 9.7
1998	 261.0	 0.0	 2003	 670.5	 15.6
1999	 362.1	 38.7	 2004	 774.9	 15.6
2000	 475.5	 31.3	 2005	 816.4	 5.4
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Distribution:
1.	 Amount above what would have been collected under the previous 

graduated rates to the Common School Fund.
2.	 All regular wagering taxes and fees to the State Gaming Fund for dis-

tribution as follows:
(a)	 5% of each boat’s monthly receipts to the local government 

where the boat docks.
(b)	 The amount appropriated to the Departments of Revenue and 

State Police for administering and enforcing the Riverboat 
Gambling Act, and to the Department of Human Services to ad-
minister programs to treat problem gambling.
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(c)	 Of receipts from (i) a riverboat that was licensed but not operat-
ing on January 1, 1998 and moves to a new location or (ii) a riv-
erboat newly licensed after June 25, 1999 (whichever occurred 
first):
•	 15% to the Horse Racing Equity Fund, and an equal amount 

to the Education Assistance Fund.
•	 2% of adjusted gross revenue (AGR) to home-rule county of 

over 3 million to improve criminal justice programs; equal 
amount to Education Assistance Fund.

•	 2% of AGR to the State Universities Athletic Capital Im-
provement Fund.

(d)	 Remainder of all regular taxes to Education Assistance Fund.
3.	 Fines and penalties to Education Assistance Fund.
4.	 Admission tax:

(a)	 $1 to the municipality where the riverboat docks (or to the 
county if it docks in an unincorporated area).

(b)	 Remainder to the state.

Other taxes on riverboat gambling
Federal:  A federal tax of 0.25% applies to any wager allowed by state 
law.  But the tax does not apply to a game in which all participants are 
present during the wagering, determination of winners, and distribution 
of prizes (26 U.S. Code secs. 4401 and 4421).

Local:  None are authorized.

Other states’ taxes
Indiana, Iowa, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Missouri are the only other 
states with riverboat gambling taxes.  Iowa’s gross-receipts tax is 5% 
of the first $1 million wagered; 10% of the next $2 million; and 20% 
of any excess over $3 million.  Iowa also requires riverboats to collect 
an admission fee of 50¢ per person.  An Iowa city or county hosting a 
riverboat can charge an additional 50¢ admission fee by referendum.  
Mississippi imposes fees of 4% to 8% on gross receipts, and additional 
annual fees based on the number of games conducted, plus a gambling 
tax of 3% of payments or credits to patrons.  Local governments in Mis-
sissippi can also tax monthly gross receipts from riverboat gambling, at 
rates ranging from 0.4% of the first $50,000 to 0.8% of any excess over 
$134,000.
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Louisiana imposes a tax of 17% of net proceeds.  Indiana imposes a tax 
of 20% of adjusted gross receipts of riverboats that have gambling at the 
dock, and 22.5% of those that do not.  Indiana also imposes an admis-
sions tax of $3 ($4 in some places).  Missouri imposes taxes of 20% of 
adjusted gross receipts and $3 per admission.

Riverboat Gambling Taxes and Fees
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Sales and Use Taxes

The “sales” tax actually consists of two matching pairs of taxes:

•  The retailers’ occupation tax, and the use tax.
•  The service occupation tax, and the service use tax.

The retailers’ occupation tax is imposed on gross receipts of retailers 
from sales of tangible personal property in Illinois.

The use tax is imposed on persons who use tangible personal property 
in Illinois.  If that property is bought from an Illinois retailer, the retailer 
collects the use tax and uses it to pay the retailers’ occupation tax.  A per-
son who buys property out of state, paying a lower rate of sales tax than 
would be due here, and then uses it in Illinois is liable for the difference 
as use tax.

The service occupation tax and service use tax are similar to the retailers’ 
occupation tax and use tax, but apply to tangible property received inci-
dent to buying a service.  There is no tax on the charge for the service.  
For example, if a car is repaired, these taxes apply only to the prices of 
any replacement parts used, not labor.

If out-of-state sellers have offices or other facilities in Illinois, the Illinois 
Department of Revenue can require them to collect these taxes on their 
sales in Illinois.  Administered by Department of Revenue.  (35 ILCS 
105/l ff. (use tax);  120/l ff. (retailers’ occupation tax);  110/l ff. (service 
use tax);  and 115/l ff. (service occupation tax))

Rate and base:  6.25% of the purchase price (except on food and drugs, 
gasohol, blended ethanol, biodiesel, and biodiesel blends, as described 
below).  The state keeps 5% of the purchase price and pays the remaining 
1.25% to local governments as described below.

Retailers’ occupation tax exemptions
A rate of only 1% applies to food to be consumed off the premises (ex-
cept alcoholic beverages, soft drinks, and food prepared for immediate 
consumption); modifications to automobiles used by disabled persons; 
and medicines and medical appliances.  That 1% goes to local govern-
ments.  Municipalities and counties can exempt food from this tax if it 
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is sold below retail cost, for off-premises consumption, by a nonprofit 
organization that requires buyers to do community service as a condition 
of buying.

For gasohol, the retailers’ occupation tax applies to only 80% of the sales 
price; no sales tax applies to fuel that is mostly ethanol.  The tax applies 
to 80% of the sales price on biodiesel blends with 1% to 10% biodiesel 
content; no tax applies to blends with over 10% biodiesel content.  These 
rates are to last through December 31, 2013.  If the tax rate is reduced to 
the 1.25% for local governments (as it was from July 1 to December 31, 
2003), 100% of the sale price of gasohol and blends with 10% to 99% 
biodiesel will be taxed.

The state sales tax (5%) on regular motor fuels and gasohol was suspend-
ed from July through December 2000, but resumed on January 1, 2001.

The following classes of items are completely exempt from retailers’ oc-
cupation tax:

1.	 Mandatory service charges to the extent they cover tips for persons 
directly involved in preparing, serving, hosting, or cleaning after a 
function for which the charges are imposed.

2.	 Farm chemicals.
3.	 New and used farm machinery (including farm wagons, trailers, 

and similar vehicles with gross weight up to 36,000 pounds, and 
apparatus for transporting or spreading chemicals) for production 
agriculture, or for state or federal agricultural programs; facilities 
to propagate, grow, or overwinter plants; and precision farm equip-
ment such as soil sensors, computers, global positioning systems 
for soil testing and mapping, and equipment to collect data to for-
mulate animal diets and farm chemicals.

4.	 Motor vehicles, recreational vehicles, and vans designed to carry 7 
to 16 people, if they are to be rented out by a leasing company (see 
“Automobile Renting Occupation & Use Tax” on page 6).

5.	 Motor vehicles sold in Illinois to nonresidents and not titled in 
Illinois, for which drive-away permits are issued—if the state in 
which they will be titled has such an exemption for motor vehicles 
sold in it to Illinois residents.  If it has no such exemption, a tax is 
imposed at a rate equal to that other state’s tax on tangible personal 
property, but limited to the Illinois tax that would have otherwise 
been imposed.
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6.	 Newsprint and ink.
7.	 All machinery, equipment, structures, and associated apparatus of 

a coal gasification operation.
8.	 Legal tender, currency, medallions, or gold or silver coins issued 

by Illinois, the U.S., or any foreign country; or bullion.
9.	 Photoprocessing machinery and equipment, including repair and 

replacement parts.
10.	 Photoprocessing products sold for use in commercial motion pic-

tures.
11.	 Semen used for artificial insemination of livestock for direct agri-

cultural production.
12.	 Some kinds of thoroughbred and standardbred horses used for 

breeding and racing.
13.	 Equipment used for diagnosis, analysis, or treatment of hospital 

patients, and computers and communications equipment used for 
any hospital purpose, if bought by a lessor and leased for at least 1 
year to a hospital having an active tax exemption number.

14.	 Game or game birds bought at a game breeding and hunting pre-
serve.

15.	 Motor vehicles donated to a recognized educational organization 
(such transactions formerly were treated as taxable).

16.	 Motor vehicles weighing over 8,000 pounds and subject to the 
commercial distribution fee (see “Driver’s License & Vehicle 
Fees” on page 28).  This exemption formerly applied to repair and 
replacement parts if the vehicle qualifies for the rolling stock ex-
emption described below.  The exemption was repealed for trans-
actions on or after July 1, 2005.  But motor vehicles and trailers 
that previously qualified for the exemption will remain exempt if 
the taxpayer continues to pay the Commercial Distribution Fee in 
later registration years. 

17.	 Graphic-arts machinery, equipment, and replacement parts, and 
chemicals that act directly on graphic-arts products.

18.	 Building materials when used for real estate in a redevelopment 
project within an intermodal terminal facility area (35 ILCS 
120/1p).  An intermodal terminal facility area may be designated 
by a municipality for the purposes of developing new intermodal 
terminal facilities, rehabilitating obsolete intermodal terminal fa-
cilities, or both.  An intermodal terminal facility is a place where 
the receipt and transfer of goods between one mode of transporta-
tion and another occurs, if at least one such transportation mode is 
rail.  (65 ILCS 11-74.4-3.1).

LRU Tax Handbook
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Sales in the following kinds of situations are also exempt:

1.	 Sales to government bodies; charitable, religious, and educational 
organizations;  and nonprofit corporations organized to provide rec-
reation to persons 55 or older.

2.	 Isolated or occasional sales by persons other than retailers.
3.	 Occasional dinners of charitable, religious, or educational organiza-

tions.
4.	 Sales of property to interstate carriers for hire for use as rolling 

stock (trucks or trailers) in interstate commerce, or to lessors under 
leases of at least 1 year executed or in effect at the time of purchase 
to interstate carriers for hire for use as rolling stock in interstate 
commerce.  To qualify, over half of the vehicle’s total trips must be 
to transport people or property in movement that is part of an inter-
state trip, and the vehicle (unless a trailer) must have a gross weight 
rating over 16,000 lbs.

5.	 Sales of fuel consumed or used in ships, barges, or vessels used pri-
marily to transport persons or property on a river bordering Illinois, 
if the fuel is delivered while the ship, barge, or vessel is on that 
river.

6.	 Sales of jet fuel used in operating high-impact service facilities in 
enterprise zones where mail, freight, cargo, or other parcels are 
sorted, handled, and redistributed (until January 2008).

7.	 Sales of aviation fuel for flights beginning or ending outside the 
U.S.

8.	 Sales of petroleum products if federal law prohibits the seller from 
charging tax.

9.	 Sales of personal property to a nonprofit Illinois county fair asso-
ciation for fair use.

10.	 Sales of personal property by a teacher-sponsored student organiza-
tion affiliated with a school.

11.	 Sales of machinery and equipment used for general maintenance 
and repair, or in-house manufacture, of exempt machinery and 
equipment.

12.	 Sales of machinery to operate other equipment in a computer-as-
sisted design (CAD) or computer-assisted manufacturing (CAM) 
system.

13.	 Sales of repair and replacement parts, fuels, equipment, and sup-
plies used in manufacturing processes bought by a business certi-
fied by the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity 
and located in an enterprise zone.

Sales & Use Taxes
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14.	 Sales of personal property by nonprofit organizations organized to 
benefit people over 65.

15.	 Sales to nonprofit arts or cultural organizations, including music 
and dramatic arts organizations, symphony orchestras and theatrical 
groups, local arts councils, visual arts organizations, and media arts 
organizations.

16.	 Sales of flowers by wire outside Illinois for delivery by Illinois flo-
rists.

17.	 Sales of tangible personal property to a railroad if transported out 
of Illinois for use elsewhere.

18.	 Purchases of personal property by a lessor if leased to a govern-
mental body (with an active tax exemption number) for at least 1 
year.

19.	 Sales of personal property used to make repairs to public infrastruc-
ture within 6 months after a state or federal disaster in Illinois or a 
bordering state, through 2004.

20.	 Personal property sold at school fundraising events sponsored by 
volunteer entities that are recognized by a school district.

21.	 Sales of property to be used for repair or rebuilding of aircraft at a 
maintenance facility operated by an interstate carrier, in a county of 
150,000 to 200,000 that contained 3 enterprise zones at the end of 
1990, if other criteria are met.

Use tax exemptions
The use tax does not apply to use of personal property that would be 
exempt from the retailers’ occupation tax, or to the following kinds of 
property:

1.	 Property brought into the state for temporary use by a nonresident.
2.	 Property already taxed in another state, to the extent of the tax paid 

there.
3.	 Temporary storage in Illinois of property acquired and later used out-

side the state, or that is altered and, as altered, used outside the state.
4.	 Building materials temporarily stored in Illinois if acquired by a reg-

istered combination retailer and construction contractor, either inside 
or outside Illinois, and used outside Illinois by incorporating it into 
realty outside Illinois.

5.	 Property acquired outside the state by a nonresident and used for at 
least 3 months before being brought into Illinois for use here.
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6.	 Used property moved to Illinois by a business formerly not operating 
in Illinois, if the property has been bought and used in the business 
outside Illinois for at least 3 months.

7.	 Motor fuel acquired outside Illinois and brought into the state in fuel 
supply tanks of locomotives engaged in freight hauling and passen-
ger service in interstate commerce.

8.	 Food for human consumption off the premises where sold; and pre-
scription and nonprescription medicines, medical appliances, and in-
sulin, urine testing materials, syringes, and needles used by diabetics, 
if used by a person living on Medicaid in a licensed nursing home.

9.	 Motor vehicles weighing over 8,000 pounds and subject to the com-
mercial distribution fee (see “Driver’s License & Vehicle Fees” on 
page 28).  This exemption also applies to repair and replacement 
parts, if the vehicle qualifies for the rolling stock exemption.  This 
exemption ended for transactions after June 2005.  But motor ve-
hicles and trailers that previously qualified for the exemption remain 
exempt as long as the taxpayer continues paying the Commercial 
Distribution Fee in later registration years.  

Service tax exemptions
Service transactions involving provision of the following kinds of prop-
erty are exempt from the service use and service occupation taxes:

1.	 Personal property taxable under the retailers’ occupation or use tax, 
and tangible personal property offered for resale.

2.	 Personal property that is essential for providing service for or by 
any governmental body or charitable, religious, or educational or-
ganization, or nonprofit corporation organized for the recreation of 
persons 55 or older.

3.	 Personal property that is essential for providing service by interstate 
carriers for hire for use as rolling stock in interstate commerce, or 
by lessors under leases of at least 1 year, executed or in effect at 
the time of purchase, to interstate carriers for hire as rolling stock 
moving in interstate commerce if 51% of the carrier’s total trips are 
used for transporting people or property and cross the Illinois state 
border.

4.	 Property that is incorporated into other tangible personal property 
and sold in the regular course of business, or that is transported in 
interstate commerce to destinations outside Illinois.

5.	 Sales for the primary purpose of conveying news, with or without 
other information.

Sales & Use Taxes
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6.	 Property acquired outside the state and moved into Illinois for use 
as rolling stock in interstate commerce, if at least 51% of the carri-
er’s total trips are used for transporting people or property and cross 
an Illinois state border.

7.	 Property that cannot be taxed under federal law.
8.	 Interim use of tangible personal property.
9.	 Property temporarily used in the state by nonresidents.

10.	 Property taxed in another state, but only to the extent of the tax paid 
there.

11.	 Property temporarily stored in the state for later use outside the 
state, or rented and used outside the state.

12.	 Property acquired outside the state at least 3 months before being 
used in Illinois.

13.	 Machinery and equipment primarily used for manufacture or as-
sembly of tangible personal property for sale or lease.

14.	 Mandatory service charges to the extent they cover tips for persons 
directly involved in preparing, serving, hosting, or cleaning after a 
function for which the charges are imposed.

15.	 New or used farm machinery for production agriculture, or for state 
or federal programs.

16.	 All machinery, equipment, structures, and associated apparatus of a 
coal gasification operation.

17.	 Motor vehicles designed to carry up to 10 people, if they are to be 
rented out by a leasing company.

18.	 Property used for repairing railroad equipment that is transported 
outside Illinois for use elsewhere.

19.	 Sale or transfer of property made on special order for an interstate 
carrier for hire that is received in Illinois, but is transported to and 
used outside Illinois.

20.	 Personal property bought by a nonprofit Illinois county fair associa-
tion for fair use.

21.	 Personal property sold by a teacher-sponsored student organization 
affiliated with an elementary or secondary school.

22.	 Legal tender, currency, medallions, or gold or silver coins issued by 
Illinois, the U.S., or any foreign country, and bullion.

23.	 Photoprocessing machinery and equipment, including repair and 
replacement parts.

24.	 Machinery and equipment used for general maintenance and repair, 
or in-house manufacture, of exempt machinery and equipment.

25.	 Machinery used to operate other equipment in a computer-assisted 
design (CAD) or computer-assisted manufacturing (CAM) system.

LRU Tax Handbook
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26.	 Proceeds from sales of personal property by nonprofit organizations 
organized to benefit people over 65.

27.	 Sales to nonprofit music or dramatic-arts organizations that present 
live performances on a regular basis.

28.	 Aviation fuels bought for flights outside the U.S.
29.	 Photoprocessing products used in commercial motion pictures.
30.	 Motor vehicles weighing more than 8,000 pounds and subject to the 

commercial distribution fee (see “Driver’s License & Vehicle Fees” 
on page 28).  This exemption also applies to repair and replacement 
parts, if the vehicle qualifies for the rolling stock exemption.  But as 
stated under “Use tax exemptions” above, this exemption does not 
apply to new transactions after June 2005. 

31.	 Graphic Arts machinery, equipment, and replacement parts.

A manufacturer’s purchase credit may be earned for buying manufactur-
ing machinery and equipment and construction materials that are incor-
porated into a manufacturing facility, and for graphic arts machinery and 
equipment.  The credit may be used to offset sales tax liability for buying 
production-related personal property and construction materials that do 
not otherwise qualify for the exemptions of machinery, equipment, or 
materials.  The credit is 50% of the price of manufacturing machinery or 
equipment to which that exemption did not apply.

History:
	 Year	 Rate

A retailers’ occupation tax was enacted	 1933	 2  %
in 1933 at a rate of 2%.	 1935	 3
	 1941	 2

A use tax was added in 1955, and both	 1955	 2.5
rates were set at 2.5%.	 1959	 3

The service use tax and service	 1961	 3.5
occupation taxes were added in 1961.	 1967	 4.25

	 1969	 4
	 1984	 5
	 1990	 6.25*

*The 6.25% is a combined state-local rate.  The state keeps 80% (the first 5¢ per $1), and 
pays the other 20% (1.25¢ per $1) to local governments.  See “Distribution” on page 115.

Sales & Use Taxes
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Rates of sales and use taxes on food and drugs were reduced from 4% to 
3% on January 1, 1980, and from 3% to 2% on January 1, 1981.  All food 
not for consumption on the premises, and all drugs, were completely 
exempted from state sales and use taxation on January 1, 1984.  When 
the combined state-local rate of 6.25% took effect in 1990, a 1% state 
tax was imposed on food and drugs; its proceeds are transferred to local 
governments.

A 2003 act created the Aircraft Use Tax on the sale of airplanes (35 ILCS 
157/10-1 ff.).  The Aircraft Use Tax is 6.25% of the purchase price, of 
which 1.25% is deposited into the Local Government Distributive Fund 
and the rest to the General Revenue Fund.

A 2004 act created the Watercraft Use Tax (35 ILCS 158/15-1 ff.) at 
6.25% of the price on watercraft acquired by gift, transfer, or purchase.  
Proceeds go 20% to the State and Local Sales Tax Reform Fund, and 
80% to the General Revenue Fund.  (Leased or rented watercraft are tan-
gible personal property subject to the Retailers’ Occupation Tax.)

A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed taxpayers to pay out-
standing tax liabilities without penalty or interest.  Amnesty collections 
totaled $101,358,086.

State revenue collected

Fiscal	 Receipts		  Fiscal	 Receipts 
 year	 (millions)	 Change	 year	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $5,246.9	 3.4%	 2001	 $6,531.8	 -1.1%
1997	 5,313.6	 1.3	 2002	 6,617.0	 1.3
1998	 5,768.9	 8.6	 2003	 6,563.4	 -0.8
1999	 6,124.1	 6.2	 2004	 6,922.6	 5.5
2000	 6,602.0	 7.8	 2005	 7,190.3	 3.9
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Distribution:
1.	 80% of net revenue from 6.25% sales tax as follows:

(a)	 1.75% to Build Illinois Fund;
(b)	 3.8% to Build Illinois Fund to retire bonds;
(c)	 0.27% to Illinois Tax Increment Fund;
(d)	 80% of net tax revenue on Illinois coal bought by a new electric 

generating facility that received state financial aid, to the Energy 
Infrastructure Fund (for the first 25 years that the facility buys 
Illinois coal).

(e)	 25% reserved for transfor to Common Schools Special Account 
Fund;

(f)	 Remainder to General Revenue Fund, with three transfers out:
	 (i)	 25% of net revenue collected from RTA sales tax, to Pub-

lic Transportation Fund.
	 (ii)	 1/16 of net revenue from counties and municipalities that 

have Downstate mass transit districts, to the Downstate 
Public Transportation Fund.

	 (iii)	 1/16 of net revenue from Madison, Monroe, and St. Clair 
Counties to the Metro-East Public Transportation Fund.

2.	 16% of net proceeds of the 6.25% sales tax to the Local Government 
Tax Fund.

3.	 4% of net revenue from the 6.25% sales tax to the County and Mass 
Transit Fund.

Sales & Use Taxes
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Other taxes on sales
Federal:  None.

Local:

Goods other than food and drugs:

Illinois law authorizes local governments to impose sales taxes, subject to 
the following requirements as to rates:

Home-rule units	 0.25% or more in 0.25%
	 increments (no statutory limit)

Non-home-rule municipalities	 0.25%, 0.50%, 0.75%, or 1.0% 
	 for property tax relief

Regional Transportation	 0.75% maximum in Cook County;
Authority (RTA)	 0.25% maximum in DuPage, Kane, 
	 Lake, McHenry, and Will Counties

DuPage County Water Commission	 0.25% maximum

Metro East Transit District	 0.25% maximum

Metro-East Park and Recreation District	 0.1% maximum

LRU Tax Handbook

Sauget imposes a tax of 1.50%, and Chicago, Rosemont, and Joliet im-
pose taxes of 1.25%; 18 other home-rule units collect 1%; Cook County 
and 13 home-rule units, 0.75%; 23 home-rule units, 0.5%; and 10 home-
rule units, 0.25%.  The RTA, DuPage County Water Commission, and 
Metro East Transit Districts impose the maximum rates allowed.  The 
Department of Revenue collects these local taxes along with the 6.25% 
statewide tax.

The Illinois Municipal Code authorizes non-home-rule municipalities by 
referendum to tax sales, except of food and drugs, for public infrastruc-
ture and/or property tax relief at rates of 0.25%, 0.5%, 0.75%, or 1.0%.  
The Illinois Department of Revenue collects those taxes for the munici-
palities that impose them (65 ILCS 5/8-11-1.1 and 5/8-11-1.3).  Over 40 
municipalities have imposed such taxes.  A special provision allows East 
Peoria to impose a sales tax of 1.25% (65 ILCS 5/8-11-1.6).
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Any county by referendum may impose a sales tax, except on food and 
drugs, for public safety or transportation purposes in 0.25% increments.  
The Illinois Department of Revenue collects those taxes (55 ILCS 5/5-
1006.5).  At least 24 counties have imposed them.

Food and drugs:

The state collects a 1% tax on sales of food for consumption off the 
premises; food served in hospitals and nursing homes incident to provid-
ing other services; prescription and nonprescription drugs; and medical 
appliances.  This tax is collected by the Department of Revenue and paid 
into the Local Government Tax Fund for distribution to municipalities 
and counties.  The state does not keep any of this revenue.  In addition, 
Chicago is authorized to levy a tax on soft  drinks, which the state col-
lects; and the state collects sales taxes on food and drugs for two transit 
districts (both at the maximum rates allowed).

Chicago (soft drinks only)	 0.25% or more in 0.25% 
increments (3.0% maximum)

Regional Transportation	 1.00% maximum in Cook County
Authority (RTA)	 0.25% maximum in DuPage, Kane, 

Lake, McHenry, and Will Counties

Metro East Transit District	 0.75% maximum

Use Tax:

The increase in the general sales tax rate from 5% to 6.25% also in-
creased collections of use tax by 25% (1.25 ÷ 5).  The additional revenue 
is distributed as follows:

(a)	 20% to Chicago.
(b)	 10% to RTA Occupation and Use Tax Replacement Fund.
(c)	 0.6% to Metro East Mass Transit District.
(d)	 $37.8 million to Build Illinois Bond Account Fund (through FY 

2025).
(e)	 The rest to the Local Government Distributive Fund (distributed by 

population to local governments other than Chicago).

Sales & Use Taxes
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Restaurants

The Metropolitan Pier and Exposition Authority is authorized to impose 
a 1% retailers’ occupation tax on restaurant and carry-out food in the area 
of Chicago bordered by the Stevenson Expressway on the south, Ashland 
Avenue on the west, Surf Street on the north, and Lake Michigan on the 
east; and at O’Hare and Midway Airports.

The following tables list rates collected in each locality or area of the 
state.

Items except food and drugs

		  Suburban		  Other	 Down-	 Metro 
	 Chicago	 Cook Co.	 DuPage	 collar	 state	 East

State	 5.00%	 5.00%	 5.00%	 5.00%	 5.00%	 5.00%
Municipal (county 

in unincorp. areas)	 1.00	 1.00	 1.00	 1.00	 1.00	 1.00
County	 0.25	 0.25	 .25	 0.25	 0.25	 0.25
County home-rule	 0.75	 0.75	 -	 -	 -	 -
RTA	 0.75	 0.75	 0.25	 0.25	 -	 -
DuPage water 	 -	 -	 0.25	 -	 -	 -
Metro East 	 -	 -	 -	 -	 -	 0.75
City home-rule	 1.25	 0.25-	 0.25-	 0.25-	 0.25-	 0.25- 
		  1.25	 1.00	 1.25	 1.25	 1.50

Totals	 9.00%	 7.75-	 6.75-	 6.50-	 6.25-	 7.00-
		  8.50%	 9.00%	 7.75%	 7.75%	 7.50%	

Food and drugs
		  Suburban		  Other	 Down-	 St.	 Madi- 
	 Chicago	 Cook Co.	 DuPage	 collar	 state	 Clair	 son

State	 -	 -	 -	 -	 -	 -	 -
Municipal (county in
   unincorp. areas)	 1.00%	 1.00%	 1.00%	 1.00%	 1.00%	 1.00%	 1.00%
County (countywide)	 -	 -	 -	 -	 -	 -	 -
County home-rule	 -	 -	 -	 -	 -	 -	 -
RTA	 1.00	 1.00	 0.25	 0.25	 -	 -	 -
DuPage water	 -	 -	 -	 -	 -	 -	 -
Metro East Transit	 -	 -	 -	 -	 -	 0.75	 0.25

Totals	 2.00%	 2.00%	 1.25%	 1.25%	 1.00%	 1.75%	 1.25%
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Other states’ taxes
Only five states do not impose general sales taxes:  Alaska, Delaware, 
Montana, New Hampshire, and Oregon.  

Basic (statewide) rates in the states with such taxes are:

Rate	 States

7.0   %	 Mississippi, Rhode Island, Tennessee
6.5	 Minnesota, Nevada, Washington
6.25	 California, Illinois, Texas
6.0	 Arkansas, Connecticut, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, 

Michigan, New Jersey, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Vermont, 
West Virginia

5.6	 Arizona
5.5	 Nebraska
5.3	 Kansas
5.0	 Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Mexico, 

North Dakota, South Carolina, Wisconsin
4.75	 Utah
4.5	 North Carolina, Oklahoma
4.25	 New York
4.225	 Missouri
4.0	 Alabama, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, South Dakota, Vir-

ginia, Wyoming
2.9	 Colorado

Sales & Use Taxes
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Vehicle Use Tax

This tax is imposed on each motor vehicle given, transferred, or sold 
between private parties.  Administered by Department of Revenue.  (625 
ILCS 5/3-1001 ff.)

Rate and base

(a)	 Vehicle valued under $15,000:

	 Years since		  Years since
	 model year	 Tax	 model year	 Tax

	 Up to 1	 $390	 7	 $80
	 2	 290	 8	 65
	 3	 215	 9	 50
	 4	 165	 10	 40
	 5	 115	 over 10	 25
	 6	 90

(b)	 Vehicle valued at $15,000 or more:

	 Sale price	 Tax	 Sale price	 Tax

	 $15,000-19,999	 $   750	 $25,000-29,999	 $1,250
	 20,000-24,999	 1,000	   30,000+	 1,500

(c)  $15 for a motor vehicle sold or transferred among immediate family 
members in administering an estate (except transfer to a surviving 
spouse), or in reorganizing a business with no change in beneficial 
ownership.

(d)  $25 for a motorcycle, motor-driven cycle, 3- or 4-wheel all-terrain 
vehicle, or motorized pedalcycle.

Exemptions:
1.	 Vehicles taxable under the use tax.
2.	 Vehicles bought and used by government agencies, or by a society, 

association, foundation, or institution organized and operated exclu-
sively for charitable, religious, or educational purposes.

3.	 Vehicles sold after issuance of junking certificates.
4.	 Vehicles transferred to a surviving spouse.
5.	 Vehicles for on-farm use only.
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History:  The tax was enacted in 1979 at $30 per vehicle.  In 1981 motor 
vehicles over 5 years old were exempted.  In 1985 the rate was changed 
to 5% of the selling price for vehicles up to 10 years old.  The current 
rates, based on vehicle age and selling price, took effect in 1988.  The tax 
will be discontinued when there are enough proceeds to retire the Build 
Illinois Bonds.  A tax amnesty program in fiscal year 2004 allowed tax-
payers to pay outstanding tax liabilities without penalty or interest.  Am-
nesty collections totaled $183,589.

State revenue collected

Fiscal	 Receipts		  Fiscal	 Receipts 
 year	 (millions)	 Change	 year	 (millions)	 Change

1996	 $41.7	 -4.1%	 2001	 $39.0	 -9.7%
1997	 42.1	 1.0	 2002	 43.4	 11.3
1998	 41.9	 -0.5	 2003	 39.2	 -9.7
1999	 43.0	 2.6	 2004	 40.3	 2.8
2000	 43.2	 0.5	 2005	 37.1	 -7.9

Distribution:  $5 million per year to the Build Illinois Fund; remainder 
to the General Revenue Fund.
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Other taxes on vehicle use
Federal:  None.

Local:  No local tax is authorized by statute, but a home-rule unit prob-
ably could impose one.

Other states’ taxes
Other states usually tax sales of motor vehicles between private parties at 
the same rates as other sales.
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