TITLE 68: PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS
CHAPTER VII: DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND PROFESSIONAL REGULATION
SUBCHAPTER b: PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS
PART 1255 INTERIOR DESIGN PROFESSION TITLE ACT
SECTION 1255.20 APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION


 

Section 1255.20  Application for Registration

 

a)         An applicant for registration as an interior designer shall file an application, on forms provided by the Department, that includes the following:

 

1)         Certification submitted to the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation-Division of Professional Regulation (Division) from the National Council for Interior Design Qualifications (NCIDQ) indicating the successful completion of the NCIDQ examination for an interior design license.

 

2)         Proof of Education/Experience

 

A)        Certification of graduation and official transcripts from a 4 or 5 year interior design program as set forth in Section 1255.30 and at least 2 years of full-time diversified interior design experience as defined in Section 8 of the Act and Section 1255.40 of this Part; or

           

B)        Certification of completion and official transcripts of at least 3 years of interior design curriculum from an approved program as provided in Section 1255.30 and at least 3 years of full-time diversified interior design experience as defined in Section 8 of the Act and Section 1255.40 of this Part;

 

C)        Certification of graduation and official transcripts from an approved 2 year interior design program as provided for in Section 1255.30 and at least 4 years of full-time diversified interior design experience as defined in Section 8 of the Act and Section 1255.40 of this Part;

           

3)         The fee required by Section 1255.65.

 

b)         An individual who holds an active license as an architect in Illinois pursuant to the Illinois Architecture Practice Act of 1989 [225 ILCS 305] shall be issued a certificate of registration as an interior designer without examination, as provided in Section 8(d) of the Act, upon submitting to the Division an application and  upon payment of a fee of $40.

 

(Source:  Amended at 37 Ill. Reg. 16364, effective October 18, 2013)