

HJ0015 LRB100 07370 MST 17434 r

1 HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

- 2 WHEREAS, The Secretary of State is responsible for 3 licensing and oversight of automobile dealers in the State of
- 4 Illinois; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Illinois is experiencing an increase in
- 6 non-traditional automobile sales by individuals or entities
- 7 that do not meet the definition of a traditional dealer;
- 8 therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
- 10 HUNDREDTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, THE SENATE
- 11 CONCURRING HEREIN, that there is created the Automobile
- 12 Dealers' License Task Force, consisting of the following
- members:
- 14 (1) the Secretary of State or his or her designee, who
- is to serve as Chair of the Task Force;
- 16 (2) one member of the General Assembly, appointed by
- 17 the President of the Senate;
- 18 (3) one member of the General Assembly, appointed by
- the Minority Leader of the Senate;

- 1 (4) one member of the General Assembly, appointed by 2 the Speaker of the House of Representatives;
- 3 (5) one member of the General Assembly, appointed by 4 the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives;
- 5 (6) the Director of the Department of Revenue or his or 6 her designee;
- 7 (7) the Director of the Illinois State Police, or his 8 or her designee;
- 9 (8) a representative of the Illinois Automobile
  10 Dealers Association; and
- 11 (9) the Illinois Attorney General or his or her 12 designee; and be it further
- 13 RESOLVED, That the Secretary of State shall provide staff 14 and administrative support to the Task Force; and be it further
- RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall conduct a study related to the licensing and oversight of the nontraditional dealers doing business in Illinois; and be it further
- 18 RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall meet at least three

- times and shall report its findings to the General Assembly on
- or before December 31, 2018; and be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall be dissolved after
- 4 submitting its finding to the General Assembly.