

HR0170 LRB100 11614 MST 22335 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives wish to recognize the 1970-71 and 1971-72 4 Thornridge High School Varsity Boys basketball teams, the 5 Falcons; and

WHEREAS, In the fall of 1967, Thornridge High School became part of a plan to ensure that all students in District 205 would have the opportunity for a quality education, regardless of color or zip code; it was determined that a small group of eighth graders would be bussed that fall to Thornridge, integrating the all-white campus; by 1970, the boys basketball team was a racially-diverse group of athletes; they would go on to win the 1971 and 1972 State Championships, the only championships in Thornridge High School history, and become known as the greatest high school basketball teams in Illinois history; and

WHEREAS, The 1971-72 Falcons compiled a season-record of 33 wins and no losses, winning by an average of almost 33 points a game and defeating 16 conference champions; the score of the title game over Quincy of 104 to 69 remains a record for the largest margin of victory; and

WHEREAS, Over the 1970-71 and 1971-72 seasons, the Falcons

9

- 1 put together a winning streak of 58 games; and
- WHEREAS, The starters for the 1970-71 and 1971-72 Falcons,

 Quinn Buckner; Boyd Batts; Greg Rose; Ernest Dunn; Mike

 Bonczyk; Michael Henry; Mark McClain; William "Nee" Gatlin;

 James Loggins; team Captain, Tony "Grubbs" Jackson; and head

 coach, Ron Ferguson, will be acknowledged at a jersey

 retirement ceremony and celebration of the greatest Illinois

 high school basketball teams in history on February 23, 2017 at
- 10 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
 11 HUNDREDTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we
 12 recognize the 1970-71 and 1971-72 Thornridge High School
 13 Varsity Boys basketball teams, the Falcons; and be it further

Thornridge Gymnasium in Dolton; therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be presented to Quinn Buckner; Boyd Batts; Greg Rose; Ernest Dunn;

Mike Bonczyk; Michael Henry; Mark McClain; William "Nee"

Gatlin; James Loggins; team Captain, Tony "Grubbs" Jackson; and head coach, Ron Ferguson.