

HR0353

LRB100 12247 JWD 24857 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, Section 11 of Article V of the Illinois 3 Constitution authorizes the Governor, by Executive Order, to 4 reassign functions among or reorganize executive agencies that 5 are directly responsible to the Governor; and

6 WHEREAS, The Governor has issued Executive Order 2017-01, 7 which in part proposes to reorganize the Abraham Lincoln 8 Presidential Library and Museum as an independent State agency, 9 separate and apart from the Historic Preservation Agency; and

10 WHEREAS, The Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and 11 Museum, a world-class institution that immerses visitors into 12 the life and history of Abraham Lincoln, recognizes the 13 importance of the legacy of Abraham Lincoln to the State and 14 the nation's historical and cultural heritage; and

15 WHEREAS, The Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and 16 Museum serves as the leading repository of academic works 17 pertaining to Abraham Lincoln, and is the premier destination 18 for historians who want to conduct research on President 19 Lincoln; and

20 WHEREAS, Operating the Abraham Lincoln Presidential 21 Library and Museum as a subordinate component of the Historical HR0353 -2- LRB100 12247 JWD 24857 r
Preservation Agency has stifled the full potential of the
Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum; and

3 WHEREAS, Establishing the Abraham Lincoln Presidential 4 Library and Museum as an independent State agency recognizes 5 the institution's unique importance to our State and our nation 6 and will enable it to create more effective long-term plans, 7 craft stronger partnerships with State and non-State 8 organizations, accomplish internal efficiencies, and identify 9 independent sources of support; therefore, be it

10 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE 11 HUNDREDTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we 12 hereby approve the action taken by the Governor through 13 Executive Order 2017-01; and be it further

14 RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be delivered to 15 the Governor and the President of the Senate.