

HR0438 LRB100 12877 MST 26650 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

Illinois 2 WHEREAS, The members of the House of 3 Representatives are pleased to congratulate the Morgan Park 4 High School boys basketball team, the Mustangs, on winning the 5 High School Association Class 2017 Illinois 3A 6 Championship; and 7 WHEREAS, The Mustangs won seven of their final eight games 8 on the way to the title, defeating Fenwick High School in the 9 championship game 69 to 67; and 10 WHEREAS, This is the 4th overall State Championship for the Mustangs; they won the championship in 1976, 2013, and 2014; 11 12 and 13 WHEREAS, The Mustangs are coached by Nick Irvin; their assistant coaches are Terry Johnson, Lance Irvin, Kurtis 14 15 Ellison, and Christian Hopkins; and 16 WHEREAS, The 2017 Morgan Park Mustangs are Lamond Johnson, 17 Tamell Peason, Jarrin Randle, Jamal Burton, Torry Johnson, 18 Jelani Hardy, Cameron Burrell, Cam Irvin, Nimari Burnett, Ayo Dosunmu, Tavaris McCullough, Melo Burrell, Deandre Freeman, 19 20 Shawn Robinson, Marcus Watson, Lenell Henry, Jamari Harris, 21 Kenyon Duling, and Quincy Dillard; therefore, be it

1

- 2 HUNDREDTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we

RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE

- 3 congratulate the Morgan Park High School boys basketball team,
- 4 the Mustangs, on winning the 2017 Illinois High School
- 5 Association Class 3A State Championship; and be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- 7 presented to the Mustangs as an expression of our esteem and
- 8 respect.