

HR0754

LRB100 17382 MST 32547 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives wish to congratulate the Batavia High School 4 boys football team, the Bulldogs, on winning the 2017 Class 7A 5 Boys Football State Championship; and

6 WHEREAS, The Bulldogs lived all season by their motto, "One 7 more week"; they captured their second state title in four 8 years on November 25, 2017 at Huskie Stadium at Northern 9 Illinois University in DeKalb; and

10 WHEREAS, The chemistry, trust, and fraternal bond between 11 the Bulldogs helped them remain levelheaded throughout the most 12 important game of their lives against the Lake Zurich Bears; 13 and

14 WHEREAS, The Bulldogs led the game 14 to zero over Lake 15 Zurich until the end of the third quarter with 3.51 remaining 16 when Lake Zurich evened the score, sending the game into 17 overtime at the end of regulation play; and

18 WHEREAS, The Bulldogs celebrated a 21 to 14 victory with 19 the winning touchdown coming on quarterback Riley Cooper's 10 20 yard pass to wide receiver Tommy Stuttle in a thrilling 21 overtime game; and WHEREAS, The Bulldogs, this band of brothers, ended their
14 week season with an overall record of 13 wins and one loss;
and

4 WHEREAS, Contributing to the players' talents were the Batavia High School's coaching staff's abilities; leading the 5 6 team throughout a great regular season and playoff run were 7 Coach Dennis Piron, who has headed the team since 2010, and who 8 is a 1983 Batavia High School graduate, along with his coaching 9 staff of Matt Holm, Billy Colamatteo, Sean Anderson, Dan 10 Cadena, P.J. White, Alvin Cole, Steve Bailey, Adam Lester, Shane Holl, Adam Kolowski, Mike Theriault, and Kyle Plate; and 11

12 WHEREAS, The Bulldogs are Peyton Anselme, Alex Balentine, 13 John Bannos, Charlie Bardol, Josiah Bassett, Bradley 14 Baumgartner, Mike Bautch, Gavin Beiber, Derek Bex, Joe Burger, Jack Carlson, Tylor Collazo, Nicholas Conger, Matthew Conlon, 15 16 Riley Cooper, Anthony Crews, Julian Davis, Connor Davis, Zachary Davis, Jacob Dunivan, Nolan Eike, Jeremiah Evers, Nico 17 Fell, Isaiah Fields, Aaron Fink, William Fitch, Carter Gette, 18 19 Anthony Glisson, John Golden, Wilson Gosselin, Elijah Green, 20 Jack Haefer, Andrew Heinz, Jacob Hinzy, Evan Hitzeman, Evan Holden, Michael Jansey, Connor Keiken, Michael Lanterman, 21 Tommy Larson, Harrison Liao, Liam Lo, Rocco Loffredi, Decorea 22 23 McAlister, Maxwell McFadden, Michael McFarland, Jack Meyers,

-3-LRB100 17382 MST 32547 r 1 Brennan Miller, Christopher Monroe, Nico Monteleone, Xander 2 Montiel, Ethan Neibch, McKinley Neville, Michael Niemiec, Joseph Oroni, Ryan Parrington, Eric Peterson, Reggie Phillips, 3 Anthony Piper, Jacob Randall, Collin Richter, Josef Ruzicka, 4 5 Joey Sartain, Chandler Shoaf, Ryan Stark, Andrew Stasell, Matthew Stasell, Danny Stewart, Benjamin Stoffels, 6 Tom 7 Stuttle, Art Taylor, Ethan Towers, Jack Tryzna, Quin Urwiler, 8 Zack Weber, Luke Weerts, Jacob Weston, Taylor Winslow, and 9 William Zuza; therefore, be it

10 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE 11 HUNDREDTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we 12 congratulate the Batavia High School boys football team, the Bulldogs, on winning the 2017 Class 7A Boys Football State 13 14 Championship, and we recognize all Bulldogs for their 15 achievements both past and present; and be it further

16 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be 17 presented to the Bulldogs as a symbol of our respect and 18 esteem.

HR0754