

SJ0026

LRB100 12172 MST 24552 r

1

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, In 1993, the United States Congress enacted the 3 Professional and Amateur Sports Protection Act (28 U.S.C. §3701 4 et seq.), prohibiting states and local governments from 5 authorizing sports betting on amateur and professional 6 athletes or games; and

7 WHEREAS, The Professional and Amateur Sports Protection 8 Act makes it unlawful to advertise, authorize, operate, 9 promote, or sponsor betting or wagering on one or more 10 competitive games in which amateur or professional athletes 11 participate or are intended to participate, or on one or more 12 performances of those athletes in those games; and

13 WHEREAS, As a result of the exceptions contained in the 14 Professional and Amateur Sports Protection Act, sports betting 15 is permitted in Nevada, Delaware, Oregon, and Montana, but 16 prohibited in the remaining 46 states of the United States, 17 including Illinois; and

18 WHEREAS, As a result of the exceptions in the Professional 19 and Amateur Sports Protection Act, Nevada reported \$4.2 billion 20 and \$4.5 billion in total sports betting wagers, in 2015 and 21 2016 respectively, and reported revenues of \$231 million and 22 \$219 million in 2015 and 2016, respectively; and -2- LRB100 12172 MST 24552 r

1 WHEREAS, The Professional and Amateur Sports Protection 2 Act discriminates against Illinois and deprives the State of 3 the opportunities afforded to Nevada, Delaware, Oregon, and 4 Montana to raise millions of dollars in revenue that would 5 potentially flow from the legislative authorization of sports 6 betting in this State; therefore, be it

7 RESOLVED, BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDREDTH GENERAL 8 ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 9 CONCURRING HEREIN, that we urge President Trump and the United 10 States Congress to remove the ban on sports betting or wagering 11 by repealing the Professional and Amateur Sports Protection 12 Act; and be it further

13 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be 14 delivered to President Donald Trump, U.S. Senate Majority 15 Leader Mitch McConnell, U.S. Senate Minority Leader Charles 16 Schumer, U.S. Speaker of the House of Representatives Paul 17 Ryan, U.S. House of Representatives Minority Leader Nancy 18 Pelosi, and all members of the Illinois Congressional 19 Delegation.

SJ0026