

SR0352

LRB100 11981 MST 23907 r

1

SENATE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, founded 3 on the campus of Howard University in 1908 and incorporated in 4 1913, has established a mandate for carrying out the vision of 5 a new day of excellence and performance; and

6 WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority is the nation's oldest 7 African-American sorority; the Sorority has never changed its 8 mission to cultivate and encourage high scholastic and ethical 9 standards, promote unity and friendship among college women, 10 help alleviate problems concerning girls and women in order to 11 improve their social status, maintain a progressive interest in 12 college life, and to be of "Service to All Mankind"; and

13 WHEREAS, The 2014-2018 Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. 14 administration, under the dynamic and creative leadership of International President Dorothy Buckhanan Wilson, continues to 15 fulfill the service imperative of the organization's founders 16 with the international program "Launching New Dimensions of 17 Service", which focuses on educational enrichment, health 18 19 promotion, family strengthening, environmental ownership, and 20 global impact; and

21 WHEREAS, The 2017 Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. Day at 22 the Capitol, nationally and internationally, will focus on

SR0352 -2-LRB100 11981 MST 23907 r 1 three issues for each state; in Illinois, the focus will be on 2 funding for elementary, secondary, and higher education, 3 health care, and immigration; this parallels the international program, "Launching New Dimensions of Service"; the second part 4 5 of the program will concentrate on civil rights and social justice while; part three of the program will be a dialogue and 6 7 discussion concerning the "Be The Voice Campaign"; and

8 WHEREAS, Many prominent women have been or are members of 9 Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., including the late First Lady 10 Eleanor Roosevelt, the late civil rights leaders Coretta Scott 11 King and Rosa Parks, actress Phylicia Rashad, the late poet 12 Maya Angelou, writer Toni Morrison, singer Alicia Keys, 13 attorney Star Jones, financial expert Mellody Hobson, 14 comedian/actress Wanda Sykes, actress Jada Pinkett-Smith, Cook County Recorder of Deeds Karen Yarbrough, Cook County Board 15 16 President Toni Preckwinkle, and the President of Liberia, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf; and 17

18 WHEREAS, Many members of the General Assembly and 19 legislative staff are members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, 20 Inc., including Senate Majority Whip Mattie Hunter, Senator Toi 21 Hutchinson, India Hammons, and Nia Odeoti-Hassan, who has served since 2010 as the Illinois State Connection Coordinator 22 and the chairwoman of the Illinois State Connection Committee 23 24 in the Central Region under the leadership of Regional Director

 SR0352
 -3 LRB100 11981 MST 23907 r

 Kathy Walker Steele; and

1

2 WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha's storied history of proven 3 leadership and extensive involvement in the world community 4 through strategic partnerships evidence the sorority's 5 potential to significantly contribute to the world community; 6 and

7 WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated made 8 history and expanded its international presence when it 9 chartered its first chapter, Omega Theta Omega, in the Middle 10 East; the chapter's 37 women, located in Abu Dhabi, Dubai and 11 throughout the United Arab Emirates, are business executives, 12 attorneys, educators, and physicians, among other accomplished 13 professionals; and

14 WHEREAS, Leadership development is essential to the 15 vitality of the organization, and the sorority's continuing 16 requirements of academic excellence, shared values, and 17 dedication to the mission of Alpha Kappa Alpha ensure a 18 continuous wellspring of quality leaders; therefore, be it

19 RESOLVED, BY THE SENATE OF THE ONE HUNDREDTH GENERAL 20 ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we designate the date 21 of May 10, 2017 as Alpha Kappa Alpha Day in the State of 22 Illinois in honor of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, SR0352 -4- LRB100 11981 MST 23907 r

1 and its work; and be it further

2 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be 3 provided to Kathy Walker Steele, Central Regional Director; 4 Dorothy Buckhanan Wilson, International President; Sylvia 5 Blackmon-Roberts, International Connection Committee Chairman; 6 and Bakahia Reed Madison, Central Regional Representative to 7 the International Connection Committee.