

HR0107 LRB101 10829 MST 56045 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

Illinois 2 WHEREAS, The members of the House of 3 Representatives are pleased to congratulate the Okawville Jr. 4 High School girls basketball team, the Lady Rockets, on winning 5 Southern Illinois Junior High School Athletic the 2019 6 Association Class M State Tournament; and 7 WHEREAS, The Lady Rockets defeated Christopher High School 8 at Rend Lake College on January 25, 2019 to win their sixth 9 state title; and 10 WHEREAS, Despite entering the tournament with the smallest enrollment of the qualifying schools, the Lady Rockets 11 completed the season undefeated, and, when the final buzzer 12 13 sounded in the championship game, they kept their streak 14 intact; and 15 WHEREAS, Christopher High School held the lead at halftime 16 with a score of 31 to 22; during the third quarter, the Lady Rockets gained the lead heading into the final period and 17 18 played an intense overtime period to win the state tournament 19 with a score of 58 to 51; and

20 WHEREAS, The Lady Rockets serve as models of hard work, 21 perseverance, and extraordinary team spirit for the people of

- HR0107
- 1 the State; and
- 2 WHEREAS, The Lady Rockets are managed by Paige Riechmann,
- 3 and coached by Aaron Tebbe and Travis Kuhn; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The Lady Rockets are Addysen Harre, Hannah Miller,
- 5 Briley Rhodes, Alayna Kraus, Tyne Moore, Annie Cull, Maggie
- 6 Sawicki, Kylie Going, Lexy Borrenpohl, Taylor Hettenhausen,
- 7 Kylie Buehler, Ellie Frederking, Dylan Benson, Madisyn
- 8 Wienstroer, Rayna Reed, Macey Staley, and Jordyn Heckert;
- 9 therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
- 11 HUNDRED FIRST GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- we congratulate the Okawville Jr. High School girls basketball
- team, the Lady Rockets, on winning the 2019 Southern Illinois
- 14 Junior High School Athletic Association Class M State
- Tournament and wish them many more successful seasons; and be
- 16 it further
- 17 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 18 presented to Manager Paige Riechmann, Coaches Aaron Tebbe and
- 19 Travis Kuhn, and all members of the 2019 Lady Rockets as a
- 20 symbol of our respect and esteem.