97TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY

State of Illinois

2011 and 2012

HB0896

Introduced 01/31/11, by Rep. Michael J. Madigan

SYNOPSIS AS INTRODUCED:

705 ILCS 35/1

from Ch. 37, par. 72.1

Amends the Circuit Courts Act. Makes a technical change in a Section concerning the judicial circuits.

LRB097 03869 AJO 43908 b

1 AN ACT concerning courts.

2 Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois, 3 represented in the General Assembly:

Section 5. The Circuit Courts Act is amended by changing
Section 1 as follows:

6 (705 ILCS 35/1) (from Ch. 37, par. 72.1)

Sec. 1. Judicial circuits created. <u>The</u> The county of Cook
shall be one judicial circuit and the State of Illinois,
exclusive of the county of Cook, shall be and is divided into
judicial circuits as follows:

First Circuit--The counties of Alexander, Pulaski, Massac,
 Pope, Johnson, Union, Jackson, Williamson and Saline.

Second Circuit--The counties of Hardin, Gallatin, White,
Hamilton, Franklin, Wabash, Edwards, Wayne, Jefferson,
Richland, Lawrence and Crawford.

16 Third Circuit--The counties of Madison and Bond.

Fourth Circuit--The counties of Clinton, Marion, Clay,
Fayette, Effingham, Jasper, Montgomery, Shelby and Christian.

19 Fifth Circuit--The counties of Vermilion, Edgar, Clark,20 Cumberland and Coles.

21 Sixth Circuit--The counties of Champaign, Douglas,
22 Moultrie, Macon, DeWitt and Piatt.

23 Seventh Circuit--The counties of Sangamon, Macoupin,

HB0896

HB0896 - 2 - LRB097 03869 AJO 43908 b

Morgan, Scott, Greene and Jersey. 1 2 Eighth Circuit--The counties of Adams, Schuyler, Mason, Cass, Brown, Pike, Calhoun and Menard. 3 4 Ninth Circuit--The counties of Knox, Warren, Henderson, 5 Hancock, McDonough and Fulton. 6 Tenth Circuit--The counties of Peoria, Marshall, Putnam, 7 Stark and Tazewell. 8 Eleventh Circuit--The counties of McLean, Livingston, 9 Logan, Ford and Woodford. 10 Twelfth Circuit--The county of Will. 11 Thirteenth Circuit--The counties of Bureau, LaSalle and 12 Grundy. 13 Fourteenth Circuit--The counties of Rock Island, Mercer, 14 Whiteside and Henry. Fifteenth Circuit--The counties of JoDaviess, Stephenson, 15 16 Carroll, Ogle and Lee. 17 Sixteenth Circuit--The counties of Kane, DeKalb and 18 Kendall. Seventeenth Circuit--The counties of Winnebago and Boone. 19 20 Eighteenth Circuit--The county of DuPage. 21 Nineteenth Circuit--Before December 4, 2006, the counties 22 of Lake and McHenry. On and after December 4, 2006, the County 23 of Lake. Twentieth Circuit--The counties of Randolph, Monroe, St. 24 25 Clair, Washington and Perry. 26 Twenty-first Circuit--The counties of Iroquois and HB0896

- 1 Kankakee.
- 2 Twenty-second Circuit--On and after December 4, 2006, the
- 3 County of McHenry.
- 4 (Source: P.A. 93-541, eff. 8-18-03.)