

HR0553 LRB098 13069 GRL 47582 r

HOUSE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Despite the current instability of the economy, times in which income inequality rises and middle-class wages stagnate, American taxpayers are subsidizing tens of billions of dollars in corporate bonuses; and

WHEREAS, In 1993, Congress capped the deductibility of certain executive pay to \$1 million; however, the law allowed an exception for performance-based pay, including stock options, non-equity incentive plans, and stock appreciation rights, as part of Section 162(m) of the Internal Revenue Code; as a result of the law, more executive compensation packages have been structured to meet the performance-based exception as a way to avoid paying taxes on corporate earnings; and

WHEREAS, On August 1, 2013, United States Senators Jack Reed (D-RI) and Richard Blumenthal (D-CT) introduced a bill that would address these inequities; and

WHEREAS, The Stop Subsidizing Multimillion Dollar Corporate Bonuses Act would limit the tax deductibility of executive pay to \$1 million and eliminate the exception for commission-based and performance-based compensation; the Act would also expands the restrictions to all current and former employees of all corporations that file periodic reports with

- HR0553
- 1 the United States Securities and Exchange Commission; and
- 2 WHEREAS, The Stop Subsidizing Multimillion Dollar
- 3 Corporate Bonuses Act would generate \$50 billion in tax revenue
- 4 over a 10-year period; this revenue could be used for any
- 5 number of public programs that would promote the general
- 6 interest; therefore, be it
- 7 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 8 NINETY-EIGHTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 9 we urge Congress to pass S. 1476, the Stop Subsidizing
- 10 Multimillion Dollar Corporate Bonuses Act; and be it further
- 11 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 12 delivered to the Speaker and Minority Leader of the United
- 13 States House of Representatives, the Majority and Minority
- 14 Leaders of the United States Senate, and the members of the
- 15 Illinois congressional delegation.