

HR1095 LRB098 21192 MST 59126 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

of 2 Illinois WHEREAS, The members the House of 3 Representatives are pleased to congratulate the Rochester 4 Rockets varsity football team on winning the 2013 Illinois High 5 Association (IHSA) School Class 4A State Football 6 Championship; and

WHEREAS, The Rochester Rockets defeated the Geneseo Maple Leafs 16-8 to claim victory at the IHSA Class 4A State Football Tournament; the victory marks the fourth consecutive State title for the Rochester Rockets, a rare history making distinction never previously achieved by a public school in the entire State; the football team was first fielded in 1994, and, in just 15 years, became a history-making high school football program; and

WHEREAS, The 2013 regular season Rochester Rockets scored 363 points and only allowed 136 points to be scored against them even though Rochester High School enrollment is 682 and the average high school enrollment of their opponents is 1,021; and

WHEREAS, Combining the 4 straight State championship years, the Rochester Rockets have scored 2389 points total and only allowed 970 from their opponents; for the

- 1 2009-2010-2011-2012-2013 football seasons, they have a playoff
- 2 record of 20 wins and one loss; and

3 WHEREAS, The Rochester Rockets are Colton Piper, Drew Hill, 4 Robbie Kelley, Tre Fry, Collin Stallworth, Marshall Call, 5 Johnny Jones, Matt Swaine, Blake Thompson, Daniel Zeigler, 6 Jeremy Bivens, Josh Grant, Nathaniel Johnson, Tyler Mazzini, 7 Nubia Fokum, Logan Kain, Nate Slot, Drake Berberet, Bret 8 Sandvoss, Mason Farris, Grant Hebenstreit, Alex Ulbrich, Grant 9 Fitzsimmons, Collin Etherton, Brandon Boggs, Kenny Hedges, 10 Luke Bucher, Eli Wall-Lampkin, Evan Sembell, Brent Sommer, 11 Austin Mathis, Chase Kuntzman, Alex Richards, Connor Vose, Colten Shadis, Eric Yakle, Britton Swaine, David Gunter, Dallas 12 13 Greer, Dylan Handlin, Gant Wheeler, Gunnar Monical, Zach 14 Denning, Josh Drendel, Chris Steil, Bo Johnson, Adam Doedtman, 15 Alec Holzmacher, Steven Russell, Austin Staton, Hunter Brooks, 16 Christian Hedges, Jake King, Cole McMinn, Alec Biggs, Jasper Capriotti, Owen Hamelin, Evan Chastain, Jake LeCrone, Tyler 17 18 Cotton, Brandon Jones, Matthew Briggs, Zach Wenger, Connor Brewer, Tyler Sommer, Niall Sullivan, Robert Seaton, Brennan 19 Stanfield, Zach Geller, Luke Gragert, Talon Tapscott, Chris 20 21 Grant, Brock Buscher, Paxton Sanchez, Nathaniel Fisher, Liam 22 Biesiada, Evan McMinn, and Hunter Evans; their head coach is 23 Derek Leonard, and the assistant coaches are Derrick Nelson, 24 Troy Piper, Jim Smith, JC Clarke, Steve Buecker, Tyson Corley, 25 Joe Oller, Brad Leonard, David Maciejewski, and Brett Tackett;

- 1 and
- 2 WHEREAS, The Rochester Rockets serve as models of hard
- 3 work, integrity, and dedication for the people of the State;
- 4 therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 6 NINETY-EIGHTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 7 we congratulate the Rochester Rockets varsity football team on
- 8 winning the 2013 Illinois High School Association Class 4A
- 9 State Football Championship; and be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- 11 presented to Rochester Rockets head coach Derek Leonard as a
- 12 symbol of our esteem and respect.