

HR1353 LRB098 23190 MST 62194 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

2 Illinois WHEREAS, The members of the House of 3 Representatives wish to congratulate the Notre Dame Catholic 4 School Boys Cross Country Team on winning the 2014 Illinois 5 Elementary School Association (IESA) Class A Boys Cross Country 6 State Championship; and

WHEREAS, Notre Dame won the championship in dramatic fashion, with the team title decided by the sixth-man tie-breaker; at the conclusion of the meet, Notre Dame and Elmwood Junior High School were deadlocked in a scoring tie; Notre Dame's sixth man, Zach Gooding, finished one place, and one step, ahead of Elmwood's sixth man to clinch the State title; and

WHEREAS, Three members of the Notre Dame squad were awarded All-State honors by the IESA at the championship meet - William Engels, Colin Costello, and Donavan Lahmann; strong performances by Joey Schultz, Michael Moran, Zachary Gooding, and Bradley Domke helped secure the championship victory; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Notre Dame Boys Cross Country
Team are William Engels, Joey Schultz, Colin Costello, Zachary
Gooding, Zachary Jensen, Donavan Lahmann, Michael Moran,
Bradley Domke, Christopher Brady, and Sean Walsh; they are

1 coached by John Darrow, Nena Lavoie, Tara Hanus, and Jennifer

- 2 Suroweic; therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 4 NINETY-EIGHTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 5 we congratulate the Notre Dame Catholic School Boys Cross
- 6 Country Team on winning the 2014 Illinois Elementary School
- 7 Association Class A Boys Cross Country State Championship, and
- 8 we wish them many more years of success; and be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- 10 presented to the Notre Dame Catholic School Boys Cross Country
- 11 Team as an expression of our esteem and respect.