

LRB099 11056 HLH 35455 a

Rep. Rita Mayfield

13

14

15

16

therein.

Filed: 5/12/2015

09900SB1854ham001

1 AMENDMENT TO SENATE BILL 1854 2 AMENDMENT NO. . Amend Senate Bill 1854 on page 2, immediately below line 26, by inserting the following: 3 "Section 7. The Upper Illinois River Valley Development 4 Authority Act is amended by changing Section 4 as follows: 5 6 (70 ILCS 530/4) (from Ch. 85, par. 7154) 7 Sec. 4. Establishment. (a) There is hereby created a political subdivision, body 8 politic and municipal corporation named the Upper Illinois 10 River Valley Development Authority. The territorial jurisdiction of the Authority is that geographic area within 11 the boundaries of Grundy, LaSalle, Bureau, Putnam, Kendall, 12

Kane, Lake, McHenry, and Marshall counties in the State of

Illinois and any navigable waters and air space located

(b) The governing and administrative powers of

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

2.1

22

23

24

25

26

Authority shall be vested in a body consisting of 21 20 members including, as ex officio members, the Director of Commerce and Economic Opportunity, or his or her designee, and the Director of the Department of Central Management Services, or his or her designee. The other 19 18 members of the Authority shall be designated "public members", 10 of whom shall be appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate and 9 θ of whom shall be appointed one each by the county board chairmen of Grundy, LaSalle, Bureau, Putnam, Kendall, Kane, Lake, McHenry, and Marshall counties. All public members shall reside within the territorial jurisdiction of this Act. Eleven members shall constitute a quorum. The public members shall be persons of recognized ability and experience in one or more of the following areas: economic development, finance, banking, industrial development, small business management, real estate development, community development, venture finance, organized labor or civic, community or neighborhood organization. The Chairman of the Authority shall be elected by the Board annually from the 8 members appointed by the county board chairmen.

(c) The terms of all initial members of the Authority shall begin 30 days after the effective date of this Act. Of the 14 public members appointed pursuant to this Act, 4 appointed by the Governor shall serve until the third Monday in January, 1992, 4 appointed by the Governor shall serve until the third Monday in January, 1993, one appointed by the Governor shall

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

serve until the third Monday in January, 1994, one appointed by the Governor shall serve until the third Monday in January 1999, the member appointed by the county board chairman of LaSalle County shall serve until the third Monday in January, 1992, the members appointed by the county board chairmen of Grundy County, Bureau County, Putnam County, and Marshall County shall serve until the third Monday in January, 1994, and the member appointed by the county board chairman of Kendall County shall serve until the third Monday in January, 1999. The initial members appointed by the chairmen of the county boards of Kane and McHenry counties shall serve until the third Monday in January, 2003. The in<u>itial members appointed by the chairman</u> of the county board of Lake County shall serve until the third Monday in January, 2018. All successors shall be appointed by the original appointing authority and hold office for a term of 3 years commencing the third Monday in January of the year in which their term commences, except in case of an appointment to fill a vacancy. Vacancies occurring among the public members shall be filled for the remainder of the term. In case of vacancy in a Governor-appointed membership when the Senate is not in session, the Governor may make a temporary appointment until the next meeting of the Senate when a person shall be nominated to fill such office, and any person so nominated who is confirmed by the Senate shall hold office during the remainder of the term and until a successor shall be appointed and qualified. Members of the Authority shall not be entitled

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

- to compensation for their services as members but shall be entitled to reimbursement for all necessary expenses incurred in connection with the performance of their duties as members.
 - (d) The Governor may remove any public member of the Authority in case of incompetency, neglect of duty, or malfeasance in office.
 - (e) The Board shall appoint an Executive Director who shall have a background in finance, including familiarity with the legal and procedural requirements of issuing bonds, real estate or economic development and administration. The Executive Director shall hold office at the discretion of the Board. The Executive Director shall be the chief administrative operational officer of the Authority, shall direct supervise its administrative affairs and general management, shall perform such other duties as may be prescribed from time to time by the members and shall receive compensation fixed by the Authority. The Executive Director shall attend all meetings of the Authority; however, no action of the Authority shall be invalid on account of the absence of the Executive Director from a meeting. The Authority may engage the services of such other agents and employees, including attorneys, appraisers, engineers, accountants, credit analysts and other consultants, as it may deem advisable and may prescribe their duties and fix their compensation.
 - (f) The Board may, by majority vote, nominate up to 4 non-voting members for appointment by the Governor. Non-voting

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

1 members shall be persons of recognized ability and experience 2 in one or more of the following areas: economic development, 3 finance, banking, industrial development, small business 4 management, real estate development, community development, 5 venture finance, organized labor or civic, community or 6 neighborhood organization. Non-voting members shall serve at the pleasure of the Board. All non-voting members may attend 7 8 meetings of the Board and shall be reimbursed as provided in 9 subsection (c).

(g) The Board shall create a task force to study and make recommendations to the Board on the economic development of the territory within the jurisdiction of this Act. The members of the task force shall reside within the territorial jurisdiction of this Act, shall serve at the pleasure of the Board and shall be persons of recognized ability and experience in one or more following areas: economic development, of the finance, banking, industrial development, small business management, estate development, community development, finance, organized labor or civic, community or neighborhood organization. The number of members constituting the task force shall be set by the Board and may vary from time to time. The Board may set a specific date by which the task force is to submit its final report and recommendations to the Board.

24 (Source: P.A. 94-793, eff. 5-19-06.)".