Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

 Bill Status of SB2433  100th General Assembly


Senate Sponsors
Sen. Jacqueline Y. Collins - Wm. Sam McCann - Napoleon Harris, III - Kimberly A. Lightford - Iris Y. Martinez, Cristina Castro, Linda Holmes, Daniel Biss, Laura M. Murphy, Bill Cunningham, Melinda Bush, Toi W. Hutchinson, Patricia Van Pelt, Omar Aquino, Emil Jones, III, Andy Manar, Scott M. Bennett, Mattie Hunter, James F. Clayborne, Jr. and William R. Haine

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/30/2018SenateReferred to Assignments

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
205 ILCS 405/1from Ch. 17, par. 4802
205 ILCS 405/19.3from Ch. 17, par. 4838

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Currency Exchange Act. Defines "government assistance check", "government check", "payroll check", "printed", and "protected class". Provides additional considerations by the Secretary of Financial and Professional Regulation for determining the maximum rate schedules that can be charged for check cashing and writing of money orders by community currency exchanges and ambulatory currency exchanges. Provides that the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation's authority to establish rate schedules for check cashing is subject to specified rate caps. Makes other changes. Effective June 1, 2019.

DateChamber Action
  1/30/2018SenateFiled with Secretary by Sen. Jacqueline Y. Collins
  1/30/2018SenateFirst Reading
  1/30/2018SenateReferred to Assignments
  2/6/2018SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Napoleon Harris, III
  2/6/2018SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Kimberly A. Lightford
  2/7/2018SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Iris Y. Martinez
  2/7/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Cristina Castro
  2/8/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Linda Holmes
  2/9/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Daniel Biss
  2/13/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Laura M. Murphy
  2/13/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Bill Cunningham
  2/13/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Melinda Bush
  2/13/2018SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Mattie Hunter
  2/14/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Toi W. Hutchinson
  2/15/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Patricia Van Pelt
  2/20/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Omar Aquino
  2/21/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Emil Jones, III
  2/21/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Andy Manar
  2/21/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Scott M. Bennett
  2/21/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Mattie Hunter
  2/21/2018SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Wm. Sam McCann
  2/21/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. James F. Clayborne, Jr.
  2/21/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. William R. Haine

Back To Top