Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

 Bill Status of HB4243  100th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. David McSweeney - Allen Skillicorn - Martin J. Moylan - Carol Ammons, Jonathan Carroll, Sue Scherer, John Connor, Katie Stuart, Deb Conroy, Sam Yingling, Michael Halpin, Monica Bristow, Natalie Phelps Finnie, Jerry Costello, II, David S. Olsen, Grant Wehrli, Margo McDermed, John C. D'Amico, Stephanie A. Kifowit, Kathleen Willis, Frances Ann Hurley and Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.

Senate Sponsors
(Sen. Thomas Cullerton - Melinda Bush - Julie A. Morrison)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  4/12/2018SenateReferred to Assignments

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
25 ILCS 115/5 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the General Assembly Compensation Act. Provides that no public funds, including, but not limited to, funds appropriated for the pay and allowances of members of the General Assembly, shall be used to create a payout of money to any person involved with and relevant to allegations and investigations of sexual harassment by a member of the General Assembly. Makes conforming changes. Effective immediately.

House Committee Amendment No. 1
Replaces everything after the enacting clause. Re-inserts and modifies provisions concerning prohibition of sexual harassment payoffs. Provides that notwithstanding any other provision of law, no public funds, including, but not limited to, funds appropriated for General Assembly member office allowances, shall be paid to any person in exchange for his or her silence or inaction related to an allegation or investigation of sexual harassment committed or allegedly committed by a member of the General Assembly.

DateChamber Action
  1/12/2018HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. David McSweeney
  1/16/2018HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Allen Skillicorn
  1/16/2018HouseFirst Reading
  1/16/2018HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  1/19/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan Carroll
  1/22/2018HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin J. Moylan
  1/22/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sue Scherer
  1/22/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John Connor
  1/22/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
  1/22/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Deb Conroy
  1/22/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sam Yingling
  1/24/2018HouseAssigned to Executive Committee
  1/26/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Halpin
  1/26/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Monica Bristow
  1/26/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Natalie Phelps Finnie
  1/26/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jerry Costello, II
  2/1/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David S. Olsen
  2/26/2018HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Filed with Clerk by Rep. David McSweeney
  2/26/2018HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Referred to Rules Committee
  2/27/2018HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Rules Refers to Executive Committee
  3/7/2018HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Adopted in Executive Committee; 010-000-000
  3/7/2018HouseDo Pass as Amended / Short Debate Executive Committee; 010-000-000
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Grant Wehrli
  3/7/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Margo McDermed
  3/8/2018HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  4/3/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John C. D'Amico
  4/3/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Stephanie A. Kifowit
  4/10/2018HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  4/10/2018HousePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading - Short Debate
  4/10/2018HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Carol Ammons
  4/11/2018HouseThird Reading - Short Debate - Passed 113-000-000
  4/11/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen Willis
  4/11/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Frances Ann Hurley
  4/11/2018HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.
  4/12/2018SenateArrive in Senate
  4/12/2018SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of First Reading
  4/12/2018SenateChief Senate Sponsor Sen. Thomas Cullerton
  4/12/2018SenateFirst Reading
  4/12/2018SenateReferred to Assignments
  4/12/2018SenateAdded as Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Melinda Bush
  4/20/2018SenateAdded as Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Julie A. Morrison

Back To Top