Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

 Bill Status of SB3100  100th General Assembly


Senate Sponsors
Sen. Jennifer Bertino-Tarrant - Michael Connelly - Thomas Cullerton, John G. Mulroe, Bill Cunningham, Dale Fowler, Tom Rooney, Paul Schimpf, John F. Curran, Sue Rezin, Pamela J. Althoff, Karen McConnaughay, Neil Anderson, Martin A. Sandoval, Steven M. Landek and Napoleon Harris, III

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  2/27/2018SenateAssigned to Labor

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
820 ILCS 112/10
820 ILCS 112/13 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Equal Pay Act of 2003. Prohibits an employer from requiring an employee to sign a nondisclosure agreement regarding the employee's salary, from seeking the salary history of a prospective employee, and from requiring that a prospective employee's salary history meet any specified criteria. Provides for employers to establish a self-evaluation plan of the employer's pay practices. Sets forth permissible components of a self-evaluation plan. Requires the self-evaluation plan to be submitted to the Department of Labor for verification. Provides that an employer that has completed a self-evaluation plan that has been verified by the Department of Labor has an affirmative defense to liability for certain alleged violations of the Act. Provides that an employer that does not have a verified self-evaluation plan may be subject to civil penalties for violations of the Act.

DateChamber Action
  2/15/2018SenateFiled with Secretary by Sen. Jennifer Bertino-Tarrant
  2/15/2018SenateFirst Reading
  2/15/2018SenateReferred to Assignments
  2/21/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. John G. Mulroe
  2/22/2018SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Michael Connelly
  2/22/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Bill Cunningham
  2/27/2018SenateAssigned to Labor
  2/28/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Dale Fowler
  2/28/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Tom Rooney
  2/28/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Paul Schimpf
  2/28/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. John F. Curran
  2/28/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Sue Rezin
  2/28/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Pamela J. Althoff
  2/28/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Karen McConnaughay
  2/28/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Neil Anderson
  2/28/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Martin A. Sandoval
  2/28/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Steven M. Landek
  3/1/2018SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Napoleon Harris, III
  4/10/2018SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Thomas Cullerton
  4/13/2018SenateRule 2-10 Committee Deadline Established As April 27, 2018

Back To Top