Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

 Bill Status of SB1739  100th General Assembly


Senate Sponsors
Sen. Kimberly A. Lightford - Andy Manar - Patricia Van Pelt, Laura M. Murphy, Donne E. Trotter and Mattie Hunter

House Sponsors
(Rep. La Shawn K. Ford )

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  4/27/2017HouseReferred to Rules Committee

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
110 ILCS 947/50

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Higher Education Student Assistance Act. Provides that a student who is already licensed to teach and is enrolled in a course of study leading to an additional teaching endorsement or a master's degree in an academic field in which he or she is teaching or plans to teach may participate in the Minority Teachers of Illinois scholarship program (rather than limiting the program to undergraduate students). Makes a conforming change. Effective June 1, 2018.

DateChamber Action
  2/9/2017SenateFiled with Secretary by Sen. Kimberly A. Lightford
  2/9/2017SenateFirst Reading
  2/9/2017SenateReferred to Assignments
  2/28/2017SenateAssigned to Education
  3/8/2017SenatePostponed - Education
  3/15/2017SenateDo Pass Education; 012-000-000
  3/15/2017SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 2nd Reading March 16, 2017
  3/15/2017SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Andy Manar
  4/6/2017SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Patricia Van Pelt
  4/6/2017SenateSecond Reading
  4/6/2017SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading April 25, 2017
  4/27/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Laura M. Murphy
  4/27/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Donne E. Trotter
  4/27/2017SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Mattie Hunter
  4/27/2017SenateThird Reading - Passed; 056-000-000
  4/27/2017HouseArrived in House
  4/27/2017HouseChief House Sponsor Rep. La Shawn K. Ford
  4/27/2017HouseFirst Reading
  4/27/2017HouseReferred to Rules Committee

Back To Top