(20 ILCS 2330/5.1) (was 20 ILCS 710/5.1)
    Sec. 5.1. Commission. The Commission is established to encourage community service and volunteer participation as a means of community and State problem-solving; to promote and support voluntary resident involvement in government and private programs throughout the State; to develop a long-term, comprehensive vision and plan of action for national volunteerism and community service initiatives in Illinois; and to serve as the State's liaison to national and State organizations that support its mission.
    The Commission shall consist of 15 to 25 bipartisan voting members and up to 15 bipartisan nonvoting members. At least 25% of the members must be from the City of Chicago.
    The Governor shall appoint up to 25 voting members and up to 15 nonvoting members. Of those initial 25 voting members, 10 shall serve for 3 years, 8 shall serve for 2 years, and 7 shall serve for one year. Voting members appointed by the Governor shall include at least the following: an expert in the education, training, and development needs of youth; an expert in philanthropy; a representative of labor organizations; a representative of business; a representative of community-based organizations; the State Superintendent of Education; a youth between 16 and 25 years old who is a participant or supervisor in a community service program; an expert in older adult volunteerism; a representative of persons with disabilities; a representative of local government; and a representative of a national service program. A representative of the federal Corporation for National Service shall be appointed as a nonvoting member.
    Appointing authorities shall ensure, to the maximum extent practicable, that the Commission is diverse with respect to race, ethnicity, age, gender, geography, and disability. Not more than 50% of the Commission appointed by the Governor may be from the same political party.
    Subsequent voting members of the Commission shall serve 3-year terms. Commissioners must be allowed to serve until new commissioners are appointed in order to maintain the federally required number of commissioners.
    Each nonvoting member shall serve at the pleasure of the Governor.
    Members of the Commission may not serve more than 3 consecutive terms. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointments and any member so appointed shall serve during the remainder of the term for which the vacancy occurred. The members shall not receive any compensation but shall be reimbursed for necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their duties.
(Source: P.A. 98-692, eff. 7-1-14.)