(70 ILCS 405/19) (from Ch. 5, par. 124)
    Sec. 19. Governing body of district. The governing body of the district shall consist of 5 directors, who shall be owners or occupiers of lands within the district in which they serve.
    Five directors shall be elected before March 1 in the year 1948, three of whom shall serve until the first Monday of March, 1950, and the remaining two shall serve until the first Monday of March, 1949. Successive elections shall be held before March 1 of each year and each director so elected shall serve during the two-year period commencing with the first Monday in March of the year in which he was elected.
    Any vacancy in the office of director may be filled by appointment by the remaining directors. The person so appointed shall hold office until the next election at which a member of the governing board of the district is elected. At such election a person shall be elected to fill the vacancy, if there is sufficient time to meet the requirements for nomination. Otherwise, the person appointed to fill the vacancy shall hold office until the expiration of the term of the director whom he succeeded.
(Source: P.A. 76-110.)