(70 ILCS 405/4) (from Ch. 5, par. 109)
    Sec. 4. State soil and water conservation districts advisory board. The State Soil and Water Conservation Districts Advisory Board is created. The Board shall consist of 7 members. The Director of the Department and the Director of Agricultural Extension of the College of Agriculture of the University of Illinois shall serve, ex officiis, as members of the Board. The other 5 members shall be appointed by the Governor by and with the advice and consent of the Senate and shall be individuals who are the owners and active operators of farm lands in this State and who have been engaged in farming in this State for at least 5 years next preceding their appointment, consideration having been given to geographical location and to soil and water conservation district experience. In case of any vacancy in such appointive office during the recess of the Senate, the Governor shall make a temporary appointment until action at the next meeting of the Senate, when he shall nominate some person to fill such office; and any person so nominated who is confirmed by the Senate shall hold his office during the remainder of the term and until his successor is appointed and qualified. If the Senate is not in session at the time this amendatory Act takes effect, the Governor shall make temporary appointments as in the case of a vacancy. The appointed members of the State Soil and Water Conservation Districts Advisory Board shall serve for a period of 4 years, beginning on the third Monday in January of the odd-numbered years in which they are appointed, and until their successors are appointed and qualified. The board may invite the Secretary of Agriculture of the United States of America to appoint one person to serve with the above mentioned members in an advisory capacity.
    The Board may consult and advise with the qualified persons necessary with regard to the erosion and sediment control provisions of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 80-159.)