(225 ILCS 120/55)
(from Ch. 111, par. 8301-55)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2023)
(a) The Department may refuse to issue, restore, or renew, or may revoke,
suspend, place on probation, reprimand or take other disciplinary or non-disciplinary action as
the Department may deem appropriate, including imposing fines not to exceed $10,000 for each violation, with regard to any applicant or licensee or any officer, director, manager, or shareholder who owns 5% or more interest in the business that holds the license for any one or a combination of the following reasons:
(1) Violation of this Act or of the rules adopted
(2) Aiding or assisting another person in violating
any provision of this Act or the rules adopted under this Act.
(3) Failing, within 60 days, to provide information
in response to a written requirement made by the Department.
(4) Engaging in dishonorable, unethical, or
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public. This includes violations of "good faith" as defined by the Illinois Controlled Substances Act and applies to all prescription drugs.
(5) Discipline by another U.S. jurisdiction or
foreign nation, if at least one of the grounds for the discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to those set forth in this Act.
(6) Selling or engaging in the sale of drug samples
provided at no cost by drug manufacturers.
(7) Conviction by plea of guilty or nolo contendere,
finding of guilt, jury verdict, or entry of judgment or by sentencing of any crime, including, but not limited to, convictions, preceding sentences of supervision, conditional discharge, or first offender probation, under the laws of any jurisdiction of the United States that is (i) a felony or (ii) a misdemeanor, an essential element of which is dishonesty or that is directly related to the practice of this profession.
(8) Habitual or excessive use or addiction to
alcohol, narcotics, stimulants, or any other chemical agent or drug by the designated representative, as provided for in item (7) of subsection (b) of Section 25 of this Act, any officer, or director that results in the inability to function with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety.
(9) Material misstatement in furnishing information
(10) A finding by the Department that the licensee,
after having his or her license placed on probationary status, has violated the terms of probation.
(11) Fraud or misrepresentation in applying for, or
procuring, a license under this Act or in connection with applying for renewal of a license under this Act.
(12) Willfully making or filing false records or
(13) A finding of a substantial discrepancy in a
Department audit of a prescription drug, including a controlled substance as that term is defined in this Act or in the Illinois Controlled Substances Act.
(14) Falsifying a pedigree or selling, distributing,
transferring, manufacturing, repackaging, handling, or holding a counterfeit prescription drug intended for human use.
(15) Interfering with a Department investigation.
(16) Failing to adequately secure controlled
substances or other prescription drugs from diversion.
(17) Acquiring or distributing prescription drugs not
obtained from a source licensed by the Department.
(18) Failing to properly store drugs.
(19) Failing to maintain the licensed premises with
proper storage and security controls.
(b) The Department may refuse to issue or may suspend the license or
registration of any person who fails to file a return, or to pay the tax,
penalty or interest shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment
of tax, penalty or interest, as required by any tax Act administered by the
Illinois Department of Revenue, until the time the requirements of
the tax Act are satisfied.
(c) The Department shall revoke the license or certificate of
registration issued under this Act or any prior Act of
this State of any person who has been convicted a second time of committing
any felony under the Illinois Controlled Substances Act or the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act
has been convicted a second time of committing a Class 1 felony under
Sections 8A-3 and 8A-6 of the Illinois Public Aid Code. A
person whose license or certificate of registration issued under
this Act or any prior Act of this State is revoked under this
subsection (c) shall be prohibited from engaging in the practice of
pharmacy in this State.
(Source: P.A. 97-804, eff. 1-1-13; 97-813, eff. 7-13-12; 98-463, eff. 8-16-13.)