(225 ILCS 305/12) (from Ch. 111, par. 1312)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2020)
    Sec. 12. Examinations; subjects; failure or refusal to take examination. The Department shall authorize examination of applicants as architects at such times and places as it may determine. The examination shall be in English and shall be written or written and graphic. It shall include at a minimum the following subjects:
        (a) pre-design (environmental analysis, architectural
programming, and application of principles of project management and coordination);
        (b) site planning (site analysis, design and
development, parking, and application of zoning requirements);
        (c) building planning (conceptual planning of
functional and space relationships, building design, interior space layout, barrier-free design, and the application of the life safety code requirements and principles of energy efficient design);
        (d) building technology (application of structural
systems, building components, and mechanical and electrical systems);
        (e) general structures (identification, resolution,
and incorporation of structural systems and the long span design on the technical aspects of the design of buildings and the process and construction);
        (f) lateral forces (identification and resolution of
the effects of lateral forces on the technical aspects of the design of buildings and the process of construction);
        (g) mechanical and electrical systems (as applied to
the design of buildings, including plumbing and acoustical systems);
        (h) materials and methods (as related to the design
of buildings and the technical aspects of construction); and
        (i) construction documents and services (conduct of
architectural practice as it relates to construction documents, bidding, and construction administration and contractual documents from beginning to end of a building project).
    It shall be the responsibility of the applicant to be familiar with this Act and its rules.
    Examination subject matter headings and bases on which examinations are graded shall be indicated in rules pertaining to this Act. The Department may adopt the examinations and grading procedures of the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards. Content of any particular examination shall not be considered public record under the Freedom of Information Act.
    If an applicant neglects without an approved excuse or refuses to take the next available examination offered for licensure under this Act, the fee paid by the applicant shall be forfeited. If an applicant fails to pass an examination for licensure under this Act within 3 years after filing an application, the application shall be denied. The applicant may, however, make a new application for examination accompanied by the required fee and must furnish proof of meeting the qualifications for examination in effect at the time of the new application.
    An applicant shall have 5 years from the passage of the first examination to successfully complete all examinations required by rule of the Department.
    The Department may by rule prescribe additional subjects for examination.
    An applicant has one year from the date of notification of successful completion of all the examination and experience requirements to apply to the Department for a license. If an applicant fails to apply within one year, the applicant shall be required to again take and pass the examination, unless the Department, upon recommendation of the Board, determines that there is sufficient cause for the delay that is not due to the fault of the applicant.
(Source: P.A. 98-976, eff. 8-15-14.)