Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 90/1.2

    (225 ILCS 90/1.2)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 1.2. Physical therapy services.
    (a) A physical therapist may provide physical therapy services to a patient with or without a referral from a health care professional.
    (b) A physical therapist providing services without a referral from a health care professional must notify the patient's treating health care professional within 5 business days after the patient's first visit that the patient is receiving physical therapy. This does not apply to physical therapy services related to fitness or wellness, unless the patient presents with an ailment or injury.
    (c) A physical therapist shall refer a patient to the patient's treating health care professional of record or, in the case where there is no health care professional of record, to a health care professional of the patient's choice, if:
        (1) the patient does not demonstrate measurable or
    
functional improvement after 10 visits or 15 business days, whichever occurs first, and continued improvement thereafter;
        (2) the patient returns for services for the same
    
or similar condition after 30 calendar days of being discharged by the physical therapist; or
        (3) the patient's condition, at the time of
    
evaluation or services, is determined to be beyond the scope of practice of the physical therapist.
    (d) Wound debridement services may only be provided by a physical therapist with written authorization from a health care professional.
    (e) A physical therapist shall promptly consult and collaborate with the appropriate health care professional anytime a patient's condition indicates that it may be related to temporomandibular disorder so that a diagnosis can be made by that health care professional for an appropriate treatment plan.
(Source: P.A. 100-897, eff. 8-16-18.)