Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
520 ILCS 5/3.16
(520 ILCS 5/3.16)
(from Ch. 61, par. 3.16)
Fur tanner permits.
Any individual, who for other individuals, engages in the
business of dressing, dyeing or tanning the green hides of fur-bearing mammals, protected by this Act,
shall be a fur tanner in the meaning of this Act.
Before any individual shall engage in the business of dressing, dyeing, or
tanning green hides of fur-bearing mammals, for any other individual,
he or she shall first procure a fur tanner permit. Fur tanner permits
shall be issued by the Department.
The annual fee for each fur tanner's permit shall be $25.00.
All fur tanner
permits shall expire on March 31st of each year. Any fur tanner who receives
or collects green hides shall require an affidavit from the shipper or consignor,
stating that said green hides were taken according to regulations of the
state where they were taken, a certificate of purchase as provided for in
Section 3.14 or an invoice as provided for in Section 3.15. The
affidavit, certificate of purchase, or invoice shall show the name and address
of the individual from whom the green hides were received or
collected and the
records shall be kept by the fur tanner for a minimum period of one year
following the date of receipt or collection. The affidavit, certificate
of purchase, or invoice shall be immediately presented for inspection to
officers and authorized employees of the Department, any sheriff, deputy
sheriff, or any other peace officer upon request. Failure
to produce such affidavit, certificate of purchase, or invoice shall be
prima facie evidence that such green hides are contraband within this State. Upon receipt by the fur tanner of any green hide not accompanied
by an affidavit, certificate of purchase or invoice, the fur tanner shall
notify the shipper or consignor in writing of the requirement. The fur
tanner shall then hold green hides until an affidavit, certificate of purchase,
or invoice is received. The green hides shall be labeled with the name
and address of the shipper or consignor, date of receipt, and the date
was sent to the shipper or consignor. If the shipper or consignor shall
fail to furnish the affidavit, certificate of purchase, or invoice within
30 days from the date of receipt of the green hides, the fur tanner shall
notify the Department and green hides shall be disposed of in accordance
with instructions from the Department. Additional Federal regulations may
apply to the hides of certain endangered species.
(Source: P.A. 100-123, eff. 1-1-18