Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
720 ILCS 675/1.5
(720 ILCS 675/1.5)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on July 1, 2019)
Distribution of alternative nicotine products to persons under 18 years of age prohibited.
(a) For the purposes of this Section, "alternative nicotine product" means a product or device not consisting of or containing tobacco that provides for the ingestion into the body of nicotine, whether by chewing, smoking, absorbing, dissolving, inhaling, snorting, sniffing, or by any other means. "Alternative nicotine product" excludes cigarettes, smokeless tobacco, or other tobacco products as these terms are defined in Section 1 of this Act and any product approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration as a non-tobacco product for sale as a tobacco cessation product, as a tobacco dependence product, or for other medical purposes, and is being marketed and sold solely for that approved purpose.
(b) A person, either directly or indirectly by an agent or employee, or by a vending machine
owned by the person or located in the person's establishment, may not sell, offer for sale, give,
or furnish any alternative nicotine product, or any cartridge or component of an alternative nicotine product, to a person under 18 years of age.
(c) Before selling, offering for sale, giving, or furnishing an alternative nicotine product, or any cartridge
or component of an alternative nicotine product, to another person, the person selling, offering for sale, giving, or furnishing the alternative nicotine product shall verify that the
person is at least 18 years of age by:
(1) examining from any person that appears to be
under 27 years of age a government-issued photographic identification that establishes the person is at least 18 years of age or
(2) for sales made through the Internet or other
remote sales methods, performing an age verification through an independent, third-party age verification service that compares information available from public records to the personal information entered by the person during the ordering process that establishes the person is 18 years of age or older.
(d) A person under 18 years of age shall not possess an alternative nicotine product.
(Source: P.A. 100-201, eff. 8-18-17. Repealed by P.A. 101-2, eff. 7-1-19.)