Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

SCHOOLS
(105 ILCS 5/) School Code.

105 ILCS 5/Art. 28

 
    (105 ILCS 5/Art. 28 heading)
ARTICLE 28. INSTRUCTIONAL MATERIALS

105 ILCS 5/28-1

    (105 ILCS 5/28-1) (from Ch. 122, par. 28-1)
    Sec. 28-1. Copies and prices filed - Bond. No person shall offer any school instructional materials for adoption, sale or exchange in the State until he has complied with the following conditions:
    1. He shall file with the State Board of Education, annually, by July 15, a sworn statement of the usual list price, the lowest net wholesale price, and the lowest net exchange price at which the material is sold or exchanged for old material on the same subject of like grade and kind but of a different series taken in part payment thereof.
    2. He shall file with the State Board of Education a bond payable to the People of the State of Illinois with a surety company authorized to do business in the State of Illinois as surety thereon, in a penal sum to be determined by the State Board of Education, not less than $2000 nor more than $10,000 conditioned as follows:
    (a) That he will furnish annually any of the materials listed in any annual statement filed by him to any school district and any school corporation in this State at the lowest net prices contained in the statements and that he will maintain said prices uniformly throughout the State.
    (b) That he will reduce such net prices in Illinois whenever they are reduced elsewhere in the United States, and that he will file with the State Board of Education a sworn statement of reductions made elsewhere, so that at no time shall any instructional material so filed and listed by him be sold in this State at a higher net price than is received for such material elsewhere in the United States.
    (c) He shall not enter into any understanding, agreement or combination to control the prices or to restrict competition in the sale of instructional materials.
(Source: P.A. 81-1508.)

105 ILCS 5/28-2

    (105 ILCS 5/28-2) (from Ch. 122, par. 28-2)
    Sec. 28-2. Approval of bond-Duration. The bond required by Section 28-1 shall be approved by the Attorney General and shall continue in force for 5 years after its filing, at or before the expiration of which period a new bond shall be given or the right to continue business within the State shall be forfeited.
(Source: Laws 1961, p. 31.)

105 ILCS 5/28-3

    (105 ILCS 5/28-3)
    Sec. 28-3. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 81-1508. Repealed by P.A. 94-1105, eff. 6-1-07.)

105 ILCS 5/28-4

    (105 ILCS 5/28-4) (from Ch. 122, par. 28-4)
    Sec. 28-4. Notice of violations - Proceedings for forfeiture of bond. The school board of each district wherein the instructional materials listed under the provisions of this Article have been adopted shall notify the State Board of Education of any violation of any of the conditions contained in said bond. The State Board of Education shall thereupon notify the person guilty of the violation and if such person disregards the notification and fails to comply with the requirements of the contract the State Board of Education shall institute legal proceedings for the forfeiture of the bond.
(Source: P.A. 81-1508.)