Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

PROFESSIONS, OCCUPATIONS, AND BUSINESS OPERATIONS
(225 ILCS 410/) Barber, Cosmetology, Esthetics, Hair Braiding, and Nail Technology Act of 1985.

225 ILCS 410/Art. IIIC

 
    (225 ILCS 410/Art. IIIC heading)
ARTICLE IIIC. NAIL TECHNICIANS

225 ILCS 410/3C-1

    (225 ILCS 410/3C-1) (from Ch. 111, par. 1703C-1)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 3C-1. Definitions. "Nail technician" means any person who for compensation manicures, pedicures, or decorates nails, applies artificial applications by hand or with mechanical or electrical apparatus or appliances, or in any way beautifies the nails or the skin of the hands or feet including massaging the hands, arms, elbows, feet, lower legs, and knees of another person for other than the treatment of medical disorders.
    However, nail technicians are prohibited from using techniques, products, and practices intended to affect the living layers of the skin. The term nail technician includes rendering advice on what is cosmetically appealing, but no person licensed under this Act shall render advice on what is appropriate medical treatment for diseases of the nails or skin.
    "Nail technician teacher" means an individual licensed by the Department to provide instruction in the theory and practice of nail technology to students in an approved nail technology school.
(Source: P.A. 98-911, eff. 1-1-15.)

225 ILCS 410/3C-2

    (225 ILCS 410/3C-2) (from Ch. 111, par. 1703C-2)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 3C-2. License; qualifications. A person is qualified to receive a license as a nail technician if that person applies in writing on forms provided by the Department, pays the required fee, and:
        (a) Is at least 16 years of age;
        (b) Is beyond the age of compulsory school attendance
    
or has a certificate of graduation from a school providing secondary education or the recognized equivalent of that certificate;
        (c) Has graduated from a school of cosmetology or
    
school of nail technology approved by the Department, having completed a program of 350 hours in the study of nail technology extending over a period of not less than 8 weeks nor more than 2 consecutive years;
        (d) Has passed an examination authorized by the
    
Department to determine eligibility to receive a license as a nail technician; and
        (e) Has met any other requirements of this Act.
    Time spent in the study of nail technology under the laws of another state or territory of the United States, or of a foreign country or province, shall be credited toward the period of study required by the provisions of subsection (c).
(Source: P.A. 94-451, eff. 12-31-05.)

225 ILCS 410/3C-3

    (225 ILCS 410/3C-3) (from Ch. 111, par. 1703C-3)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 3C-3. Licensure as a nail technology teacher; qualifications.
    (a) A person is qualified to receive a license as a nail technology teacher if that person has filed an application on forms provided by the Department, paid the required fee, and:
        (1) is at least 18 years of age;
        (2) has graduated from high school or its equivalent;
        (3) has a current license as a cosmetologist or nail
    
technician;
        (4) has either: (1) completed a program of 500 hours
    
of teacher training in a licensed school of nail technology or cosmetology, and had 2 years of practical experience as a nail technician; or (2) has completed a program of 625 hours of teacher training in a licensed school of cosmetology approved to teach nail technology or school of nail technology; and
        (5) who has passed an examination authorized by the
    
Department to determine eligibility to receive a license as a cosmetology or nail technology teacher.
    (b) An applicant who receives a license as a nail technology teacher shall not be required to maintain a license as a nail technician.
(Source: P.A. 98-911, eff. 1-1-15.)

225 ILCS 410/3C-4

    (225 ILCS 410/3C-4)
    Sec. 3C-4. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 90-602, eff. 1-1-99. Repealed by P.A. 94-451, eff. 12-31-05.)

225 ILCS 410/3C-5

    (225 ILCS 410/3C-5)
    Sec. 3C-5. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 91-357, eff. 7-29-99. Repealed by P.A. 94-451, eff. 12-31-05.)

225 ILCS 410/3C-6

    (225 ILCS 410/3C-6) (from Ch. 111, par. 1703C-6)
    Sec. 3C-6. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 87-786. Repealed by P.A. 89-387, eff. 1-1-96.)

225 ILCS 410/3C-7

    (225 ILCS 410/3C-7) (from Ch. 111, par. 1703C-7)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 3C-7. Examinations; failure or refusal to take examination. The Department shall authorize examinations of applicants for licenses as nail technicians and teachers of nail technology at the times and places as it may determine.
    The Department shall authorize not less than 4 examinations for licenses as nail technicians, and nail technology teachers in a calendar year.
    If an applicant neglects, fails without an approved excuse, or refuses to take the next available examination offered for licensure under this Act, the fee paid by the applicant shall be forfeited to the Department and the application denied. If an applicant fails to pass an examination for licensure under this Act within 3 years after filing an application, the application shall be denied. Nevertheless, the applicant may thereafter make a new application for examination, accompanied by the required fee, if he or she meets the requirements in effect at the time of reapplication. If an applicant for licensure as a nail technician or nail technology teacher is unsuccessful at 3 examinations conducted by the Department, the applicant shall, before taking a subsequent examination, furnish evidence of successfully completing (i) for a nail technician, not less than 60 hours of additional study of nail technology in a licensed school of cosmetology approved to teach nail technology or nail technology and (ii) for a nail technology teacher, not less than 80 hours of additional study in teaching methodology and educational psychology in an approved school of cosmetology or nail technology since the applicant last took the examination.
    An applicant who fails the fourth examination shall not again be admitted to an examination unless: (i) in the case of an applicant for a license as a nail technician, the applicant again takes and completes a total of 350 hours in the study of nail technology in an approved school of cosmetology or nail technology extending over a period that commences after the applicant fails to pass the fourth examination and that is not less than 8 weeks nor more than 2 consecutive years in duration; or (ii) in the case of an applicant for licensure as a nail technology teacher, the applicant again takes and completes a program of 625 hours of teacher training in a licensed school of cosmetology, or nail technology, except that if the applicant had 2 years of practical experience as a licensed nail technician within 5 years preceding the initial examination taken by the applicant, the applicant must again take and complete a program of 500 hours of teacher training in a licensed school of cosmetology approved to teach nail technology, or a licensed school of nail technology.
    Each applicant for licensure as a nail technician shall be given a written examination testing both theoretical and practical knowledge, which shall include, but not be limited to, questions that determine the applicant's knowledge of product chemistry, sanitary rules, sanitary procedures, hazardous chemicals and exposure minimization, this Act, and labor and compensation laws.
    The examination for licensure as a nail technology teacher may include knowledge of the subject matter, teaching methodology, classroom management, record keeping, and any other subjects that the Department in its discretion may deem necessary to insure competent performance.
    This Act does not prohibit the practice of nail technology by a person who has applied in writing to the Department, in form and substance satisfactory to the Department, for a license as a nail technician, or the teaching of nail technology by one who has applied in writing to the Department, in form and substance satisfactory to the Department, for a license as a nail technology teacher, if the person has complied with all the provisions of this Act in order to qualify for a license, except the passing of an examination to be eligible to receive a license, until: (a) the expiration of 6 months after the filing of the written application, or (b) the decision of the Department that the applicant has failed to pass an examination within 6 months or failed without an approved excuse to take an examination conducted within 6 months by the Department, or (c) the withdrawal of the application.
(Source: P.A. 98-911, eff. 1-1-15.)

225 ILCS 410/3C-8

    (225 ILCS 410/3C-8) (from Ch. 111, par. 1703C-8)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 3C-8. License renewal; expiration; continuing education; persons in military service. The holder of a license issued under this Article may renew that license during the month preceding the expiration date of the license by paying the required fee and giving evidence, as the Department may prescribe, of completing not less than 10 hours of continuing education for a nail technician and 20 hours of continuing education for a nail technology teacher, within the 2 years prior to renewal. The continuing education shall be in subjects approved by the Department upon recommendation of the Barber, Cosmetology, Esthetics, Hair Braiding, and Nail Technology Board relating to the practice of nail technology, including, but not limited to, review of sanitary procedures, review of chemical service procedures, review of this Act, and review of the Workers' Compensation Act. However, at least 10 of the hours of continuing education required for a nail technology teacher shall be in subjects relating to teaching methodology, educational psychology, and classroom management or in other subjects related to teaching.
    For the initial renewal of a nail technician's license which requires continuing education, as prescribed by rule, one hour of the continuing education shall include domestic violence and sexual assault awareness education as prescribed by rule of the Department. For every subsequent renewal of a nail technician's license, one hour of the continuing education may include domestic violence and sexual assault awareness education as prescribed by rule of the Department. The one-hour domestic violence and sexual assault awareness continuing education course shall be provided by a continuing education provider approved by the Department, except that completion from March 12, 2016 to March 15, 2016 of a one-hour domestic violence and sexual assault awareness course from a domestic violence and sexual assault awareness organization shall satisfy this requirement.
    The Department may prescribe rules regarding the requirements for domestic violence and sexual assault awareness continuing education courses and teachers.
    The Department, in its discretion, may waive enforcement of the continuing education requirement in this Section, including the domestic violence and sexual assault awareness education requirement, and shall adopt rules defining the standards and criteria for such waiver, under the following circumstances:
        (a) the licensee resides in a locality where it is
    
demonstrated that the absence of opportunities for such education would interfere with the ability of the licensee to provide service to the public;
        (b) the licensee's compliance with the continuing
    
education requirements would cause a substantial financial hardship on the licensee;
        (c) the licensee is serving in the United States
    
Armed Forces; or
        (d) the licensee is incapacitated due to illness.
(Source: P.A. 98-911, eff. 1-1-15; 99-427, eff. 8-21-15; 99-766, eff. 1-1-17.)

225 ILCS 410/3C-9

    (225 ILCS 410/3C-9)
    Sec. 3C-9. (Repealed).
(Source: P.A. 98-911, eff. 1-1-15. Repealed by P.A. 99-427, eff. 8-21-15.)

225 ILCS 410/3C-10

    (225 ILCS 410/3C-10)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 3C-10. Inactive status. Any nail technician or nail technology teacher who notifies the Department in writing on forms prescribed by the Department may elect to place his or her license on inactive status and shall, subject to rules of the Department, be excused from payment of renewal fees until he or she notifies the Department in writing of his or her desire to resume active status.
    Any nail technician or nail technology teacher requesting restoration from inactive status shall be required to pay the current renewal fee and to qualify for the restoration of his or her license, subject to rules of the Department. A license shall not be restored from inactive status unless the nail technician or nail technology teacher requesting the restoration completes the number of hours of continuing education required for renewal of a license under Section 3C-8.
    Any nail technician or nail technology teacher whose license is in inactive status shall not practice in the State of Illinois.
(Source: P.A. 99-427, eff. 8-21-15.)