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PENALTIES FOR DUI

asked for information on Illinois
penalties for DUI. We summarize below major administrative
and criminal penalties for DUI. It would not be possible to
describe all potential legal consequences of DUI without writ-
ing a much longer report. Please note also that a 2007 act
taking effect July 1 of this year will rewrite the main sec-

- tion of the Vehicle Code on DUI; and another 2007 law taking
effect next January 1 will make other changes, including in-
creasing mandatory license suspension periods for refusing to
take or failing a blood alcohol test. We describe below major
changes that those acts will make in current law.

Administrative Suspension of License

The Illinois Vehicle Code authorizes the Secretary of State to
suspend the driver’s license of any driver arrested for DUI
who either fails a chemical test or refuses to be tested.

The suspension is automatic and separate from any criminal
penalties. Even if an offender requests a judicial hearing to
challenge the arrest, the suspension will take effect.

Refusal to be tested is to result in a mandatory suspension of
the driver’s license for 6 months the first time,? or 3 years
for a repeat refusal within 5 years.3 (Public Act 95-400, ef-
fective January 1, 2009, will double the mandatory suspension
for a first refusal to 12 months.) Any driver found by a test
to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of at least 0.08%
receives a mandatory suspension of 3 months the first time,

or 1 year for any additional time within 5 years.5 (Public
Act 95-400 will double the mandatory suspension for a first
failure of the test to 6 months effective January 1, 2009.)
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Suspension of License After Conviction

Anyone later convicted of DUI (which can be committed even
without having a BAC of at least 0.08%6) is to receive a
mandatory driver’s license_suspension lasting one of the
following lengths of time:

Number of DUI conviction Suspension (years)
1 1
2 (within 20 years) 5
3 10
4 or more Never restored

Judicial Driving Permits

After a first-time DUI offender’s arrest, the trial court can
order the Secretary of State to issue a judicial driving per-
mit (JDP) if necessary to relieve undue hardship.8 No JDP may
be issued until the 31st day of license suspension.9 A JDP
allows the offender to drive between home and worki or for
employment duties, and only during specific times.'® It also
can allow driving to get alcohol or drug counseling, or to
attend school, if the offender has no alternative transporta-
tion.!' (Public Act 95-400, effective next January 1, will
replace the term “judicial driving permit” with “monitoring
device driving permit” (MDDP) and make some changes in proce-
dures for their issuance and use. Use of MDDPs will not be
limited to particular kinds of destinations; but they will be
valid only in' vehicles equipped with breath alcohol interlock
devices.)

Criminal Penalties

Criminal penalties for DUI depend on the driver’s age and BAC;
whether the driver was transporting children while under the
influence; and whether the driver had any prior DUI convic-
tions. We summarize these penalties below. For more informa-
tion on penalties authorized for crimes under Illinois law, we
enclose a copy of our chart “Penalties for Crimes in I1li-
nois”.

The penalties for DUI in various situations are complex, and
constantly being made more so by statutory changes. The sum-
mary below describes the major provisions on this subject, but
the actual statutes must be consulted for exact details. Our
summary is based on Public Act 95-578, which completely re-
writes section 11-501 of the Illinois Vehicle Code effective
June 1, 2008, replacing several versions of that section that



resulted from amendments made to it in recent years. We note
any major changes that the new act makes in the currently ef-
fective versions of that section.

First Offense

Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or any other
drug(s) or intoxicating compound(s) that endanger safe driving
is a Class A misdemeanori punishable by up to 1 year in jail
and a fine up to $2,500. 2 (There is also a mandatory fine,
in addition to any other fine, of $500 for a first offense, or
$1,000 for a repeat offense, of which 20% goes to the arrest-
ingdp?%ice department and 80% to the state’s General Revenue
Fund.">)

Second Offense

A second DUI offense, if it occurs at least 5 years after the
first, is also a Class A misdemeanor. But if the second
offense occurs within 5 years after the previous DUI offense,
there is a mandatory minimum penalty of at least 5 days in
jail or at least 240 hours of community service.'? Under P.A.
95-758, a second offense will bring those mandatory conse-
guences whether or not it occurs within 5 years after the
first one.

Third Offense

A third DUI offense is a Class 2 felony,16 punishable by 3-7

years in prison or up to 4 years’ probation, and by a fine up
to $25,000. If the third DUI offense occurs within 5 years
after the second, there is a mandatory minimum penalty of at
least 10 days in jail or at least 480 hours of community serv-
ice.!” Under P.A. 95-578, the third DUI offense need not oc-
cur within 5 years_ after the second to bring those mandatory
minimum penalties.

Fourth Offense

A fourth DUI offense is also a Class 2 felony, for which the
driver is ineligible for probation or conditional discharge.

Fifth Offense
A fifth DUI offense is a Class 1 felony, punishable by 4-15

years in prison and a fine up to $25,000, for which the driver
is ineligible for probation or conditional discharge.



Sixth or Further Offense

A sixth or later DUI offense is a Class X felony,?' punishable

by 6-30 years in prison and a fine up to $25,000. Probation
is not allowed for any Class X felony.

DUI Causing Death

A DUI offense that is the proximate cause of another person’s
death is a Class 2 felony for which the convicted driver must
be sentenced to between 3 and 14 years in prison “unless the
court determines that extraordinary circumstances exist and
require probation."22

DUI While License is Revoked or Suspended for DUI

Committing DUI during a period of license suspension or revo-
cation that resulted from DUI or reckless homicide is a Class
4 felonyé punishable by 1-3 years in prison and a fine up to
$25,000. 3" A third DUI offense, if committed during a license
suspension or revocation that_was imposed for one of those
reasons, is a Class 3 felony,24 punishable by 2-5 years in
prison and a fine up to $25,000. A fourth or fifth DUI of-
fense, committed during a license suspension or revocation for
one of the reasons mentioned above, is a Class 2 felony.
(Public Act 95-578 will make a fifth offense a Class 1 felony
effective this July 1.26) Such a fourth or fifth offender is
ineligible for probation or conditional discharge.

DUI While Transporting a Child

Anyone 21 or older who commits DUI while transporting a person
under age 16 is subject to a sentence of 6 months in jail; a
mandatory minimum fine of $1,000; and 25 days of community
service in a program to benefit children.?®  If such a driver,
when committing DUI a first time, is involved in a crash caus-
ing bodily harm to the child under 16, and the DUI offense is
the proximate cause of the injury, it is a Class 4 felony with
an (apparently mandatory) sentence of at least 1 year in pris-
on, a mandatory fine of $2,500, and 25 days of community ser-
vice in a program to benefit children. The imprisonment and
assignment to community service cannot be suspended, and ?ro—
bation is not allowed in lieu of part of those sanctions. 9
Public Act 95-578 will not impose a mandatory minimum sentence
of 1 year, but will require the mandatory fine and community

service.

A second DUI offense, if committed by a person 21 or older
while transporting a person under 16, brings a mandatory mini-
mum of 6 months in jail, a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000,



and 140 hours of mandatory community service, including at
least 40 hours in a program to benefit children.®! If the
second DUI offense, committed by a person at least 21 while
transporting a person under 16, occurs within 10 years after
the person’s first DUI offense, it is a Class 4 felony result-
ing in a sentence (apparently mandatory) of 1 year in prison,
25 days of community service in a program to benefit children,
and a mandatory minimum fine of $2,500 in addition to any
other penalties.32 If the second DUI offense is committed
within 10 years after the person’s first DUI offense, and
while committing the second offense the driver, who is at
least 21, is involved in a crash causing bodily harm to the
child under 16, with the DUI offense being the proximate cause
of the injury, it is a Class 4 felony with an (apparently man-
datory) sentence of at least 11/, years in prison, a mandatory
fine of $5,000, and 25 days of community service in a program
to benefit children. The imprisonment and assignment to com-
munity service cannot be suspended, and probation is not al-
lowed in lieu of part of those sanctions.?® Public Act 95-578
will make a second DUI offense while transporting a person
under 16 a Class 2 felony regardless of how long it occurs
after a first offense, and require a $2,500 fine and at least
25 dags of community service in a program to benefit chil-
dren.

A third DUI offense (which need not be within 10 years after
the second offense), if committed by a person 21 or older
while transporting a person under 16, is also a Class 4 fel-
ony, with an (apparently mandatory) sentence of 11/, years in
prison, a mandatory fine of $2,500, and 25 days of community
service benefiting children. > If a driver has three times
committed the offense of DUI while 21 or older and transport-
ing a person under 16, and the last such offense is within 20
years after a previous DUI offense, it is a Class 3 felony,
bringing a sentence (apparently mandatory) of 3 years in pris-
on, 25 days of community service in_a program to benefit chil-
dren, and a mandatory $25,000 fine.3® Under P.A. 95-578, a
third DUI offense while transporting a person under 16 will be
a Class 2 felony and bring a mandatory fine of $25,000 and 25
days of community service in a program benefiting children.

If a driver who is 21 or older has four times committed DUI
while either (a) transporting a person under 16, or (b) having
a BAC of at least 0.16%, the fourth offense is a Class 2 fel-
ony that is not subject to probation or conditional discharge
and brings a minimum fine of $25,000. 38 public Act 95-578
will add 25 days of community service for committing a fourth
DUI while transporting a person under 16, but will reduce the
fine for a fourth offense while having a BAC of at least 0.16%
to $5,000.

Under P.A. 95-578, a fifth DUI offense while transporting a
person under 16 w1ll be a Class 1 felony and brlng a mandatory
fine of $25,000 and 25 days of communlty service in a program



benefiting children.?® A sixth or later violation while

transporting a person under 16 will be a Class X felony,

requiring the same mandatory fine and community service. %!

Driving With Twice the BAC Limit

Anyone convicted of DUI while driving with a BAC of at least
0.16% must do at least 100 hours of community service and pay
a $500 fine in addition to any other penalties.42 Committing
DUI with at least a 0.16% BAC, within 10 years after any other
DUI offense, requires a minimum of 2 days in jail and a $1,250
fine.%*® A DUI offense with at least a 0.16% BAC that is the
third DUI offense of any kind within 20 years is a Class 2
felony and requires a mandatory minimum of 90 days in jail and
a $2,500 fine.%* Ppublic Act 95-578 will remove the require-
ments that the second DUI be committed within 10 years, and
that the third be committed within 20 years, after the first
DUI offense.?’

A fourth or fifth DUI offense, if the last three were all com-
mitted with at least 0.16% BACs, is a Class 2 felony with a
mandatory minimum fine of $2,500, and the offender is ineligi-
ble for probation or conditional discharge.46 Under P.A. 95-
578, a fourth DUI offense, if committed with at least a 0.16%
BAC, is a Class 2 felony, and a fifth is a Class 1 felony.
Both crimes bring minimum $5,000 fines whether or not the pre-
vious DUI offenses were committed with at least 0.16% BACs.

As mentioned earlier4 a sixth or later DUI offense of any kind
is a Class X felony.

Aggravated DUI

The following acts constitute aggravated DUIL: (1) committing
DUI for more than the second time;49 (2) committing DUI while
driving a school bus carrying persons under age 19; (3) com-
mitting DUI a second time, after either a conviction for com-
mitting reckless homicide while under the influence, or a con-
viction for a DUI offense that caused great bodily harm or
permanent disability or disfigurement; (4) committing DUI in a
school speed zone, if that is the proximate cause of bodily
harm to another person; (5) committing DUI that is the proxi-
mate cause of the death of another person in a motor vehicle,
snowmobile, all-terrain vehicle, or watercraft accident; (6)
committing DUI during a period of license suspension or revo-
cation resulting from DUI, reckless homicide, or failure to
report an accident; (7) committing DUI without having a li-
cense, permit, or JDP, or knowing that the vehicle lacks 1li-
ability insurance; and (8) committing a second DUI while
transporting a person under 16.°% (The item designated (8)
was added by P.A. 95-578.)



The act described in item (1) above is a Class 2 felony.51
Most of the other violations are Class 4 felonies;5 but some
have higher penalties than the normal penalties for a Class 4
felony. Causing great bodily harm or permanent disability or
disfigurement to another while committing DUI is punishable by
1-12 years in prison. Committing DUI and being involved in a
motor vehicle, snowmobile, all-terrain vehicle, or watercraft
accident that causes death is a Class 2 felony punishable by
3-14 years in prison if one pergson dies, or 6-28 years if at
least 2 people die as a result.

Additional Consequences of DUI for Offenders

Convicted DUI offenders must be evaluated, at their exgense,
on whether they need alcohol or drug abuse treatment.’ Any
DUI offender may be required to attend a “victim impact panel”
(apparently meaning a presentation_ by a group of persons about
the impact of DUI on its victims).55 Any DUI offender who
causes an accident for which an emergency resgonse is neces-
sary is liable for all costs of the response. ® an ignition
interlock device designed to prevent a person who is under the
influence of alcohol from driving is to be installed on each

vehicle owned by a person convicted of a repeat DUI offense.”’

We hope this information is helpful. Please let us know if we
can be of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Nt s. (ite

Melissa S. Cate
Research Associate

MSC:mf
Enclosure

Legislative Research Unit, “Penalties for Crimes in Illinois”
(chart, Jan. 2005).
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The elements of the crime listed in 625 ILCS 5/11-
501(a)(2)-(6) include several, operating in the
alternative, that do not require a BAC of at least 0.08%.
625 ILCS 5/6-208(b), subds. 1 to 4.

625 ILCS 5/6-208.1(f).

625 ILCS 5/6-206.1(a).

625 ILCS 5/6-206.1(a), subd. 1.

625 ILCS 5/6-206.1l(a), subds. 2 and 3.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(b-2); 625 ILCS 5/11-501(c)(1), added by
P.A. 95-578 (2007, eff. June 1, 2008), enacted by S.B. 607
(Cullerton-Silverstein et al.—Rose-Acevedo-Hernandez-
Soto).

625 ILCS 5/11-501(3j); 625 ILCS 5/11-501.01(f), added by
P.A. 95-578.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(b-3).

625 ILCS 5/11-501(c)(2), added by P.A. 95-578.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(c-1)(2) as amended by P.A. 94-116 (2005,
eff. Jan. 1, 2006); 625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(2)(B), added by
P.A. 95-578.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(b-4) as amended by P.A. 94-116.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(3), added by P.A. 95-578.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(c-1)(3) as amended by P.A. 94-116; 625
ILCS 5/11-501(d)(2)(C), added by P.A. 95-578.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(c-1)(4) as amended by P.A. 94-116; 625
ILCS 5/11-501(d)(2)(D), added by P.A. 95-578.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(c-16), added by P.A. 94-114 (2005, eff.
Jan. 1, 2006); 625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(2)(E), added by P.A.
95-578.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(2) as amended by P.A. 94-609 (2005,
eff. Jan. 1, 2006); 625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(2)(G) as amended

by P.A. 95-578. '

625 ILCS 5/11-501(c-1)(1l); 625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(1)(G),
added by P.A. 95-578.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(c-1)(2); 625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(2)(B),
added by P.A. 95-578.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(c-1)(3); 625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(2)(C),
added by P.A. 95-578.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(2)(D), added by P.A. 95-578.

625 TILCS 5/11-501(c-1)(2.2); 625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(2)(C)
and (D), added by P.A. 95-578.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(c-5) as amended by P.A. 94-110; 625 ILCS
5/11-501(c)(3) as amended by P.A. 95-578.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(c-5.1), added by P.A. 94-110.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(1)(J) and (d)(2)(H).

625 ILCS 5/11-501(c-6) as amended by P.A. 94-110.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(¢c-7) as amended by P.A. 94-110.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(c-7.1), added by P.A. 94-110.
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625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(1)(X) and (d)(2)(H), added by P.A.
95-578.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(c-9) as amended by P.A. 94-110.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(c-10) as amended by P.A. 94-110.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(2)(B), added by P.A. 95-578.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(c-11) as amended by P.A. 94-110.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(2)(c), added by P.A. 95-578.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(2)(D), added by P.A. 95-578.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(2)(E), added by P.A. 95-578.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(c-12); 625 ILCS 5/11-501(c)(4), added by
P.A. 95-578.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(c-13).

625 ILCS 5/11-501(c-14) as amended by P.A. 94-116. ,
625 ILCS 5/11-501(c)(5) and (d)(2)(B), added by P.A. 95-
578.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(c-15) as amended by P.A. 94-114.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(2)(C) and (D), added by P.A. 95-578.
625 ILCS 5/11-501(c-16), added by P.A. 94-114; 625 ILCS
5/11-501(d)(2)(E), added by P.A. 95-578.

Although the statutory provision cited applies to any
violation beyond a second one, other provisions (625 ILCS
5/11-501(c-1)(3) and (4) as amended by P.A. 94-116) make
fourth, fifth, or additional violations more serious
classes of felonies.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(1) as amended by P.A. 94-329 (2005,
eff. Jan. 1, 2006) and P.A. 95-578.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(2) as amended by P.A. 94-116 and P.A
95-578.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(2).

625 ILCS 5/11-501(d)(2).

625 ILCS 5/11-501(e); 625 ILCS 5/11-501.01(a), added by
P.A. 95-578.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(e-1); 625 ILCS 5/11-501.01(b), added by
P.A. 95-578. '

625 ILCS 5/11-501(f); 625 ILCS 5/11-501.01(c), added by
P.A. 95-578.

625 ILCS 5/11-501(i); 625 ILCS 5/11-501.01(e), added by
P.A. 95-578.





