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TITLE 68: PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS

CHAPTER VII: DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND PROFESSIONAL REGULATION

SUBCHAPTER a: ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

PART 1110

RULES OF PRACTICE IN ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS
Section
11105 Applicability
1110.10 Definitions
1110.20 Institution of a Contested Case by the Division
1110.30 Institution of a Contested Case by Petitioner
1110.40 Joinder
1110.50 Form and Filing of Documents
1110.60 Service
1110.70 Notice of Preliminary Hearing
1110.80 Negotiations and Agreed Dispositions
1110.90 Representation
1110.100 Failure to Appear
1110.110 Amendment, Withdrawal of Complaints and Petitions for Hearing
1110.120 Requirement of an Answer; Defaults
1110.125 Tax Default; Repayment
1110.130 Discovery
1110.140 Subpoenas
1110.150 Prehearings
1110.155 Remote Proceedings
1110.160 Hearings
1110.170 Administrative Law Judges
1110.175 Disqualification of Administrative Law Judge
1110.180 Examination by the Board or Administrative Law Judge
1110.190 Burden of Proof
1110.200 Documents
1110.210 Motions
1110.220 Evidence
1110.230 Adverse Witness
1110.240 Administrative Law Judge and Board Reports and Orders of the Director
1110.245 Privacy
1110.246 Record of Hearings
1110.250 Severability
1110.270 Variances
1110.APPENDIX A Caption for a Case Filed by the Division

1110.APPENDIX B Caption for a Petition for Restoration
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1110.APPENDIX C Caption for an Application for Licensure

AUTHORITY: Implementing Section 5-10(a)(i) of the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act [5
ILCS 100] and authorized by Section 2105-15(7) of the DFPR Law [20 ILCS 2105].

SOURCE: Rules of Practice in Administrative Hearings in the Department of Registration and
Education and before committees of said Department, effective February 5, 1975; codified at 5
I1l. Reg. 11019; emergency amendment at 6 Ill. Reg. 2270, effective January 29, 1982, for a
maximum of 150 days; amended at 6 Ill. Reg. 8214, effective June 28, 1982; Part repealed new
Part adopted at 9 Ill. Reg. 1110, effective January 9, 1985; transferred from Chapter I, 68 IlI.
Adm. Code 110 (Department of Registration and Education) to Chapter V11, 68 Ill. Adm. Code
1110 (Department of Professional Regulation) pursuant to P.A. 85-225, effective January 1,
1988, at 12 Ill. Reg. 2964; amended at 28 Ill. Reg. 7642, effective May 21, 2004; amended at 43
Ill. Reg. 9969, effective September 13, 2019; emergency amendment at 44 Ill. Reg. 19537,
effective December 2, 2020, for a maximum of 150 days; amended at 45 Ill. Reg. 4476, effective
March 24, 2021; amended at 48 Ill. Reg. , effective .

Section 1110.125 Tax Default; Repayment

a) Upon notice from the Illinois Department of Revenue that a person has failed to
file a return, or to pay the tax, penalty, or interest, as required by any tax Act
administered by the Illinois Department of Revenue, the Division of Professional
Regulation or the Division of Real Estate of the Department of Financial and
Professional Regulation shall:

1) issue an Order refusing to renew the license of the person; or
2) issue an Order denying the application for licensure of the person; or
3) issue an Order suspending the license of the person.

b) The Division shall take one of the actions set forth in subsection (a) upon
notification from the Illinois Department of Revenue of a certification, signed by
its Director or designee, attesting to the following:

1) the amount of any unpaid tax liability; and/or

2) the years for which a return was not filed.

c) Notification received from the Department of Revenue including items set forth in
subsection (b) shall be considered prima facie evidence of a licensee's or
applicant's failure to comply with any of the tax laws administered by the Illinois
Department of Revenue.
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The Division, pursuant to 20 ILCS 2105/2105-15(q), shall not be required to hold
a hearing prior to or following taking any of the actions set forth in subsection (a),
except as provided in subsection ().

The Division shall forward Notice of any Order entered pursuant to this Section to
the licensee or applicant by mailing or emailing a copy of its Order to the person's
address of record or email address of record with the Division, as defined by 20
ILCS 2105/2105-5. The Notice shall include the following information:

that the Order shall be stayed for a period of 60 days from the date signed
and the stay shall not be extended unless the licensee or applicant files a
request for a hearing with the Division in accordance with this Part to
dispute the matters contained in the Order.

An Order suspending or denying a license under subsection (a) shall be
immediately stayed for a period of 60 days. After the expiration of the 60-day
period, the Division shall change the license status to suspended or not renewed or
application denied, unless the licensee/applicant has filed a request for hearing
prior to the expiration of the 60-day period. The purpose of the hearing is to
afford the licensee/applicant an opportunity to contest the Order on the basis that
the licensee/applicant is in compliance with the tax laws administered by the
Illinois Department of Revenue or that the tax matter has been resolved with the
Illinois Department of Revenue. The Division does not have the jurisdiction to
determine the validity of the tax matter or the amount of any tax, penalty, or
interest assessment as these issues can only be addressed by the Illinois
Department of Revenue. If the contest of the Order is denied or dismissed, the
suspension, refuse to renew, or denial of licensure shall become effective.

The Division shall restore or renew the license of a licensee that was suspended or
refused renewal, or issue the license of an applicant that was denied issuance
pursuant to this Section, if the licensee or applicant has provided proof of a
satisfactory repayment record with the Illinois Department of Revenue and if all
other requirements of the Act and rules governing the profession for which the
license was issued or sought have been met.

"Satisfactory Repayment Record" as used in this Section and in 20 ILCS
2105/2105-15(q) shall mean submission of the following by the Illinois
Department of Revenue to the Division:

1 documentation from the Illinois Department of Revenue that the applicant
or licensee who has been denied license issuance or renewal or whose
license has been suspended based upon 20 ILCS 2105/2105-15(q) has paid
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130 in full the final assessment of any tax, penalty, or interest, as required by
131 any tax Act administered by the lllinois Department of Revenue; or

132

133 2) documentation from the Illinois Department of Revenue that the applicant
134 or licensee who has been denied license issuance or renewal or whose
135 license has been suspended based upon 20 ILCS 2105/2105-15(g) has
136 entered into and is in compliance with a payment plan that has been

137 accepted by the Illinois Department of Revenue.

138

139 (Source: Added at 48 Ill. Reg. , effective )




