Illinois General Assembly - Representative Biography
Illinois General Assembly

  Live Audio/Video  

Senator Cristina Castro (D)
22nd District
Majority Caucus Whip

Photograph of Senator  Cristina Castro (D)

Springfield Office:
121 C Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-7746
District Office:
164 E. Chicago St.
Suite 201
Elgin, IL 60120
(847) 214-8864
(847) 214-8867 FAX
Years served: 2017- Present

Committee assignments: Executive (Chair); Appropriations; Revenue; Labor; Energy and Public Utilities; Insurance; Cannabis (Sub-Chair); Gaming, Wagering, and Racing (Sub-Vice-Chair); Liquor (Sub-Vice-Chair); Paid Leave (Sub-Vice-Chair).

Biography: Born and raised in Elgin; Bachelor of Science and Master of Business Administration, Northern Illinois University; Associate of Science, Elgin Community College; Served on Kane County Board; First elected to the Senate in 2016; Resides in Elgin with husband Joe McKeown and their three dogs.

Associated Senator(s): Fred Crespo
 Anna Moeller