

HJ0059 LRB100 12839 MST 26528 r

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, In May of 2017, the world witnessed a coordinated 3 global cyberattack known as WannaCry; it was one of the largest 4 cyberattacks ever, impacting over 150 countries and infecting 5 more than 250,000 computers and devices; and

WHEREAS, WannaCry is a type of malicious software (malware) classified as ransomware; it encrypts essential files on a Windows device and requires that you pay a ransom to unlock those files; and

WHEREAS, Although WannaCry was focused on organizations and businesses; it was unique in that it was not targeted at any one industry or region, and it used malware that can move through a corporate network from a single entry point; and

WHEREAS, For organizations that have older equipment or legacy software, such as hospitals, manufacturing plants, and power plants, deploying a patch to fix a malware vulnerability can be complicated and disruptive; power plants (coal, nuclear, and renewables) provide virtually all of the power needs for almost 13 million Illinoisans; and

WHEREAS, Cyberattacks are an increasing concern for the Illinois power grid as a widespread outage could cause

catastrophic damage to the economy of Illinois; therefore, be

- 2 it

1

- 3 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
- 4 HUNDREDTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, THE SENATE
- 5 CONCURRING HEREIN, that the International Cybersecurity Task
- 6 Force is created within the Illinois Commerce Commission; and
- 7 be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall review the Joint
- 9 Analysis Report from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security
- and the Federal Bureau of Investigation dated December 29, 2016
- 11 and entitled "Grizzly Steppe Russian Malicious Cyber
- 12 Activity" and develop strategies to either implement or reject
- 13 the recommendations made in the report; and be it further
- 14 RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall make recommendations to
- 15 Midcontinent Independent System Operator and PJM
- 16 Interconnection LLP relative to insulation of Illinois
- 17 businesses and consumers from cyberattacks; and be it further
- 18 RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall consist of the
- 19 following members:
- 20 (1) two members from businesses that supply
- 21 electricity that serve 20,000 or more customers, appointed

1

8

9

12

13

14

15

16

1 1	3.4'	- 1	_	1 1	T T	_	- · · ·
NV THA	MINOTITY	Leader	\cap \top	Tne	HOIISE	\cap \top	Representatives;
Dy CIIC	11 <u>11</u> 110 <u>1</u> 10 y	псааст	\circ	CIIC	110 000	\circ	representatives,

- 2 (2) two members from businesses that supply natural gas 3 that serve 20,000 or more customers, appointed by the 4 Minority Leader of the Senate;
- 5 (3) one member from a water supplier that serves 20,000 6 or more customers, appointed by the Speaker of the House of 7 Representatives;
 - (4) one member from the nuclear power industry, appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives;
- 10 (5) one member from the wind power industry, appointed
 11 by the President of the Senate;
 - (6) one member from the solar power industry, appointed by the President of the Senate;
 - (7) one member from the Illinois Chamber of Commerce, appointed by the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives;
- 17 (8) one member from the Illinois Hospital Association, 18 appointed by the Minority Leader of the Senate;

17

(9) one member of the American Civil Liberties Union, 1 2 appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives; 3 (10) two members of telecommunication businesses that 4 serve 20,000 or more customers, appointed by the Governor; 5 (11) two members of the Illinois Commerce Commission, 6 appointed by the Governor; 7 (12) the Mayor of Chicago, or his or her designee; (13) the Mayor of Aurora, or his or her designee; 8 (14) the Mayor of Springfield, or his or her designee; 9 10 (15) a mayor from the Quad Cities area, or his or her designee, appointed by the President of the Senate; 11 12 (16) a mayor from the Metropolitan East St. Louis area, or his or her designee, appointed by the Minority Leader of 13 the Senate; 14 15 (17) two members of the majority party of the House of 16 Representatives, appointed by the Speaker, one of whom is

to be Chair and the other Co-Chair of the Task Force;

- 1 (18) two members of the minority party of the House of 2 Representatives, appointed by the Minority Leader;
- 3 (19) two members of the majority party of the Senate, 4 appointed by the President; and
- 5 (20) two members of the minority party of the Senate, 6 appointed by the Minority Leader; and be it further
- RESOLVED, That the members of the Task Force shall serve without compensation; and be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall submit its report to 10 the General Assembly no later than December 31, 2018 and the 11 Task Force shall be dissolved upon submission of the report.