

HJ0110 LRB101 20665 MST 70327 r

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION

1

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

WHEREAS, Lake County is a desirable place to live because of its people and its location and hosts long-standing communities that have called Lake County home for generations; and

WHEREAS, The Illinois State Toll Highway Authority has
found that they are not in a position to lead the exploration
of extending Illinois Route 53 into Lake County and into these
communities; and

WHEREAS, The communities of Lake County have been voicing concerns about the type of impact that the extension would have on their homes; therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED FIRST GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, THE SENATE CONCURRING HEREIN, that the Illinois Route 53 Expansion Land Alternative Use Task Force is created to study the following:

- (1) The cost, feasibility, and environmental impact of alternative uses of the expansion land, including any potential impact on flooding in the area;
- 21 (2) The short and long term economic impact to the 22 region; and

7

8

9

10

11

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

1	(3)	All	options	for	funding	alternative	uses;	and b	e it
2	further								

- RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall consist of the following members:
- 5 (1) The President of the Senate, or his or her 6 designee;
 - (2) The Speaker of the House, or his or her designee;
 - (3) The Minority Leader of the Senate, or his or her designee;
 - (4) The Minority Leader of the House, or his or her designee;
- 12 (5) The Secretary of Transportation, or his or her designee;
 - (6) The Executive Director of the Department of Natural Resources, or his or her designee;
 - (7) The Director of the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency, or his or her designee;
 - (8) A representative of Lake County appointed by the Chairman of the Lake County Board;
 - (9) The Chair of the Lake County Stormwater Management Commission, or his or her designee;
 - (10) The Mayor of Long Grove, or his or her designee;
- 23 (11) The Mayor of Hawthorn Woods, or his or her designee;
- 25 (12) The Mayor of Mundelein, or his or her designee;

/1) I	17 1		_	\sim	7 1		1 1		1	, .	
(\(\tau	3) T	'ne 1	чayor	ΟÏ	Grav	slake,	or	nıs	or	ner	aesign	.ee;

- (14) A representative of a local sustainability organization, nominated by its President and appointed by the Task Force members who are General Assembly members;
- (15) A representative of a local livability organization, nominated by its President and appointed by the Task Force members who are General Assembly members;
- (16) A representative of an environmental organization, nominated by its President and appointed by the Task Force members who are General Assembly members;
- (17) A representative of a tourism organization, nominated by its President and appointed by the Task Force members who are General Assembly members; and
- (18) A representative of a conservation organization, nominated by its President and appointed by the Task Force members who are General Assembly members; and be it further
- RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall select a Chairperson from among the members of the Task Force who serve in the General Assembly; Task Force members shall serve without compensation; and be it further
- RESOLVED, That the Illinois Department of Natural Resources shall provide administrative and other support to the Task Force; the Illinois Department of Transportation and the Illinois Tollway shall provide all information requested by the

- 1 Task Force; and be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That the Task Force shall meet a minimum of four
- 3 times and make recommendations to the General Assembly and IDOT
- 4 before December 31, 2020, and, upon the filing of its final
- 5 report, the Task Force is dissolved.