

HR0773

LRB101 20137 ECR 69672 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives wish to congratulate the Rochester High School 4 football team, the Rockets, for winning the 2019 5A State 5 Championship on November 30, 2019; and

6 WHEREAS, Bouncing back from a second place finish in 2018, 7 the Rochester Rockets represented the Central State 8 8 Conference at Huskie Stadium on the campus of Northern Illinois 9 University and handed the Mustangs of Chicago St. Rita a loss 10 by a score of 42-28; and

11 WHEREAS, Led by Head Coach Derek Leonard, the Rochester 12 Rockets finished the season with a record of 13 wins and one 13 loss; en route to the Championship, they won four playoff games 14 against LaSalle-Peru, Highland, Springfield rival Sacred 15 Heart-Griffin, and Mascoutah by a combined score of 215-102; 16 and

WHEREAS, Previously playing at the 4A level, the Rochester Rockets were moved into the 5A class for the 2019 playoffs, where the team continued its historic run; and

20 WHEREAS, Tallying this most recent championship, Rochester 21 has won eight titles since 2010; and WHEREAS, Only four high schools in Illinois football
playoff history have won more state titles than Rochester; and

3 WHEREAS, At the helm of the offense in the State 4 Championship game, All-State Quarterback Clay Bruno threw for 5 315 yards and four touchdowns and caught a touchdown; Bruno 6 connected with his number one target, Hank Beatty, for 12 7 completions, 212 yards, and three touchdowns; and

8 WHEREAS, The Rochester High School varsity football roster 9 includes players Logan Peters, Jarrett Reed, Jayden Myren, 10 Malachi Edgington, Henry Patterson, Clay Bruno, Matthew Baker, 11 Anthony Marinelli, Christian Creviston, Hank Beatty, Jordan Raps, Josiah Moore, Jacob Gunter, Jack Friedewald, Brandon 12 13 Raps, Mason Wheeler, Joe Young, Nathaniel Adams, Carter 14 Sternitzke, Seth Parkinson, Hayden Phillips, Keith Jones, David Yoggerst, Brock Casey, Daniel Chapin, Brayden Perisho, 15 16 Cole Edgington, Jack Bruso, Zane Geller, Tanner Hayden, Jack Teeter, Ian Lichtenberger, Zach Gleeson, Jacob DuRocher, 17 Dalton Tieman, Keeton Reiss, Austin Adcock, PJ Jerszynski, Zach 18 19 Adcock, Cody Parnell, Johnny Neal, Ethan Hughes, Cody Hunt, 20 Tyler Vollintine, Jack Meadows, Blaine Gilley, Darren Carner, 21 Wes Moore, Isaac Drum, Will Ryan, Drew Davis, Josh Scranton, David Ryan, Connor Shaughnessy, Dalton Garecht, Mitchell 22 23 Morris, Aidyn Ori, Tyler Houger, Blake Buckles, Justin Jones,

HR0773 -3-LRB101 20137 ECR 69672 r Tyler Wetherell, Jordan Edmonds, Jacob Garfield, Connor 1 2 Sweeney, Will Rutherford, Brayden Rowden, Nathanial Sampson, 3 Shawn Dulin, Grant Wisecup, Will Ryan, Camden Ramsey, Logan Perkins, Nathan Jackson, Ryan Kleingartner, Colten Stock, 4 Alexander Kuhlman, Carter Sommer, Braedon Rice, 5 Chris 6 Koerwitz, Nathan Hoerner, Ethan Vose, Jace Benton, Brady Baird, Tyler Gade, Kyler Benton, Ryan Robinson, Jackson Schaller, 7 8 Cameron Beal, Kolton Reiser, Brendan McClanahan, Clay Alewelt, 9 Cole Peters, and Ethan Clarke; and

10 WHEREAS, Under the leadership of Head Coach, Derek Leonard, 11 the Rocket coaching staff includes assistant coaches, Derrick 12 Nelson, Steve Buecker, JC Clarke, Tyson Corley, Jim Smith, 13 Brett Tackett, Jim Rychel, Rich McMahan, Tyler Mazzini, Eric 14 Warren, AJ Hill, and Manny Minter; therefore, be it

15 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE HUNDRED FIRST GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 16 17 we congratulate the Rochester High School football team, the 18 Rockets, for winning the 2019 IHSA Class 5A State Championship 19 and wish the program future success; and be it further

20 That suitable copies of this resolution be RESOLVED, 21 presented to Head Coach Derek Leonard and Principal Brent 22 Ashbaugh.