

HR0776

LRB101 20596 LAW 70638 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives wish to congratulate the Lincoln-Way East 4 Community High School football team, the Griffins, for winning 5 the 2019 8A State Championship on November 30, 2019; and

6 WHEREAS, Bouncing back from an 8A semifinal loss in 2018, 7 the Lincoln-Way East Griffins represented the Southwest 8 Suburban Conference at Northern Illinois University's Huskie 9 Stadium, where they beat the previously undefeated Blue Devils 10 of Warren Township High School by a score of 12-0; and

11 WHEREAS, Led by Head Coach Rob Zvonar, the Griffins 12 finished an undefeated season with a record of 14 wins and 0 13 losses; en route to the Championship, Lincoln-Way East won four 14 playoff games against Plainfield South, Notre Dame College 15 Prep, Homewood-Flossmoor, and Marist by a combined score of 16 113-27; and

WHEREAS, Including the 2018 State Championship, Lincoln-Way East has won three football State Championships, two of which were won in the last three years; and

20 WHEREAS, The gritty championship game, set against bitter 21 temperatures, blustery wind, and unforgiving rain, was marked HR0776 -2- LRB101 20596 LAW 70638 r
by a struggle between two defensive powerhouses; Warren
Township entered the game allowing 40 points throughout the
entirety of the football season; Lincoln-Way East met the
challenge, allowing the fewest yards in an Illinois 8A State
Championship; and

WHEREAS, The Lincoln-Way East State Champion football 6 7 roster includes players, Bradley Abbott, Dominic Adamo, Edward 8 Amankwah, Cade Arthur, Chase Arthur, Aaron Bialka, Devin Bird, 9 Logan Blondin, Zach Brothen, Larry Burks, Bruno Cap, Mike 10 Cardilli, Robert Clark, Alan Cohen, Sam Cohrs, Clark Dilger, 11 Jayden Cook, Joseph Dochee Jr., Dominic Dzioban, David Falb, Ryan Farmer, Mike Florentine, Brady Ford, Nick Fushi, Trevor 12 13 Glatz, Tyler Gold, Jon Guch, Silas Haberkorn, Jalen Hacha, Jaron Hacha, William Heitner, AJ Henning, Travis Henry, 14 Chauncey Hicks, Danny Hiemer, Martin Hoban, Christian Hoxha, 15 16 Patrick Isom, Jacob Jaber, Jamal Johnson, Trey Johnson, Kevin Jordan, Chance Joseph, Ben Kingsbury, Alex Knaperek, Matt 17 18 Kordas, Jake Kramer, Jacob Kronas, Connor Kubik, Kevin Kuchta, James Kwiecinski, Kyle LaValle, John Lianopoulos, Andrew 19 Maciejewski, Owen McAuley, Nolan McGee, Sean McLaughlin, Zach 20 21 Melby, Wilber Milhouse, Joe Moylan, Jameel Mukarram, Kamal 22 Mukarram, Ken Mysliwiec, Alec Ogarek, Adam Omar, Payton Orth, Anthony Ostrowski, Danny Paliga, Sam 23 Paliga, Maguire 24 Pallissard, Jake Petak, John Petrovich, Owen Phaby, Mason 25 Pierre-Antoine, Kyle Quinn, Connor Rascop, Will Ravetto, Colin

HR0776 -3-LRB101 20596 LAW 70638 r Redmond, Dylan Rekart, Zack Richter, Ben Ritter, Will Ronza, 1 2 Brandon Rusniak, Christian Scheltz, Jake Scianna, Ryan 3 Sheridan, Ty Slager, Bryson Smith, Alex Stepinski, Ryan Stewart, Brennan Stolarek, Sevren Stuckey, Vaughn Teodoro, 4 5 George Thielen, Sam Tholl, Max Tomczak, Jack Tremblay, Andy Tsamis, JC Vander Kooi, Josh Vargas, Tyler Walenga, Sean Walsh, 6 7 Tristan Weglarz, Cal Wiechers, Devon Williams, Connor Willis, 8 Adrian Wilson, Joe Winterrowd, Kyle Wolszon, Chase Zawilinski, 9 and RJ Zayed; and

10 WHEREAS, Under the leadership of Head Coach Rob Zvonar, the 11 Griffins varsity coaching staff includes assistant coaches Joel Pallissard, Tom Grogan, Ed LeFevour, Lance Lokanc, Matt 12 13 Mrozek, Dale Augustine, Tom Lynch, Wilber Milhouse, Matt 14 Nelson, John Nestor, Anthony Pignatello, Michael Sazama, 15 Jeremy Vestal, Jake Aleck, and William Cunningham; medical 16 staff includes Dr. Eric Lee and athletic trainers Jeff Carr and Britni Wilson; therefore, be it 17

18 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE 19 HUNDRED FIRST GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 20 we congratulate the Lincoln-Way East Community High School 21 football team, the Griffins, for winning the 2019 IHSA Class 8A 22 State Championship and wish the program future success; and be 23 it further HR0776 -4- LRB101 20596 LAW 70638 r
1 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
2 presented to Head Coach Rob Zvonar and Lincoln-Way East High
3 School Principal Dr. Sharon Michalak.