Sen. Sue Rezin

Filed: 3/17/2022





10200HB4688sam001LRB102 22875 RJT 37433 a


2    AMENDMENT NO. ______. Amend House Bill 4688 by replacing
3everything after the enacting clause with the following:
4    "Section 5. The School Code is amended by changing Section
521B-45 as follows:
6    (105 ILCS 5/21B-45)
7    Sec. 21B-45. Professional Educator License renewal.
8    (a) Individuals holding a Professional Educator License
9are required to complete the licensure renewal requirements as
10specified in this Section, unless otherwise provided in this
12    Individuals holding a Professional Educator License shall
13meet the renewal requirements set forth in this Section,
14unless otherwise provided in this Code. If an individual holds
15a license endorsed in more than one area that has different
16renewal requirements, that individual shall follow the renewal



10200HB4688sam001- 2 -LRB102 22875 RJT 37433 a

1requirements for the position for which he or she spends the
2majority of his or her time working.
3    (b) All Professional Educator Licenses not renewed as
4provided in this Section shall lapse on September 1 of that
5year. Notwithstanding any other provisions of this Section, if
6a license holder's electronic mail address is available, the
7State Board of Education shall send him or her notification
8electronically that his or her license will lapse if not
9renewed, to be sent no more than 6 months prior to the license
10lapsing. Lapsed licenses may be immediately reinstated upon
11(i) payment by the applicant of a $500 penalty to the State
12Board of Education or (ii) the demonstration of proficiency by
13completing 9 semester hours of coursework from a regionally
14accredited institution of higher education in the content area
15that most aligns with one or more of the educator's
16endorsement areas. Any and all back fees, including without
17limitation registration fees owed from the time of expiration
18of the license until the date of reinstatement, shall be paid
19and kept in accordance with the provisions in Article 3 of this
20Code concerning an institute fund and the provisions in
21Article 21B of this Code concerning fees and requirements for
22registration. Licenses not registered in accordance with
23Section 21B-40 of this Code shall lapse after a period of 6
24months from the expiration of the last year of registration or
25on January 1 of the fiscal year following initial issuance of
26the license. An unregistered license is invalid after



10200HB4688sam001- 3 -LRB102 22875 RJT 37433 a

1September 1 for employment and performance of services in an
2Illinois public or State-operated school or cooperative and in
3a charter school. Any license or endorsement may be
4voluntarily surrendered by the license holder. A voluntarily
5surrendered license shall be treated as a revoked license. An
6Educator License with Stipulations with only a
7paraprofessional endorsement does not lapse.
8    (c) From July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2014, in order to
9satisfy the requirements for licensure renewal provided for in
10this Section, each professional educator licensee with an
11administrative endorsement who is working in a position
12requiring such endorsement shall complete one Illinois
13Administrators' Academy course, as described in Article 2 of
14this Code, per fiscal year.
15    (c-5) All licenses issued by the State Board of Education
16under this Article that expire on June 30, 2020 and have not
17been renewed by the end of the 2020 renewal period shall be
18extended for one year and shall expire on June 30, 2021.
19    (d) Beginning July 1, 2014, in order to satisfy the
20requirements for licensure renewal provided for in this
21Section, each professional educator licensee may create a
22professional development plan each year. The plan shall
23address one or more of the endorsements that are required of
24his or her educator position if the licensee is employed and
25performing services in an Illinois public or State-operated
26school or cooperative. If the licensee is employed in a



10200HB4688sam001- 4 -LRB102 22875 RJT 37433 a

1charter school, the plan shall address that endorsement or
2those endorsements most closely related to his or her educator
3position. Licensees employed and performing services in any
4other Illinois schools may participate in the renewal
5requirements by adhering to the same process.
6    Except as otherwise provided in this Section, the
7licensee's professional development activities shall align
8with one or more of the following criteria:
9        (1) activities are of a type that engage participants
10    over a sustained period of time allowing for analysis,
11    discovery, and application as they relate to student
12    learning, social or emotional achievement, or well-being;
13        (2) professional development aligns to the licensee's
14    performance;
15        (3) outcomes for the activities must relate to student
16    growth or district improvement;
17        (4) activities align to State-approved standards; and
18        (5) higher education coursework.
19    (e) For each renewal cycle, each professional educator
20licensee shall engage in professional development activities.
21Prior to renewal, the licensee shall enter electronically into
22the Educator Licensure Information System (ELIS) the name,
23date, and location of the activity, the number of professional
24development hours, and the provider's name. The following
25provisions shall apply concerning professional development



10200HB4688sam001- 5 -LRB102 22875 RJT 37433 a

1        (1) Each licensee shall complete a total of 120 hours
2    of professional development per 5-year renewal cycle in
3    order to renew the license, except as otherwise provided
4    in this Section.
5        (2) Beginning with his or her first full 5-year cycle,
6    any licensee with an administrative endorsement who is not
7    working in a position requiring such endorsement is not
8    required to complete Illinois Administrators' Academy
9    courses, as described in Article 2 of this Code. Such
10    licensees must complete one Illinois Administrators'
11    Academy course within one year after returning to a
12    position that requires the administrative endorsement.
13        (3) Any licensee with an administrative endorsement
14    who is working in a position requiring such endorsement or
15    an individual with a Teacher Leader endorsement serving in
16    an administrative capacity at least 50% of the day shall
17    complete one Illinois Administrators' Academy course, as
18    described in Article 2 of this Code, each fiscal year in
19    addition to 100 hours of professional development per
20    5-year renewal cycle in accordance with this Code.
21        (4) Any licensee holding a current National Board for
22    Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) master teacher
23    designation shall complete a total of 60 hours of
24    professional development per 5-year renewal cycle in order
25    to renew the license.
26        (5) Licensees working in a position that does not



10200HB4688sam001- 6 -LRB102 22875 RJT 37433 a

1    require educator licensure or working in a position for
2    less than 50% for any particular year are considered to be
3    exempt and shall be required to pay only the registration
4    fee in order to renew and maintain the validity of the
5    license.
6        (6) Licensees who are retired and qualify for benefits
7    from a State of Illinois retirement system shall notify
8    the State Board of Education using ELIS, and the license
9    shall be maintained in retired status. For any renewal
10    cycle in which a licensee retires during the renewal
11    cycle, the licensee must complete professional development
12    activities on a prorated basis depending on the number of
13    years during the renewal cycle the educator held an active
14    license. If a licensee retires during a renewal cycle, the
15    licensee must notify the State Board of Education using
16    ELIS that the licensee wishes to maintain the license in
17    retired status and must show proof of completion of
18    professional development activities on a prorated basis
19    for all years of that renewal cycle for which the license
20    was active. An individual with a license in retired status
21    shall not be required to complete professional development
22    activities or pay registration fees until returning to a
23    position that requires educator licensure. Upon returning
24    to work in a position that requires the Professional
25    Educator License, the licensee shall immediately pay a
26    registration fee and complete renewal requirements for



10200HB4688sam001- 7 -LRB102 22875 RJT 37433 a

1    that year. A license in retired status cannot lapse.
2    Beginning on January 6, 2017 (the effective date of Public
3    Act 99-920) through December 31, 2017, any licensee who
4    has retired and whose license has lapsed for failure to
5    renew as provided in this Section may reinstate that
6    license and maintain it in retired status upon providing
7    proof to the State Board of Education using ELIS that the
8    licensee is retired and is not working in a position that
9    requires a Professional Educator License.
10        (7) For any renewal cycle in which professional
11    development hours were required, but not fulfilled, the
12    licensee shall complete any missed hours to total the
13    minimum professional development hours required in this
14    Section prior to September 1 of that year. Professional
15    development hours used to fulfill the minimum required
16    hours for a renewal cycle may be used for only one renewal
17    cycle. For any fiscal year or renewal cycle in which an
18    Illinois Administrators' Academy course was required but
19    not completed, the licensee shall complete any missed
20    Illinois Administrators' Academy courses prior to
21    September 1 of that year. The licensee may complete all
22    deficient hours and Illinois Administrators' Academy
23    courses while continuing to work in a position that
24    requires that license until September 1 of that year.
25        (8) Any licensee who has not fulfilled the
26    professional development renewal requirements set forth in



10200HB4688sam001- 8 -LRB102 22875 RJT 37433 a

1    this Section at the end of any 5-year renewal cycle is
2    ineligible to register his or her license and may submit
3    an appeal to the State Superintendent of Education for
4    reinstatement of the license.
5        (9) If professional development opportunities were
6    unavailable to a licensee, proof that opportunities were
7    unavailable and request for an extension of time beyond
8    August 31 to complete the renewal requirements may be
9    submitted from April 1 through June 30 of that year to the
10    State Educator Preparation and Licensure Board. If an
11    extension is approved, the license shall remain valid
12    during the extension period.
13        (10) Individuals who hold exempt licenses prior to
14    December 27, 2013 (the effective date of Public Act
15    98-610) shall commence the annual renewal process with the
16    first scheduled registration due after December 27, 2013
17    (the effective date of Public Act 98-610).
18        (11) Notwithstanding any other provision of this
19    subsection (e), if a licensee earns more than the required
20    number of professional development hours during a renewal
21    cycle, then the licensee may carry over any hours earned
22    from April 1 through June 30 of the last year of the
23    renewal cycle. Any hours carried over in this manner must
24    be applied to the next renewal cycle. Illinois
25    Administrators' Academy courses or hours earned in those
26    courses may not be carried over.



10200HB4688sam001- 9 -LRB102 22875 RJT 37433 a

1    (e-5) The number of professional development hours
2required under subsection (e) is reduced by 20% for any
3renewal cycle that includes the 2021-2022 school year.
4    (f) At the time of renewal, each licensee shall respond to
5the required questions under penalty of perjury.
6    (f-5) The State Board of Education shall conduct random
7audits of licensees to verify a licensee's fulfillment of the
8professional development hours required under this Section.
9Upon completion of a random audit, if it is determined by the
10State Board of Education that the licensee did not complete
11the required number of professional development hours or did
12not provide sufficient proof of completion, the licensee shall
13be notified that his or her license has lapsed. A license that
14has lapsed under this subsection may be reinstated as provided
15in subsection (b).
16    (g) The following entities shall be designated as approved
17to provide professional development activities for the renewal
18of Professional Educator Licenses:
19        (1) The State Board of Education.
20        (2) Regional offices of education and intermediate
21    service centers.
22        (3) Illinois professional associations representing
23    the following groups that are approved by the State
24    Superintendent of Education:
25            (A) school administrators;
26            (B) principals;



10200HB4688sam001- 10 -LRB102 22875 RJT 37433 a

1            (C) school business officials;
2            (D) teachers, including special education
3        teachers;
4            (E) school boards;
5            (F) school districts;
6            (G) parents; and
7            (H) school service personnel.
8        (4) Regionally accredited institutions of higher
9    education that offer Illinois-approved educator
10    preparation programs and public community colleges subject
11    to the Public Community College Act.
12        (5) Illinois public school districts, charter schools
13    authorized under Article 27A of this Code, and joint
14    educational programs authorized under Article 10 of this
15    Code for the purposes of providing career and technical
16    education or special education services.
17        (6) A not-for-profit organization that, as of December
18    31, 2014 (the effective date of Public Act 98-1147), has
19    had or has a grant from or a contract with the State Board
20    of Education to provide professional development services
21    in the area of English Learning to Illinois school
22    districts, teachers, or administrators.
23        (7) State agencies, State boards, and State
24    commissions.
25        (8) Museums as defined in Section 10 of the Museum
26    Disposition of Property Act.



10200HB4688sam001- 11 -LRB102 22875 RJT 37433 a

1    (h) Approved providers under subsection (g) of this
2Section shall make available professional development
3opportunities that satisfy at least one of the following:
4        (1) increase the knowledge and skills of school and
5    district leaders who guide continuous professional
6    development;
7        (2) improve the learning of students;
8        (3) organize adults into learning communities whose
9    goals are aligned with those of the school and district;
10        (4) deepen educator's content knowledge;
11        (5) provide educators with research-based
12    instructional strategies to assist students in meeting
13    rigorous academic standards;
14        (6) prepare educators to appropriately use various
15    types of classroom assessments;
16        (7) use learning strategies appropriate to the
17    intended goals;
18        (8) provide educators with the knowledge and skills to
19    collaborate;
20        (9) prepare educators to apply research to decision
21    making;
22        (10) provide educators with training on inclusive
23    practices in the classroom that examines instructional and
24    behavioral strategies that improve academic and
25    social-emotional outcomes for all students, with or
26    without disabilities, in a general education setting; or



10200HB4688sam001- 12 -LRB102 22875 RJT 37433 a

1        (11) beginning on July 1, 2022, provide educators with
2    training on the physical and mental health needs of
3    students, student safety, educator ethics, professional
4    conduct, and other topics that address the well-being of
5    students and improve the academic and social-emotional
6    outcomes of students.
7    (i) Approved providers under subsection (g) of this
8Section shall do the following:
9        (1) align professional development activities to the
10    State-approved national standards for professional
11    learning;
12        (2) meet the professional development criteria for
13    Illinois licensure renewal;
14        (3) produce a rationale for the activity that explains
15    how it aligns to State standards and identify the
16    assessment for determining the expected impact on student
17    learning or school improvement;
18        (4) maintain original documentation for completion of
19    activities;
20        (5) provide license holders with evidence of
21    completion of activities;
22        (6) request an Illinois Educator Identification Number
23    (IEIN) for each educator during each professional
24    development activity; and
25        (7) beginning on July 1, 2019, register annually with
26    the State Board of Education prior to offering any



10200HB4688sam001- 13 -LRB102 22875 RJT 37433 a

1    professional development opportunities in the current
2    fiscal year.
3    (j) The State Board of Education shall conduct annual
4audits of a subset of approved providers, except for school
5districts, which shall be audited by regional offices of
6education and intermediate service centers. The State Board of
7Education shall ensure that each approved provider, except for
8a school district, is audited at least once every 5 years. The
9State Board of Education may conduct more frequent audits of
10providers if evidence suggests the requirements of this
11Section or administrative rules are not being met.
12        (1) (Blank).
13        (2) Approved providers shall comply with the
14    requirements in subsections (h) and (i) of this Section by
15    annually submitting data to the State Board of Education
16    demonstrating how the professional development activities
17    impacted one or more of the following:
18            (A) educator and student growth in regards to
19        content knowledge or skills, or both;
20            (B) educator and student social and emotional
21        growth; or
22            (C) alignment to district or school improvement
23        plans.
24        (3) The State Superintendent of Education shall review
25    the annual data collected by the State Board of Education,
26    regional offices of education, and intermediate service



10200HB4688sam001- 14 -LRB102 22875 RJT 37433 a

1    centers in audits to determine if the approved provider
2    has met the criteria and should continue to be an approved
3    provider or if further action should be taken as provided
4    in rules.
5    (k) Registration fees shall be paid for the next renewal
6cycle between April 1 and June 30 in the last year of each
75-year renewal cycle using ELIS. If all required professional
8development hours for the renewal cycle have been completed
9and entered by the licensee, the licensee shall pay the
10registration fees for the next cycle using a form of credit or
11debit card.
12    (l) Any professional educator licensee endorsed for school
13support personnel who is employed and performing services in
14Illinois public schools and who holds an active and current
15professional license issued by the Department of Financial and
16Professional Regulation or a national certification board, as
17approved by the State Board of Education, related to the
18endorsement areas on the Professional Educator License shall
19be deemed to have satisfied the continuing professional
20development requirements provided for in this Section. Such
21individuals shall be required to pay only registration fees to
22renew the Professional Educator License. An individual who
23does not hold a license issued by the Department of Financial
24and Professional Regulation shall complete professional
25development requirements for the renewal of a Professional
26Educator License provided for in this Section.



10200HB4688sam001- 15 -LRB102 22875 RJT 37433 a

1    (m) Appeals to the State Educator Preparation and
2Licensure Board must be made within 30 days after receipt of
3notice from the State Superintendent of Education that a
4license will not be renewed based upon failure to complete the
5requirements of this Section. A licensee may appeal that
6decision to the State Educator Preparation and Licensure Board
7in a manner prescribed by rule.
8        (1) Each appeal shall state the reasons why the State
9    Superintendent's decision should be reversed and shall be
10    sent by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the
11    State Board of Education.
12        (2) The State Educator Preparation and Licensure Board
13    shall review each appeal regarding renewal of a license
14    within 90 days after receiving the appeal in order to
15    determine whether the licensee has met the requirements of
16    this Section. The State Educator Preparation and Licensure
17    Board may hold an appeal hearing or may make its
18    determination based upon the record of review, which shall
19    consist of the following:
20            (A) the regional superintendent of education's
21        rationale for recommending nonrenewal of the license,
22        if applicable;
23            (B) any evidence submitted to the State
24        Superintendent along with the individual's electronic
25        statement of assurance for renewal; and
26            (C) the State Superintendent's rationale for



10200HB4688sam001- 16 -LRB102 22875 RJT 37433 a

1        nonrenewal of the license.
2        (3) The State Educator Preparation and Licensure Board
3    shall notify the licensee of its decision regarding
4    license renewal by certified mail, return receipt
5    requested, no later than 30 days after reaching a
6    decision. Upon receipt of notification of renewal, the
7    licensee, using ELIS, shall pay the applicable
8    registration fee for the next cycle using a form of credit
9    or debit card.
10    (n) The State Board of Education may adopt rules as may be
11necessary to implement this Section.
12(Source: P.A. 101-85, eff. 1-1-20; 101-531, eff. 8-23-19;
13101-643, eff. 6-18-20; 102-676, eff. 12-3-21.)
14    Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect upon
15becoming law.".