|SB3915 Enrolled||- 2 -||LRB102 25817 CMG 35157 b|
Substitute Teaching License. The Short-Term Substitute
Teaching License must be registered in at least one region
in this State, but does not require a registration fee.
The licensee may apply for a refund of the application fee
within 18 months of issuance of the new license and shall
be issued that refund by the State Board of Education if
the licensee provides evidence to the State Board of
Education that the licensee has taught pursuant to the
Short-Term Substitute Teaching License at least 10 full
school days within one year of issuance.
fee for a Short-Term Substitute Teaching License shall be
waived when the Governor has declared a disaster due to a
public health emergency pursuant to Section 7 of the
Illinois Emergency Management Agency Act.
(2) A $150 application fee for individuals who have
not been entitled by an Illinois-approved educator
preparation program at an Illinois institution of higher
education and are seeking any of the licenses set forth in
subdivision (1) of this subsection (a).
(3) A $50 application fee for each endorsement or
(4) A $10 per year registration fee for the course of
the validity cycle to register the license, which shall be
paid to the regional office of education having
supervision and control over the school in which the
individual holding the license is to be employed. If the
|SB3915 Enrolled||- 3 -||LRB102 25817 CMG 35157 b|
individual holding the license is not yet employed, then
the license may be registered in any county in this State.
The registration fee must be paid in its entirety the
first time the individual registers the license for a
particular validity period in a single region. No
additional fee may be charged for that validity period
should the individual subsequently register the license in
additional regions. An individual must register the
license (i) immediately after initial issuance of the
license and (ii) at the beginning of each renewal cycle if
the individual has satisfied the renewal requirements
required under this Code.
Beginning on July 1, 2017, at the beginning of each
renewal cycle, individuals who hold a Substitute Teaching
License may apply for a reimbursement of the registration
fee within 18 months of renewal and shall be issued that
reimbursement by the State Board of Education from funds
appropriated for that purpose if the licensee provides
evidence to the State Board of Education that the licensee
has taught pursuant to the Substitute Teaching License at
least 10 full school days within one year of renewal.
(5) The license renewal fee for an Educator License
with Stipulations with a paraprofessional educator
endorsement is $25.
(b) All application fees paid pursuant to subdivisions (1)
through (3) of subsection (a) of this Section shall be
|SB3915 Enrolled||- 4 -||LRB102 25817 CMG 35157 b|
deposited into the Teacher Certificate Fee Revolving Fund and
shall be used, subject to appropriation, by the State Board of
Education to provide the technology and human resources
necessary for the timely and efficient processing of
applications and for the renewal of licenses. Funds available
from the Teacher Certificate Fee Revolving Fund may also be
used by the State Board of Education to support the
recruitment and retention of educators, to support educator
preparation programs as they seek national accreditation, and
to provide professional development aligned with the
requirements set forth in Section 21B-45 of this Code. A
majority of the funds in the Teacher Certificate Fee Revolving
Fund must be dedicated to the timely and efficient processing
of applications and for the renewal of licenses. The Teacher
Certificate Fee Revolving Fund is not subject to
administrative charge transfers, authorized under Section 8h
of the State Finance Act, from the Teacher Certificate Fee
Revolving Fund into any other fund of this State, and moneys in
the Teacher Certificate Fee Revolving Fund shall not revert
back to the General Revenue Fund at any time.
The regional superintendent of schools shall deposit the
registration fees paid pursuant to subdivision (4) of
subsection (a) of this Section into the institute fund
established pursuant to Section 3-11 of this Code.
(c) The State Board of Education and each regional office
of education are authorized to charge a service or convenience
|SB3915 Enrolled||- 5 -||LRB102 25817 CMG 35157 b|
fee for the use of credit cards for the payment of license
fees. This service or convenience fee shall not exceed the
amount required by the credit card processing company or
vendor that has entered into a contract with the State Board or
regional office of education for this purpose, and the fee
must be paid to that company or vendor.
(d) If, at the time a certificate issued under Article 21
of this Code is exchanged for a license issued under this
Article, a person has paid registration fees for any years of
the validity period of the certificate and these years have
not expired when the certificate is exchanged, then those fees
must be applied to the registration of the new license.
(Source: P.A. 100-550, eff. 11-8-17; 100-596, eff. 7-1-18;
100-772, eff. 8-10-18; 101-81, eff. 7-12-19; 101-570, eff.
This Act takes effect upon