

HR0100

LRB103 31148 LAW 57892 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives wish to recognize the Good Friday Agreement on 4 the occasion of the 25th anniversary of its ratification as 5 the framework for lasting peace in Northern Ireland; and

6 WHEREAS, The Good Friday Agreement was signed in Belfast,
7 Northern Ireland on April 10, 1998; and

8 WHEREAS, The Good Friday Agreement represented a landmark 9 breakthrough that provided Ireland with a political framework 10 to address its future; and

11 WHEREAS, The Good Friday Agreement acknowledged the right 12 of differing political traditions to pursue their goals of 13 remaining part of the United Kingdom or of Irish unity; and

14 WHEREAS, The Good Friday Agreement demonstrated democratic15 and peaceful means of resolving differences; and

16 WHEREAS, Despite the historic progress of the Good Friday 17 Agreement and subsequent agreements, important issues remain 18 unresolved in Northern Ireland, including securing justice for 19 victims of state-sponsored violence and other violence and 20 providing for the rights of all sections of the community; and WHEREAS, In the United States, members of both political
 parties came together in support of the Good Friday Agreement;
 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
HUNDRED THIRD GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
we recognize the 25th anniversary of the ratification of the
Good Friday Agreement as the framework for lasting peace in
Northern Ireland; and be it further

9 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be 10 presented to the 24th Chair Mark Daly of the Senate of Ireland and the national co-chairs of the American Irish State 11 Legislators Caucus, which include Representative Frances A. 12 13 Hurley of the Illinois General Assembly, Assemblywoman Carol 14 Murphy of the New Jersey Legislature, Assemblyman Robin Vos of the Wisconsin State Assembly, Senator Shannon O'Brien of the 15 16 Montana Legislature, Representative Brian Patrick Kennedy of the Rhode Island General Assembly, Assemblyman James Gallagher 17 of the California State Assembly, and Representative Killian 18 19 Timoney of the Kentucky General Assembly.