

HR0165 LRB103 31625 MST 60061 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

Illinois 2 WHEREAS, The members of the House of 3 Representatives wish to congratulate the Washington Community 4 High School wrestling team, the Panthers, on winning the 2023 5 Illinois High School Association Class 2A State Championship; 6 and 7 WHEREAS, The Panthers claimed their most recent wrestling 8 title by edging Joliet Catholic 28 to 27 at Grossinger Motors 9 Arena in Bloomington; and 10 WHEREAS, This is the fifth championship for the Panthers, along with their titles in 2016, 2017, 2018, and 2019; only 11 12 four other wrestling programs in Illinois history have more; 13 and 14 WHEREAS, The Panthers are led by Head Coach Nick Miller; 15 and 16 WHEREAS, Many Panthers won individual state medals; Wyatt 17 Medlin earned 3rd Place at 126 lbs.; Peyton Cox earned 2nd 18 Place at 132 lbs.; Kannon Webster earned 1st Place at 145 lbs. and is a three-time state champion; Zane Hulet earned 4th 19 Place at 160 lbs.; Blake Hinrichsen earned 2nd Place at 170 20 21 lbs.; Josh Hoffer earned 6th Place at 195 lbs.; and Justin

- 1 Hoffer earned 1st Place at 220 lbs.; and
- 2 WHEREAS, The members of the Panthers state championship
- 3 team are Symon Woods, Noah Woods, Logan Makiney, Wyatt Medlin,
- 4 Eli Gonzalez, Johnathon Rokey, Peyton Cox, Timmy Smith,
- 5 Jackson Sonderman, Kannon Webster, Cruise Brolley, Alec
- 6 Mihelic, Cael Miller, Tyler Brown, Braden Baker, Zane Hulet,
- 7 Blake Hinrichsen, Wyatt Leman, Jack Godinez, Josh Hoffer,
- 8 Justin Hoffer, and Sean Thornton; therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
- 10 HUNDRED THIRD GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 11 we congratulate the Washington Community High School wrestling
- team, the Panthers, on winning the 2023 Illinois High School
- 13 Association Class 2A State Championship, and we wish them many
- more successful years; and be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
- 16 presented to the members and coaches of the Panthers state
- 17 championship team.