

HR0190 LRB103 31702 MST 60249 r

HOUSE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. was founded at
Howard University in Washington, D.C. on January 9, 1914 by
three African-American students, A. Langston Taylor, Leonard
F. Morse, and Charles I. Brown, who united to form a fraternity
that would exemplify the ideals of brotherhood, scholarship,
and service; and

WHEREAS, The founders of Phi Beta Sigma offered support and encouragement to Arizona Cleaver Stemons, Pearl Anna Neal, Myrtle Tyler Faithful, Viola Tyler Goings, and Fannie Pettie Watts as they founded Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. at Howard University on January 16, 1920 to raise people's consciousness, encourage scholastic achievement, and foster unity among members, making Phi Beta Sigma and Zeta Phi Beta the first fraternity and sorority to be constitutionally bound to each other; and

WHEREAS, Phi Beta Sigma brothers believe that each member and potential member should be judged by their own merits, rather than family background, affluence, race, nationality, skin tone, or hair texture and should work to return newly acquired skills to the communities from which they come, with this conviction mirrored in the fraternity's motto, "Culture For Service and Service For Humanity"; and

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

WHEREAS, Phi Beta Sigma brothers contributed greatly to the literary and artistic movement known as the Harlem Renaissance, to the cause of civil rights, civic engagement, and freedom, and to the sciences, and membership has included writer Alain LeRoy Locke, poet and diplomat James Weldon Johnson, workers rights activist A. Philip Randolph, scientist George Washington Carver, astronaut Victor Glover, Congressman Elijah Cummings, Congressman John Lewis, and Nnamdi Azikiwe, the first president of independent Nigeria; and

WHEREAS, Zeta Phi Beta was the first Black greek-lettered organization to centralize its operations in a national headquarters, first to charter a chapter in Africa, and the first to form auxiliary groups and currently boasts hundreds of chapters worldwide and over 100,000 members who seek to upload its ideals of "Scholarship, Service, Sisterhood, and Finer Womanhood"; and

WHEREAS, Zeta Phi Beta sisters contributed greatly to the literary and artistic movement known as the Harlem Renaissance, to the cause of civil rights, civic engagement, and freedom, and to the sciences, and membership has included writer and anthropologist Zora Neale Hurston, attornev Violette Anderson, educator Dr. Elizabeth Koontz, journalist and media entrepreneur Clara McLaughlin, and psychiatrist and

- 1 substance abuse treatment expert Dr. Alyce Gullattee;
- 2 therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE
- 4 HUNDRED THIRD GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 5 we declare April 26, 2023 as Phi Beta Sigma and Zeta Phi Beta
- 6 Day at the Illinois State Capitol; and be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That we commend the efforts of the members of
- 8 Zeta Phi Beta and Phi Beta Sigma for their commitment to
- 9 community service and recognize their collective contributions
- 10 to making their communities a better place to live, play, and
- 11 work; and be it further
- 12 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- 13 presented Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. and Phi Beta Sigma
- 14 Fraternity, Inc. as a symbol our respect and esteem.