

HR0666

LRB103 39995 LAW 71282 r

1

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives wish to congratulate the DePaul College Prep 4 boys basketball team, the Rams, on winning the 2023-2024 5 Illinois High School Association (IHSA) Class 3A State 6 Championship; and

WHEREAS, The Rams captured their second consecutive state
title with a 49 to 41 victory over Mount Carmel High School at
the State Farm Center in Champaign on March 8, 2024; and

10 WHEREAS, The Rams are the only school team in IHSA history 11 to win consecutive state titles in two different classes, 12 having won Class 2A last season before moving to and winning 13 Class 3A this season; and

14 WHEREAS, The Rams ended their championship season on a 15 17-game winning streak, finishing the season with a final 16 record of 35-2; and

WHEREAS, The Rams are led by Head Coach Tom Kleinschmidt and Assistant Coaches Craig Madzinski, Dillion Sneed, and Michael Sneed; they are supported by President Mary A. Dempsey, Principal Dr. Megan Stanton-Anderson, and Athletic Director Patrick Mahoney; and -2- LRB103 39995 LAW 71282 r

1 WHEREAS, The members of the 2023-2024 Rams include Anthony 2 "AJ" Chambers, Peter "PJ" Chambers, Augustus Donohue, Ashton 3 Flowers, Manuel French, Jonas Johnson, Cole Jungwirth, Jack 4 Kenessey, Makai Kvamme, Jaylan McElroy, Rashaun Porter, George 5 Richardson, Fernando Rodriguez, Charlie Rosenberg, Brock 6 Suvarna, and Robert Walls; therefore, be it

7 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE ONE 8 HUNDRED THIRD GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 9 we congratulate the DePaul College Prep boys basketball team, 10 the Rams, on winning the 2023-2024 Illinois High School 11 Association (IHSA) Class 3A State Championship, and we wish 12 them many more successful seasons; and be it further

13 RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be 14 presented to the players and coaches of the Rams as a symbol of 15 our respect and esteem.

HR0666