8

11

provisions

- 1 AN ACT concerning parentage.
- it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois, 2
- 3 represented in the General Assembly:
- 4 Section 5. The Illinois Parentage Act of 1984 is amended
- by changing Section 14 as follows: 5
- 6 (750 ILCS 45/14) (from Ch. 40, par. 2514)
- Sec. 14. Judgment. 7
- (a) (1) The judgment shall contain or explicitly reserve
- provisions concerning any duty and amount of child support, 9
- the custody or quardianship of the child, and visitation 10
- 12 concerning the--custody--and--guardianship--of--the--child7

privileges with the child, and may contain

- 13 visitation-privileges-with-the-child, the furnishing of bond
- or other security for the payment of the judgment, which the 14
- 15 court shall determine in accordance with the relevant factors
- set forth in the Illinois Marriage and Dissolution of 16
- Marriage Act and any other applicable law of Illinois, to 17
- 18 guide the court in a finding in the best interests of the
- child. In determining custody, joint custody, or visitation, 19
- 20 the court shall apply the relevant standards of the Illinois
- Marriage and Dissolution of Marriage Act. Specifically, 21
- 22 determining the amount of any child support award, the court
- shall use the guidelines and standards set forth 23
- subsection (a) of Section 505 and in Section 505.2 of the 24
- Illinois Marriage and Dissolution of Marriage Act. 25
- purposes of Section 505 of the Illinois Marriage 26
- 27 Dissolution of Marriage Act, "net income" the
- non-custodial parent shall include any benefits available to 28
- 29 that person under the Illinois Public Aid Code or from other
- federal, State or local government-funded programs. 30
- 31 court shall, in any event and regardless of the amount of the

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

1 non-custodial parent's net income, in its judgment order the 2 non-custodial parent to pay child support to the custodial parent in a minimum amount of not less than \$10 per month. In 3 4 an action brought within 2 years after a child's birth, 5 judgment or order may direct either parent to pay the б reasonable expenses incurred by either parent related to the mother's pregnancy and the delivery of the child. 7 The judgment or order shall contain the father's social security 8 9 number, which the father shall disclose to the court; however, failure to include the father's social security 10 11 number on the judgment or order does not invalidate the 12 judgment or order.

- (2) If a judgment of parentage contains no explicit award of custody, the establishment of a support obligation or of visitation rights in one parent shall be considered a judgment granting custody to the other parent. If the parentage judgment contains no such provisions, custody shall be presumed to be with the mother; however, the presumption shall not apply if the father has had physical custody for at least 6 months prior to the date that the mother seeks to enforce custodial rights. The parent without custody of the child is entitled to reasonable visitation rights unless the court finds, after a hearing, that visitation would endanger seriously the child's physical, mental, moral, or emotional health.
- (3) A party may not remove a child from the State of 26 27 Illinois without first obtaining leave of Court to do so. The court may grant leave to any party having custody of any 28 29 minor child or children to remove the child or children from 30 Illinois under the standards contained in Section 609 of the 31 Illinois Marriage and Dissolution of Marriage Act. Section 609 of the Illinois Marriage and Dissolution of Marriage Act 32 33 shall apply to matters concerning the removal of a child or 34 children from Illinois.

- 1 The court shall order all child support payments, 2 determined in accordance with such guidelines, to commence with the date summons is served. The level of current 3 4 periodic support payments shall not be reduced because of payments set for the period prior to the date of entry of the 5 б support order. The Court may order any child support 7 payments to be made for a period prior to the commencement of 8 the action. In determining whether and the extent to which 9 the payments shall be made for any prior period, the court shall consider all relevant facts, including the factors for 10 11 determining the amount of support specified in the Illinois Marriage and Dissolution of Marriage Act and other equitable 12 factors including but not limited to: 13
- 14 (1) The father's prior knowledge of the fact and 15 circumstances of the child's birth.

16

17

18

19

20

2.1

22

23

26

27

28

29

30

31

- (2) The father's prior willingness or refusal to help raise or support the child.
- (3) The extent to which the mother or the public agency bringing the action previously informed the father of the child's needs or attempted to seek or require his help in raising or supporting the child.
- (4) The reasons the mother or the public agency did not file the action earlier.
- 24 (5) The extent to which the father would be 25 prejudiced by the delay in bringing the action.

For purposes of determining the amount of child support to be paid for any period before the date the order for current child support is entered, there is a rebuttable presumption that the father's net income for the prior period was the same as his net income at the time the order for current child support is entered.

If (i) the non-custodial parent was properly served with a request for discovery of financial information relating to the non-custodial parent's ability to provide child support,

- 1 (ii) the non-custodial parent failed to comply with the
- 2 request, despite having been ordered to do so by the court,
- 3 and (iii) the non-custodial parent is not present at the
- 4 hearing to determine support despite having received proper
- 5 notice, then any relevant financial information concerning
- 6 the non-custodial parent's ability to provide child support
- 7 that was obtained pursuant to subpoena and proper notice
- 8 shall be admitted into evidence without the need to establish
- 9 any further foundation for its admission.
- 10 (c) Any new or existing support order entered by the
- 11 court under this Section shall be deemed to be a series of
- 12 judgments against the person obligated to pay support
- thereunder, each judgment to be in the amount of each payment
- or installment of support and each such judgment to be deemed
- 15 entered as of the date the corresponding payment or
- installment becomes due under the terms of the support order.
- 17 Each judgment shall have the full force, effect and
- 18 attributes of any other judgment of this State, including the
- 19 ability to be enforced. A lien arises by operation of law
- 20 against the real and personal property of the noncustodial
- 21 parent for each installment of overdue support owed by the
- 22 noncustodial parent.
- 23 (d) If the judgment or order of the court is at variance
- 24 with the child's birth certificate, the court shall order
- 25 that a new birth certificate be issued under the Vital
- 26 Records Act.
- (e) On request of the mother and the father, the court
- 28 shall order a change in the child's name. After hearing
- 29 evidence the court may stay payment of support during the
- 30 period of the father's minority or period of disability.
- 31 (f) If, upon a showing of proper service, the father
- fails to appear in court, or otherwise appear as provided by
- law, the court may proceed to hear the cause upon testimony
- of the mother or other parties taken in open court and shall

- 1 enter a judgment by default. The court may reserve any order
- 2 as to the amount of child support until the father has
- received notice, by regular mail, of a hearing on the matter. 3
- 4 A one-time charge of 20% is imposable upon
- 5 amount of past-due child support owed on July 1, 1988 which
- 6 has accrued under a support order entered by the court.
- 7 charge shall be imposed in accordance with the provisions of
- Section 10-21 of the Illinois Public Aid Code and shall be 8
- 9 enforced by the court upon petition.
- All orders for support, when entered or modified, 10
- 11 shall include a provision requiring the non-custodial parent
- 12 to notify the court and, in cases in which party is receiving
- child support enforcement services under Article X of the 13
- Illinois Public Aid Code, the Illinois Department of Public 14
- 15 Aid, within 7 days, (i) of the name and address of any new
- 16 employer of the non-custodial parent, (ii) whether the
- non-custodial parent has access to health insurance coverage 17
- 18 through the employer or other group coverage and, if so, the
- 19 policy name and number and the names of persons covered under
- 20 the policy, and (iii) of any new residential or mailing
- 21 address or telephone number of the non-custodial parent.
- 22 any subsequent action to enforce a support order, upon a
- ascertain the location of the non-custodial parent, service

sufficient showing that a diligent effort has been made to

of process or provision of notice necessary in the case may

- be made at the last known address of the non-custodial parent 26
- 27 in any manner expressly provided by the Code of Civil
- Procedure or this Act, which service shall be sufficient for 28
- 29 purposes of due process.

23

24

25

- 30 An order for support shall include a date on which
- 31 the current support obligation terminates. The termination
- 32 date shall be no earlier than the date on which the child
- covered by the order will attain the age of 18. However, if 33
- 34 the child will not graduate from high school until after

-6-

1 attaining the age of 18, then the termination date shall be 2 no earlier than the earlier of the date on which the child's high school graduation will occur or the date on which the 3 4 child will attain the age of 19. The order for support shall state that the termination date does not apply to any 5 6 arrearage that may remain unpaid on that date. Nothing in 7 this subsection shall be construed to prevent the court from modifying the order or terminating the order in the event the 8 9 child is otherwise emancipated.

(j) An order entered under this Section shall include a provision requiring the obligor to report to the obligee and to the clerk of court within 10 days each time the obligor obtains new employment, and each time the obligor's employment is terminated for any reason. The report shall be in writing and shall, in the case of new employment, include the name and address of the new employer. Failure to report new employment or the termination of current employment, coupled with nonpayment of support for a period in excess of 60 days, is indirect criminal contempt. For any obligor arrested for failure to report new employment bond shall be set in the amount of the child support that should have been paid during the period of unreported employment. An order entered under this Section shall also include a provision requiring the obligor and obligee parents to advise each other of a change in residence within 5 days of the change except when the court finds that the physical, mental, or emotional health of a party or that of a minor child, or both, would be seriously endangered by disclosure of the party's address.

30 (Source: P.A. 91-767, eff. 6-9-00; 92-590, eff. 7-1-02;

31 92-876, eff. 6-1-03; revised 1-14-03.)

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29