- 1 AN ACT concerning ethics commissions.
- 2 Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois,
- 3 represented in the General Assembly:
- 4 Section 5. The State Gift Ban Act is amended by changing
- 5 Section 45 as follows:
- 6 (5 ILCS 425/45)
- 7 Sec. 45. Ethics Commissions.
- 8 (a) Ethics Commissions are created for the branches of government as provided in this Section. The initial 9 appointments to each commission shall be made within 60 days 10 after the effective date of this Act. Each The appointing 11 authority authorities shall appoint commissioners who have 12 13 experience holding governmental office or employment and shall appoint commissioners from the general public or from 14 within the appointing authority's branch of government. With 15 16 respect to each of the ethics commissions designated in items
- 18 appointees shall be of the same political party. The

(1), (2), (3), (4), and (5), no more than 4 of the 7

- 19 appointee shall establish his or her political party
- 20 affiliation by his or her last record of voting in a party
- 21 primary election.

17

- 22 (1) For the ethics commission of the Governor there 23 shall be 7 commissioners appointed by the Governor. This 24 ethics commission shall have jurisdiction over all of the 25 executive branch of State government except the officers 26 specified in items (2), (3), (4), and (5) and their
- employees.
- 28 (2) For the ethics commission of the Attorney 29 General there shall be 7 commissioners appointed by the 30 Attorney General.
- 31 (3) For the ethics commission of the Secretary of

State there shall be 7 commissioners appointed by the Secretary of State.

- (4) For the ethics commission of the Comptroller there shall be 7 commissioners appointed by the Comptroller.
- (5) For the ethics commission of the Treasurer there shall be 7 commissioners appointed by the Treasurer.
 - (6) For the ethics commission of the legislative branch there shall be 8 commissioners. The Speaker and the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives and the President and the Minority Leader of the Senate shall each appoint 2 commissioners.
- (7) For the ethics commission of the judicial branch there shall be 6 commissioners. The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court shall appoint the commissioners with the concurrence of 3 other Supreme Court Judges.
- (b) At the first meeting of each commission, the initial appointees shall draw lots to divide into 2 groups. Commissioners of the first group shall serve 2-year terms, and commissioners of the second group shall serve one-year terms. Thereafter commissioners shall be appointed to 2-year terms. Commissioners may be reappointed to serve subsequent terms.
- (c) The respective appointing authority or authorities may remove a commissioner appointed by that authority or those authorities in case of incompetency, neglect of duty, or malfeasance in office after service on the commissioner by certified mail, return receipt requested, of a copy of the written charges against the commissioner and an opportunity to be heard in person or by counsel upon not less than 10 days' notice. Vacancies shall be filled by the appropriate appointing authority or authorities.
 - (d) Each commission shall meet as often as necessary to

1 perform its duties. Except for the ethics commission for the 2 legislative branch, at the first meeting of each commission the commissioners shall choose a chairperson from their 3 4 number. For the ethics commission for the legislative branch, 5 the President of the Senate and whichever of the Speaker or 6 Minority Leader of the House is of the same political party 7 as the President shall jointly designate one member as co-chair; the other 2 legislative leaders shall jointly 8 9 designate the other co-chair. Meetings shall be held at the call of the chairperson or any 2 commissioners. Official 10 11 action by the commission shall require the affirmative vote of the number of commissioners provided in this subsection, 12 and a quorum shall consist of the number of commissioners 13 provided in this subsection. The number of commissioners 14 required for a quorum and the affirmative vote of each ethics 15 16 commission shall be as follows: for the Governor, 4; for the Attorney General, 4; for the Secretary of State, 4; for the 17 18 Treasurer, 4; for the Comptroller, 4; for the legislative 19 branch, 5; for the judicial branch, 4. Commissioners may be reimbursed for their reasonable expenses actually incurred in 20 21 the performance of their duties.

22 (Source: P.A. 90-737, eff. 1-1-99.)