

HR0782

1

LRB093 21701 HSS 49448 r

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The Illinois Chapters of Delta Sigma Theta 3 Sorority are sponsoring their first annual legislative visit to 4 the State Capitol; and

5 WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., was founded in 6 1913 at Howard University by 22 African-American women who 7 wanted to use their collective strength to promote academic 8 excellence and to provide assistance to persons in need; and

9 WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta is international an organization with over 250,000 undergraduate and alumnae 10 members, making it one of the largest women's organizations in 11 the world, with 900 chapters located in the United States, 12 13 England, Japan, Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, the 14 Bahamas, and the Republic of Korea; and

15 WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta is an organization with a 16 commitment to promoting economic development, educational 17 development, physical and mental health, international 18 awareness and involvement, and political awareness and 19 involvement; and

WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta members who have distinguished 20 21 themselves individually include: Broadway actress Osceola 22 Macarthy Adams; National Bar Association founder Sadie T. M. 23 Alexander, Ph.D.; sculptor and painter Tina Allen; Brigadier 24 General Hazel Johnson Brown, Ph.D., the first African-American 25 woman general in the United States Army; Selma Burke, Ph.D., whose likeness of President Franklin D. Roosevelt appears on 26 27 the U.S. dime; Alexa Canady, M.D., at age 26 became the first Black woman neurosurgeon in the U.S.; internationally 28 acclaimed sculptor and lithographer Elizabeth Catlett; Cong. 29 Shirley Chisholm, the first Black woman member of the U.S. 30 Congress and the first African American and first woman to run 31

HR0782

1 as a major party candidate for President; actress and poet Ruby 2 Dee Davis; Myrlie Evers-Williams, Chairman Emerita of the Board 3 for the NAACP; attorney Frankie M. Freeman, former chair of the Civil Rights Commission; Ambassador Patricia Roberts Harris, 4 5 first Black woman to serve in a presidential cabinet post; 6 Dorothy I. Height, Ph.D., served as president of the National Council of Negro Women for over 40 years; Alexis Herman, 7 Secretary of Labor for President Bill Clinton; author Darlene 8 9 Clark Hine, Ph.D.; Shirley Jackson, Ph.D., President of 10 Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, first African-American woman 11 to earn a Ph.D. from Massachusetts Institute of Technology (in 12 1973), and first African-American woman to serve on the United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission; Elaine R. Jones, first 13 African-American woman elected to the American Bar Association 14 Board of Governors; Barbara Jordan, first African American to 15 16 serve in the U.S. congress from the South since reconstruction 17 and the first Black woman to preside over a state senate; Jewel S. Lafontant, the first American woman to be admitted into the 18 19 International Academy of Trial Lawyers and the first female 20 Deputy Solicitor General of the U.S. during the Nixon Administration; Cong. Carrie P. Meek, Florida; Emmy award 21 winning AIDS activist Rae Lewis-Thornton; Cong. Stephanie 22 23 Tubbs-Jones, Ohio; and Ambassador Carol Mosely Braun, former U.S. Senator from Illinois; therefore, be it 24

25 ΒY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF RESOLVED, THE 26 NINETY-THIRD GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 27 the members of this Body, in recognition of the achievements of the members of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., and the values 28 29 for which they strive, do proclaim Wednesday, March 31, 2004, 30 as the First Annual Delta Sigma Theta Day throughout the State 31 of Illinois; and be it further

32 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be 33 presented to Gwendolyn E. Boyd, international president of 34 Delta Sigma Theta, Inc.