

HR1237

1

LRB093 23961 CSA 54159 r

## HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of the Illinois House of 3 Representatives offer our sincere congratulations to Coach Joe 4 Newton, the 2004 York Community High School boys cross country 5 team, and the entire York Community High School on winning the Class AA Boys State Championship title; and 6

7 WHEREAS, The Dukes cross country team has won 24 state
8 titles in 43 years under Coach Joseph Newton's guidance; and

9 WHEREAS, We congratulate Coach Joe Newton, whose tireless 10 efforts and expertise have led the York Community High School 11 Dukes to a remarkable three straight state championships; and

12 WHEREAS, We thank Assistant Coach Charlie Kern for his 13 dedication and commitment to the York boys cross country team; 14 and

15 WHEREAS, The Dukes won the Niles West Sectional in Skokie 16 to advance their team to the Illinois High School Association 17 state meet in Peoria on November 6th; and

18 WHEREAS, York runners finished 1st, 2nd, and 3rd, the first 19 time in history all three honors were won by a single school; 20 and

21 WHEREAS, The Dukes' overall score of 56 lead them to a 22 record 24th state championship; no other athletic team in any 23 sport has ever accomplished this feat in Illinois high school 24 history; and

25 WHEREAS, Senior Sean McNamara was the 1st place runner with 26 a time of 14 minutes and 32 seconds, followed by junior Matt 27 Dettman in 2nd, junior Eric Dettman in 3rd, senior Mike Arnold 28 in 21st, sophomore Nick Kuczwara in 29th, junior David HR1237 -2- LRB093 23961 CSA 54159 r Montgomery in 75th, and senior Roger Billhardt in 137th; and

2 WHEREAS, The Dukes' championship cross country team also 3 includes Mike Fry, Justin Jones, Brian Marchese, Lionel 4 Montenegro, Tom Jung, Matt Edwards, Mark Sulkin, Alan 5 D'Ambrogio, and Ron Stefani; and

1

6 WHEREAS, Also supporting the Dukes' drive for victory were 7 Mike Gaska, Joey Salveggio, Greg Potoglu, and Peter McGlodrick, 8 the team managers; and

9 WHEREAS, We recognize the commitment of Athletic Director 10 Craig Davelis and the Athletic Department, as well as the 11 entire York Community High School, in their dedication to train 12 and educate superior athletes and well-rounded students; and

13 WHEREAS, These runners have made countless sacrifices to 14 succeed in their goal of winning a third straight cross country 15 state championship; and

16 WHEREAS, The York Community High School, the Elmhurst 17 community, and friends and families are proud of these fine 18 young athletes; and

19 WHEREAS, This title represents the dedication and team 20 unity these young men have shown all season; and

21 WHEREAS, We recognize the talent of these young athletes 22 and their coaches; therefore, be it

23 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 24 NINETY-THIRD GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we 25 do hereby offer our congratulations to Coach Joe Newton and the 26 members of the York Community High School boys cross country 27 team on their 24th state championship title; and be it further HR1237 -3- LRB093 23961 CSA 54159 r
RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
presented to Coach Joe Newton, Superintendent Dr. Joel Morris,
Principal Diana Smith, Athletic Director Craig Davelis,
Assistant Coach Charlie Kern, York Community High School, and
the members of the 2004 Class AA boys cross country
championship team.