

HR0254 LRB094 11803 CSA 44074 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The members of Illinois the House 3 Representatives congratulate Decatur's Millikin University Big 4 Blue's womens basketball team on winning the 2005 Division III 5 NCAA tournament national championship game as they beat Randolph-Macon in Norfolk, Virginia, by a score of 70-50; and 6

- WHEREAS, Their national championship win is the first in the program's history; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Leading the Big Blue's womens basketball team are
  10 head coach Lori Kerans and assistant coaches Dick Marshall and
  11 Brianna Morrow; and
- WHEREAS, The 2005 Big Blue womens basketball members are
  Christi Blackburn, Joanna Conner, Stacey Conrad, Abby
  Gerlesits, Carsen Himes, Alayna Hirsch, Lindsay Ippel, Lindsey
  Koehn, Niki Korda, Tracy Kwasny, Ariel Lamb, Heather Miller,
  Audrey Minott, Karin Olson, Andrea Riebock, Kristin Trotter,
  Adriane Turner, Angela Vollmer, and Laura Zimmerman; and
- WHEREAS, Although the Big Blue's finest hour came more than
  900 miles from home, Coach Kerans could already sense the joy
  in Decatur; the community supports the womens basketball
  program and the university from the heart and respects what the
  women basketball players do, and that is the thing of which she
  is most proud; therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
  NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
  we recognize the talent of these young athletes and their
  coaches and congratulate them on their 2005 Division III NCAA
  tournament national championship title; and be it further
- 29 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be

- 1 presented to Millikin University as an expression of our esteem
- 2 and with best wishes for continued success in the future.