

HR0508

1

LRB094 12567 CSA 47185 r

HOUSE RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, Thornridge High School in Dolton won Illinois High 3 School Association (IHSA) state titles this year for two drama 4 productions; and

5 WHEREAS, "King Hedley II" won the IHSA State Drama title in 6 March; this is the second year in a row that Thornridge won the 7 title; and

WHEREAS, "King Hedley II" was directed by Bill Kirksey and 8 9 Yvonne Nesbitt; the technical director was Chris Mallek; the cast included Donna Carroll, Nakeisha Johnson, Christopher 10 Littleton, James Miller, Dion Rice, and Anthony Richardson; 11 members of the technical crew included Adebunmi Adeboje, Darrow 12 13 Alexander, Candice Blanks, Brittany Bowman, Dwayne Branson, 14 Kearia Campbell, Jameca Cole, Katherine Cooper, Siara Cooper, Thomas Cooper, Tanesha Danridge, LaQuita Densley, DeAndre 15 Emery, Jenea Eskridge, Nishaat Farooqui, Laura Galindo, Corei 16 17 Gordon, Bethany Harris, Samuel Harris, Darren Hudson, Robert Jefferson, Sheena Lewis, Tiffany McCoy, April McEwen, Willis 18 Overstreet, Jesus Poppel, Erica Prince, Gavin Sanders, Jordyn 19 20 Sandoval, Ryan Seaton, Kimberly Shine, Camille Smith, Jonathan Thornton, Leeval Williams, and Dana Williamson; and 21

22 WHEREAS, "The Last Flower" won the IHSA State 23 Performance-in-the-Round title in February at the State speech 24 tournament; this is the second time in four years that 25 Thornridge won the title in this event; and

26 WHEREAS, "The Last Flower" was directed by Bill Kirksey and 27 Leigh Hoekstra; the cast included Christina Harper, Anthony 28 Richard (narrators), Eddie Salgado, Nakeisha Johnson, Cynthia 29 Johnson, Dwayne Branson, Siara Cooper, Dontae Williams, Sheena 30 Lewis, TyKeith Williams, Robert Jefferson, Nishaat Farooqui 31 (ensemble), Ryan Gordon, and Richard Sparks (musicians); and HR0508

-2- LRB094 12567 CSA 47185 r

WHEREAS, The students and staff are extremely proud of
Thornridge's Fine Arts Programs; therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 4 NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that 5 we congratulate the members of Thornridge High School's Fine 6 Arts Program on winning two IHSA state titles for its drama 7 productions and wish them continued success in the future; and 8 be it further

9 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be 10 presented to Thornridge High School as an expression of our 11 admiration.