

HR0521 LRB094 12583 HSS 47280 r

1 HOUSE RESOLUTION

27

28

2 WHEREAS, The members of the House of Representatives are 3 pleased to honor the accomplishments of residents of Illinois; 4 and WHEREAS, Northwestern University has shown a strong 5 commitment to women's athletics as demonstrated by its nationally ranked women's teams in softball, tennis, fencing, 7 8 and golf and by winning Big Ten or national academic honors in 9 women's sports, including field hockey, swimming, and volleyball; and 10 WHEREAS, The 2005 Northwestern University Wildcats are the 11 NCAA Division I National Champions of Women's Lacrosse; and 12 13 WHEREAS, The Wildcats capped an undefeated season with a 13 to 10 victory over the defending champion, the University of 14 Virginia, on May 22, 2005; and 15 WHEREAS, During the 2005 regular season and the NCAA 16 Division I Tournament, the Wildcats successfully defeated 17 traditional powerhouses Duke, Princeton, and Dartmouth; and 18 WHEREAS, The Wildcat's 21 wins and no loss record is tied 19 20 for second most wins in a season, and the 21 game undefeated 21 streak is the fourth longest in NCAA women's lacrosse history; 22 and 23 WHEREAS, Head coach Kelly Amonte Hiller built the women's 24 lacrosse program from club status in 2001 to NCAA champion in 25 2005; and WHEREAS, The 2005 Wildcats have brought to Illinois its 26

first-ever national championship in lacrosse, the first-ever

national title in women's sports for Northwestern University,

- 1 and the first national championship for Northwestern since
- 2 1941; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Many of the members of the 2005 national champion
- 4 Northwestern Wildcats women's lacrosse team will be returning
- 5 next year to continue their impressive run; and
- 6 WHEREAS, The members of the 2005 national champion
- 7 Northwestern Wildcats women's lacrosse team are Abby Bangser,
- 8 Donna McCann, Sarah Albrecht, Kristen Kjellman, Sara Crosby,
- 9 Aly Josephs, Kristen Boege, Ashley Koester, Courtney Koester,
- 10 Hilary Alley, Ashley Gersuk, Courtney Flynn, Christy Finch,
- 11 Lindsey Munday, Emily Lovett, Laura Glassanos, Shelby Chlopak,
- 12 Kaitie Lenahan, Lynda McCandlish, Abby Alley, Sarah Walsh,
- 13 Lindsay Finocchiaro, Jenny Bush, Fallon McGraw, Quinn
- 14 Cammarota, Lindsay North, Meredith Philipp, Hannah Whitman,
- Rebecca Zazove, Annie Elliott, Bailey Su, Kate Darmody, Minnie
- Doherty, Kim Corcoran; the coaches are Kelly Amonte Hiller,
- 17 Head Coach; Alexis Venechanos and Danielle Shearer, Assistant
- 18 Coaches; and Scott Hiller, Volunteer Assistant Coach;
- 19 therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE
- 21 NINETY-FOURTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that
- 22 we honor and congratulate the members of the 2005 National
- 23 Champion Northwestern Wildcats women's lacrosse team for their
- 24 success; and be it further
- 25 RESOLVED, That a suitable copy of this resolution be
- 26 presented to each member of the 2005 National Champion
- Northwestern Wildcats Women's Lacrosse Team as an expression of
- our sincere respect and esteem and with best wishes for the
- 29 continued success of the team and program.